L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(146 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 ssarahh on 5/23/2013 3:19:00 PM more reviews by ssarahh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The only good thing about this hair color is that it didn't stress my hair very much. The color has stayed shiny since I put it in.

The bad thing is just that it's bullshit that this will wash away after 6-8 weeks (as the package said) I used color no 535 Chocolate. It became very dark, and had a weird red-orange shine in it. It does not look as what I would describe as chocolate... this is more like dark mahogny on my hair. And it WON'T WASH AWAY.

It has faded a bit, it's not as dark as it was at first. But I have had this color in my hair for double the time it would wash away in. 15 weeks has gone and I don't think it's never going to fade away. This sucks so much because I really wanted a color that would fade away after several washes/weeks.

Overall, good impression. My hair has stayed shiny. But I'm never using this product again. I am so disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Clio1 on 5/15/2013 11:11:00 AM more reviews by Clio1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I cant agree more with Sciencegeeks comments earlier this month. I had the same experience

I too used the 'Dark Brown' colour on my long brown hair to try and cover a few greys. I wanted my hair to end up a similar colour to what it was. I have never dyed it before

The Bads:
It turned out SUPER DARK - ALMOST BLACK !! I look like Morticia or a vampire
It is very matt and will remove any warm natural variation in your hair
Shine goes from your hair
It is NOT semi permanent - it fades but alters your hair colour permanently

I called L'oreal UK to ask how to get rid of this product from my hair - they said wash with clarifying shampoo many times . Well I stood in the shower and washed it 30 times, not kidding. My grey hairs are back but alas my normal hair colour which was a warmer colour with nice natrual highlight variation is gone. It is matt, flat and shineless. My skin looks totally washed out with this look. It will take 4 years to grow it back my own hair colour to my length.

L'oreal said they don't guarantee that this product will not leave your hair permanently changed in colour even when it washes out - and that is certainly my experience. I wish I had known this before.

My Advice'
1. If you're a brunette go a shade lighter than you think you are from the box colour.
2. Leave it on for 5 mins less than they say if its your first time
3. DONT assume this will wash out fully
4. DONT assume that its semi permanent '28 washes' as it say - its NOT - it changes your hair permanently even after it has faded out.
4. Do a hidden strand test the first time - I wish I had - it seemed too much of a pain at the time but it would have saved me from losing my underlying normal hair colour

The only up side I found is that it didnt smell bad and was easy enough to put on. I just wish I hadnt !

Good luck everyone

Clio

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellohappiness on 5/14/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by hellohappiness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this hair dye. It's a nice consistency, easy to use. It does smell strong but I really like the smell. The colour is vibrant and lasts a long time.

A word of warning though: It comes out darker than what it says on the box. I use 400 dark brown to achieve a black colour. If in doubt, choose the lighter shade.

Overall though, great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sciencegeek on 5/14/2013 9:39:00 AM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this in dark brown and chocolate brownie on medium brown hair.
The Good
. Easy to use
. Shiny hair

The Bad
. The dye seriously stinks
. The conditioner stinks. I feel everyone can tell I dyed my hair just because of how bad it reeks!
. Conditioner is useless. Only softens my hair if I use loads which then makes my hair look limp!
. Supposed to be semi permanent but does not really wash out, you'll still get root regrowth and everything!
. The colours turn out really dark
. Dark brown was jet black on me with horrible cool undertones that made my warm complexion look tired and ill!
. Chocolate brownie gave me black hair all over with reddish brown roots. Not a good look!
. This happened even though I left the dye on for 5 minutes less than recommended.

I would not recommend this at all. You get results that are neither semi permanent nor permanent. Colours are too dark and the wrong type of dark. Avoid!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauraJM on 4/8/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by LauraJM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: Tried a DIFFERENT colour this time - CHILLI CHOCOLATE (as its a New Shade and there were no reviews!!!) :)

"CHILLI CHOCOLATE" Number 554 (5 medium brown + 5 Mahogany + 4 Copper )

I am a qualified hairdresser & yes some of the people are right it does make your hair a darker base if you have anything darker than light-mid brown hair to start with and that has previously been coloured 'at least a few times' in your life. To achieve the exact colour on the box for the Loreal Casting creme gloss range that are numbered 5 or above, you would need to strip your hair of colour first with bleach i'm afriad. That's advertising for you -don't be fooled! However, if you have anything from light brown to blonde hair to start with, you'll get the colour on the box pretty much. ( I have medium to dark brown hair)

The good thing is that it had all the correct undertones that i wanted and that are on the box picture and because i have highlighted hair i wont have to wait very long before it lightens considerably. I am glad that it is a semi-permanent. It is a very high quality colour and it leaves hair with absolutely no damage whatsoever, it does not drip and it has very very natural colours that fade naturally. The only downside as i said before.. is that the colours of 5 and above e.g 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 (not the other way going lighter) are considerably darker than the box and there is not much between the colours either.

