Kerastase • Bain Miroir 2 Shine Revealing Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.3(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 fiunit on 11/20/2008 4:12:00 PM more reviews by fiunit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm onto my second bottle of this shampoo. It is AMAZING! It really brings out the shine in my highlighted blonde hair, without overloading my hair with gunk. I like it for those days when you want really shiny hair, or just don't need to use a moisturising/strengthening/deep cleaning shampoo. The smell is really lovely - like roses - and makes my hair very soft as well as shiny. I'm a total Kerastase fiend as their products really work for my hair. They don't work for everyone, but if they work for you I definately recommend this shampoo! It also lasts for ages and lathers up really nicely.

EDIT: Over a year since I posted this review and this shampoo is still one of my faves! I love that it has a UV filter, still adore the scent, and when I stopped using it for a couple of months my hair wasn't as shiny. Having just started using it again, the shine has been restored to my hair and it feels so soft and silky! HG shampoo? I think so!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 irimoto on 10/13/2008 6:16:00 PM more reviews by irimoto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Kerastase“s products, this shampoo lathers amazingly and leaves my hair smelling great and very soft... for a few minutes! My hair is super reactive to silicones and they dry it like crazy.
I have very fine thick highlighted hair which is dry but NOT damaged. I find all kerastase products fabulous at first, but after a couple weeks my hair is dry and dull.
If your hair reacts positively to silicones, this is a great (overpriced) shampoo to try. It protects your color and gives you a lot of shine.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChristyW on 9/3/2008 1:06:00 PM more reviews by ChristyW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo didn't work for my thick, somewhat dry hair. I just don't think it moisturizes enough although it does leave my hair shiny. What is weird is that after shampooing with this, my hair feels like silk, but as soon as I apply conditioner I start having problems. It is almost like this coats my hair so that the conditioner can't penetrate effectively. I tried several conditioners and had the same problem with all of them, and since I can NOT go without conditioner, I'll go back to my Bain Satin 2.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candey_girl on 6/17/2008 4:20:00 AM more reviews by candey_girl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love this shampoo! My hair was dull, and felt dry on the ends. My hairdresser recommended this shampoo to me, and at first I was very hesitant to buy it due to its price (I am a student), but I gave in!

After the first wash you could notice the difference in my hair's texture, it was much smoother. Also, it is now so shiny. Never before have I received so many compliments about my hair looking so gorgeous. Its all because of this gorg shampoo.

I tried my aunties shampoo the other day, just to compare with my Kerestase. I couldn't beleive the difference! My auntie's shampoo made my hair so knotty. I did another rinse using Kerestase shampoo, and voila! My hair was so smooth, I didn't even need to use conditioner.

Highly recommended for any hair, its fab-o!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amyrhow on 4/30/2008 1:15:00 PM more reviews by amyrhow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this shampoo and the Chroma Reflect Milk at the suggestion of my new stylist. She stated that the small bottle and price were becuase of the product's concentraion. I started using the product 2 weeks ago and was disappointed that it did not lather and it was no more concentrated than my Bb shampoos.
I noticed last week that my right ear was super itchy and I thought it was just dry skin...then my left ear and entire neck broke out in a rash. This is the only new product I have added to my regimine and have since discontinued. I am using cortizone and benadryl to combat the reaction.
Aside from the allergic reaction I found the product to make my hair look dry and frizzy, enough to where my finace even commented on it.
I will not buy this product again for obvious reasons, and am not sure why I ever thought there was a brand better than bumble & bumble. Bb rules!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tricho on 4/22/2008 5:06:00 AM more reviews by Tricho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

For £12.50 and all the rave reviews I really expected better. I'm not usually the lone bad review but in this case I have to make an exception.

This is not a "bad" shampoo, it's just not that good. I have coloured, long, fine straight hair that gets greasy fairly quickly. I bought this shampoo and skipped in shower conditioner so as now to weigh my hair down then put some leave in stuff on when i got out of the shower.

I found this shampoo firstly stupidly expensive and my gut instinct was to go for a volumising shampoo, i bought this purely on the reviews here.
Secondly I found it very hard to lather which I didn't like, I thought this was supposed to be a high end shampoo??

My hair didn't feel bad when I dried it, it was shiney and easy to manage, but frankly my L'Oreal nutrigloss shampoo is just as good and leaves my hair the same if not better than this stuff. I may try it again just to be sure but I really do think I wasted my money on this shampoo, for that I am more than a little disappointed, it didn't give any of the amazing results for me that others have reported here. No HG shampoo here.

