L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(151 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Tara134 on 9/4/2013 6:40:00 AM more reviews by Tara134

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

It's an amazing product if you want to go darker but it is not semi-permanent. I used Golwell's color remover three times in a week and I couldn't get it to lighten shade 323 to a level 5 or even 4! My natural hair is a level 6 (very ashy) and at first I tried their level 6 -various shades- just to give a bit of wamth and cover my very few greys. Their level 6 shades don't work on level 6 hair and do not cover grey. Then I tried level 5 but it only darkened my natural without covering the grey. Then I went straight to level 3 which totally and completely covered up everything. Since then I have black hair with a hint of red and lighter roots. I will probably need to have it professionally stripped and then go back to level 6. So, I'd say that their darker shades are permanent and their lighter are probably not that good. At least it didn't fry my hair. Could have been a lot worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittenstein on 8/23/2013 8:27:00 PM more reviews by kittenstein

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was really happily surprised with this product. I had dull mousy brown hair and this added a nice rich colour to it! Not to mention it feels so soft after using the conditioner! Feels just like i've had it done at the hairdressers. I after applying the product to my hair I left it on for only around 10 minutes as I was scared it was going to turn black but it came out really nicely. I used the colour Praline brown and would use it again, i'm excited to try out other colours in the future after this experience.

I would recommend this to anyone, but just make sure you are only going a similar colour to your own to avoid mishaps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HotPozzum on 8/23/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by HotPozzum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My go-to hair dye. I have been using this pretty much ever since it was released! I am naturally mousey-brown and I tend to use any of the browns - light, medium, dark, chestnut etc. I have not tried any of the vivid reds/blondes or blacks so not sure how they turn out. Mine always turns out perfect, shiny, healthy with nice long-lasting results. Looks very natural and seems to last a few months each time. I think it doesn't really "wash out" so would warn others against expecting this. The box also recommends you pick a colour lighter if you are undecided as it's usually a little bit dark for the first week or so. I don't mind this but others may. It smells good and the conditioner is wonderful. Gloves are crappy and the texture could be a little bit thicker but I have learnt to deal with this. Box turns into handy stand for the dye whilst you are using it and instructions are clear with pictures. If you are looking for a long lasting hair dye to enhance your natural colour then I would recommend this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LaOreja on 6/28/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by LaOreja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Please be aware this hair dye does not wash out over time and I would not really describe it as a semi-permanent. I have not dyed my hair for nearly a year as I wanted to return to my natural colour, but the hair previously dyed with this remains almost the same colour as when I originally dyed it. I used the dark brown shade (perhaps lighter shades are different) and I think it's a bit misleading that this is described as semi permanent. Just be aware of this if you are planning to use it. Apart from that it is a good dye and I was happy with the colour/application etc .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kiki725 on 6/20/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by kiki725

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I dye my hair an awful lot and recently i have started to use semi-permanent dyes again. I have used loreal casting creme gloss before and i was quite happy so i opted for it again. I had been dying my hair a light blonde colour but i fancied a change so i chose the chocolate caramel colour as it looked nice and rich with a bit of a reddish hint.

Now, as i said i have used LCCG before and the colour i use to call my 'go to' colour is much darker than this colour so i thought it would be ok. WRONG. This shade turned out super dark, almost black at the ends - i do dye my hair often and i never just do my roots and the spread the product through the rest of my hair so i do have colour build up at the ends - so not a good look for me as i'm quite pale. The next morning i had to wash my hair 3 times with anti-dandruff shampoo as i have read it can lighten hair colour - it did help, but i'm still really dark brown.

Now (about a week later) my hair is lighter but there is no red hint and it is still harder than the colour on the box.

I also know, from experience, that this won't wash out.

Would i buy the product again? Maybe, but only for lighter shades. In furture i will leave dark shades to the hairdressers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JennyBean13 on 6/1/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by JennyBean13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used this hair dye twice - in Black Cherry and Plum. I found both to be nice shades, just a bit darker than on the box. Easy to apply, nice smell, not messy, conditioner is great. My hair felt healthy and looked shiny. However this will not wash out. After months, black cherry was still very much in my hair. I didn't really mind but a lot of people would.

