L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(150 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kittenstein on 8/23/2013 8:27:00 PM more reviews by kittenstein

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was really happily surprised with this product. I had dull mousy brown hair and this added a nice rich colour to it! Not to mention it feels so soft after using the conditioner! Feels just like i've had it done at the hairdressers. I after applying the product to my hair I left it on for only around 10 minutes as I was scared it was going to turn black but it came out really nicely. I used the colour Praline brown and would use it again, i'm excited to try out other colours in the future after this experience.

I would recommend this to anyone, but just make sure you are only going a similar colour to your own to avoid mishaps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HotPozzum on 8/23/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by HotPozzum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My go-to hair dye. I have been using this pretty much ever since it was released! I am naturally mousey-brown and I tend to use any of the browns - light, medium, dark, chestnut etc. I have not tried any of the vivid reds/blondes or blacks so not sure how they turn out. Mine always turns out perfect, shiny, healthy with nice long-lasting results. Looks very natural and seems to last a few months each time. I think it doesn't really "wash out" so would warn others against expecting this. The box also recommends you pick a colour lighter if you are undecided as it's usually a little bit dark for the first week or so. I don't mind this but others may. It smells good and the conditioner is wonderful. Gloves are crappy and the texture could be a little bit thicker but I have learnt to deal with this. Box turns into handy stand for the dye whilst you are using it and instructions are clear with pictures. If you are looking for a long lasting hair dye to enhance your natural colour then I would recommend this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LaOreja on 6/28/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by LaOreja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Please be aware this hair dye does not wash out over time and I would not really describe it as a semi-permanent. I have not dyed my hair for nearly a year as I wanted to return to my natural colour, but the hair previously dyed with this remains almost the same colour as when I originally dyed it. I used the dark brown shade (perhaps lighter shades are different) and I think it's a bit misleading that this is described as semi permanent. Just be aware of this if you are planning to use it. Apart from that it is a good dye and I was happy with the colour/application etc .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kiki725 on 6/20/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by kiki725

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I dye my hair an awful lot and recently i have started to use semi-permanent dyes again. I have used loreal casting creme gloss before and i was quite happy so i opted for it again. I had been dying my hair a light blonde colour but i fancied a change so i chose the chocolate caramel colour as it looked nice and rich with a bit of a reddish hint.

Now, as i said i have used LCCG before and the colour i use to call my 'go to' colour is much darker than this colour so i thought it would be ok. WRONG. This shade turned out super dark, almost black at the ends - i do dye my hair often and i never just do my roots and the spread the product through the rest of my hair so i do have colour build up at the ends - so not a good look for me as i'm quite pale. The next morning i had to wash my hair 3 times with anti-dandruff shampoo as i have read it can lighten hair colour - it did help, but i'm still really dark brown.

Now (about a week later) my hair is lighter but there is no red hint and it is still harder than the colour on the box.

I also know, from experience, that this won't wash out.

Would i buy the product again? Maybe, but only for lighter shades. In furture i will leave dark shades to the hairdressers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JennyBean13 on 6/1/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by JennyBean13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used this hair dye twice - in Black Cherry and Plum. I found both to be nice shades, just a bit darker than on the box. Easy to apply, nice smell, not messy, conditioner is great. My hair felt healthy and looked shiny. However this will not wash out. After months, black cherry was still very much in my hair. I didn't really mind but a lot of people would.

So yeah, nice product, but it's not a godsend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ssarahh on 5/23/2013 3:19:00 PM more reviews by ssarahh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The only good thing about this hair color is that it didn't stress my hair very much. The color has stayed shiny since I put it in.

The bad thing is just that it's bullshit that this will wash away after 6-8 weeks (as the package said) I used color no 535 Chocolate. It became very dark, and had a weird red-orange shine in it. It does not look as what I would describe as chocolate... this is more like dark mahogny on my hair. And it WON'T WASH AWAY.

It has faded a bit, it's not as dark as it was at first. But I have had this color in my hair for double the time it would wash away in. 15 weeks has gone and I don't think it's never going to fade away. This sucks so much because I really wanted a color that would fade away after several washes/weeks.

Overall, good impression. My hair has stayed shiny. But I'm never using this product again. I am so disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Clio1 on 5/15/2013 11:11:00 AM more reviews by Clio1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I cant agree more with Sciencegeeks comments earlier this month. I had the same experience

I too used the 'Dark Brown' colour on my long brown hair to try and cover a few greys. I wanted my hair to end up a similar colour to what it was. I have never dyed it before

The Bads:
It turned out SUPER DARK - ALMOST BLACK !! I look like Morticia or a vampire
It is very matt and will remove any warm natural variation in your hair
Shine goes from your hair
It is NOT semi permanent - it fades but alters your hair colour permanently

I called L'oreal UK to ask how to get rid of this product from my hair - they said wash with clarifying shampoo many times . Well I stood in the shower and washed it 30 times, not kidding. My grey hairs are back but alas my normal hair colour which was a warmer colour with nice natrual highlight variation is gone. It is matt, flat and shineless. My skin looks totally washed out with this look. It will take 4 years to grow it back my own hair colour to my length.

L'oreal said they don't guarantee that this product will not leave your hair permanently changed in colour even when it washes out - and that is certainly my experience. I wish I had known this before.

