Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel

3.9

469 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua (Water,Eau),Glycerin,Propylene Glycol,PEG-8 Stearate,PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide,Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract,Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract,Carbomer,Sodium Chloride,Parfum (Fragrance),Phenoxyethanol,Methylparaben,Propylparaben,Triethanolamine,Diazolidinyl Urea,Mica,CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide),CI 19140 (Yellow 5),CI 42090 (Blue 1),CI 15985 (Yellow 6)(4/26/2015)


on 1/27/2015 9:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the packaging and it's a great cleanser for your skin. It doesn't dry it or overmoisturize. However, it's not great at taking off makeup and for that price tag I would rather get a cleanser that multitasks. Sad because I usually love all Mario products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this cleanser so far. Been using for a few weeks so I will update. I am combo/oily/sensitive/acne prone. Ever since Dr. Denese dermaclean was discontinued, I have been on the hunt for some good cleaners. I have found a few so far. This one to me is more of an exfoliating treatment than a cleanser. I was really surprised by it's exfoliating ability actually. I use this every other morning and leave on for a few min and massage in. I use a sep cleanser for my eye area in the AM as I am not sure you shud use this around eyes. If you leave it on for a few it will exfoliate. I have a noticable difference in the smoothness of my skin after a few weeks and I had noticed the softness right away. At night, I can use this after first using another cleanser to take off my makeup. To take off my makeup I am loving nuskin triphasic white cleanser and I sometimes I double cleanse at night and use PC n/o hydralight cleanser after. I have already bought this in a larger size. Oh and try the MB Enzyme C for the body too!!! I would not use this to take off makeup. It is a treatment after you cleanse in my mind. Simple ingredients too!


on 1/2/2015 5:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this product based on a survey I filled out on Mario Badescu's website. I used it for 2 months in conjuction with the same brand's Acne facial wash. It's a nice, gentle cleanser and has a pleasant fragrance. Overall, I don't believe it cleared my acne, although I don't think it claims to either. But since the company recommended I use both, then I tried it. If I didn't have acne problems, I would probably use it. But, since I do have acne problems, I need something that will help control my acne.


on 12/17/2014 1:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great option for anyone that can't use products with aloe or herbal oils. I love the packaging. It's easy to just get the amount of product that I need, so I don't feel like I'm wasting it. It leaves my skin feeling really clean. It exfoliates, but it is really gentle. I've used it on scars and spots that I thought were too sensative for my exfoliating body wash without any irritation, which is very useful.


on 12/4/2014 4:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am 28, have sensitive/dry/acne prone skin and had been trying all kinds of products that would not irritate or dry out my skin. I have tried so many expensive and drug store products in the past 6 years. I was using Cetaphil, as it was one of the only face washes that did not cause me to break out. I ordered the Mario Badescu cucmber lotion, glycoloic foaming cleanser along with the cleanisng gel and it has made a world of difference. I am no longer breaking out every week. My skin is smoother and a little goes a long way. It may seem like it does not wash off all of your makeup but after cleansing I use the cucumber lotion (toner) and I hardly get any extra makeup/dirt. If you wear heavy makeup you may need to apply twice. I use the cleanser twice a day. I have been using for about 2 months and have not even used half of the bottle. So glad I found this brand. It is the only time my face has been clear in years. WIill def stick to their products from here on out


on 12/4/2014 3:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought a little sample since my sheisdo cleansing gel is discontinued. So far. So good.


on 12/3/2014 12:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know why I have waited this long to try Mario Badescu products! My skin has been freaking out for the past year and a half, and I've tried many different products and cleansing techniques to fix it with lackluster results. I have been getting hormonal breakouts along my jaw and on my cheeks. Tiny clusters of whitehead bumps under the surface, as well as long-term raised red acne bumps and the occasional pimple, and of course the dark spot scarring that goes with these. To make matter worse, I have sensitive, combination skin. What seems to work for one part of my face seems to make another part worse, and many things cause irritation. Miserable.

Then, last weekend while holiday shopping at Urban Outfitters, I saw that some of MB's products were being sold. I initially went for the drying lotion, which I have yet to try, but am excited about, but then at the last minute I grabbed this cleanser as well. That night, I washed my makeup off in the sink using this stuff. It burned my eyes a bit and I wasn't exactly loving the feel of the gel on my face. It didn't feel like it was washing anything off. I did two lather and rinses, and most of my makeup came off, with the exception of some mascara remnants, but that is normal for me. The next day, I was so pleasantly surprised to see that the cluster of bumpy raised red acne on my cheek had flattened out and dried up considerably! I used the cleanser again that morning, and followed up with a rich moisturizer.

It's only been 4 days now, but I've been using this cleanser every morning, and about half of the evenings (I've gone back to removing my makeup with jojoba and olive oil, but then follow with a lather and rinse with the Enzyme cleanser). The results are getting even better! My cheek and jaw acne has flattened and dried out, and though I've had a couple pimples break through overnight, they've been teeny tiny, and disappeared after my morning wash with the cleanser. I'm hoping I continue to get these results with the cleanser. If I do, it will be my holy grail.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2014 10:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this cleanser for about 3 months now and I am really disappointed. Its not until I have moved on to a different one that I realized how poor this stuff actually is.