So yeah, nice product, but it's not a godsend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ssarahh on 5/23/2013 3:19:00 PM more reviews by ssarahh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The only good thing about this hair color is that it didn't stress my hair very much. The color has stayed shiny since I put it in.

The bad thing is just that it's bullshit that this will wash away after 6-8 weeks (as the package said) I used color no 535 Chocolate. It became very dark, and had a weird red-orange shine in it. It does not look as what I would describe as chocolate... this is more like dark mahogny on my hair. And it WON'T WASH AWAY.

It has faded a bit, it's not as dark as it was at first. But I have had this color in my hair for double the time it would wash away in. 15 weeks has gone and I don't think it's never going to fade away. This sucks so much because I really wanted a color that would fade away after several washes/weeks.

Overall, good impression. My hair has stayed shiny. But I'm never using this product again. I am so disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Clio1 on 5/15/2013 11:11:00 AM more reviews by Clio1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I cant agree more with Sciencegeeks comments earlier this month. I had the same experience

I too used the 'Dark Brown' colour on my long brown hair to try and cover a few greys. I wanted my hair to end up a similar colour to what it was. I have never dyed it before

The Bads:
It turned out SUPER DARK - ALMOST BLACK !! I look like Morticia or a vampire
It is very matt and will remove any warm natural variation in your hair
Shine goes from your hair
It is NOT semi permanent - it fades but alters your hair colour permanently

I called L'oreal UK to ask how to get rid of this product from my hair - they said wash with clarifying shampoo many times . Well I stood in the shower and washed it 30 times, not kidding. My grey hairs are back but alas my normal hair colour which was a warmer colour with nice natrual highlight variation is gone. It is matt, flat and shineless. My skin looks totally washed out with this look. It will take 4 years to grow it back my own hair colour to my length.

L'oreal said they don't guarantee that this product will not leave your hair permanently changed in colour even when it washes out - and that is certainly my experience. I wish I had known this before.

My Advice'
1. If you're a brunette go a shade lighter than you think you are from the box colour.
2. Leave it on for 5 mins less than they say if its your first time
3. DONT assume this will wash out fully
4. DONT assume that its semi permanent '28 washes' as it say - its NOT - it changes your hair permanently even after it has faded out.
4. Do a hidden strand test the first time - I wish I had - it seemed too much of a pain at the time but it would have saved me from losing my underlying normal hair colour

The only up side I found is that it didnt smell bad and was easy enough to put on. I just wish I hadnt !

Good luck everyone

Clio

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellohappiness on 5/14/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by hellohappiness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this hair dye. It's a nice consistency, easy to use. It does smell strong but I really like the smell. The colour is vibrant and lasts a long time.

A word of warning though: It comes out darker than what it says on the box. I use 400 dark brown to achieve a black colour. If in doubt, choose the lighter shade.

Overall though, great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sciencegeek on 5/14/2013 9:39:00 AM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this in dark brown and chocolate brownie on medium brown hair.
The Good
. Easy to use
. Shiny hair

The Bad
. The dye seriously stinks
. The conditioner stinks. I feel everyone can tell I dyed my hair just because of how bad it reeks!
. Conditioner is useless. Only softens my hair if I use loads which then makes my hair look limp!
. Supposed to be semi permanent but does not really wash out, you'll still get root regrowth and everything!
. The colours turn out really dark
. Dark brown was jet black on me with horrible cool undertones that made my warm complexion look tired and ill!
. Chocolate brownie gave me black hair all over with reddish brown roots. Not a good look!
. This happened even though I left the dye on for 5 minutes less than recommended.

I would not recommend this at all. You get results that are neither semi permanent nor permanent. Colours are too dark and the wrong type of dark. Avoid!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products