Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(157 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kikamadonna on 12/29/2013 5:27:00 AM more reviews by kikamadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This used to be my favorite foundation but they must have changed their ingredients because when I bought a new one it was completely different. It does not cover anymore and it looks very dry on the skin. I Would not recommend it to anyone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mattewis on 12/27/2013 8:02:00 AM more reviews by Mattewis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Lily Lolo mineral foundation for more than three years, and I can't believe I have not yet reviewed it! First about my skin: it is very pale, cool undertone, and is now normal after years of battling acne. I still have a tendency to break out, but I only get small blemishes that goes away after a day. It is incredibly important to me that a product does not break me out and is as natural as possible while being efficient.

LL's foundation is the only one I will use- it ticks ALL my boxes. I use Candy Cane which is perfect, and I am lucky that I don't need to blend colours. I use the flocked sponge from LL as it gives better coverage than LL Kabuki brush (which I use with the Flawless Matte finishing powder). It is easy to apply and you can build it up where needed, ie on scars. It stays put in the day but in warm weather I get a shine that should be fixable with a primer (or LL Flawless Matte underneath this foundation). The packaging is better than before because you can close the sifter to prevent waste. I just don't like that I have to really work hard to get the last bit out before finishing the jar. I wish the sifter could be lifted out to get that last bit of left-over powder.

The price vs quality is excellent. The product lasts a long time, I generally buy this about two-three times a year, making it even more economical. I once strayed to Youngblood mineral foundation: double the price, not the same quality, and didn't last as long as LL. So I went back to LL with my tail between my legs, and LL easily earns my loyalty.

To conclude: I highly recommend this product, although it does take time getting used to a loose powder if you normally use liquids and pressed products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xdimpsx on 12/16/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by xdimpsx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this foundation, it provides great coverage without looking cakey. The coverage is buildable. It can look a little dry if you don't moisturise and use a good primer. It lasts really well, after 6 hours of wearing this out to a panto, laughing, and feeling really hot in a stuffy theatre I thought "oh god how am I going to look?". But, I looked pretty fresh faced and my make up was all in place still. Quite impressive I thought. One thing I really adore though is that there are minimal ingredients. Lily Lolo is definitely a new fave.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SoniaBunny on 11/19/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by SoniaBunny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this product on a whim after reading an article listing it as one of the best mineral foundations around. Before that I will admit I'd never heard of Lily Lolo before. I always wear foundation and I have tried sooo many (way more than myself or my bank balance would like to admit) but I only ever purchase the liquid or cream variety, as I have never been a huge fan of mineral/powder foundations. My experience with them had been that they were drying, cakey looking or had no coverage. But after recently returning from a 2 week holiday in the hot humid weather of Hong Kong my skin was suffering. I was breaking out and my skin was very dry from the 12 hour flight. And so I ended up browsing the web for something that wouldn't feel heavy or drying whilst still making me feel polished. I purchased this in the shade "China Doll" and for reference I wear mac nc15 and revlon colorstay in buff. I did some research but I think ordering foundation online is always tricky and when my foundation arrived I was a little disappointed thinking that I had picked the wrong shade, but it actually matches my skin so perfectly that you can't tell I'm wearing it. I was impressed with the sifter as you can lock it closed and save yourself lots of mess. The pot is also a nice size allowing you to dispense some product onto the lid and sweep your brush into it with ease. If I was being pedantic then I'd say the packaging looks a tad cheap but then again the product is very reasonably priced and you get ALOT of product for your buck (10g in fact) so that's a minor issue. I apply it with my F20 HD foundation brush from blank canvas cosmetics and buff it in using circular motions. It has a lovely natural finish, doesn't dry my skin out and a big positive for me is that I can't feel it sitting on my skin (I hate that heavy foundation feeling). You can build it up where needed without looking cakey or powdery. It lasts really well and wears off evenly. Once your ready to remove it you can do so with ease. It hasn't irritated my sensitive skin at all or caused any breakouts /dry patches either. Overall I am so impressed with this foundation and have been using it every day. I think it will last ages but once it runs out I'd repurchase it, which I rarely do with make products :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ikeameatballsandmooses on 9/18/2013 11:53:00 AM more reviews by ikeameatballsandmooses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second mineral foundation after the one from terre d'oc and so far I like it!

The coverage is medium and not too far away from full I would say and you can apply layer after layer without achieiving the texture of a chalkboard. It's pretty much foolproof and the finish is nice! Smooth with a matte glow.

What I love the most about this foundation is that it looks fresh all day (the staying power really is amazing) and it purifies the skin if you have an oily t-zone and a couple of blemishes like me. Sadly it makes my skin a little tight at first but I can deal with it.