Ok it isn't terrible. It didn't break me out and it is nice an gentle with OK ingredients - infact I do like how there is only a few simple ingredients in this.

For me, this cleanser will never be a HG because it lack in one main thing.. CLEANSING. This will not remove your makeup, I don't care what they say, this cleanser has a sticky gel texture that doesn't foam or even feel like its doing anything for that matter, you just end up rubbing and smudging it into your face.

If you have really good skin and you don't wear make up then this cleanser may be for you as it is gentle, simple and has a kind ingredients list.

Anyone else, I wouldn't waste your money. There are far better cleansers out there that are a way more productive.


on 10/16/2014 11:11:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I so wanted to like this - love the simple packaging, the price... but what's inside the bottle is what really matters here and it just didn't do it for me. I take my make up of each evening with a cleansing wipe so all I'm asking this product to do is come in after and get what's left and leave me feeling clean & refreshed. It doesn't even do that. After washing with this and rinsing using a washcloth and then using MB toner I still have makeup left and I don't even wear that much makeup - little foundation, powder & blush. I do use an oil to remove eye makeup and my long wear lipstick so I didn't expect MB cleanser to do that. The amount of glycerin in this product leaves me feeling kinda greasy and I don't get a fresh clean look when I'm done. I've used it for a month now and just can't get happy about it so I'm on to something else.


on 10/5/2014 7:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

**I found out I can't use Propylene Glycol, and possibly Butylene Glycol. It took a long time to figure out but that's the reason I can't use this product. It's one of the ingredients that's in there but was previously undisclosed. Not cool MB! I returned all my MB**

Alright, I've been itching to review this but gave it a lot of time. I am almost positive I bought and used this about 5 years ago but gave it to a friend because I thought it "didn't do enough". Full disclosure, over those past few years I have had worsening skin problems, partly due to product reaction, partly to over picking and also just my own changing chemistry (I guess, though BC didn't help so it's not a hormonal issue). I tried natural, oils, chemical, AHA/BHA, acne medications, prescriptions, etc. So long story short, there is no Holy Grail. Nothing can stop all my skin issues (mainly and lately hard bumps and whiteheads) but I've certainly had things make them worse. A few years to a few months ago my skin was all kinds of hell. Like, so bad I wouldn't leave the house, so considering that:

I really like this even though it's not a miracle, it's pretty close considering how many other products I've used that were either horrible or just missed the mark a little bit. Others that have been ok are not worth the price tags they come with when they are only just 'ok'. This is affordable, not drying (at ALL), not irritating (AT ALL!), and I think mildly helpful. For my skin, that's saying a lot!!

I love the smell of this, I get whiffs of it during the day even though it's not super strong or overly fake. I didn't realize why people said that until I used it for a while. I get it now. It is so fresh smelling and also makes my skin feel fresh. I don't feel filmy or tight like I have with other products.

No, it doesn't get make up off, but how little I've been wearing makeup I don't even care. I have used this morning and evening but have also used the Glycolic cleanser by MB at night, especially on days I wear makeup. I don't think either of those could be as great alone as both are together. I couldn't use the glycolic all the time since I'd probably dry out and over produce oil but using only this alone didn't help attack my bumps or clear acne. To be fair, nothing really does. My hope is that over time, it gets to the point where less bumps are created, less areas are picked at, etc. I haven't gotten cysts since using this, a few pimples but not cysts. The days of a painful face are so much less now than they used to be. My skin feels more toned and fresh as well, even though I still have some blemishes.

The bottle is nice, it comes out just the right amount. It's simple and effective in it's packaging and as a product. I'm going to continue to use this and not expect perfection, but improvement. So far it's the first to do so.

Update: I was in the store and noticed the ingredients list changed, it was a lot longer. I had called the company to ask why they changed them since that will effect a lot of peoples' skin, and they said they just 'repackaged and it should be the same effectiveness'. So I asked on the board and learned that they weren't transparent about their ingredients previously. I found out that they supposedly "didn't change the ingredients" they just are being more honest about it now. Those old ingredients listed on the old bottles apparently were a lie. They did that with practically every product. In a way, that's better than changing the actual formula because at least it won't change how it works for me, but a bit unsettling to learn that they were trying to dupe us.

So the real/new ingredients are:

Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, PEG-8, Stearate, PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, Carica Papaya Fruit Extract, Citrus Grandis Fruit (Grapefruit) Extract, Carbomer, Sodium Chloride, Parfum, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Triethanolamine, Diazolidinyl Urea, Mica, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 19140 (Yellow 5), CI 42090 (Blue 1), CI 15985 (Yellow 6).


A little scary. I just wanted to let you guys know. So the "new" one should be the same thing, but I'm on my first bottle so I can't speak of any difference I've seen. It just bugs me because I wanted a natural cleanser and I do wonder if some of these ingredients bother me.... I stopped for a few days to see if my skin changes in any way and I actually did get less pimples. So I'm not sure if this is just "ok" for me or my skin is just getting better, but it might just be that this isn't as amazing as I hoped it would be, even though I really wanted to love it. I added it back in, and if my skin worsens, then we know this has some problem ingredients and I won't repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top