Revlon • RV544 Tourmaline Ionic Hairdryer • Hair Styling Tools

rated 3.7(70 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 lilpumpkin on 1/7/2010 12:13:00 PM more reviews by lilpumpkin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

for the money, this hairdryer is ahhhmazing. i got it on amazon for about $17 which is dirt cheap, and i absolutely love it. my old hair dryer left my hair fried and crispy, but this hair dryer left my hair silky soft and frizz free. and it dries my hair SO quickly. i used the diffuser on my long curly hair and i was dry in five minutes. i cant justify spending hundreds of dollars on a professional blow dryer, as far as im concerned this hair dryer does just as good of a job. i love it! buy it! you wont regret it

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kathrine on 10/19/2009 3:21:00 PM more reviews by kathrine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this when my old Solia started to die. Thought I would save some money and it has generally good reviews on MUA. Can't say I love it, although most people seem to. I have really thick, coarse, short hair. For some reason, it felt like it took longer to dry and I didn't think it did a great job of straightening/smoothing. I've decided to get an Elchim, which my hairdresser uses. Oh well, at least it didn't cost too much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hisoneandonly on 9/1/2009 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Hisoneandonly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Revlon RV544 Tourmaline Ionic Hairdryer:

Pros: Got mine at Ulta for under $30 plus I had a 20% off coupon that took the price down even lower off of the normally $27.99 price tag. 1875 watts dried my hair fast without frying it. Comes with a concentrator nozzle and diffuser (haven't used diffuser yet since I normally style my hair straight). It feels really light - I have carpal tunnel in both hands and this hair dryer did not wear me out like most do.

Cons: I wish the heat settings were a little different the medium setting truly doesn't do anything for me. Other than that I think this is a great buy and would repurchase again, I just hope I don't have to for a while!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 perrisquirrel on 5/10/2009 11:40:00 AM more reviews by perrisquirrel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is honestly the WORST hairdryer I have ever owned!!!

There are 2 heat settings - Warm and Hot. Neither of them get very hot and I need HEAT to straighten my hair. The Cold button does get cold, which is nice. There are 2 speeds - Slow and Fast. Slow is way too slow to do anything of value.

It is lightweight and somewhat quiet, those are the only 2 positives I can find.

I wasted $30 on this thing and cannot return it since I threw out the box accidentally. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MegamiMoon on 1/4/2009 1:49:00 PM more reviews by MegamiMoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this to replace my Conair Ionic dryer, which was both noisy and heavy. So far so good! It's lightweight, relatively quiet, dries my hair much quicker, and leaves my hair smooth, shiny, and healthy-looking. I have waist-length asian hair, btw. I've been looking for a dryer with a tourmaline element and chose this one based on a Good Housekeeping article that said that the Revlon RV544 outperformed T3 dryers in tests. And the price was right at about $30 (tax and shipping included) from Amazon.com. Oh, and it also comes with concentrator and diffuser attachments.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flowersfade on 1/3/2009 7:32:00 PM more reviews by flowersfade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

i got this hair dryer for christmas because my old one was basically on the verge of death, and i hate it so much. i have really tame, nice, easy hair, and this pos just gives me a ton of flyaways.

also, my long hair gets sucked into the back of it every time i use it. it hurts really badly and there's really no way to prevent it from happening without cutting my hair, so i'm stuck there as well.

as for pros, it's lightweight and it dries my hair really quickly, it just looks like crap afterward. i've never had to fix my hair before using this dryer, lol. i can't really return it either because we don't have the box anymore and my mom would say i'm being dramatic, but this makes my hair look SO awful, i'll probably lie and say it broke or something and buy myself a better one in a few months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 heidebe on 12/1/2008 12:04:00 AM more reviews by heidebe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure I can describe how much I dislike this hairdryer. This was an emergency purchase at CVS one morning when my old dryer finally quit. I knew the end was near so I had been doing hairdryer research and thought this one looked ok. Plus, the price was right.

The first time I used this I singed off a chunk of my hair. I'm sure it was partially my fault since I didn't use the concentrator nozzle. However, I never used it with my old dryer and never had a problem so I didn't think to use it.

My old dryer (also a cheap CVS purchase) left me with decently straight, smooth hair. I could just blow dry with a big round brush and go. With this dryer I need to use a flat iron or curling iron to help tame the flyaways and straighten things out.

The hot is too hot and the warm is not warm enough. I have very thick, wavy hair and these settings just don't work for me.

I dread fixing my hair with this thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TakenByHim on 10/10/2008 12:02:00 AM more reviews by TakenByHim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a bit disappointed with this blow dryer. I expected a lot more due to the positive reviews here. I have very thin, semi-textured hair that is easy to straighten. I wanted something that would help decrease frizz and blow drying time. The only positive thing about this blow dryer is that it decreases frizz a bit. I normally have frizz especially after blow drying and this decreases it by about 30% so I have to give this dryer 3 points despite the many things I hate about it. It is actually a lot heavier than my previous cheap Vidal Sassoon blow dryer, less ergonomic, and it's about as loud. I don't like the fact that there's only two heat settings and two speed settings..high and low..what happened to medium? When I use the speed on high regardless of the heat setting, it dries my hair super fast but leaves my ends tangled which never happens to me with other blow dryers. Even my boyfriend noticed the tangling. I thought it was just my shampoo, conditioner, or leave-in that wasn't compatible with this and causing the tangling but I experienced the same results after using other products. If I don't want the tangled ends, I am forced to use the low speed which is too low for me and doesn't help decrease drying time. I take about the same amount of time drying with my other dryer. The high heat gets very hot though so if that's what you are looking for, you might want to try this. I would not repurchase this but it would probably work a lot better on the right person. Maybe people with very coarse, curly, thick hair types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mpm64 on 9/21/2008 8:14:00 PM more reviews by mpm64

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Lightweight, dries my hair in literally half the time as previous dryers, and my hair is smoother. Others have complained that this dryer is loud, but it seems fine to me; it's actually quieter than my previous dryers. The only thing that I can find fault with is the positioning of the hot/warm button -- it's right where my thumb wants to be, so I often inadvertently change the heat setting to warm from hot. However, given all the positives (and the price! $26 at amazon.com), I can live with this one negative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandrag on 8/31/2008 5:14:00 PM more reviews by sandrag

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this hairdryer. Not only does it take my mega thick hair only around 5 minutes to dry it, it seems to be working on preventing any new split ends and looks much shinier. I was skeptical about a dryer working so well but for those like myself who have mega-thick hair and always dread drying it, this is the answer. I almost look forward to it now. I have actually used 2 hairdryers at the same time before and this is almost an equivalent to that!! This is quite lightweight and I didn't consider it to be louder than my last hairdryer. GREAT. I purchased it at Ulta for around 25.00 (with coupon) plus tax. Great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Styling Tools products