L'Oreal • HIP Pure Pigment Shadow Stick • Eye Shadow

rated 2.5(55 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BatFat on 12/30/2008 10:51:00 PM more reviews by BatFat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

RIS, BN.

Ummm I don't really know what to do with this actually. I was more eager to get rid of something in a swap and ended up choosing this off someone's list. I have it in irresistable. It's a nice color but not very pigmented at all. The packaging is also quite stupid.

I think I'll use it over chapstick for a subtle lip tint. Def not eyeshadow tho...it's too crappy.

I had been wanting to try these and am glad I got it in a swap instead of buying...don't waste ur money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vyvyanne on 12/30/2008 8:49:00 PM more reviews by vyvyanne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't remember what color I got this in but it was a teal blue and I just did not know what to do with it. I did not give up right away, researched on the internet and on youtube with just how I was supposed to apply this thing.

Some people praised it and loved it, but I just couldn't It was too hard to use dry. I suspected there was a lot of potential in this thing, but it just wouldn't work for me. I tried mixing medium, water, and other liquids to mix with this and it didn't budge off the damn stick.

The product packaging I found was very strange... It would have been interesting if it was in a twist up tube...

I ended up cutting it up and putting it into a jar, trying to use it as a loose pigment of some sort. I haven't used it since I sliced, diced and minced it up, but maybe the next time I use it, it'll have better color payoff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DianaLaColombiana on 12/28/2008 11:27:00 PM more reviews by DianaLaColombiana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is not very good. It creases and just fades away. The whole stick thing doesn't work either, unless you sharpen it, but you loose a lot of product and it is very small. You can't work w/that thick stick, it's just in the way.I have about 5 that I got for a gift/swaps and i hate them. I ended up giving them to my mom.They are pretty colors and very pigmented, but just don't come out right. They are not cheap either, not at all. They just aren't worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 immevu on 12/27/2008 12:32:00 PM more reviews by immevu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i will only buy this as a buy one get one free. ($7-10)
the colors are not bad (i like it) and sharpening it does work.
packaging's odd but not that bad when u get the hang of it
its not as pigmented as they clam but (like i said) the colors are nice
+putting it on wet helps only a little with the dark brown color i have; but i think the other colors would be better.
-they don't have much of a color rang ether
+*(good) i have not had any creasing problems!)
+there's little or no fall out,
=last about.... 3hr... not very long
+but the color stays put while its there
but over all only the packaging is most the problem,
its not as bad as most ppl say
a little pricey if not for the deal
over all its ok, i only like it b/c its cheep, and the colors they do have are harder to find at that price.
i would recommend it. but only for ppl that would work a little harder to get the color they want b/c it is a little of a mess to understand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme on 12/6/2008 9:02:00 PM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I think L'Oreal is phasing out this product- I got it on clearance at Walgreens. I do agree with some of the negative reviews: the packaging is flimsy and hard to work with, and the product simply doesn't work at all when applied dry. BUT- I think it is a very lovely eye look when used wet.


I bought "Exquisite," a gold shimmer, and when applied wet, it provides smooth and opaque coverage that lasts 12 hours (I do prep my lids w/concealer and powder first). I like the color and the effect so much that i keep a bottle of water in my car so I can throw this in my purse and apply it in the car before heading to work. It's way better than a cream shadow because it "sets" to a non-oily, creaseproof, opaque finish; and it offers more color payoff than a powder shadow.

**EDIT: I took this down to 1 lippie when I realized it's just too much bother to use. Using water while putting on makeup outside the house is too much of a pain.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariannaoust on 12/6/2008 2:04:00 PM more reviews by mariannaoust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is not such a bad product at all. I actually like it.
First, DO NOT TAKE OFF THE PLASTIC wrapping you should just sharpen the pencil with it on, it sharpens very easily, I donít think itís meant to be taken off. Also, after you sharpen it, rub the tip on the back of your hand, to get rid of the loose pieces.And, use the FAT SHARPENER, not the thin one, that made it crumble. I donít have much trouble applying it after this.
For a subtle shimmer I use it dry, but for intense color I wet it. Staying power is ok, like 6-8 hours. The dark color (majestic, a plumy brown) I bought worked nicely to create a smokey eye look. I also got exquisite, which is a nude shimmer, and I use it for a day eye, and as a highlighter on my cheekbones.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 flcndvsx on 11/24/2008 5:27:00 PM more reviews by flcndvsx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Very low quality. Dry application is very irritating. The color isn't very "intense" at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kiraud on 11/1/2008 10:50:00 PM more reviews by kiraud

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

packaging is the worst!

actually irritated my eyelids trying to apply the product becuase had to apply so much pressure to get the color to come off

7 hours later color GONE not a trace.

super dissapointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isitfriday on 10/7/2008 2:18:00 PM more reviews by isitfriday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

impulse purchase, kinda wasted my $ but it was buy one L'oreal get one 50% off, so i went for it - oh well - this looks like a crayon, and if you were to take a crayola crayon and try to draw on your upper lid, it would feel about the same, and give you the same color payoff! it leaves a slight color however you have to press pretty hard and it is not smooth and creamy enough. it is okay for a smoky eye look, but not worth the money, even at 50% off. there are much better products out there, save your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 panda12102 on 9/2/2008 11:59:00 PM more reviews by panda12102

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't understand this product at all. I have 2 of them and I have tried them wet and dry but there is no color pay off at all for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products