For those with medium brown hair or darker = I would personally buy the level 6's or 7's in future and if you are looking for a true CHILLI CHOCOLATE colour - I would recommend going for AMBER 645. It is the closest of the range to match the picture on the Chilli Chocoalte box. Shame they don't do a 654 or a 754.
My hair feel realy really lovely though and the colour is fabulously even all over so don't worry about it damaging your hair. Many people who moan about that on here have possibly got already very damaged and/or particulary fine weak hair.
Also, make sure that you apply this colour to dirty and unwashed damp-hair, as the natural oils in your hair and the dirt protects your hair and makes the colour look its very best!
Peace and happy colouring :) xxx



-------------------------------------
My hair is naturally dark brown with mostly golden undertones but also very slightly red undertones in it also. I have a full head of capped highlights to make it 1-2 shades lighter and give it an auburn sunkissed look. I decided as it is getting into spring now that the sun would further lighten it and so decided to go darker ready for it to go lighter in the sun anyway :) My hair is in tip-top condition with no damage whatsoever. So I used ICED TRUFFLE 513, I am a trainee hairdresser and i work with Loreal products at college but i do not trust anyone as i am a perfectionist so I always do my own hair. Ok , the numbering on the Iced Truffle being 513 /The 5 means "Brown", the 1 means "Ash" and the last number is always the weakest and that was a 3 and that means "Gold". I wanted to keep the tones i already had -being golden the "3"as i said, -and it was highlighted aswell remember. So i chose this "Iced Truffle" colour, to 1./ darken my colour, 2./ tone down the warm bits that were going slightly brassy, 3./ to keep my gold tone 4./ thus "richen-up" my overall colour. It came out perfectly the exact colour on the box with my natural gold tones not "blocked out" from going darker. It has not damaged my hair, it has not dryed out my hair. My hair feels like silk and i love the result. I always spend hours on the internet looking for the perfect colour and analysing what tones it is made up of so i do not wrong. It pays to take your time and know what your box colour tones make up that colour on the picture before just putting on your head. Alot of people complain that it goes too dark or has too much brassyness in it, you need to know your colour chart and you can find it on the internet so you understand colour and "colour balance" better, blue counteracts brassy tones etc.. just find a colour chart for the brand you want to buy and then you can not go wrong :) peace x

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IrishEyes12345 on 4/4/2013 7:54:00 PM more reviews by IrishEyes12345

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I will never dye my hair with one of these again. I have a lovely natural lightest ash brown colour and I have just ruined my hair using this. I used Berry Red AGES ago, six months ago now or more, and its STILL in my hair near the crown. The rest of my hair looks a nice brown but there are still ugly copper pieces in it. I have used every product I could think of to fade the red, and its not budging. I hate it, there is far too much RED even in the brown shades there seems to be NO ash colours at all in this range and they all fade to an ugly copper tone. Ugh!! i am never using it again!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 strugglingauthor on 3/21/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by strugglingauthor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I used this dye on thick, coarse, dark brown hair. I bought this product because it was the only one in the shop in the colour I wanted (darkest brown). I'd previously used Nice N Easy (which I've also reviewed - it was OK, didn't cover grey too well, faded fast.) This was a couple of quid more expensive.

First impressions: I didn't like applying to wet hair as I only dye my hair to cover grey, and when my hair is wet the grey is harder to spot. Also, this product is seriously runny - the very first thing I did was spill it all over my forehead. So be wary.

HOWEVER. The quality of colour, shine and coverage were excellent. With a home-applied semi on hair my colour, you're never going to get perfect grey coverage, but most of the grey really was gone or close enough to it. Coming up to four weeks later, washing my hair every other day, the covered grey has faded to a reddish-brown, which actually makes for nice highlights. Meanwhile my hair is still very shiny and in good condition, and as far as I can tell the dye on the non-grey bits hasn't faded at all (as I go close to my natural colour it's not very easy to tell.) Have already ordered this again, and just hoping my application technique will improve...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IndigoSoul on 2/15/2013 8:00:00 AM more reviews by IndigoSoul

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wouldn't reccommend this hair dye at all. I used the semi perm, as i find them kinder on my hair. Usually i will use the semi from nice n easy range as they leave my hair lovely and soft, but they dont have a huge range of colours to choose from. my usual nice n easy colour wasn't in stock, and i fell in love with how many colour shades casting gloss has.
One bottle would be enough for an all over head if you have fine-medium shoulder length hair, any thicker or longer you will need another pack. The dye itself smells gorgeous, really fruity, and the colour result is amazing.....BUT and this is a BIG BUT...it totally ruined my hair, my hair was left like straw, so dry i couldn't run a brush through it.
My hair was very strong and silky smooth before as i cared for it well, but since this i have had to have 7 inches cut off, it has been 5 months since i last used this and the hair that's left is still as dry and brittle as ever. In the past i've even had 12% bleach on my hair numerous times, and it has never felt or looked this bad.
I am so dissoppointed with this product, as with a good a name and a huge colour chart to choose from i thought this would be promising :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GINA887 on 12/29/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by GINA887

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used casting iced truffle 513, at first it turned out much darker than the image on the box (2 shades darker) but just after one wash it got lighter and i love it, i hope it stays that way...still darker than the image but that's ok since my hair is naturally dark...it also dried my hair a little bit but dont they all do!!
I would definately buy it again specially that one box is more than enough for my coarse hair. I recommend that product for people who want an amonia free color for an affordable price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chi77 on 12/9/2012 5:22:00 AM more reviews by chi77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

nice smell and ammonia free. i got this in terracotta to cover my greys.it covers my black n grey hair very well. hair is shiny soft and healthy. doesnt drip coz its a cream formula. the shade is a cherry chocolate brown. lurve it. will buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products