Drugstore price without the drugstore quality (this is good stuff). No reason not to try it if you're curious!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 carolina93 on 9/8/2013 8:19:00 AM more reviews by carolina93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
- Only a small amount is needed for coverage
-Has a great colour spectrum to match a wide range of skin tones
-Gives a natural finish
-Feels light on skin
-Good price for a mineral foundation

Cons:
-I have to re-apply the product during the day for a lasting coverage. I have tried the lily lolo finishing powder but i didn't find it made much of a difference.
-Doesn't completely cover my uneven skin tone
- It can sometimes build up on dry areas so make sure the skin is properly moisturized before applying.

UPDATE!
After combining this product with the mineral corrector (i like to use PeepO) and my Urban Decay 'all nighter make up setting spay' I've actually come to really like this product as the corrector helps cover my uneven skin tone whilst the ud spray makes this product last so much longer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Skatterbol on 8/16/2013 8:26:00 PM more reviews by Skatterbol

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just love this mineral foundation - now!! It took a little trial and error to get correct shade and application technique. I ordered samples of Porcelain, Blondie and Candy Cane along with some finishing powders awhile back, tried them out and kind of gave up on them to be honest as I had to mix them to get correct shade (Candy Cane + Porcelain) and my application + brushes were somewhat lacking :-! Anyway, a few years later my skin is not too happy despite a healthy diet/lifestyle so I started looking at my skin care/make-up and realised I used ALOT of products with ALOT of ingredients in them. I suffer from adult acne, slight rosacea, flakey dry patches and spotty forehead, or at least I did!! Firstly I cut out all my regular facial cleansers/scrubs/serums/moisturisers etc mainly Estee, Liz Earle and Dermalogica and went out and bought Ponds Cold Cream and Nivea Soft - these two simple,traditional and inexpensive products have single handledy made the biggest improvement to my skin in 5 years!!! But my skin was still breaking out after a day wearing liquid foundation, so next I had bit of make-up clear and that's when I came across the long forgotten Lily Lolo samples, being more clued up on mineral mu application and having better brushes made all the difference - all I can say is WOW. The coverage is light/medium but def buildable, works great as concealer, doesn't feel like I'm wearing mu, as long lasting as most of my liquids, doesn't cake/slide off or give me dry patches, if it fades a little during the day it fades evenly and it's so easy to buff some more on top without it looking cakey or uneven like liquid does. It doesn't make me itchy like bare minerals mu did and no allergic reactions - red bumps/burning. I have now ordered full sizes in China Doll (this is a newish shade) which is the most perfect match to my skin tone I think I've ever had, Blush Away, Blusher and Flawless Silk Powder, all great products. Packaging is as standard with sifter tops and design is simple and quite elegant I think. I am so happy I found LL, their products have been the icing on the cake to a long struggle with skin problems. I would like to try their eyeshadows next <3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gidella on 7/6/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Gidella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I recently decided to buy a new foundation, and after much research I decided to try Lily Lolo's mineral foundation. I got samples in Blondie, China Doll and Barely Buff. The samples arrived quickly and I've spent the last week trying them on and evaluating them. And finally decided on getting China Doll as it really was a perfect match for me.

What I like the most about the product is the fact that it didn't break me out at all. That usually happens within a day otherwise. I also like the fact that China Doll didn't oxidize for me after several hours outdoor in sun and summer heat, that's really a first for me. Nor was it too pale for me either, as certain colors do make me look like a corpse as I'm pale. The fact that you can layer the foundation is awesome, and as I do like the natural look I tend to want my freckles to shine through but also want to be able to hide my zits and what not. I could do all that with China Doll without a problem.

