Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(152 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 carolina93 on 9/8/2013 8:19:00 AM more reviews by carolina93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
- Only a small amount is needed for coverage
-Has a great colour spectrum to match a wide range of skin tones
-Gives a natural finish
-Feels light on skin
-Good price for a mineral foundation

Cons:
-I have to re-apply the product during the day for a lasting coverage. I have tried the lily lolo finishing powder but i didn't find it made much of a difference.
-Doesn't completely cover my uneven skin tone
- It can sometimes build up on dry areas so make sure the skin is properly moisturized before applying.

UPDATE!
After combining this product with the mineral corrector (i like to use PeepO) and my Urban Decay 'all nighter make up setting spay' I've actually come to really like this product as the corrector helps cover my uneven skin tone whilst the ud spray makes this product last so much longer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Skatterbol on 8/16/2013 8:26:00 PM more reviews by Skatterbol

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just love this mineral foundation - now!! It took a little trial and error to get correct shade and application technique. I ordered samples of Porcelain, Blondie and Candy Cane along with some finishing powders awhile back, tried them out and kind of gave up on them to be honest as I had to mix them to get correct shade (Candy Cane + Porcelain) and my application + brushes were somewhat lacking :-! Anyway, a few years later my skin is not too happy despite a healthy diet/lifestyle so I started looking at my skin care/make-up and realised I used ALOT of products with ALOT of ingredients in them. I suffer from adult acne, slight rosacea, flakey dry patches and spotty forehead, or at least I did!! Firstly I cut out all my regular facial cleansers/scrubs/serums/moisturisers etc mainly Estee, Liz Earle and Dermalogica and went out and bought Ponds Cold Cream and Nivea Soft - these two simple,traditional and inexpensive products have single handledy made the biggest improvement to my skin in 5 years!!! But my skin was still breaking out after a day wearing liquid foundation, so next I had bit of make-up clear and that's when I came across the long forgotten Lily Lolo samples, being more clued up on mineral mu application and having better brushes made all the difference - all I can say is WOW. The coverage is light/medium but def buildable, works great as concealer, doesn't feel like I'm wearing mu, as long lasting as most of my liquids, doesn't cake/slide off or give me dry patches, if it fades a little during the day it fades evenly and it's so easy to buff some more on top without it looking cakey or uneven like liquid does. It doesn't make me itchy like bare minerals mu did and no allergic reactions - red bumps/burning. I have now ordered full sizes in China Doll (this is a newish shade) which is the most perfect match to my skin tone I think I've ever had, Blush Away, Blusher and Flawless Silk Powder, all great products. Packaging is as standard with sifter tops and design is simple and quite elegant I think. I am so happy I found LL, their products have been the icing on the cake to a long struggle with skin problems. I would like to try their eyeshadows next <3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gidella on 7/6/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Gidella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I recently decided to buy a new foundation, and after much research I decided to try Lily Lolo's mineral foundation. I got samples in Blondie, China Doll and Barely Buff. The samples arrived quickly and I've spent the last week trying them on and evaluating them. And finally decided on getting China Doll as it really was a perfect match for me.

What I like the most about the product is the fact that it didn't break me out at all. That usually happens within a day otherwise. I also like the fact that China Doll didn't oxidize for me after several hours outdoor in sun and summer heat, that's really a first for me. Nor was it too pale for me either, as certain colors do make me look like a corpse as I'm pale. The fact that you can layer the foundation is awesome, and as I do like the natural look I tend to want my freckles to shine through but also want to be able to hide my zits and what not. I could do all that with China Doll without a problem.

