Kiehl's • Powerful-Strength Line-Reducing Concentrate • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(96 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 11/27/2013 1:22:00 PM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

LOVE IT so much, I made room for it in my 40L backpack as we're travel-backpacking for the next year! Yeah, vanity ;) I also use this around my eyes...I don't recommend this for everyone, but it works for me (I tried the eye formulation and think the one for face works better).

My results: Overnight, literally from the first use, my skin looked nicer, a little more vibrant. After a few weeks, I swore my skin looked more youthful, more plump maybe a little more even, and just overall, lovely enough to forgo foundation. The faint sleep lines that I have don't seem as deep throughout the day and seem to spring back more easily when I wake up. I just felt like I looked less haggard and more fresh-faced...after a month of use, I'm feel like my skin is looking like it did in my mid-twenties (I'm 33 now). I haven't been sensitive to the 10.5% vit C in this product and I even use it around my eyes.

Cons: The price, of course. And although it's odorless straight out of the bottle, it begins to smell funky once it's been on my skin for a while...sort of like, fresh, salty tanning bed sweat—hopefully some of you know what I'm talking about here. My SO can't smell anything and I'm super sensitive to scents and can only notice this after I've touched my face and hold my fingers right under my nose, so hopefully, it's just my bloodhound nose that smells this.

Packaging: I pretty much love Kiehl's apothecary type packaging, so I do love this too. While the closeable pump is nice I wish that the bottle was completely opaque, given vit-c's photosensitive/stability issues. Just keep it tucked away in a drawer or cabinet and you should be fine. Note that if the product has turned from it's usual white to yellow color, then the product is no longer any good, and do not use it (free radicals iirc).

My skin: 33 years old, mild rosacea, clear, dry in the winter, oily in summer. I've never really done “skincare” before and while I'll wear sunscreen, I enjoy some color and don't eschew the sun while climbing, running or during other outdoor pursuits. I have fine sleep lines around my eyes and nose and shallow forehead lines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 11/4/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was my first Vitamin C serum, but was NOT REPURCHASED. It has been replaced with a better product.

My skincare routine has become important, but as a male I also like to keep it nice and simple. Not only I'd rather not waste time, but more products tend to pile. I liked this serum because it's neither lotion-y nor gel-based. It has a slight gritty texture quite suitable for soothing underneath the eye area and it serves to prevent fine lines and fade some melasma that is just forming near the corners of my eyes. I like that I can go ahead and apply my sunscreen right away without having to wait for the serum to dry.

But I have long moved on to a similar product by Neostrata Canada. It contains the same amount of L Ascorbic Acid, but packaged in 30 1ml individual capsules stored in a thick glass jar. I do find the jar slightly too thick and heavy for the purpose, but I guess it serves to make the product feel a bit more luxurious. The formula is similar but smoother, more transparent, and does not appear white. It is also much cheaper if you get it at Shoppers Drug Mart with a 20x on Optimum points when they also have the occasional 30% off on all Neostrata products.

As I mentioned, I apply this around my eyes before sunscreen and after my BHA exfoliant. It provides additional sun protection. Since I only apply a small amount, I like the individial capsules. With Kiehl's, I'd basically just be clearing the nozzle each time. So, I just cut a small corner of a new capsule, take the amount I need, then put it down on a small tray of Vaseline face down. It seals well the opening and I can get up to 4 individual uses from each one. The serum remains stable and each capsule is like opening a brand new product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jacqsheppard on 10/24/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by jacqsheppard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Awful! Not exactly sure what is even in this but my skin is horrible condition after about 3 weeks of use..I purchased this product along with kiehl's ultra facial cream and my skin hasn't looked this bad in 15 years. I have clogged pores all over and several under the skin "bumps". I returned both items to bluemercury today and picked up my standard dermalogica routine (special cleansing gel, multi-active toner, and active moist) - I will not stray again any time soon. The sa talked me into a serum from m-61 (bluemercury label) called hydraboost. Hoping it works and that my skin gets back to normal soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Staaarlit on 10/13/2013 7:14:00 AM more reviews by Staaarlit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Update (June 10, 2014): I'm a bit frustrated and disappointed that it hasn't been a success in lightening/fading my sunspot... they're ALL still very present, and yes I do use sunscreen religiously. I decided to revisit their website to reread the description of this product and here's what it claims:
+ Clinically-demonstrated to improve overall skin texture, tone and radiance while reducing the appearance of lines and wrinkles
+ Provides anti-oxidant protection and exfoliates skin to reveal healthier-looking skin

