Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation (all shades)

3.8

174 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue


on 2/24/2015 9:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Finally....my quest for the holy grail is complete!! This is without fail, the best foundation, mineral or otherwise that I have ever come across. The shade "porcelain" is the only foundation I've ever found that is a perfect match to my almost see-through skin. I have very temperamental skin that reacts to the slightest changes - I ran out of this foundation, so used Loreal one for a single day and the next morning, my skin was a vile mess! But then my Lily Lolo arrived in the post, and my skin settled back to normal within a couple of days. It is so light, yet provides a fantastic amount of coverage with minimal effort. I used this foundation on it's own, with just a light setting spray over it on my wedding day, and it stayed put through all the mayhem and one of the hottest days of the year :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/14/2015 9:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've just received my sample of this foundation to try out the colour Saffron (which btw came with a helpful cute little catalogue of the LL range) It is perfect! I have been looking for a medium coverage natural/non chemical foundation for MONTHS! As all real organic/natural liquid foundations have no silicone so are hard to blend and my bb cream goes streaky and just sits on my skin. I was not expecting this powder to be so good as I've always had my reservations about mineral powders, Lily Lolo is creamy and offer such a good buildable coverage! Needless to say I WILL be ordering a full size pot. I only wish I'd stumbled upon this sooner!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 6:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my favourite foundation. I have been using only organic/natural cosmetics for about 7 years and it took me a while to find items that are both safe and effective. This foundation works brilliantly. It doesn`t cause any irritation whatsoever, is not perfumed and most importantly, it actually works. It covers very well (I get some dark red breakouts on my pale skin sometimes and covering them with this foundation is effortless), looks natural and lasts all day.The range of shades is very good as well and the price is suprisingly low compared to similar brands (it contains exactly the same ingredients as bellapierre foundation but is less than a half its price...) I`m currently on my 3rd pot and will be buying more.
And one more thing, when I decided to switch to gluten free cosmetics, I emailed their customer services to find out whether their products were safe to use. I got a reply within 10 minutes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my safe foundation. If I don't know which foundation to wear or if my skin's acting out, I reach for this one. I've been using this a bit over a year now and I'm close to finishing it, and I've already bought a back-up. I'm in the shade Porcelain, which is wonderfully pale for my ghostly skin.

As I said, I use this when my skin's not looking so great. It the best foundation at covering blemishes, it really takes the redness down and because it's powder, it doesn't move around during the day. It also stays on pretty long and fades nicely, as it doesn't separate on the skin like liquids can do. If I have gross looking blemishes, I use this foundation on a pencil brush and buff the product on top of the blemish, and it does a really good job covering it even by itself. When I add concealer under it, it becomes really full coverage. It also seems to be the kindest thing for my skin, and I don't know if it's because of the foundation, but it seems to work at healing my skin as well and making it blemish-free again. The only thing that it can do though is adding dryness to the skin. However, it's still the best thing for my dry-skin days as well, because weirdly, I still feel it accentuates the dry patches way less than a liquid foundation would. I apply it with the Real Techniques expert face brush, which is fine, but I could maybe use something a bit softer. I feel like this is a medium coverage foundation that you can sheer out or build up.

It's not the prettiest foundation in the world (personally I love a glowier look and this foundation is quite matte, although in a rather natural way), but it's a really safe and skin-friendly choice. It's a slightly boring product in that sense, but it's definitely a HG product for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2014 4:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I ordered starter sample package in light that consists of 3 small pots of mineral foundation and one small mineral finishing powder in flawless silk that is slightly shimmery and coloured.
Foundation colours are China doll, Blondie and Barely buff.
I also ordered mineral blush in Flushed.

I had to email Lily Lolo customer support since the order did not arrive as fast as expected after receiving their dispatch confirmation email. Their response was super fast and saying if the order does not arrive in 21 days, they will reship it. Fortunately it arrived in 7 working days so no problems. Royal mail is not the best. Proved many times before, so this wasn't Lily Lolo's fault.

Packaging is visually appealing.
Small complain is that two out of three samples did not have a sifter. It is impossible to use loose mineral foundation without one. So after realising china doll is my color i transferred the sifter to this pot.

I never used mineral before so it took me 3 tries to get it right. Lessons i learned are:

- i have to moisturise more than usual.
Might be drying on dry skin. I have sensitive, dehydrated, acne prone skin with shiny tzone in summer and this foundation feels tight on skin right after applying
- little goes a long way. Transfer a small amount of product into the lid. Swirl the brush and tap off any extra product. Buff into the skin with their baby kabuki. I go for light coverage. Not sure how natural it looks after layering it multiple times. But if you go for barely there make up, it's flawless.
- staying power is moderate.

