Kiehl's • Powerful-Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.6(102 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 coursey on 4/27/2014 12:06:00 AM more reviews by coursey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was given samples of this to try. I tried this mainly around my forehead areas where I have some old acne scars. It really didn't make my skin significantly better or felt worse. the product does not easily absorb into the skin but thankfully did not make my skin feel oily in the morning. it takes a little while for you to have to pat it onto your skin. you have to use this at night because it leaves your skin texture feel a bit tacky.
I'll finish using this since it has vitamin c in it. I'm still loyal to my estee lauder ANR serum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 koko35 on 4/2/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by koko35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used to make my own Vitamin C serum, from L-ascorbic powder, distilled water, and glycerin, making 20% Vitamin C serum. I used my DIY serum for one year, and thought I was getting subtle results....until I tried this. This serum is amazing, and in the three weeks that I have been using this, I got more profound results than my own DIY serum. I have a friend that works at Kiehls, so I bought this serum to help her out, and also I wanted to compare the effects of my DIY serum with a cosmetic version. My results with Kiehls Vitamin C have been fantastic. My fine lines have drastically improved, and my melasma is fading (still there, but has definitely faded). I thought I was being smart making my own, but I now realize that it did not have the effects this Kiehls Vitamin C has. I hate that I have to spend so much money, but I would rather spend money on something that works, than continuing with my DIY that had little effect. I am not sure why my DIY did not work as others have had great results. I might buy Litmus paper (pH strips) and check the pH, which might not be within the right pH to be absorved. This Kiehls with 10.5% Vitamin C, is a wonderful product and really worked for me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilpea on 2/26/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by lilpea

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product seems to work to make my (normally acne prone and combo) skin glowy and smooth. After a month it also seems to have lightened my scars. I have had success with L-ascorbic acid before (an ultraceuticals product which costs twice as much) so that ingredient is the key. I believe this contains lots of silicone which I am afraid of breaking me out but I seem to be ok after a months use.
It does have the warming effect which means to me that theres a good amount of the vit c. Packaging is sensible in a pump bottle which I really like. Right now I'd definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pr0nplayground on 2/18/2014 10:25:00 AM more reviews by pr0nplayground

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This one was something I stumbled upon out of boredom. You know those times, when you’re sick of your normal moisturizer even though it’s doing just fine? I guess as normal human beings, we’re always on the lookout for something better. And since I’m the best customer ever, I got sales talked into buying this serum. And I REGRET NOTHING!

I love this product. I am currently on my second bottle. I do believe that I feel and look much more vibrant after using this, in fact, it has helped me to make peace with my bare naked face. My skin is more radiant, even, supple and just generally at its best.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissusJones on 1/16/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by MissusJones

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

This product was a total fail for me...one of the most useless skincare products I've ever purchased. It is thick and grainy in texture, hard to spread over the face, and did absolutely nothing for my skin. I went thru 2 bottles hoping for even a slight result and was very disappointed. Patting it into the skin was the best application method I found...attempting to rub it in requires a lot of tugging because it has very little slip. It didn't improve wrinkles or fine lines, I saw no improvement in radiance or texture...it was a total pain in the butt and I actually came to dread using it. The only good part is the packaging. The pump is sanitary and the Amber bottle prevents light from breaking down any active ingredients. I had high hopes for this because I love Kiehls, but this was not a win for me. I will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Irenemanalu on 12/17/2013 7:17:00 PM more reviews by Irenemanalu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product really got me down! I bought this 5 months ago n been use for 3 months n my nightmater was up my skin is break out,pimples is everywhere at first i didnt belive if this product fails on my skin but since i stop to use it.my skin is going better day by day.i dunno but i think this product cud b a HG for someone but viceversa it cud be a VERYNIGHTMARE for someone too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 11/27/2013 1:22:00 PM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

LOVE IT so much, I made room for it in my 40L backpack as we're travel-backpacking for the next year! Yeah, vanity ;) I also use this around my eyes...I don't recommend this for everyone, but it works for me (I tried the eye formulation and think the one for face works better).