What is slightly disappointing though, is that the foundation didn't keep me matte all day, not even when I used LL's Flawless Matte to go along with it. I'm really oily and most products rarely succeed in keeping the oil away, so I wasn't surprised really, but that's why I only gave the product four lippies. I've decided to use a good primer underneath the foundation for extra staying power to minimize the oil more, which is what I'd recommend most of you guys to do too. A good base is everything when you want to hide your oiliness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iluvsushi on 5/15/2013 11:55:00 AM more reviews by iluvsushi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I was sceptical about the staying power of mineral foundations which was why I shied away from them and carried on using my trusted long-wearing liquid foundation - Chanel Perfection Lumiere (which I've also reviewed on MUA).
As a makeup junkie, I'm always researching foundations that cater for oily skin. I bought my 2nd bottle of my fave Chanel foundation, however the price was steep and wanted to use this foundation for special occasions as I've previously been using it 5-6days a week. So I decided to look for inexpensive alternatives online and came across an online beauty/makeup forum, where girls were asking for advice on the best foundation. I saw a few suggestions for oily skin. The majority of them suggested mineral foundations as they're in powder form and will not clog pores like liquid foundations do, despite company claims that it's non-comedogenic. Mineral foundation is supposed to be good for your skin as it's free from chemicals, unlike other foundations.
I've read many raves about bareMinerals, however I didn't want to pay 25 for a mineral foundation. I did more research and discovered a UK brand called Lily Lolo. Their foundations were half the price of what you'd pay for bareMinerals, so I opted for the "drugstore alternative". Fortunately, they offer sample sizes of products as they're only available to purchase online. I bought 3 shades: Saffron, Butterscotch & Warm Honey. Saffron was almost a good match for me as I have medium skin tone with yellow undertones, however it was slightly dark for me (a good shade for medium tanned skin for summer). Butterscotch is for medium skin with yellow undertones and I felt this was slightly lighter than my natural skin tone, but I could use Saffron as a "bronzer" to contour my face. Warm Honey was more peach toned for medium skin tone so it clashed with my yellow undertones. Eventually I tested Butterscotch on it's own and used setting powder. I only touched up my makeup 1-2 times and my skin looked really nice or almost second skin. After 2/3 hrs I noticed it didn't oxidize! I've had previous problems with foundations oxidizing on my oily skin, which meant I had to purchase a shade lighter. Despite Butterscotch being a tinge lighter than my natural skin tone, I could still get away with bronzer or use Saffron to contour my face.
From experience, The staying power of this mineral foundation is at least 8hrs. I think beyond 10hrs is pushing it a little further and 12hrs+ will not happen as the foundation will look blotchy/starting to melt away (well for my combination oily skin anyway). I've re-applied the foundation to see if it "cakes up" and it doesn't. However, it does make my dry areas look more prominent. So I advise people with dry skin to really hydrate your skin before using this mineral foundation. I do prefer a matte finish because of my oily skin, but this does give a slight natural sheen. There's many colours to choose from which I do prefer as some cosmetics brands offer limited shades that won't suit all skin tones. This foundation makes my skin feel soft to touch, it's natural looking in photos without flash. Because of the SPF content it will show a white cast in flash photography. This foundation is very affordable for those that are wanting to try mineral foundation for the first time or completely converting to mineral makeup. It doesn't irritate my skin, never had a breakout since using this (apart from hormonal acne). It feels lightweight, gives decent coverage for someone with blemishes like me, however I still need to use a concealer for stubborn pimples and dark under eye circles. Overall a good investment if you're a bargain shopper like me. The quality of the foundation is great and finely milled. It gives decent coverage for imperfection skin and is long-wearing 8-10hrs esp. for oily skin! Highly recommend this foundation if you're a beginner on mineral makeup. I'm totally convinced and should've took the plunge into the mineral beauty world ages ago! (sorry for the tediousness review - I had to justify this wonderful product!) Hope this review helps :)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloboo on 5/11/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by chloboo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Before I start on the product, I should tell you that I have very difficult skin when it comes to foundations. My combination skin switches between days of intense oiliness and then extreme dry patches across my cheeks and chin. This means foundations either go shiny, slip and last only a few hours, or gather on the dry patches. I have a lot of red pigmentation on my cheeks, and quite big pores on my nose and chin. My friend began to rave about Bare Minerals, but with a tight budget, and risk of it not suiting my skin, I went on a mineral make up search, and found Lily lolo. The sample service is great - meaning you can test the shades, and the product itself to see how your skin reacts. (also for a price so cheap it doesn't matter if it goes straight in the bin!) I found new love in this foundation. It buffs in nicely with my ELF powder brush, and can be builded to 2 layers nicely (any more than this it can begin to cake and crease) I do use a concealer underneath to help increase coverage (Collection 2000 Lasting perfection) I found that the Lily lolo concealers were quite drying, emphasising dry patches and creases under the eye. I use a sweep of Rimmel Stay Matte powder across my T-Zone to help with my oiliness, and find this definitely helps keep the foundation on all day. The foundation doesn't accentuate pores like other mineral make up can do, and looks very natural, whilst providing enough coverage to reduce my red cheeks to a pink blushed hue. It feels very lightweight on the skin but you do need a good moisturiser underneath and takes a while to figure out how much product to use (this will prevent the 'dry' feeling other reviewers have mentioned) I use about two taps of product, and for extra coverage may use another half. The fact there is a twist lid to cover the sieve is a great bonus, however the top lid is quite cheap, and the sides of mine have snapped off. I LOVE this product, and would highly recommend it - but make sure you take advantage of the sample service to be sure it suits you before you buy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 5/2/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My original review is posted below, but I now WON'T repurchase due to the sneaky price increases since I first discovered it. It's now just too expensive for the small amount you get, especially when I have to buy two different shades to get the perfect colour. Also, I've since discovered Laura Geller Balance n' Brighten in Fair and Medium, which, though still expensive suits my dehydrated yet oily forties skin even better. "After Bare Minerals, this is like a breath of fresh air. BM contains the dreaded Bismuth Oxychloride which makes me skin very itchy, but LL doesn't and I found it much easier to get a good colour match for my slightly yellow-toned light olive skin (albeit by mixing Warm Honey with Butterscotch). Coverage is medium and it lasts well with a primer and finishing powder. I usually use ELF HD loose powder over the top which is half the price of LL's finishing powder and I prefer the finish. My oily/combination skin loves this foundation and it's one of the few foundations and the ONLY powder foundation I will repeat purchase."

