The Body Shop • Lip & Cheek Stain - 01 Rose Pink • Blush

rated 4.1(31 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 stella0r on 6/9/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by stella0r

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to blush for a natural look! Back in college when I didn't wear any makeup, I'd use this for my cheeks and sometimes on my lips. Up until now, I use it from time to time even on top of my foundation. It gives tha natural flushed cheeks look but I only put on a little, it can get too red when you apply too much. This is a staple for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lingerz on 1/9/2011 6:53:00 AM more reviews by lingerz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best blush I've used thus far! I find the color very build-able; just use less when you need a hint of pink and build up when you want a stronger color for night! It's also great with or without foundation - I use it daily just over moisturizer and a mattifying base as well as over foundation for events and such. The colour comes out exactly like my natural blushing color and I have slightly tan yellow-undertoned skin.

However, I only use this product for my cheeks. I did not like the texture on my lips and felt it was too drying - it dried out my lips and left them somewhat tacky. Also due to its liquid and watery consistency I find it runs out much faster than a powder blush of the same price would, which makes it rather pricey. That being said, it's a far cheaper substitute to Benefit's Benetint. Overall, it is a good buy and I've repurchased this twice already! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frckls on 12/4/2010 1:55:00 AM more reviews by frckls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

How can I not give my very first review to my Holy Grail product since, errrr...lemme count, 6 years ago! I hate my colorless everyday look, but I'm not wearing blushes or lipstick to school (I was in high school back then)! When I first found this I fell deeply and I just couldn't let go. It gives a nice rosy, dewy look on my cheek, blushing-like. And on my lips, it looks like they just got bitten. I always smear Vaseline on my lips afterbath to prevent them from drying and flaking. Then I just glide this product on. On the cheeks, one dip from the tube is enough for a smear on both my cheeks and the apple of my chin each, then I just use my fingers to even out the color.
I even use this for a night-out or partying when I put on full makeup bcs I just hate the look of powder blush on people skin. The only powder blush I use is my bronzer, which I use instead of this to match my heavy smoky eyes or when I'm rocking red lips. This stain just never fails me. And my sisters as well.
Some guy friends love the blushing look on my cheeks, and when one finally found out what I'm using, next thing I know, his (then) girlfriend pulled this out of her purse when we were hanging out! Call me a cheat, but I have never spilled the secret to even my closest girlfriends, at least for a few years! They found out themselves maybe from a quick peek to my purse or a quick glance in the ladies room, however hard I try to conceal the bottle. Hahahahaha.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gmheels on 11/19/2010 7:52:00 AM more reviews by gmheels

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product! Its like a cheaper version of Benefit's Benetint. It takes a little getting used to applying it, but I love it it gives me a healthy natural looking glow! Especially as I normally always look white and pasty! This product also looks fab on the lips when you cover it with gloss, giving long lasting red lips!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Betto on 10/17/2010 5:06:00 AM more reviews by Betto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Hmm how can I rate this... First of all, let me just say I LOVE the color! My skin tone is warm-neutral and I'm fair, but my facial skin is however a little rosy. This looks purrrfect on my cheeks. It gives me those rosy apple cheeks without being over-the-top. It looks like I came in from the cold, and like the color is coming from within. Also, the color lasts basically all day. The finish is not matte since it's a gel blush, but not shiny either - perhaps a tad dewy, but not much. IMO you can use it with most types of foundations, just not super matte ones. The gel can also be used under another blush to make it last longer.
.
Now for the cons. The consistency of the gel is quite thin. Nothing wrong with that, but it dries super-fast! Better be really quick, or it will look streaky, patchy or whatever - not natural. The product comes with a wand, but I have to blend it with my fingers. Like I mentioned, the gel dries faast and color stays put for a really long time, which means red fingertips. Not good. The packaging is o.k., but on my first tube the product leaked. I also sensed this horrible smell coming from it after using it for maybe two months. Also, I suspect the product clogged my pores. (I used it almost daily and layered it quite.) I'm not sure but I think after using it about three weeks tiny bumps appeared on my cheeks. I am one my second tube now and havn't noticed this yet, but I'll update if I do. Finally, you have to use a lot of product if you want the color to really show up. It's not very expensive, but I finish it very fast, so for me it is quite expensive. Oh, and I forgot: It is very drying on my lips (not on cheeks) and looks fuschia-like. Can't use it with a balm either.
.
Bottom line: Definitely *not* HG, but the color is:P I did repurchase this and probably will again, unless I find a matching shade. For information: If you love this color but find the product annoying as I do, there's supposed to be very good gel blushes with very similar color (...which are not avaiable in my country nor on eBay): Pixi, Bonne Bell and Beaute in Flouron.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theserpentsapple on 9/30/2010 3:19:00 PM more reviews by theserpentsapple

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like this shade. The formula is very thin and it's relatively comfortable to wear. It can be built up to a more intense pink, which I like. This one has no shimmer. It also doesn't taste bad, which I think is important.

I use this under red lip liner and lip stick to give them a good base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jabberparro on 9/19/2010 6:03:00 PM more reviews by jabberparro

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love the different colours you can create by layering this, but it tends to wear off after a little while. Also, I have dry skin, so I wish it wee a bit easier to blend on my cheeks. I would buy this again as I love the colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glitterattii on 8/19/2010 11:27:00 PM more reviews by glitterattii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product as a cheek stain. As a lip stain -- not so much.

Looks very natural on me and stays a long time. I also love how it did not break me out. And the fact that it doesn't break me out is a big thing because practically anything I put on my face breaks me out. So hooray for Body Shop Lip and Cheek Stain!

I gave it a 4 because as much as I love this so much as a cheek stain, it's not a very good lip stain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iramasson on 7/17/2010 2:08:00 PM more reviews by iramasson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I bought to be used on cheeks so that is what I am reviewing. Its very watery in consistency but easy to apply and spread without any streaks. You can have absolute control of color intensity by how much you apply which is great. It adds a beautiful pink subtle glow. I love it and I think it will last a long time because all you need is a tiny drop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sair on 5/11/2010 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Sair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I enjoy this lip and cheek stain but I am only able to use it for my cheeks. My skin goes quite dark when I tan in the summer and this color shows up nicely even when I'm at my darkest. It's a nice rose color so it gives you a healthy looking flush. You are able to layer this color so you can control if you want just a hint or something more. I have even layered it over my blush/bronzer and have enjoyed the intensity of it when I wear a nude color on my lips.

I think this color would compliment almost all skin shades. It reminds me of the color you get when you pinch your cheeks. I'm not able to use it as a lipstain - it's too watery, I don't like the texture/feel and doesn't show up on my lips at all.

I would repurchase it but only if it was on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Blush products