MAC • 188 Small Duo Fibre Face brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.3(214 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xiangwei304 on 8/23/2013 4:57:00 AM more reviews by xiangwei304

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got this as a present, I was a little skeptical in the beginning, especially when I found out how much it cost, OMG! The packaging is quite bad, doesn't look like a high end packaging for me... It is a much slimmer brush compare to MAC 187 and Real Techniques Stippling brush, so I started by using it as a setting brush or to apply hightligher. I really like how it feels on the face, so soft compare to The Real Techniques Stipping Brush which I found quite uncomfortable on the skin... It is so slim and it can get every corne of the face, around the nose, under eyes to sett concealer. I totally fall in love with it! It has not shed at all so far, the quality is really good, it is made in Japan, so I guess it is pricy for a reason. I am sure it will last me for a real long time before I need to buy another one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emese1 on 6/27/2013 9:08:00 AM more reviews by Emese1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this brush! I bought it originally to apply under eye concealer (at gossmakeupartist's suggestion). Doesn't work for that. Everything creases on me.
But now that I use blush, it applies it wonderfully! I have great control so I don't put too much product on and put it exactly where I want to. My pet peeve is to not overdo blusher and it's perfect for that! It's still soft after a few years. I'm sure there are cheaper alternatives, but at the time I bought it I wasn't aware.
Highly recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JohnnyMakeup on 6/25/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by JohnnyMakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought it because the SA talked me into it and it was my birthday so I had the splurge. I did love it a lot in the beginning, it felt like the smoothest softest thing that had ever touched my face. However, I don't know if I'm washing it wrong, since it doesn't pick up as much color as before, that said about month since using it! It also takes ages to apply any blush/cream product as you have to stipple it on and the duo fibres are far too long for the skunks hair to be able to blend the color. It does shade pretty occasionally and the bristles are not quite the same lenght on mine - I was really really disappointed about that with the 40+euros tag when I came home and opened the package..
I have to say, nothing works better than this with powder/mineral foundations, it's also great if you're heavy-handed armed with super-pigmented blushes. The real glory of the brush is in the skunks bristles, as they hold the correct space between the synthetic fibres, no matter how much you swirl it on your face - giving the impression of airbrushed finish. But I am sure real techniques will work just as fine and if you're experienced MUA or just know products you're working with, you can live without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whereismymind59 on 6/3/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by whereismymind59

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I mean, its a nice brush and it gives a great result but I feel like it takes me twice as long to put on foundation using this. Even when I use this on other people I notice it takes me forever to blend out foundation because the brush is so tiny! It is still a great brush, but its super expensive and I have many dupes in my kit that were half the price (im talking 8-10$)

Take my advice, buy one of the many available less expensive version of this brush. They are all the SAME.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sashaannys on 5/28/2013 4:32:00 PM more reviews by sashaannys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Adore this brush, blends in my liquid foundation perfectly !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 strangerrr on 2/24/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by strangerrr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this brush for about 7 months and I tried itwith liuid foundation, bb cream and powder blush many times. It is only useful for powder products. But don't buy it as there are more useful brushes around.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 2/23/2013 10:41:00 AM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had this brush for at least 3-4 years, at the time it was the best of its kind, even at that ridiculous price. Now, with the Real Technique stippling (pink handle) brush. All my Mac's crap are in retirement, they are cheaply (poorly) made, but not the price.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 2/11/2013 12:24:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Not my favorite. I got my makeup done at Trish McEvoy and the SA used this brush to apply my fdtn. I use thin, sheer fdtns so I find the brush is too long to give me any coverage. I think it's an awkward size, too. I almost wish it was a little smaller. I currently use it to blend in my undereye concealer, but again I find the bristles too long for my liking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 1/6/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This brush is perfection!

MAC makes two similar stippling brushes; both have long white hairs that are fine, soft, and gentle, with darker hairs that are a bit stiffer and more densely packed, holding the white ones in place. The MAC 187 Large Duo Fibre Brush is just a bit too big to get the controlled look i prefer. But the 188, with its smaller circumference, is perfection for precise application, and is THE brush i use for powder blush, highlighter, or contour (bronzer). I generally do not like too much strong color and this brush is does not overdo application. It is especially good with really bright MAC blushes and mineralize skin finishes, as well as with NARS blushes, which tend to be highly colored. Yet when i want a more intense look, i can get more product on the brush or build up the color without wasting any blush or highlighter.

The 188 and 187 are recommended for both powder and cream (emollient) products. I only use the 188 for powders, however. For cream blush, particularly my fav MAC Casual Colour Lip & Cheek Colour, i use MAC 130, a duo fibre brush with shorter, more densely packed hairs.

I spot clean with MAC Brush Cleanser, and wash with gentle soap or shampoo every week. So far in nearly 2 years of frequent use and much travel it has held up beautifully. The white hairs are even still white. And it has NEVER shed a hair. One of the short black hairs did get bent, so i just snipped it off.

If anything happens to this brush, i will absolutely be buying a second one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* One1Cherry on 11/16/2012 7:03:00 PM more reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so glad i got this. The white synthetic bristles are so much finer and softer than Sigma's version. Sigma's version is scratchy and stiff, thus it does not blend as well. Mac's version is also slightly smaller than Sigma's.

I use it to apply setting powder to my undereye concealer and blush so far. Its perfect, applies pigmented blush so well. The smaller size of this brushes makes it perfect for a more precise application.

My favorite brush of all time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products