Joico • Moisture Recovery • Shampoo

rated 4.1(72 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Snosand on 6/14/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by Snosand

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have about 7 inches of hair ruined by a chemical straightening treatment a few months ago with 6 inches of my normal hair with no damage. Those ends snap easily, are dry and frizzy.

My normal hair can be a bit frizzy due to my slight wave. On it's own it is pretty normal with nice shine and very soft. The damaged part is just horrible and after using so many wrong products my hair that didn't have layers now has what looks like faded layers. :(

I do have an oily scalp and this does not cause any problems for me.

This shampoo leaves my hair feeling clean but soft.

After trying tons of natural products I took the advice of the hair board and tried Joico Moisture recovery. OH MY!!! After just one wash I felt a difference. My hair continues to look better with each use. I had purchased the 8 oz and have maybe 2 more uses left so I bought the liter sizes which I've NEVER done with any shampoo and conditioner.

Smell: A nice light clean scent with a little citrus smell but not strong at all. I have a very sensitive nose.

I use this with the matching conditioner. No build up issues but I do clarify twice a month.

My hair now feels soft, looks smooth and with each use the breakage becomes less. I usually see tons of hair breakage after blow drying (I blow dry about 70% before using my Wen boar round brush) but now with the brush and this S&C no issues at all. My last blow dry I had just about 5 broken hairs around the sink instead of like 25. That's really good for just under a month of usage.

I also started using Redken Anti-snap which was a favorite of mine years ago. I know this helps but the S&C is what gets the job done in the moisture area to make the after products work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lyrics on 3/31/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Lyrics

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this and it's conditioner in the litre-sized bottles. For a sulphate shampoo it's actually not as drying as I expected. I used Elasta QP moisturising shampoo for a while but started to feel that it wasn't really getting my hair as clean as I'd like. I wanted something that would cleanse my hair without drying out, and the Joico Moisture Recovery shampoo provides a happy medium for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cathy1954 on 3/28/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Cathy1954

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great shampoo! I noticed when shampooing my hair did not tangle or feel dry while rinsing. This shampoo as well as the conditioner appear to rinse clean! Also use the leave in detangler, it doesn't take much a little goes a long way. Great products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 But002 on 1/17/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by But002

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My sister and I both had Brazilians done, she asked for a Sulphate free shampoo and was given the Moisture Recovery, we have been told that it is not a Sulphate free shampoo. I called the Salon today and was told by the owner that the company they get their products from told them that it is Sulphate free, according the her the other product (Yellow Bottle) sorry cant think of name now, left the clients hair hard and they have stopped using it and have been giving their Brazilian treated clients the Moisture Recovery and have had no complaints....My sister, who has fine oily hair was most upset with the product, she said it left her hair limp and oily....she had many surprised looks from people when she told them she had just had a brazilian done??? I mentioned this to the Owner of the salon and questioned why she had given someone with oily hair a shampoo for dry hair, said the shampoo worked different to others??? very confused, my sister who has gone back to Geneva, has left the shampoo with me, im afraid to use it as i would not like the treatment to be stripped from my hair.....any ideas??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mayscild on 1/4/2013 7:06:00 PM more reviews by Mayscild

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the oddest shampoo. My first application produced no lather to speak of. The second was more normal, and reassured me I wasn't using conditioner instead of shampoo. My second surprise was that my hair didn't seem very moisturized. Clean, yes, and I was able to comb it easily, but I really did need to use a separate conditioner. Third , my scalp felt so clean afterward, it was almost uncomfortable. Kind of dry and tight. I have never experienced that with a shampoo before.

Subsequent uses reveal that the "moisture recovery" effect is cumulative. After a few times, I began to feel I was really using a moisturizing shampoo, and my hair needs less extra conditioner now. Using leave-in products like Sebastian's Potion 9, or Joico's K-Pak Color Therapy Restorative Oil took care of the weird scalp thing. Scrubbing less probably helps too.

The flip cap is hard to open with soapy hands.

I am undecided whether I might buy in future. I keep changing my answer to the above question from No to Yes and back again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 1/3/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is ok. I used to work for the company that distributed this in my city so I'm very familiar with Joico and what their products are. This shampoo smells good, and does a decent job of cleaning, but that's about it. Overall, I find that I need 2 shampoos to get a lather, and then it doesn't really moisturize as much as I need it to. The biggest CON for me is that it isn't safe for colored hair. Which I have. So I'll be moving on when this bottle is done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lls4f on 12/13/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by lls4f

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is worth every penny! My hair is wavy and dry and fuzzy/frizzy on its own when I use drugstore shampoos on it. This product makes my hair shiny, silky, and bouncy. It smells divine (I often skip perfume because I love the way my hair smells so much that I don't want to cover it up!), lathers well for a sulfate free product, and feels wonderful when you rinse out. After shampooing, my hair feels soft and silky. I follow it up with the Moisture Recovery conditioner or the K Pak Intense Hydrator (use that one about once a week)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ironwoman01 on 11/3/2012 6:33:00 PM more reviews by ironwoman01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love joico products! I use this in conjunction with the conditioner and it seriously transforms my hair everytime I use it. I have coarse, damaged, color treated hair that's dry, so moisture is very important for it. I always notice a difference after I use these two products. Scent is clean and not overpowering. I think this shampoo by itself is average, but paired with the conditioner makes it a fantastic combo. Ever since I started used joico products, I get so much more compliments on my hair. It definitely doesn't look as dry and it feels a lot smoother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lsquires12 on 10/17/2012 2:30:00 PM more reviews by lsquires12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

OMG, finally a shampoo I can picture myself repurchasing! I have dry, coarse hair with damage from heat styling, and I have tried Kerastase, AG, Biolage, Redken, Wen, and Dove (my favorite on this list, believe it or not), to name a few. None have been moisturizing enough to repair or prevent damage and split ends, and most have made my hair feel weighed down. This shampoo, along with the conditioner, has noticeably improved the health of my hair. My stylist, who lives and breathes Kerastase, commented on how much healthier my hair was when I got it cut last week. Equally awesome, it doesn't leave my hair feeling heavy or coated, but rather light and manageable. It lathers nicely and has a light, fresh scent. Overall great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 8/21/2012 11:43:00 PM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this today and I loved it. I had tried the Kenra moisturizing shampoo/conditioner and it left my hair feeling dry and damaged. I gave it to my mom and she loved it. Anyway went and got this in the liter duo and loved the smell and the way it left my hair....soft, shiny, manageable not frizzy or flat. It's wonderful!!! I recommend it! My hair is normal but tends to get dry when I use my hot tools often like flat iron, curling wand etc. A+++++

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Shampoo products