EDIT: I did try this shampoo again just incase I was wrong, i used more and it lathered better this time and left my hair very clean. All the same it was still "meh" - not worth a repurchase or an upgrade of lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* busybaker1 on 3/22/2008 4:19:00 PM more reviews by busybaker1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My HG shampoo! I have thick, dry, wavy hair with color and highlights...which I currently blow dry and flat iron nearly every day (torture, I know!). I was always juggling between color-preserving shampoos (Phytocitrus) and frizz-fighting moisturizing shampoos (Oleo-Relax or Phytojoba), trying to get the best of both worlds. The Bain Miroir 2 is the only shampoo I have found that does it all! Its a creamy white shampoo that doesn't produce a lot of lather, but cleans thoroughly. It moisturizes so much that some days I skip in-shower conditioner. The Refection/Chroma line's berries & roses fragrance is faint and not overpowering, just a pleasant delicate scent as you shampoo. My hair never feels heavy or coated, its glossy shiny and my haircolor looks fresh. I have never experienced any build-up or residue with regular use. This shampoo is expensive but the bottle lasts forever, and it just works!


UPDATE: I was intrigued by the new Bain Chroma Riche shampoo that was just released for the Kerastase U.S. line. I knew it was different from my creamy white Bain Miroir 2 because its clear liquid in a clear bottle. I decided to splurge and try it, and was so disappointed. It left a silicone residue in my hair and the scent was too strong. I'm sticking with Bain Miroir 2!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lchoe on 3/13/2008 6:20:00 AM more reviews by lchoe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing the Bain Miroir 2 Shampoo after trying the Bain Miroir 1. I love the shampoo Bain Miroir 1. I swore I'd never buy a Kerastase product after buying a Kerastase conditioner for $30 (Nutritive Lait Vital Proteine Conditioner) that was extremely over priced for average results a few years back. 6 months ago, I had a hair cut (a few weeks after having my black hair colored to cover the greys) and my Vidal Sassoon hairdresser used the Chroma Protect leave in/shine enhancer. He was careful to show me my hair condition in the big mirror before the haircut and after to compare. When he was done, I oohed and cursed at the same time b/c my hair was silkier & shiner than ever, and I knew I had no choice but to splurge and buy this Shine Reflecting line.


The shampoo is super concentrated (you need very little), smells nice, looks cool in the bathroom and my friends tell me how thick my hair is after using this (impressive considering my hair is fine). After using this, my hair is very full but lustrous, tangle free, conditioned. But after using this for 6 months, I wonder if my hair is getting a little dry from the shampoo so I just ordered Bain Miroir 2. The Chroma Reflect conditioner is ok but I don't know if it's good enough to repurchase. Frankly I used the Joico K-Pak Reconstructor and I thought the results blew away the Keratase conditioner. I do love and highly recommend the Keratase Chroma Protect Leave In as well as the shampoo!


***Update: I just received and tried the Bain Miroir 2. This shampoo is super conditioning and leaves your hair amazingly soft, shiny and pampered (more than any shampoo I've ever tried) w/o any heaviness or greasiness. My hair doesn't have the volume that Bain Miroir 1 gives me but my hair is not flat and still looks nice with body (just not as full as the Bain Miroir 1). I will alternate both of the shampoos as I love how pampered my hair is after using the 2 (you don't need conditioner except on the ends with this shampoo). I could imagine women with thicker hair or dryer hair transforming their hair with the Bain Miroir 2 (yes, it's that good).

I have fine (but lots of it) long (5" past the shoulder) black, straight, silky hair. Slightly oily scalp with dry ends. I am Korean, 42 yrs old and also use: Joico, Alterna Hemp along with the Keratase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lemfloyd on 2/12/2008 8:28:00 AM more reviews by lemfloyd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a fantastic shampoo and by far my favourite, and I've tried a few! I have dark brown, shoulder length hair which has a tendancy to get greasy at the roots. This shampoo makes my hair gleam and feel bouncy soft, without feeling heavy. I don't need to use a conditioner with this, which is why I like it so much. I just deep condition my hair, once a week instead.
I found the best way to use this is to use a small amount as a 'pre-wash' which doesn't foam much. On the 2nd wash, lots and lots of lovely foam gently cleanses and cleans the hair.
My only issue with this is I would prefer the bottle to have a quick release cap as it would be easier to handle in the shower!
A must try product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jacqdiaz on 12/29/2007 10:42:00 PM more reviews by jacqdiaz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Believe me when I tell you guys that I have used just about all the shampoos out there - cheap ones and expensive ones. This is not the first Kerastase shampoo, either. Bad experience with all the other ones and then I try the Shine Revealing. It's just about perfect! I have weird hair - naturally wavy, oily scalp, dry ends and color treated! So you can imagine how many shampoos I've tried. But I happened to finally try this on the advice of InStyle magazine, which named it the best shampoo for color treated hair. So I go and buy it for $33 (price is not an issue for me as long as the product works). And to my surprise, the shampoo delivers! Tons of shine, no buildup whatsover, soft waves...my hair stays nice and clean throughout the day, which NEVER happened before. I can't stop raving about this shampoo. I will now try the masque. Try this shampoo, you won't regret it! :)
UPDATE: Too drying after a couple of days. Killed the waves on my hair. Not buying again. Not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Shampoo products