My Advice'
1. If you're a brunette go a shade lighter than you think you are from the box colour.
2. Leave it on for 5 mins less than they say if its your first time
3. DONT assume this will wash out fully
4. DONT assume that its semi permanent '28 washes' as it say - its NOT - it changes your hair permanently even after it has faded out.
4. Do a hidden strand test the first time - I wish I had - it seemed too much of a pain at the time but it would have saved me from losing my underlying normal hair colour

The only up side I found is that it didnt smell bad and was easy enough to put on. I just wish I hadnt !

Good luck everyone

Clio

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellohappiness on 5/14/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by hellohappiness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this hair dye. It's a nice consistency, easy to use. It does smell strong but I really like the smell. The colour is vibrant and lasts a long time.

A word of warning though: It comes out darker than what it says on the box. I use 400 dark brown to achieve a black colour. If in doubt, choose the lighter shade.

Overall though, great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sciencegeek on 5/14/2013 9:39:00 AM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this in dark brown and chocolate brownie on medium brown hair.
The Good
. Easy to use
. Shiny hair

The Bad
. The dye seriously stinks
. The conditioner stinks. I feel everyone can tell I dyed my hair just because of how bad it reeks!
. Conditioner is useless. Only softens my hair if I use loads which then makes my hair look limp!
. Supposed to be semi permanent but does not really wash out, you'll still get root regrowth and everything!
. The colours turn out really dark
. Dark brown was jet black on me with horrible cool undertones that made my warm complexion look tired and ill!
. Chocolate brownie gave me black hair all over with reddish brown roots. Not a good look!
. This happened even though I left the dye on for 5 minutes less than recommended.

I would not recommend this at all. You get results that are neither semi permanent nor permanent. Colours are too dark and the wrong type of dark. Avoid!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauraJM on 4/8/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by LauraJM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: Tried a DIFFERENT colour this time - CHILLI CHOCOLATE (as its a New Shade and there were no reviews!!!) :)

"CHILLI CHOCOLATE" Number 554 (5 medium brown + 5 Mahogany + 4 Copper )

I am a qualified hairdresser & yes some of the people are right it does make your hair a darker base if you have anything darker than light-mid brown hair to start with and that has previously been coloured 'at least a few times' in your life. To achieve the exact colour on the box for the Loreal Casting creme gloss range that are numbered 5 or above, you would need to strip your hair of colour first with bleach i'm afriad. That's advertising for you -don't be fooled! However, if you have anything from light brown to blonde hair to start with, you'll get the colour on the box pretty much. ( I have medium to dark brown hair)

The good thing is that it had all the correct undertones that i wanted and that are on the box picture and because i have highlighted hair i wont have to wait very long before it lightens considerably. I am glad that it is a semi-permanent. It is a very high quality colour and it leaves hair with absolutely no damage whatsoever, it does not drip and it has very very natural colours that fade naturally. The only downside as i said before.. is that the colours of 5 and above e.g 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 (not the other way going lighter) are considerably darker than the box and there is not much between the colours either.

For those with medium brown hair or darker = I would personally buy the level 6's or 7's in future and if you are looking for a true CHILLI CHOCOLATE colour - I would recommend going for AMBER 645. It is the closest of the range to match the picture on the Chilli Chocoalte box. Shame they don't do a 654 or a 754.
My hair feel realy really lovely though and the colour is fabulously even all over so don't worry about it damaging your hair. Many people who moan about that on here have possibly got already very damaged and/or particulary fine weak hair.
Also, make sure that you apply this colour to dirty and unwashed damp-hair, as the natural oils in your hair and the dirt protects your hair and makes the colour look its very best!
Peace and happy colouring :) xxx



-------------------------------------
My hair is naturally dark brown with mostly golden undertones but also very slightly red undertones in it also. I have a full head of capped highlights to make it 1-2 shades lighter and give it an auburn sunkissed look. I decided as it is getting into spring now that the sun would further lighten it and so decided to go darker ready for it to go lighter in the sun anyway :) My hair is in tip-top condition with no damage whatsoever. So I used ICED TRUFFLE 513, I am a trainee hairdresser and i work with Loreal products at college but i do not trust anyone as i am a perfectionist so I always do my own hair. Ok , the numbering on the Iced Truffle being 513 /The 5 means "Brown", the 1 means "Ash" and the last number is always the weakest and that was a 3 and that means "Gold". I wanted to keep the tones i already had -being golden the "3"as i said, -and it was highlighted aswell remember. So i chose this "Iced Truffle" colour, to 1./ darken my colour, 2./ tone down the warm bits that were going slightly brassy, 3./ to keep my gold tone 4./ thus "richen-up" my overall colour. It came out perfectly the exact colour on the box with my natural gold tones not "blocked out" from going darker. It has not damaged my hair, it has not dryed out my hair. My hair feels like silk and i love the result. I always spend hours on the internet looking for the perfect colour and analysing what tones it is made up of so i do not wrong. It pays to take your time and know what your box colour tones make up that colour on the picture before just putting on your head. Alot of people complain that it goes too dark or has too much brassyness in it, you need to know your colour chart and you can find it on the internet so you understand colour and "colour balance" better, blue counteracts brassy tones etc.. just find a colour chart for the brand you want to buy and then you can not go wrong :) peace x

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products