Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 lolicious on 4/24/2013 11:49:00 PM more reviews by lolicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, where has this product been all my life?! I've always used name brand toners and astringents and never felt too impressed by any of them so I didn't see the point. Some were too harsh and burned and I don't even have sensitive skin! When I found out about using plain old witch hazel I thought I'd give it a try. I bought a bottle from Wal-Mart for $1.44 This doesn't smell too great BUT, do you really want a fragranced or perfumed toner? I feel like that would just irritate my skin, so I can easily overlook it. Second, this product is so cooling and refreshing and leaves my skin feeling so clean! I use it twice a day after I wash my face and before my moisturizer. I will use this forever and ever. If you haven't tried this, what are you waiting for? It's cheap and sold everywhere so give it a go! Side note: T.N. Dickinson's Witch Hazel is the name brand but it's about $3 more and the ingredients are the same so I wouldn't bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shampooaholic on 4/20/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Shampooaholic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use Olay witch hazel everytime I have a breakout (35 and still getting zits) it seems to make them better in a few short hours and completely gone in a day! It's super cheap, gentle, and doesn't dry my combination skin. I have used every acne, toner, medicine and nothing does as good as this!!!! Will never be without!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RosePeacock on 9/11/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by RosePeacock

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I'm new to using Witch Hazel as a toner but so far I'm loving it. I bought my bottle from Home Bargains in the UK (the 'Care' brand) for just over a quid. I use 2 'tip-ups' of the bottle on a cotton round after washing my face in the morning and before bed. It leaves my oily skin feeling clean and refreshed. I've noticed that it's calmed down the redness in my face, which is great. I've also seen a reduction in spots and other blemishes. I have rosewater toner, but it hasn't impressed me as much as the Witch Hazel. If the good results continue then I'll keep on buying it. I also love that it comes in a glass bottle, I find it oddly satisfying for some strange reason!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 9/7/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow....just wow. I previously hated using toners because I felt like they didn't 'do' anything and I never saw any results. Plus, all the ones I tried before really stung and irritated my skin, so I wrote them all off completely, until I started to use WH.

It removes any excess makeup or dirt/oil and leaves my face feeling fresh and clean. No irritation or dryness whatsoever.

I can also tell that the texture and appearance of my skin has dramatically improved. My skin is soft, smooth and supple.

I will never be without it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmariecrys on 7/24/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by mmariecrys

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Over the years I have attempted to use WH as a facial toner and it never worked for me-it would never absorb into my skin and would run off of my freshly scrubbed face like water. However just recently I ran out of my HG Pondís makeup remover towellettes, and in a panicked state I grabbed a bottle of WH from underneath my bathroom sink, soaked a cotton ball and attempted to remove the dayís makeup from my face. What in the world! WH worked on my dirty face! I was so pleasantly surprised at how quickly the makeup and grime was completely removed with only one cotton ball. I went on to test my eye makeup, and it totally removed my mascara as well, no stinging! After each use I see an immediate improvement in tone and glow, while retaining moisture. So now I absolutely love my new $1 all-in-one makeup remover. (Also, I originally had the bottle to cleanse and soothe my underarm area when I began to perspire more during the summer-it immediately cleans, dries, and refreshes my very sensitive skin there.)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HealthLover on 7/7/2012 3:48:00 PM more reviews by HealthLover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i love, love, love, love, love witch hazel!!! it's natural, cheap, great for toning large pores, (which means less oily skin!!!) helping breakouts heal, helping heal redness and helping with scars!!!. :D i use this after my warm shower in the morning by placing a cotton wool ball over the top of the bottle and tipping it upside down, i then wipe my face all over with the soaked cotton ball, it smells a bit but i don't mind because the smell goes after a bit. after using witch hazel for a week it has helped me with the redness in my breakouts and i am now spot free!!! I have also noticed my scars are smaller and healing faster aswell, which is a big problem for me because of squeezing my spots. like i said before I LOVE WITCH HAZEL!!! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RiskQn on 6/21/2012 12:19:00 PM more reviews by RiskQn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What can I say about this that hasn't already been said? Witch Hazel is amazing! I started using it 7 years ago when I was having bad breakouts, and a friend suggested I try using witch hazel as a toner. (I had never used a toner before.) She said it was cheap and natural, and that it was their secret to great skin....7 years later, I'm still using it! It IS dirt cheap AND natural! My skin loves it even if the formula has some alcohol in it. Surprisingly that doesn't bother my skin at all. The smell takes some time to get used to, but after 7 years, I've gotten used to it lol. I use it as a toner or I get xxlarge cleansing rounds and use witch hazel alone sometimes to cleanse my face at night when I'm lazy, Basically it is insanely versatile. I always get mine at walmart, usually the cheapest bottle is under $3. Try it if you're having a hard time with your skin or lackluster toner! I did, and I'm hooked! HG for me, haven't been without it in 7 years!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 silverslytherin on 6/17/2012 7:49:00 AM more reviews by silverslytherin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I am sure witch hazel has its medical properties, but the pungent smell gave me a headache. I applied it on my face and eye bags but find it difficulty to breathe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MbMinx on 4/25/2012 11:59:00 AM more reviews by MbMinx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for several months as a toner and I really like it a lot. It's inexpensive, easy to buy and my skin likes it. It helps clean off any leftover makeup or sunscreen off my face. It gives me an anti-oxidant boost. It even seems to help my few breakouts heal faster. I thought that the 14% alcohol would be drying, but it's not at all. Not moisturizing, but definitely not drying. My skin is in great shape, and witch hazel is part of my solution.

I've also used it on bug bites - it helps with the itching. I've twice had cat bites that got infected and swelled up, and each time I used a witch hazel poutlice to bring down the swelling and inflammation. Not only is it good for my skin, it's good for my medicine cabinet.

It does have a smell...But it's rather have that than any sort of perfume. This is basic skin care at it's best, IMO.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lindt on 4/11/2012 1:31:00 AM more reviews by Lindt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

EarthWise Witch Hazel - found in Canadian organic health stores

It can be quite hard to find, and pre-mixed brands such as Thayers just cannot compare. I get pimples now and then on my skin, not too severe but still annoying. Witch hazel is the only thing that works! Popular brands acne creams do not work, contain a ton of chemicals and can give side effects. With that said, witchhazel is all natural and it WORKS!

Pure witch hazel can be drying, so I combine it with rose water for added hydration (and wonderful smell) to use as a toner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products