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YCH on 4/26/2013 1:22:00 PM more reviews by YCH

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I so wanted to love this product as it is natural, affordable and simple and feels so lovely and soft. I even bought the Ecotools retractable kabuki to go with it, but no matter how I apply it (wet, dry.,after moisturiser, mixed with moisturiser, light, heavy whatever) I always just look a bit meh.
I'm pretty sure of my colour choice (Blondie) but my skin just looks a bit dull and my cheeks a bit flushed (if that's not a contradiction). Maybe I'm allergic to something in it. Will keep it and try again later, but just so disappointed - back to BB creams for me.
Edited 15 June - now mix this with a different mineral powder (which is a bit too dark, but gives my skin a more glowy look) and also use this alone as a concealer for which it does a good job, just too ashy for me to use alone as a foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kris_DK on 3/14/2013 5:36:00 AM more reviews by Kris_DK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this! It has medium coverage, looks really good, has nice staying power, lasts better than bare minerals, good colour match, practical packaging, free of perfume, parabens etc. Whats not to like??? Unfortunately it makes my skin feel tight and itchy:-(( And after using an entire pot my skin is really dried out - I have tried compensating with extra moisturizer etc. But it is not enough, I will have to try to find something else:-(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madeupmary on 3/7/2013 5:57:00 AM more reviews by madeupmary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is probably the best of all the mineral foundations I have tried. It is the one which is the most finely milled and the product almost has a creamy texture when you rub it between your fingers. Unfortunately, it still didn't give me the coverage I wanted, but of all the mineral foundations it gave me the most natural coverage, without looking cakey. The price is very reasonable, at 12 - 13. The thing I love most about this is the packaging - it actually has a lockable sifter so the product doesn't get everywhere - why don't all mineral makeup companies do this?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 2/8/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this many years ago, but since I read about the possible comedogenic effects of Lauroyl lysine in my ordinary foundation (EM matte) I decided to try this.



My skin is very acne-prone, but still extremely sensitive, close to rosacea very often. There are very few makeup products that I actually can wear. I've also discovered that titanium dioxide sometimes can give me clogged pores. Therefore I thought that this foundation could be a good choice, theoretically, containing mainly Zink oxide and mica.



I'm a NW/NC 15 during winter, and I found the China Doll and Blondie to be ok shades.



Pros:
- no "extra" additives
- gives a really matte finish (maybe the matte kind of mica?)
- reliable brand
- overcoming price
- pores look "ok" , must be the lack of titanium dioxide? ( most mineral makeup enlarges them)
- the absence of titanium dioxide gives a little more photo-friendly look, which can be important if you wear this out/with friends


Cons:
- something makes my skin itchy and very dry!!! I get the "I can't smile"-feeling...
- no coverage whatsoever in my opinion!! To me, this is more of a lightly tinted finishing powder! Not buildable coverage! I have sooo many acne scars and hyperpigmentation that I need to hide!!
- accentuates dry patches and areas by emphasizing flakes ( especially in the morning, before it have blended out with the face's own oils)!!
- the shades are not as many as EM have...which makes it harder to choose the perfect shade. I use fairly light neutral in EM, but the closest here are Blondie and China Doll, which are more pinkish compared to EM.



Yes, the lack of the "fatty emollient" Lauroyl lysine probably gives the mica free space: mica can be really, really harsh against sensitive skin!! This mineral is hard to get soft cause It's harsh edges and that it can become dangerous do inhale when It's too finely milled - so they don't mill it extremely much as its actually possible ( I've read so, but I don't know..).


I can stand mica in EM matte foundation, but then in combination with LL. But in this way I only wanted to wash this off my face every day at work!



So I suspect mica giving me the flushy, itching and overdry feeling... Cause it can't be the Zink oxide!! I use the Elta MD daily with Zink oxide, with no problems!



Sensitive skin? Be a little careful with this! I've managed to wear this daily for almost 1 week now, NO breakouts ( I usually breakout within a day or two strangely enough, if a product clogges my pores). It gives a nice look,BUT irritations that are too hard to handle.



One lippie for the try of making a really "clean" product... And two more for the matte effect, not enlarging the pores - this is rare in the mmu-world.


If I use this only at some small areas it keeps the oil at bay a little.


Update 2013-05-25:

I have ended up using this daily anyway. I use it on my problem areas, where I have most acne. It does not cover it all, I have to put some EDM matte foundation on sometimes (cause I still haven't found any good loose foundation with better coverage, but I'm worried about the lauroyl lysine). It really gives a matte finish, which I like! So a good base, with spf and light coverage for quick daily use! :) 4 lippies!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products