I believe this will work for winter but not sure if it will during summer.
It's more time consuming to apply than regular make up.
My reactive skin has no problem with it, it even seems it helped the brakeout on my forehead to go away.

It's an OK product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2014 8:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Skin type: Sensitive, combination skin, prone to clogged pores.
I wear this foundation in Blondie and Barely Buff. Blondie is my exact skin match, but I feel Barely Buff gives me more of a warmer shade. It really suits my NC15-NC20 skin.
As with many makeup products the right shade and application is key for this product. I didn't really like the Lily Lolo Kakubi brush, I feel like I get such a beautiful, airbrushed finish with the ELF Flat Top Brush. I never knew the perfect brush can make such a difference.

+ massive shade range (neutral, warm, cool tones), they sell sample pots
+ Very good, even coverage
+ Very natural looking, skin-perfecting, never like a mask
+ only contains 4 ingredients, that never caused a breakout for me
+ lasts forever - looks even better after wearing it for a few hours, because it melts into your skin; it's also water-resistant
+ has SPF15
+ super easy to remove, no rubbing!
+beneficial for blemishes, because it contains zinc

- it's quite drying, you need to apply a really good moisturizer -> wouldn't reccomend this for very dry skin types as it may accentuate your dry skin even more

This Mineral Foundation is quite matte and can be drying at times. But if you use a hydrating moisturizer and rosewater spray to fix it, your skin looks natural, glowing and healthy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2014 12:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

This is amazing great price and very generous sized pots I have been using there products for about 2 years so quick & easy to order off there website there brushes are great too. I use in the buff shade foundation it's a perfect match for my fair-medium skin this stuff lasts forever my last pot lasted a good 8/9 months and so cheap it's unreal. This is like bare minerals but my opinion this is far better softer & lighter but the same amount of coverage! If your looking for a mineral powder foundation deffo give this a try you won't be disappointed


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

MY HOLY GRAIL FOUNDATION. I love this stuff so so so much, it's the first and only powder foundation I've ever tried and I'm so happy I tried it out because of the great reviews I've read online. I never thought I'd love a powder foundation this much, but I have been reaching for this all summer and it's (almost) perfect in every way!

To me, this is a medium coverage foundation. It covers acne, acne scars, freckles etc. ok, and it covers redness and dullness really good. I found out that if I don't use a primer underneath, it won't blend as good as if I had a smooth base, so remember a primer ladies, doesn't matter which one just one that smooths out your skin a bit! As most foundations, it clings to dry patches BUT not as much as a liquid foundation. I sometimes suffer from dry skin, right now I'm out of my favorite moisturizer (it's on its way in the mail lol) and this stuff still works good for me.

It lasts up to 5 hours on me before I have to touch up with a little bit of powder, I got combination skin and I get REAAAALLY oily throughout the day and 5 hours is really good to me. Even though I get oily, it stays on!!! When I say touch up I mean touching up with a transluscent powder, not the foundation, because it's still there. In about 8 hours it shows signs of fading, it's not covering acne and that kind of stuff anymore, and after about 10-12 hours it's almost gone. That's so good on my combination skin.

The packaging though, is JUNK, I hate it. I often spill powder all over my other products because the packaging is really cheap, but whatever, the product is good so... I just love it. AND, it gives a flawless, but still really natural look!! My face looks smooth and natural when I've applied this, it's so so natural... Haha, I'm totally in love with this stuff. BUY IT, you won't regret!


on 6/27/2014 9:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i started using lily lolo about 4 years ago as it was affordable and came in shades for very pale skin. the formula at the time was kind to my skin and a perfect match. i purchased a replacement "porcelain" as well as a pot of "china doll" a few months ago expecting the same results as prior batches of lily lolo powder.

it seems they have reformulated this, as it now entirely irritates my face and the coverage is patchy at best. it is also slightly more expensive now. i've since switched back to my old faithful laura mercier powder in "soft porcelain" with the same fantastic results it always gives. laura mercier is more expensive than lily lolo, for sure, but it's not a bargain to me if a product underperforms and irritates my face, so bye bye lily lolo.

if you are still able to use this powder with good results and no irritation, you've hit the jackpot with lily lolo. their shade selection for fair skinned folks is fantastic and even with the price increase it is still cheaper than most mineral powders on the market. highly suggest purchasing samples before buying, just to make sure you like the look/coverage and see if it agrees with your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2014 9:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

totally in love with this - i would recommend if your skin, like mine, is prone to acne!


Back to Top