Joico Moisture Recovery

4.1

78 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Propylene Glycol, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Cocamide Mea, Sorbitol, Pentapeptide-29 Cysteinamide, Pentapeptide-30 Cysteinamide, Tetrapeptide-28 Argininamide, Tetrapeptide-29 Argininamide, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Keratin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Algin, Sea Water/Maris Aqua/Eau De Mer, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Silicone Quaternium-16, Citric Acid, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, Undeceth-11, Arginine, Sodium Citrate, Butyloctanol, Undeceth-5, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Stearyl Dihydroxypropyldimonium Oligosaccharides, Dmdm Hydantoin, Methylparaben, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Benzyl Benzoate, Limonene, Fragrance/Parfum, Ext. Violet 2 (CI 60730), Blue 1 (CI 42090), Yellow 5 (CI 19140).


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have very fine hair that has a weird, uneven kink to it. I always have to blow dry and straighten otherwise the kink takes over and it's a frizzy mess. I love joico products and swear by them. As I have chemically treated hair, I use this alternatively with the joico kpak reconstructor. Love it. My hair is never perfect but this gives me the closest I'll ever get! I use the moisture spray too which makes a huge difference. Only issue is here in Australia it's pricey, which over time is a major expense, but I feel it's worth it! (Not sure about my boyfriend though!!)



on 8/9/2013 6:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm really starting to like this! I bought the liter size with the matching conditioner during the liter sale due to all the recommendations on the hair board.
Here's the deal, I just got back from a trip to Germany and the hard water dried my hair out really bad so I needed something incredibly moisturizing. I tried so many things and nothing worked! The first two times I used it I didn't like the way my hair felt when it was dry ( this was in DC where I suspect the water is a bit harder than it is in SC where I live). The only S+C combo that works for me in a lot of places is AG smoooth and sleeek. I decided to give this another chance when I finally came back to SC from vacation, and it made a world of difference! My hair looked smoother and really did feel more hydrated when it was dry- all this while using the same leave in conditioner that's my HG and that i've been using for about a year (AG Fast Food).
The scent of this Shampoo and the matching Conditioner is really refreshing, kind of ocean-y. It lingers in your hair a little bit but nothing too overpowering. Even my boyfriend commented on the great scent and couldn't stop sniffing my hair after I got out of the shower.
One of the things I noticed with this is that it took me a few tries until it "worked" for my hair and actually made a difference. I was determined to make this work after hearing everyone rave about it, and luckily it works great now!
Price wise, you can get a fantastic deal during the liter sale. I probably don't need to repurchase this for at least a year as you get a ton of product. Another plus is that the pump is already built into the liter size =)


on 7/29/2013 8:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this shampoo because I wanted to try something new and becuase it was on sale at ulta . It left my hair soft I didn't feel that it moisturize it . I feel that the shampoo did its job but nothing that wow me at all , at the same time I do feel that is a ok shampoo but not for the retail price


on 7/26/2013 11:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

OMG! This shampoo/conditioner is the best I've tried so far. I was using Mane & Tail which was also very good. But I just dyed my hair so I wanted to get something that was used at salons. My hairdresser recommended me this and I just love how my hair feels. Really restores your dry hair.


on 7/12/2013 11:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

These liters were on sale this week at Ulta and the boards were all CRAZY about it, so I gave in... this shampoo is not much different thant any other I've tried. I don't feel like my bleached hair is any better condition or more moisturized than before. It contains sodium laureth sulfate like most others so I'm not sure what all the hoopla was about. MEH.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2013 12:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I think the name of this shampoo is misleading because it's not very moisturizing. After shampooing, my hair definitely needs conditioner, and 24 hours later, my hair feels a bit dry, which might be a good thing because my ends typically get greasy, so on this shampoo I could likely go two days without washing my hair and spruce it up with a little dry shampoo. This has what I think could be a unisex scent, almost bordering on men's cologne, so I could see this shampoo working for both sexes. I'm currently using samples but I don't think I'd buy this when I run out. For moisturizing shampoos, I prefer Costco/Kirkland's Pureology knockoff.


on 6/14/2013 12:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have about 7 inches of hair ruined by a chemical straightening treatment a few months ago with 6 inches of my normal hair with no damage. Those ends snap easily, are dry and frizzy.

My normal hair can be a bit frizzy due to my slight wave. On it's own it is pretty normal with nice shine and very soft. The damaged part is just horrible and after using so many wrong products my hair that didn't have layers now has what looks like faded layers. :(

I do have an oily scalp and this does not cause any problems for me.

This shampoo leaves my hair feeling clean but soft.

After trying tons of natural products I took the advice of the hair board and tried Joico Moisture recovery. OH MY!!! After just one wash I felt a difference. My hair continues to look better with each use. I had purchased the 8 oz and have maybe 2 more uses left so I bought the liter sizes which I've NEVER done with any shampoo and conditioner.

Smell: A nice light clean scent with a little citrus smell but not strong at all. I have a very sensitive nose.

I use this with the matching conditioner. No build up issues but I do clarify twice a month.

My hair now feels soft, looks smooth and with each use the breakage becomes less. I usually see tons of hair breakage after blow drying (I blow dry about 70% before using my Wen boar round brush) but now with the brush and this S&C no issues at all. My last blow dry I had just about 5 broken hairs around the sink instead of like 25. That's really good for just under a month of usage.

I also started using Redken Anti-snap which was a favorite of mine years ago. I know this helps but the S&C is what gets the job done in the moisture area to make the after products work.


on 3/31/2013 1:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have this and it's conditioner in the litre-sized bottles. For a sulphate shampoo it's actually not as drying as I expected. I used Elasta QP moisturising shampoo for a while but started to feel that it wasn't really getting my hair as clean as I'd like. I wanted something that would cleanse my hair without drying out, and the Joico Moisture Recovery shampoo provides a happy medium for me.


on 3/28/2013 10:25:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great shampoo! I noticed when shampooing my hair did not tangle or feel dry while rinsing. This shampoo as well as the conditioner appear to rinse clean! Also use the leave in detangler, it doesn't take much a little goes a long way. Great products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2013 3:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My sister and I both had Brazilians done, she asked for a Sulphate free shampoo and was given the Moisture Recovery, we have been told that it is not a Sulphate free shampoo. I called the Salon today and was told by the owner that the company they get their products from told them that it is Sulphate free, according the her the other product (Yellow Bottle) sorry cant think of name now, left the clients hair hard and they have stopped using it and have been giving their Brazilian treated clients the Moisture Recovery and have had no complaints....My sister, who has fine oily hair was most upset with the product, she said it left her hair limp and oily....she had many surprised looks from people when she told them she had just had a brazilian done??? I mentioned this to the Owner of the salon and questioned why she had given someone with oily hair a shampoo for dry hair, said the shampoo worked different to others??? very confused, my sister who has gone back to Geneva, has left the shampoo with me, im afraid to use it as i would not like the treatment to be stripped from my hair.....any ideas??




Back to Top