My results: Overnight, literally from the first use, my skin looked nicer, a little more vibrant. After a few weeks, I swore my skin looked more youthful, more plump maybe a little more even, and just overall, lovely enough to forgo foundation. The faint sleep lines that I have don't seem as deep throughout the day and seem to spring back more easily when I wake up. I just felt like I looked less haggard and more fresh-faced...after a month of use, I'm feel like my skin is looking like it did in my mid-twenties (I'm 33 now). I haven't been sensitive to the 10.5% vit C in this product and I even use it around my eyes.

Cons: The price, of course. And although it's odorless straight out of the bottle, it begins to smell funky once it's been on my skin for a while...sort of like, fresh, salty tanning bed sweat—hopefully some of you know what I'm talking about here. My SO can't smell anything and I'm super sensitive to scents and can only notice this after I've touched my face and hold my fingers right under my nose, so hopefully, it's just my bloodhound nose that smells this.

Packaging: I pretty much love Kiehl's apothecary type packaging, so I do love this too. While the closeable pump is nice I wish that the bottle was completely opaque, given vit-c's photosensitive/stability issues. Just keep it tucked away in a drawer or cabinet and you should be fine. Note that if the product has turned from it's usual white to yellow color, then the product is no longer any good, and do not use it (free radicals iirc).

My skin: 33 years old, mild rosacea, clear, dry in the winter, oily in summer. I've never really done “skincare” before and while I'll wear sunscreen, I enjoy some color and don't eschew the sun while climbing, running or during other outdoor pursuits. I have fine sleep lines around my eyes and nose and shallow forehead lines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 11/4/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was my first Vitamin C serum, but was NOT REPURCHASED. It has been replaced with a better product.

My skincare routine has become important, but as a male I also like to keep it nice and simple. Not only I'd rather not waste time, but more products tend to pile. I liked this serum because it's neither lotion-y nor gel-based. It has a slight gritty texture quite suitable for soothing underneath the eye area and it serves to prevent fine lines and fade some melasma that is just forming near the corners of my eyes. I like that I can go ahead and apply my sunscreen right away without having to wait for the serum to dry.

But I have long moved on to a similar product by Neostrata Canada. It contains the same amount of L Ascorbic Acid, but packaged in 30 1ml individual capsules stored in a thick glass jar. I do find the jar slightly too thick and heavy for the purpose, but I guess it serves to make the product feel a bit more luxurious. The formula is similar but smoother, more transparent, and does not appear white. It is also much cheaper if you get it at Shoppers Drug Mart with a 20x on Optimum points when they also have the occasional 30% off on all Neostrata products.

As I mentioned, I apply this around my eyes before sunscreen and after my BHA exfoliant. It provides additional sun protection. Since I only apply a small amount, I like the individial capsules. With Kiehl's, I'd basically just be clearing the nozzle each time. So, I just cut a small corner of a new capsule, take the amount I need, then put it down on a small tray of Vaseline face down. It seals well the opening and I can get up to 4 individual uses from each one. The serum remains stable and each capsule is like opening a brand new product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jacqsheppard on 10/24/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by jacqsheppard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Awful! Not exactly sure what is even in this but my skin is horrible condition after about 3 weeks of use..I purchased this product along with kiehl's ultra facial cream and my skin hasn't looked this bad in 15 years. I have clogged pores all over and several under the skin "bumps". I returned both items to bluemercury today and picked up my standard dermalogica routine (special cleansing gel, multi-active toner, and active moist) - I will not stray again any time soon. The sa talked me into a serum from m-61 (bluemercury label) called hydraboost. Hoping it works and that my skin gets back to normal soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Staaarlit on 10/13/2013 7:14:00 AM more reviews by Staaarlit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

(October 01, 2014) I want to update again because of an annoyance I've discovered. 4 stars is now 3.5 stars.

