Everyday Minerals • Matte Foundation • Powder

rated 3.8(380 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 bixbailey on 4/17/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by bixbailey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I used their full coverage for years before they replaced it with the IT crap, so I switched to the matte formulation. I don't know what they changed but this breaks me out like mad now–never did before. I very rarely break out from topical products, so am surprised. Sadly, have EDM to thank for some new atrophic scars after years of being clear. The texture, coverage, and color selection is great, though. Better for texture and finish than Meow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 koalaluff on 3/4/2013 4:38:00 AM more reviews by koalaluff

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am around NC25 in Mac's Studio Fix line and I have this in "Light," which is a tad too light for me but passable.

I absolutely LOVE this powder's coverage. I never imagined powder could cover so well, but it does! I'd say it's like medium coverage that lasts throughout the day.

The powder is extremely soft and silky. I apply it with Everyday Mineral's Flat Top Brush.

Unfortunately, what they use to make the powder so soft is Lauroyl Lysine which clogs pores (google it yourself!). I thought I could get away with it, but my pores get clogged too. However, I can wear it once, maybe twice a week, without getting pimples. I just get some clogged pores that go away in a few days.

Normally I don't let comedogenic properties affect my ratings because everyone's skin is different, but I'm taking away 2 lippies because the number of people who get acne from this is so high and EM doesn't do anything about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HappyUnicornSmile on 2/22/2013 6:20:00 AM more reviews by HappyUnicornSmile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This make up has excellent coverage. I would say the coverage is medium and buildable. If you need heavy coverage, this can work for you too. The foundation, although matte, does glow. I do not like foundation that glows or sparkles, but the glow that this provides didn't bother me at all; In fact I liked it. It melts into the skin and doesn't look cakey, even if you build it up. It's vegan and doesn't test on animals. There are lots of shades available. I have tried multiple formulas, and matte is my favorite from EM because of the coverage and finish.

This make up did make me break out moderately to severely, though. Because of this I cannot continue to wear it, and will not repurchase it nor recommend it for those who have acne prone or sensitive skin. It is also incredibly difficult to find your foundation match with this company. I ordered two separate orders of 7 trial sizes, and the color I have wound up purchasing is still too orangy/reddish for my skin tone. The fact that I bought the wrong color isn't the make up company's fault. BUT the make up company should make it easier for people to access help for finding their shade. A few other companies I have looked into have forums where they can post pictures of themselves to get color suggestions, and there have been color-matchers that one can email for help. I did not see EM offer anything like that. If they do, then they definitely don't make that knowledge easily accessible to possible customers.

Over all, this make up is great for the select few who can wear it without problems and for those who can put time and money into finding their color match (or those lucky enough to know what their color is from previous make up company matches). I would not recommend this for those who have sensitive or acne prone skin, because it may cause break outs. I would not repurchase this again because I am looking for make up that will clear up my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 luverchick on 1/16/2013 1:12:00 AM more reviews by luverchick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

omg! this was my first mineral make up and i broke up horribly...i was trying to get away from liquid foundation and this just made me so scared of trying other mineral make up but thank god i got the balls to try Meow Cosmetics...Now i am in love with mineral make up and thats they only foundation that has never broken me out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* admilly101 on 12/17/2012 10:50:00 AM more reviews by admilly101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

Overall Rating: 3/5
SKIN BACKGROUND: Oily, acne prone, SUPER sensitive, mild scarring and discoloration, beige skin with dominant yellow undertones.
PRICE: $12.99
COVERAGE: Light-Light/Medium coverage, not extremely build-ab;e. It covers my uneven skintone and minor imperfections, but doesn't do anything for my active pimples.
FINISH: I would say this is a natural matte. Just like any other MMU, it has a slight sheen to it, which is what I like about MMU's.
TEXTURE: Its creamier than most other MMU's, not as creamy as Lucy Minerals, but close.
SCENT: None
SPF: None
LASTING POWER: This lasts about 8 hours on my skin, but I do have to blot, and the product tends to ball up in places.
SHADES: This brand offers a great diversity of shades... But I wish they had organized them on the website into "warm", "cool", and "neutral". It was hard to figure out which ones were best for my undertones. I got 7 free samples (I like how they give free samples!) and the shade "Light" fits me perfectly. Same tone and depth of my skin.
DID THIS BREAK ME OUT?: Nope
PACKAGING: Just a jar with a sifter, like all MMU's.
WOULD I REPURCHASE?: No
FINAL VERDICT: You only get 5 grams of product per jar, which is waaay less than most mineral makeups provide, plus I need to use a lot to get the coverage I need. I liked it, but not blown away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DBusta on 12/6/2012 2:59:00 AM more reviews by DBusta

