Clairol Herbal Essences Dangerously Straight Shampoo [DISCONTINUED]

3.3

69 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/25/2010 2:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Used in conjuction with the conditioner and this worked nicely on my very thick, frizzy, curly/wavy hair when dried naturally. Relaxed it quite a bit, made it shiney and soft. When I comb out and air dry, it really flipped the ends alot tho (ala Marlo Thomas in "That Girl"!) However, did not make it significantly straighter, and when straightening with the iron, it did not seem to make much of a difference or improvement. The scent was pleasant enough. Price was good, $3.28 at Walmart. I would likely buy again.



on 8/16/2010 4:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Horrible. Made my hair frizzier, dried it out, may as well have used ordinary dish soap. Will never repurchase, unless I'm feeling horribly masochistic.


on 7/10/2010 9:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

my hair is already straight but sometimes when i go to sleep with my hair still a bit went it tends to end up alittle wavy. This shampoo didn't do anything to my hair and i think it leaves residue in my hair even if i washed it all out. The only thing i did like was the smell of the shampoo it lasts even after a day or two and the packaging is cool (when i put the conditioner and shampoo bottle side by side)


on 7/6/2010 1:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This doesn't do what it says. It doesn't give that dangerous straightness to my hair at all. It smell nice. But I won't buy this again. Luckily it was cheap.


on 6/29/2010 12:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is my shampoo I go too when I have really gross hair because with normal use, I find it's kind of drying. Also, several times the cap sort of exploded in the shower and a bunch of product is wasted. Besides the annoying packaging, it's pretty good. And yes it helps straightens my annoying slight wave in my "straight" hair. n_n


on 5/28/2010 10:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this shampoo, it does great things for my hair. My hair is naturally wavy, frizzy, fine, flyaway.. difficult to deal with. I've used various shampoos including salon brands and keep going back to this one. It doesn't make my hair straight but definitely makes it straight-ER; my hair needs a bit of weighing down and it does exactly that, but in a good way. It's soft but not flyaway and just generally looks sleek and has a nice natural wave to it.
As it says on the bottle, I get "best results" with the dangerously straight conditioner which is super rich and a good hair serum, but I still get great results with other conditioners.


on 4/24/2010 10:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Let me start out by saying that naturally, my hair is straight. However, I damaged it pretty badly with heat. My hair was sort of wavy and dry. Missing my old sleek hair, I invested into Herbal Essences Dangerously Straight. It made my hair oh so sleek and shiny previously. But then my scalp started to go ballistic. I got dandruff. I NEVER had dandruff. And my hair would fall out by the handfulls in the shower. Not fun at all. I tried all these different things to fix it, but NOTHING worked. So I switched to selsun blue for a little bit and after a few washes it all stopped. I realized it was the HE. The conditioner is amazingly moisturizing and nice but the shampoo leaves product build-up. The conditioner paired with something more clarifying would be a nice combo. This shampoo is not good for those with average hair. My hair is actually quite thick and long, but it is very sensitive to product build-up. I also never use heat on my hair anymore so maybe that's the problem. The shampoo probably does too much for my hair but if you do straighten your hair every day, this might be something to invest in.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2010 10:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I straighten my hair everyday, but this product just made it look so much better! My hair didnt frizz up at the end of the day, and overall it looked better!


on 12/16/2009 1:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My god i love herbal essences, i was so shocked by dangerousley straight as it literally made my hair straighter. My hair is normally wavy and this made my hair straight lol. It smells so good too, i will definately buy this again. Cleans really well too


on 11/5/2009 12:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have naturally wavy hair... and not in a good way. There's just something about it that it does not look right on me. So I'm always looking for easy ways to make it straighter. Well with the title of this stuff I thought I couldn't go wrong.

Well, I was wrong.

I mean it smells good, and it does make my hair nice and soft, but it does nothing for me as far as straightness goes. Doesn't matter if I blow dry or not. Or the fact that I use the conditioner with it... I still end up having to use my flat iron. Basically, this stuff is just a really nice normal shampoo. I'd buy it again, but I wouldn't say it's any better than any other random shampoo out there. I wanted it to get straight hair, not my normal wavy hair.




Top Rated Clairol Products

image

Shimmer Lights

327 reviews
Back to Top