Bobbi Brown Shimmer Lip Gloss - Rose Gold Sugar

3.6

26 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/19/2005 3:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Got this as a gwp. It is not rosey at all but merely a gloss with a LOT of gold in it. PRO: Definitely the nicest gold I have ever seen. Looks strikingly like the real thing and not like glitter at all. Makes your lips look like they have been drenched in melted gold mixed with syrup. You can't even see proper shimmer particles once you have applied this. Nice. CONS: Though impressed by the look and quality of the golden color, I would never wear this on its own. Just not that into metallic lipcolor. But I am totally in love with the way it looks on my lips the way you are fascinated by a piece of art. It IS lovely, but IMHO not that wearable (you might disagree tho if you love metals). I DO, however, use this to turn regular lipsticks into sexy evening colors by applying just a hint of the product. Great effect. Like all BB glosses, the packaging -and I mean the brush- is pathetic. It is impossible to use this gloss without damaging the brush since the opening is far too narrow. Result: Splaying bristles. Considering the price, that is ridiculous! Why not use a sponge applicator? Anyway, I recommend using one of your own lip brushes. As for the consitency, the gloss is extremely thick and sticky, which makes it difficult to apply evenly without using your fingers to warm it up and dab it into your lips, but which also guarantees excellent staying power. I also find BB glosses very moisturising and comforting for lips.



on 9/20/2005 5:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The name is deceiving--not much rose in this colour, but plenty of gold. I would describe this colour as a peachy-beige-gold. On me (light skin, grey eyes) the colour translates to a nude, sophisticated shimmer that is very subtle despite the shine. BB's is the thickest gloss that I've tried and thus has the best staying and moisturizing power. Although other reviewers complained about the brush, i think this is really the best option for picking up and applying such a thick gloss, so I don't mind it at all. I don't think a standard foam applicator would carry as much product. This is my third tube of BB gloss, so I am definitely a fan. The tube may be smaller than that of other brands but it will last a long time (as long or longer as my other glosses) so it is money well spent.


on 8/10/2005 12:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this sight unseen, simply because I was getting a good deal and I thought I'd like to give Bobbi Brown a try.

On me, Rose gold is a very golden shade, with only a very very slight bit of rose to it. Predominantly, though, this is a golden frost color. I barely see anything but gold on my lips with this one.

Also, the brush applicator is awful - stiff and makes it very difficult to spread any product. And I find this gloss to be the stickiest thing I've ever put on my lips. I don't mind MAC's stickiness, but I can't really stand this.

I'll give it a couple points in its favor - it lasts well, and looks decent over lipsticks, but still not worth it to me. I won't be repurchasing.


on 3/26/2005 2:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Such a pretty rose gold color on my naturally pigmented lips. I like to layer this over BB Nude lipstick. It intensifies the color in such a pretty way and it's not too much shimmer for daytime. I'll use this up and enjoy it but probably won't repurchase because I'm always trying new lip stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2004 12:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love the color, hate the brush but will definitely repurchase. I've gotten more compliments wearing this gloss than any other...


on 11/24/2004 10:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm surprised that it is getting a lot of bad reviews...
I am Asian w/ medium skin tone (NC30) and this l/g is one of my HG! It's a rosy shade w/ subtle gold shimmer...I think the shimmer makes it suitable for warm skin tone ^^ I can wear this all year long summer/winter. Will definitely repurchase!


on 7/10/2004 10:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This gloss is precisely how it's been described by the other reviewers: lighter, peachier, more shimmery (w/ gold shimmer) version of Rose Sugar. When I first put it on, I was disappointed how it was lighter on the rose than I was hoping (I was thinking it would be like Rose Sugar with gold shimmer). A day or two passed and I admitted to myself I liked this shimmer more than I had previously realized. I'm a Chinese MMM with the tell-tale yellow undertones that come with Asian skin who favors subtle lips when it comes to makeup. I hate boring lips, though, so I'm always on the search for lip colors that are subtle without being dull. Two reasons I didn't like Rose Sugar were: 1) Silver shimmer clashed with my skintone and 2) all that shimmer + the rose color was too much in broad daylight. Finally, I realized Rose Gold Sugar fixed those two problems for me. It looks like a pleasant, shiny (not to mention pouty) peachy nude on my lips indoors, but outdoors is when it's very pretty in sunlight (that's when the gold shimmer really kicks in). When the gold shimmer really lights up it's almost a bit peachy-bronze. I have to admit that it was seeing my reflection under sunlight that really made me reconsider my opinion about Rose Gold Sugar. Seeing the gold colored shimmer reflecting off the sunlight coupled with my tanned skin made me decide the purchase was definitely worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2004 7:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

True to name...a rose shade with gold shimmer. Pretty, but not stunning on my cool, light, LLL skintone. I prefer Rose Sugar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2004 2:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A very interesting color, Rose Gold Shimmer is way more gold than rose, and the gold makes it a little more peachy than rose. It is lovely - a nice light shade. Nicer on my NC30/Stila D-50 Watts complexion. Good for spring and summer, but I am thinking this will have to be shelved for winter and fall in favor of some darker colors, like Scoop and Kir Sugar and Aubergine and Raising gloss.

Same brush splaying problems as all BB's glosses have, and same nice scent and great tackiness. All in all, a really nice gloss.


on 4/14/2004 3:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Price tag: $25 (CAN)

The MA at the BB counter at Holt Renfrew tried on the shade "Rose Gold" on me. The color did absolutely nothing for my lips, not even a shimmer.

The gloss has a hint of vanilla scent, which goes away very quickly. The texture is disgustingly sticky, thick and gloopy. I don't like the little brush applicator in the tube either - it makes the gloss even messier.
Even after wiping it off I still feel like I have a coating of rubber on my lips. So gross! I'll try out some of the other glosses at the counter but so far I'm not impressed at all...


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top