Jonathan • Silky Dirt • Styling Products

rated 3.9(131 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 jrpagv on 9/9/2009 11:34:00 AM more reviews by jrpagv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Just tried a sample of this product. My hair looks fine, but I'm tempted to jump in the shower again and wash this nasty smell out of my hair! It smells very strong and like CIGARS! Yuck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BritRose on 7/7/2009 9:16:00 PM more reviews by BritRose

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Nothing works quite like this product - it's great for curly hair girls to help hold your style with that slept-on look right after showering. But the scent is so strong, I can't imagine how anyone can stand it. I have bad allergies to purfumes, and actually got sick with swollen sinuses and difficulty breathing - I had to run home to shower, and returned the product right away. It's a shame, because Jonathan makes great stuff - why does it all have to reek of cheap purfume and coconut??

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ProductJunkey on 6/3/2009 1:55:00 AM more reviews by ProductJunkey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Why this is called Silky Dirt is beyond me. This made my hair feel tangled and when I tried running my fingers through it, it felt like I was pulling out my hair. This did not add any shine either. I used once and returned to Bath & Body Works the following day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ickdragon on 5/16/2009 5:52:00 PM more reviews by ickdragon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Okay, I finally bit the bullet and purchased this product. I have been stalking it's reviews for probably the last 6 months. I have long (half way down my back) hair that's colored, medium textured and wavy, with a lovely propensity for frizziness. I've been looking for a product that will create texture, playing into my waves and helping calm the frizz at the same time. I've been using Rusk define - which is looking better and better right about now - but have been eyeing the Jonathan products forever. I figured Dirt would be too heavy for my hair and both the Sephora and Ulta SA's recommended Silky Dirt as a better option. Being GF, I love that Jonathan's product are gluten free and very allergy friendly. UNFORTUNATELY, I COULDN'T HAVE HAD LESS THAN STELLAR RESULTS IF I TRIED. This is a complete fail for me. First, the smell is HORRIBLE. I liked it initially. It was oddly comforting and slightly sweet. As the day wore on, slightly sweet turned to sickly sweet and I was confused why it was 11pm and I was still smelling the product as if I'd just applied it. Second, no one is kidding around when they say less is more. I took this to heart and literally used just a pea-sized dab for my hair and I kept it away from the roots, starting below the ear and down to the ends. My hair has never felt so dirty (ha, pun), unwashed and decidedly unattractive. I understand the product is supposed to create the much coveted bed-head look, but I don't want to feel like I haven't showered for 3 days!! I will say that the product gave me some nice texture, but it fell flat in the afternoon. It didn't do much in the frizz relief department either. All in all, this product is a total disappointment for me. I haven't had much luck with Jonathan products, so maybe it's best if I stick to loving him for his reality show self.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimball on 2/8/2009 6:57:00 PM more reviews by kimball

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I originally asked a sephora salesperson for a sample, and one of those tiny plastic containers lasted me a very long time. Please try this out before you buy because the scent of this will linger. I happen to love it, it reminds me of cookies. As for performance, it works great for me. I straighten my thick, but fine, hair most days and this gives great texture and definition. Always start with a tiny bit, then add as needed. I just bought three small tubes of this at ultA today that worked out to making it a bit cheaper than usual, but it's still pricey. For me, it makes my hair look that awesome way it does on day two when you go 'why can't my hair look like this after I wash it?' I like it, but try it for yourself before you buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heatherbelle24 on 1/23/2009 2:26:00 AM more reviews by heatherbelle24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This product has really grown on me. At first I thought it was too thick and made my hair a little too greasy looking. I realized I was using a little too much and now I've sorta perfected the application and I love it!!! The smell is beautiful, like a sweet vanilla almond that stays in your hair for quite a while.. I have extremely thick wavy hair that gets a little frizzy, I apply a small amount when my hair is still slightly damp (stay away from the roots), work it in a bit whilst twisting some sections and voila! I have Mary Kate Olsen-just got outta bed hair! Okay, that doesn't sound appealing but it gives awesome hold and texture! I used it in conjunction with Bumble and Bumble grooming cream and it works quite well. Would defo repurchase if it was more accessible in Canada (only at Holt Renfrew).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diggity on 1/5/2009 11:49:00 AM more reviews by diggity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a thick styling product that can be used to tame frizz or define ends. It was much too greasy to use on the roots for volume. My results with this product were ok but unremarkable. I used it in a couple different ways, but it always seemed to make my fine and thin hair look dull and feel coated. The smell is really nice in my opinion (cherry almond), but that was pretty much all I liked. I much prefer the equally expensive Bumble and Bumble Brilliantine for the uses described above.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 meepo on 12/29/2008 8:59:00 AM more reviews by meepo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know if I got a bad batch, but the scent. was. horrible. I threw away the sample packet after using it once because I could not stand the very strong, strange chemical(?) smell! I don't think I noticed that it did anything for my hair that was good enough for me to endure it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aiona on 12/25/2008 12:02:00 AM more reviews by Aiona

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

There are already so many reviews about this product, but I like it so much, I had to put in my "Me too!" I tried this from a free sample, given to me by a friend who originally probably got it from Sephora. I have so much trouble with my hair being frizzy that I really didn't expect this Silky Dirt to do anything for me. Boy, was I wrong. That small sample was good enough for three uses, and each time I used it, my usually-frizzy-out-of-control-I-look-like-Cameron-Diaz's-character-in-Being-John-Malkovich-hair sat down and purred like a little kitten. It was so expensive that I put off buying a tube for myself until just recently. 'Cost about $30 at Ulta. However, as others are saying, I use a very little bit each time -- a pea-sized amount for each side of my head (for hair that comes to about 4 inches past my shoulders). I use it on wet-just-showered hair, working it through with fingers and a comb. Then I let my hair air-dry. (For Silky Dirt, more is not better. I liked the results so much, one time, that I added more. The result was stringy-greasy-looking hair.) As someone else said, it's hard to define what it does. It doesn't weigh my hair down, like some gels or hair creams. It just. . . tames the flyaways and keeps the ends together. The only drawback is the intense almond/vanilla/cinnamon smell, which could interfere with any other scents one might want to wear. Even after shampooing, my hair still smells faintly of Silky Dirt -- the scent oils are *that* tenacious. If they could tone down the fragrance a little bit, it would be perfect. (But I'm still giving it a 5 anyway, as it does for my hair what few other products can!)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DanaCerise on 12/23/2008 1:18:00 PM more reviews by DanaCerise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This styling product is fantastic, but I usually like to use this in conjunction with another holding product after I first wash my hair.

I have long naturally wavy hair that is layered. I would say it's not the thickest hair, but it's fairly thick, can get frizzy, and has a lot of volume. When it's rainy weather or I'm lazy, I like to keep it wavy. Otherwise, I blown dry it smooth and flip it out. I am on my second tube of Silky Dirt. My first tube lasted a year!

When I first wash my hair, I comb it out then I mix a little Silky Dirt (a smidgen bigger than a pea) with Totally Twisted Hair Gel (Clarol Essences, for around $3.99). I work it into the hair focusing on middle of the hair to ends. Then I comb it gently again, then I divide my hair into six sections and twist the sections gently. All this takes minutes to do. I let it air dry-and-I don't touch it. When it's mostly dry, I flip it over to liven it up. Sometimes I'll use a little more Silky Dirt on the ends or to a section to define the layers more.

It's hard to describe what this product does. It makes it "behave," defines the layers, highlights wavy hair, and adds gloss.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jonathan products

More Styling Products products