Maybe I never noticed this before, but the last several times I used this product, I've noticed that the (white-ish) film does not blend away as it's massaged into my skin. This film is probably meant to provide that smooth, primer-like effect. I still get that poreless effect, but the film does not blend away entirely. I have to vigorously rub the life out of my face in an attempt to "blend" it away, and it either blends or increases in blotchiness and looks awful.

In any case, this is a hassle to use in the morning when time is of the essence and one needs to continue with moisturizer, sunscreen, makeup, and so on. Thus, I avoid using this in the morning, unless I know I won't be leaving the house (ergo, I won't need to put on makeup, which means I don't have to be so nit-picky about blotches on my face).

I do still use this at night/in the evening whenever I want to opt for a product with "Vitamin C". It definitely delivers in regards to anti-oxidant benefits. Still like it, but don't necessarily love it because of the explained reason.
-------------------------------------
Update (June 10, 2014): I'm a bit frustrated and disappointed that it hasn't been a success in lightening/fading my sunspot... they're ALL still very present, and yes I do use sunscreen religiously. I decided to revisit their website to reread the description of this product and here's what it claims:
+ Clinically-demonstrated to improve overall skin texture, tone and radiance while reducing the appearance of lines and wrinkles
+ Provides anti-oxidant protection and exfoliates skin to reveal healthier-looking skin

Okay...so because it didn't claim to fade sunspots/darkspots, I won't hold them to it. Still a disappointment! But aside from that, I think this is a good antioxidant product (the vitamin C is stably packaged) to have, especially for morning use. As for whether or not their claims hold any truth, I think I'll have to use several more bottles to test that theory. With use of just 1 bottle, all effects have been temporary. Hope my review has helped!
-------------------------------------
Update (2.7.14) Have been using the 3.4 oz. bottle religiously for almost 2 months now.. Sun spots still here. One seems to have faded, but I can't say it was entirely due to this product because prior to using this, I was using other spot fading serums. Love the way it makes my skin looks (lines and pores are less obvious). The vitamin C is also great for my skin altogether. I love that the bottle is dark. Makes me feel assured that the ingredients will not be compromised. I keep my bottle in the fridge. Will continue to use!
-------------------------------------
This review is for the sample, which made me fall head over heels for this product. My skin type is usually normal -- with the occasional dryness and slight oiliness during the winter and summer, respectively. I don't have acne, but my sensitive skin can be quite prone to it. I've used products containing vitamin C before, and I didn't get any negative reaction when I first used it. I don't know how much relevance that has to do with this product, but there was also no negative reaction when I used this product. Okay, now on to the effects. It was definitely immediate results with this product. Every night that I used this, I woke up in the morning with really great skin. The reason why I loved it even more was that during the time of my usage, I was in the middle of moving. I was always either up really late until morning and got only 2 or 3 hours of sleep, or I didn't sleep at all, but even so, my skin did not drastically decline. In fact, it barely got affected despite my extreme lack of sleep. Usually, it's very obvious when I've stayed up late or had an all-nighter (and as a student, this is a common requirement). But with this little miracle, I did not end up with dark circles, sullen skin, redness, or that usual unhealthy look in my skin tone. Yes, I took the risk and used it under my eyes. I was fearful of the potential bad reaction, but it was absolutely fine. Instead, my fine lines were visibly reduced, and my eye area just brightened in a very healthy manner. The sample lasted me 5 nights, surprisingly. With such amazing results, I was really impressed. I've always used Estée Lauder's ANR serum, which has a pretty darn hefty price tag. I do love it, but until I can afford to use that with this concurrently, I plan to replace it with this Kiehl's product at night. As a poor college student, I must consider my options. With this product, I can also use it in the morning, and the price tag is super nicer compared to the ANR serum. I already ordered the 3.4 oz. and will update this review once I try out the bottle. From the reviews, the bottle sounds like a disappointment compared to the sample. Let's hope Kiehl's have made some improvements since!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Treatments (Face) products