What is slightly disappointing though, is that the foundation didn't keep me matte all day, not even when I used LL's Flawless Matte to go along with it. I'm really oily and most products rarely succeed in keeping the oil away, so I wasn't surprised really, but that's why I only gave the product four lippies. I've decided to use a good primer underneath the foundation for extra staying power to minimize the oil more, which is what I'd recommend most of you guys to do too. A good base is everything when you want to hide your oiliness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iluvsushi on 5/15/2013 11:55:00 AM more reviews by iluvsushi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I was sceptical about the staying power of mineral foundations which was why I shied away from them and carried on using my trusted long-wearing liquid foundation - Chanel Perfection Lumiere (which I've also reviewed on MUA).
As a makeup junkie, I'm always researching foundations that cater for oily skin. I bought my 2nd bottle of my fave Chanel foundation, however the price was steep and wanted to use this foundation for special occasions as I've previously been using it 5-6days a week. So I decided to look for inexpensive alternatives online and came across an online beauty/makeup forum, where girls were asking for advice on the best foundation. I saw a few suggestions for oily skin. The majority of them suggested mineral foundations as they're in powder form and will not clog pores like liquid foundations do, despite company claims that it's non-comedogenic. Mineral foundation is supposed to be good for your skin as it's free from chemicals, unlike other foundations.
I've read many raves about bareMinerals, however I didn't want to pay 25 for a mineral foundation. I did more research and discovered a UK brand called Lily Lolo. Their foundations were half the price of what you'd pay for bareMinerals, so I opted for the "drugstore alternative". Fortunately, they offer sample sizes of products as they're only available to purchase online. I bought 3 shades: Saffron, Butterscotch & Warm Honey. Saffron was almost a good match for me as I have medium skin tone with yellow undertones, however it was slightly dark for me (a good shade for medium tanned skin for summer). Butterscotch is for medium skin with yellow undertones and I felt this was slightly lighter than my natural skin tone, but I could use Saffron as a "bronzer" to contour my face. Warm Honey was more peach toned for medium skin tone so it clashed with my yellow undertones. Eventually I tested Butterscotch on it's own and used setting powder. I only touched up my makeup 1-2 times and my skin looked really nice or almost second skin. After 2/3 hrs I noticed it didn't oxidize! I've had previous problems with foundations oxidizing on my oily skin, which meant I had to purchase a shade lighter. Despite Butterscotch being a tinge lighter than my natural skin tone, I could still get away with bronzer or use Saffron to contour my face.
From experience, The staying power of this mineral foundation is at least 8hrs. I think beyond 10hrs is pushing it a little further and 12hrs+ will not happen as the foundation will look blotchy/starting to melt away (well for my combination oily skin anyway). I've re-applied the foundation to see if it "cakes up" and it doesn't. However, it does make my dry areas look more prominent. So I advise people with dry skin to really hydrate your skin before using this mineral foundation. I do prefer a matte finish because of my oily skin, but this does give a slight natural sheen. There's many colours to choose from which I do prefer as some cosmetics brands offer limited shades that won't suit all skin tones. This foundation makes my skin feel soft to touch, it's natural looking in photos without flash. Because of the SPF content it will show a white cast in flash photography. This foundation is very affordable for those that are wanting to try mineral foundation for the first time or completely converting to mineral makeup. It doesn't irritate my skin, never had a breakout since using this (apart from hormonal acne). It feels lightweight, gives decent coverage for someone with blemishes like me, however I still need to use a concealer for stubborn pimples and dark under eye circles. Overall a good investment if you're a bargain shopper like me. The quality of the foundation is great and finely milled. It gives decent coverage for imperfection skin and is long-wearing 8-10hrs esp. for oily skin! Highly recommend this foundation if you're a beginner on mineral makeup. I'm totally convinced and should've took the plunge into the mineral beauty world ages ago! (sorry for the tediousness review - I had to justify this wonderful product!) Hope this review helps :)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloboo on 5/11/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by chloboo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Before I start on the product, I should tell you that I have very difficult skin when it comes to foundations. My combination skin switches between days of intense oiliness and then extreme dry patches across my cheeks and chin. This means foundations either go shiny, slip and last only a few hours, or gather on the dry patches. I have a lot of red pigmentation on my cheeks, and quite big pores on my nose and chin. My friend began to rave about Bare Minerals, but with a tight budget, and risk of it not suiting my skin, I went on a mineral make up search, and found Lily lolo. The sample service is great - meaning you can test the shades, and the product itself to see how your skin reacts. (also for a price so cheap it doesn't matter if it goes straight in the bin!) I found new love in this foundation. It buffs in nicely with my ELF powder brush, and can be builded to 2 layers nicely (any more than this it can begin to cake and crease) I do use a concealer underneath to help increase coverage (Collection 2000 Lasting perfection) I found that the Lily lolo concealers were quite drying, emphasising dry patches and creases under the eye. I use a sweep of Rimmel Stay Matte powder across my T-Zone to help with my oiliness, and find this definitely helps keep the foundation on all day. The foundation doesn't accentuate pores like other mineral make up can do, and looks very natural, whilst providing enough coverage to reduce my red cheeks to a pink blushed hue. It feels very lightweight on the skin but you do need a good moisturiser underneath and takes a while to figure out how much product to use (this will prevent the 'dry' feeling other reviewers have mentioned) I use about two taps of product, and for extra coverage may use another half. The fact there is a twist lid to cover the sieve is a great bonus, however the top lid is quite cheap, and the sides of mine have snapped off. I LOVE this product, and would highly recommend it - but make sure you take advantage of the sample service to be sure it suits you before you buy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products