Okay...so because it didn't claim to fade sunspots/darkspots, I won't hold them to it. Still a disappointment! But aside from that, I think this is a good antioxidant product (the vitamin C is stably packaged) to have, especially for morning use. As for whether or not their claims hold any truth, I think I'll have to use several more bottles to test that theory. With use of just 1 bottle, all effects have been temporary. Hope my review has helped!
-------------------------------------
Update (2.7.14) Have been using the 3.4 oz. bottle religiously for almost 2 months now.. Sun spots still here. One seems to have faded, but I can't say it was entirely due to this product because prior to using this, I was using other spot fading serums. Love the way it makes my skin looks (lines and pores are less obvious). The vitamin C is also great for my skin altogether. I love that the bottle is dark. Makes me feel assured that the ingredients will not be compromised. I keep my bottle in the fridge. Will continue to use!
-------------------------------------
This review is for the sample, which made me fall head over heels for this product. My skin type is usually normal -- with the occasional dryness and slight oiliness during the winter and summer, respectively. I don't have acne, but my sensitive skin can be quite prone to it. I've used products containing vitamin C before, and I didn't get any negative reaction when I first used it. I don't know how much relevance that has to do with this product, but there was also no negative reaction when I used this product. Okay, now on to the effects. It was definitely immediate results with this product. Every night that I used this, I woke up in the morning with really great skin. The reason why I loved it even more was that during the time of my usage, I was in the middle of moving. I was always either up really late until morning and got only 2 or 3 hours of sleep, or I didn't sleep at all, but even so, my skin did not drastically decline. In fact, it barely got affected despite my extreme lack of sleep. Usually, it's very obvious when I've stayed up late or had an all-nighter (and as a student, this is a common requirement). But with this little miracle, I did not end up with dark circles, sullen skin, redness, or that usual unhealthy look in my skin tone. Yes, I took the risk and used it under my eyes. I was fearful of the potential bad reaction, but it was absolutely fine. Instead, my fine lines were visibly reduced, and my eye area just brightened in a very healthy manner. The sample lasted me 5 nights, surprisingly. With such amazing results, I was really impressed. I've always used Estée Lauder's ANR serum, which has a pretty darn hefty price tag. I do love it, but until I can afford to use that with this concurrently, I plan to replace it with this Kiehl's product at night. As a poor college student, I must consider my options. With this product, I can also use it in the morning, and the price tag is super nicer compared to the ANR serum. I already ordered the 3.4 oz. and will update this review once I try out the bottle. From the reviews, the bottle sounds like a disappointment compared to the sample. Let's hope Kiehl's have made some improvements since!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 10/12/2013 1:20:00 PM more reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is good stuff. It's a serum but as far as serums go its very hydrating.As serums are treatments and not moisturisers this does well to act as both so you really don't need a lot.A couple of pumps for face and neck. Very nice texture, just glides on.I can use this around eyes with no problem, although at Keihls they will tell you not to. But ANY company selling eye cream will tell you the same. To me this is a nonsense. This is a line reducing serum so to me it's no use if I can't use it around eyes where I have lines!Just be careful around eyes to see how you react.It's the concentration of ascorbic acid rather than the ingredient that can be irritating to some. It's helped a lot with crepiness around eyes and has improved the texture of my skin.Ths is a viamin c rich product, but really there's not much else to it.But I like this , it's good value for what it is and I will continue to use.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cosmeticgrrl on 9/6/2013 2:14:00 PM more reviews by cosmeticgrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product made me break out exactly where I used it (my forehead). I never break out!! This product should be avoided!! No wrinkle-reduction, either :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suukyi on 8/21/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by suukyi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think this would be best for those who don't break out (lucky them!)
I use it only on my forehead in order to get rid of a worry line and prevent future lines, and the serum actually worked in about a week, really. However, all along this time, the area where I applied the serum never stopped breaking out, and I almost never breakout on my forehead! Even if I did break out, they'd eventually heal. I'm going to continue using it no matter what since I rather have pimples than wrinkles. I've been using this for 5 weeks, and the pimples haven't diminished, so I don't know if I'll get used to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlemissdimples88 on 8/21/2013 8:36:00 AM more reviews by littlemissdimples88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is so-so compared to some other vitamin C products i've tried. It doesn't make as big a difference on my skin as iS clinical super serum does, however it's also Much cheaper.

It costs about US$60 for 50ml (at full retail price), vs about US$140 for 30ml (iS clinical super serum). Really cheap! That's why although i'd rate it only about 6/10 for effectiveness, i gave it 4 lippies.

I've used it for a couple of days, and it maybe brightens my skin slightly. The texture is pretty thick for a serum, which stops it penetrating as deep as the lighter serums. That's a big downside because ideally a serum should go deep into the dermis to repair damage there. By a few days after using iS clinical serum, my skin really seems to be lit up drastically.

This is a decent product though, and for the price i think it's great value! I may buy it again, not sure

EDIT: Oh damn, i used it for a few days w/o problems, used something else for a while. Then i've been using it the past 3 days, and now i've got ZITS. i hardly ever get zits, and when i do i usually only get 1. Now i have like 3 or 4. Sigh

To be fair, i rarely exfoliate because my skin is generally really clear. I think pple who exfoliate regularly and don't have oily skin may be ok using this product, but otherwise be careful. This product can clog pores, apparently

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Yvie8 on 8/18/2013 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Yvie8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It is just OK. It probably works on lines but I did not continue using the product long enough because I hated the texture. For the time that I was using it, however, I did notice that it brightened my complexion a bit. This product contains too many silicones in my opinion, which leaves a tacky feeling long after application. Also, the product 'balls up', which makes it obvious that there is something on my face. Definitately not cosmetically elegant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheEmpress on 7/23/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by TheEmpress

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really did not expect these results. I recieved (2) samples of this in a swap. I was concerned about lines on my neck and around my mouth so I tried it. I decided to use it at night underneath my night creme because it is slightly oily and I also found it to be unusually warm on the skin. When my samples were done, I decided to purchase a full bottle on Ebay for $30.00 because I liked the texture, feel and saw a slight improvement. When I received the bottle. I used it generously on my face and neck for 3 or 4 nights. On the 4th or 5th day, I woke up to a dramatic transformation. It was as if there was a light inside me. I GLOWED so much, I could not stay out of the mirror. My skin tone is so even, I really could go without makeup. As for the lines on my neck and face, they're still there but do appear a little lighter. I definately plan to continue with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Treatments (Face) products