NYX Femme

3.6

37 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Bees Wax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Ceresin, Microcrystalline Wax, Polyethylene, Octyldodeanol, Polyisobutene, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Diisostearyl Malate, Polyglyceryl -2 Triisostearate, Isostearyl Isostearate, Bis-Digylceryl Polyacyladipade-2, Tocopheryl Acetate, B.H.A, Fragrance, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide Red, Iron Oxide Yellow, Iron Oxide Black, D&C Red No.6, D&C Red No.7, D&C Red No.27, FD&C Yellow No.5 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Blue No.1 Aluminum Lake, and D&C Red No.36 MAY CONTAIN: Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxide Red (CI 77491), Iron Oxide Yellow (CI 77492), Iron Oxide Black (CI 77499), D&C Red No.6 (CI 15850), FD&C Blue No.1 Aluminum Lake (CI 42090), D&C Red No.7 (CI 15850), D&C Red No.27 (CI 45410:1), or FD&C Yellow No.5 Aluminum Lake (CI 19140).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

NYX Round Lipstick in Femme is a bright pink-coral with a satin finish. Available in 126 shades, this super versatile line of lipsticks is paraben free, cruelty free, and hypoallergenic. I purchased this lipstick at Ulta for $4, for 4 grams of product. NYX is kinda hard to track down, but you can find it at Ulta, http://www.nyxcosmetics.com/, and http://cherryculture.com/, as well as select drugstores and e-tailers. This product is made in Taiwan.
Every single time I review Round Lipsticks, I rave about the adorability and functionality of the packaging. A black twist up tube with matching cap that snaps of firmly. The tube is sturdy, and about 2 1/2 inches long, making it purse and pocket friendly. They're also clearly labeled, making storage super easy. The NYX logo is cute and girly, without over powering the sleek packaging.
The color of Femme is a common one, but it has it's own personal complexity. Femme seems neutral to me, but I can't quite tell. Femme is very bright, making it perfectly on trend for the summer. It's a pink-coral, but it has a strong orange red tone to it. However the orange-red tones don't compromise the pink tones, but instead seem to balance them out. I suppose that's why it's neutral. Femme has a satiny finish when first applied, but as you wear it, it dries down to more of a matte finish, making it more wearable.
Femme applies very easily, but you may need two swipes to get a fully opaque coat. The texture of Femme is just a little drier than your average NYX Round Lipstick. But this is a good thing. Because Femme isn't as slick and slippery as most of the range, it wears much better. No feathering or sliding off the lip, with a bit less transfering. However Femme still only manages to wear for 2 1/2 to 3 hours. Some how NYX Rounds just can't stay on for longer than that.
A lot of people complain about the sunscreen-like scent and taste of the NYX Round Lipsticks. Personally it doesn't bother me, but I thought it deserved a mention.
I love Femme. It's my new favorite NYX Round Lipstick. The only thing average about it is the wear time. It's texture is much better than usual. Best of all, Femme is perfect for spring and summer's bright lip trend, while still being wearable. I'll be wearing Femme frequently this summer, and if I manage to work my way through the whole tube, I'll most likely repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 4/11/2012 10:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a "oh look, its cheap. Let's try it" type buy. I love this color. It is a coral red color that has a little glossy feeling to it. The packaging is cute and convenient. The wear isn't that long, but the color is so vibrant when you first apply it and for the next hour or so. it was only a dollar or so on ulta. NYX products were 40% off and with an additional 20% off entire purchase so this was about $1. ONE DOLLAR!! i really recommend this line for its price and quality.


on 2/28/2012 1:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE all NYX round lipsticks. They are so smooth and pigmented and for a good price. There is a huge selection too. I tried my first NYX lipstick in femme. I absolutely love it. I am not sure why one of the above pictures shows it as so orange. It is not. It is a coral colour. At least on me. A redish/pink coral. LOVE IT. I find it a tad drying after a while, but it could be because I sanitize it regularly. Staying power is not all there


on 12/3/2011 9:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this expecting a bright orange colour with a neon feel to it. When applied on my bare lips it looks like a blue-toned pink, and not in a good way. My lips are only slightly pigmented, and I've never had this problem before. I wanted this to look on my lips the same way it did when swatched on my hand, unfortunately it did not. The formula is okay as with all the round l/s's, and the wear as bad as with all the round l/s. Have to say, not a fan at all.


on 11/20/2011 3:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was in the 'orange lipstick' mode when I discovered this. Of course, straight out orange is something I knew I definitely could not pull off, so this slightly orange/coral shade was a good alternative.
The color was not what I expected it to be, on my lips (which are on the darker side) the color turned out to be surprisingly bright and more of a pink. Not quite what I was looking for, but still a pretty color, so I'm fine with it. NYX lipsticks I've always had a good experience with, so no problems there as well. You never know with lipsticks, just grab one that looks like it has potential and you may be surprised! (NYX is only 4, so skip out on a few candy bars and have fun with all the different shades)


on 11/13/2011 5:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a very beautiful bright coral orangey - red! A little on the daring side!
Super pigmented, smooth and buttery, because of that I would never swipe it on all over my lips. I usually just dab a little on and then smear it out, much more shear yet the colour still intense. If I apply this lipstick like the conventional way of applying lipstick, it is going to be far too intense and people are going to be like "omg what's going on with her!"
Really cheap and affordable, and the quality is better then I expected for NYX, not that any NYX's products was ever a complete let down.


on 11/4/2011 10:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This lipstick has me confused. For starters, it's gorgeous! It's light, creamy, non drying and just pretty.

I can't tell if it is red, orange or hell in some light pink. I don't care. It's pretty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2011 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Gave this lipstick a 4 because I thought this was a very pretty colour. It's a bright orange, that looks like bright red from afar. Apply lightly and it may pass as an orange lippy under any light (: I picked this one because it was just pretty on my skin - I'm Asian, so I'm like light brown with yellow undertones, and this went well with my skintone. I got this for S$4 in Singapore, which is probably US$3ish, and that's hella cheap! It's also very creamy - as all NYX lipsticks are, however it's a little translucent, so I had to put a little bit more for the colour to stand out. Didn't quite like that. It's also shiny ... which I'm not too fond of. Dries my lips after 2 hours, which is such a shame, because it cracks my lips and any lippie on them just sinks into the peeling skin. staying power is so-so, if you don't eat or drink. Can't layer it above any lipbalm, or it'd slide right off. I still give it a 4 because well, i still think it's a very pretty colour, albeit having a few cons - but for it's price? I don't regret getting it at all (:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2011 3:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have to say, this is a pretty dang good dupe for MAC's Surf Baby Hibiscus lipstick. If you are like me and didn't quite get in on the wonder of the MAC lippy, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised at both the quality and the color of this little guy. It is much less harsh on the lips than it is in the tube. I have a moderately tan complexion and this color looks beautiful on me. Surprisingly creamy formula as well!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2011 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunately, this color didn't work for me. Bought it today at ULTA (They have a huge sale going on now). Out of the 5 lipsticks I got, this was the only color that I didn't like. The color is a bright orange with a little red. I think its because my lips are a lot darker than this. Plus I'm on the tan side. I felt kinda silly having this on (good thing I was at home). It was just way too bright! And the color sat on the creases of my lips. I will not be returning it though, I might use my lipstix remix and make a better lipstick.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top