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this foundation. After doing much research, I figured I would try this MMU because it didn't contain bismuth. With the first application, I was very impressed with the coverage - full! It did a great job of covering my scarring and redness. However..within a few hours it was so incredibly cakey! GRRR! I decided to keep with it and give it another shot. The foundation cause huge, painful bumps on my cheek. Needless to say I will be returning the foundation. Hope you guys have better luck with it, because I HATE this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janemarieo on 12/3/2012 10:38:00 PM more reviews by janemarieo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've just recently gone paraben free with my makeup products as the most recent line of defense against my sudden onset adult acne (been battling for 2 yrs now with no prior acne history .. siiggghh) I discovered Everyday Minerals on MUA and decided to try them out since it was dirt cheap compared to what I had been paying for foundation. I'm new to using mineral makeup and I was skeptical that it would actually do anything, but I was given a pleasant surprise. I ordered the Matte foundation in Fairly Light which turns out to be a great match for my skin. The coverage isn't 100% but It is pretty good, and when paired with the concealer is just fine in covering my red skin and multiple deep red acne scars. Best thing about thing about this foundation is that is lasts a whole day. I haven't even been using any primer just moisturizer with 30 SPF. I really like this company and its really awesome that everything is so cheap. The packaging is not horrible but it is all thin plastic which probably helps keep the costs low. Another plus about EDM is that you get 7 free samples with every order so I can try out the different foundation bases (semi-matte, jojoba base) and find the best possible fit. Very satisfied and will purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rinne02 on 11/29/2012 12:51:00 PM more reviews by rinne02

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have had four people in the last week, two of them total strangers, ask me what foundation I use. They said my skin looked flawless and healthy. I oil cleanse at night and just rinse my face with water in the morning. When dry, I pat on whatever cream concealer I have at the moment under my eyes. Then I buff this fdn on with a kabuki. After an hour my natural oils meld with this powder and I love the perfect satin finish that stands up to 90% heat. I always come back to this fdn whenever I have strayed to another brand. True love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Treasa on 11/21/2012 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Treasa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So disappointed in this company. They discontinued the intensive formula and now I am forced to trawl through all their bases to see if I can maybe find a base that works for me. The matte base was horrible, I ended up with nothing more than that awful caked look. I had horrible break outs and clogged pores, not nice tohave ended up with skin eruptions which I have not had in years. I have very fine skin and the base that this company decided to get rid of always looked wonderful on me-i was always getting compliments. Since I have started to try this other bases I have been asked if I am alright!!!
Definitely not something I would buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 11/16/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wanted to celebrate "4 years with my favourite foundation" by reposting this review.... Still, years later, this is the BEST coverage for my really oily acne-prone skin.... The only thing that have changed is that my eye area has become drier during the years, so I can't use this on the outside of my eye area.... Still, it keeps oil at bay better than many more expensive high-end foundations ( of course with a powder)....

So still 5 lippies to this little cheap thing... :D

Update 2013-02-19:

As extremely acne prone I got a little scared of all the talk about Lauroyl lysine causing breakouts, so now I've used lily lolo (mica+Zink oxide) and the EDM jojoba base (mica + jojoba) for almost 2 weeks. I don't think I can see any difference in my acne?? So I don't know... If LL effects everyone...



One other really, really important point: No, there are not many similar brands in the world!! Titanium dioxide ENLARGES pores on me!!! Really awful!!! There are NOT many good brands without this ingredient!! In that way EMD is really unique, and leaves a much more beautiful finish than ordinary mmu brands! :)


Written 3 of July 2008: Love this!!!! Light, easy to apply and really covers scars and acne.... I wear this on all areas in the face, except on the nose because mineral loose foundations usually enlarge pores....and on my nose I really have large pores, so I hide them with a real foundation there....(liquid). But this one works on well, when it comes to all other imperfections...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Everyday Minerals products

More Powder products