Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(119 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 11/22/2013 4:59:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

A must have in everyone's beauty arsenal! If you can tolerate the smell that is, reminds me of straight vodka--which is highly unpleasant. Luckily, it dissipates quickly and doesn't linger very long. I use it as a toner when my skin becomes more oily (usually the week of my period) and it greatly diminishes the excess oil when used once-a-day. It's also my savior for body blemishes, just rub it on with a cotton round and it speeds up healing time and works on "angry" face pimples too! Definitely can be overdrying when used too often, everyone's skin is different and it's all about finding the right amount for you. Being that my skin is sensitive/acne-prone I'm very careful not to overdo it because it burns skin like crazy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kodancerbabeee on 10/15/2013 9:36:00 PM more reviews by kodancerbabeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've only used one other toner before, and I found that witch hazel is a much cheaper solution! I hadn't noticed a huge improvement in my skin from the toner, so I never really found a need to try again. However I had a spurratic breakout the week before homecoming and pulled every skin care trick I knew out of the bag. I remembered reading online that witch hazel could be used as a toner so I figured why not-- this was a great gamble! Within days, the three monstrous pimples had receded and my skin was back on track. I now use this daily and think it works wonders! Amazing quality, comparable- if not better, to brand name toners! I will definitely continue to use this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rcblinn on 10/7/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by rcblinn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love witch hazel for it's anti inflammatory properties. When I have an angry, red volcano on my face, this calms it down right away. Have to be careful though as too many frequent applications can cause my skin to become dry and slightly flaky in certain areas. I use only water to wash my face with (warm water at night and cold in the morning) and I swear cutting out all synthetic cleansers have made a world of difference. But when I get the occasional hormonal pimple, witch hazel has been a life saver.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coolfreshair on 10/6/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by coolfreshair

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Witch Hazel is amazing! Since using it on my skin it has become soft, smooth, my pores are visibly less prominent and it has done more for my skin than any of the other expensive branded toners out there - and for a fraction of the cost.

I decided to use witch hazel as a toner after using a more expensive toner. Although the toner had been fragranced I detected an undertone of witch hazel which it turned out to be it's main ingredient - a bit of a £35 rip-off considering it was just witch hazel. Why pay all that extra for an expensive dressed up brand when the best is sitting right under your nose?

I will forever use this. It's kind to the skin, gentle and works like magic - I'm positively glowing. The smell is a bit weird, but not overly unpleasant. This is not something which bothers me however, when the benefits are so good.

5/5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 5/21/2013 1:02:00 PM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't really use toner, but when I tried using witch hazel I thought it did a good job. It didn't cause any extra acne to my acne prone skin and it really helped clean up the product that wasn't removed by my face wash. This also has a nice refreshing feel.


I don't tend to use it much as a toner. I will sporadically, but not daily....mostly out of laziness. I will use it sometime to clean off makeup when I am too lazy to go to the sink at the moment. It isn't super great as a face cleanser, but it is better than nothing.


What I have been using it for lately is to clean up my eyebrows after I apply self-tanner. I just apply it to a q-tip and rub it along my eyebrows back and forth. I also use it to clean up my finger nails so I don't ruin my manicure from the sunless tanner. I will also carefully add a few drops of this to my palms to clean up any tanner than mistaken made it on them. Note that I do wear gloves so I don't know how well this will clean up hands that were used to apply tanner....I wouldn't risk it personally.


Over all I enjoy witch hazel. It has a weird scent, but I have grown to sort of like it. It is super cheap and I would say something to try out. If you don't like it you really aren't out much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lolicious on 4/24/2013 11:49:00 PM more reviews by lolicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, where has this product been all my life?! I've always used name brand toners and astringents and never felt too impressed by any of them so I didn't see the point. Some were too harsh and burned and I don't even have sensitive skin! When I found out about using plain old witch hazel I thought I'd give it a try. I bought a bottle from Wal-Mart for $1.44 This doesn't smell too great BUT, do you really want a fragranced or perfumed toner? I feel like that would just irritate my skin, so I can easily overlook it. Second, this product is so cooling and refreshing and leaves my skin feeling so clean! I use it twice a day after I wash my face and before my moisturizer. I will use this forever and ever. If you haven't tried this, what are you waiting for? It's cheap and sold everywhere so give it a go! Side note: T.N. Dickinson's Witch Hazel is the name brand but it's about $3 more and the ingredients are the same so I wouldn't bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shampooaholic on 4/20/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Shampooaholic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use Olay witch hazel everytime I have a breakout (35 and still getting zits) it seems to make them better in a few short hours and completely gone in a day! It's super cheap, gentle, and doesn't dry my combination skin. I have used every acne, toner, medicine and nothing does as good as this!!!! Will never be without!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RosePeacock on 9/11/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by RosePeacock

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I'm new to using Witch Hazel as a toner but so far I'm loving it. I bought my bottle from Home Bargains in the UK (the 'Care' brand) for just over a quid. I use 2 'tip-ups' of the bottle on a cotton round after washing my face in the morning and before bed. It leaves my oily skin feeling clean and refreshed. I've noticed that it's calmed down the redness in my face, which is great. I've also seen a reduction in spots and other blemishes. I have rosewater toner, but it hasn't impressed me as much as the Witch Hazel. If the good results continue then I'll keep on buying it. I also love that it comes in a glass bottle, I find it oddly satisfying for some strange reason!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 9/7/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow....just wow. I previously hated using toners because I felt like they didn't 'do' anything and I never saw any results. Plus, all the ones I tried before really stung and irritated my skin, so I wrote them all off completely, until I started to use WH.

It removes any excess makeup or dirt/oil and leaves my face feeling fresh and clean. No irritation or dryness whatsoever.

I can also tell that the texture and appearance of my skin has dramatically improved. My skin is soft, smooth and supple.

I will never be without it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmariecrys on 7/24/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by mmariecrys

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Over the years I have attempted to use WH as a facial toner and it never worked for me-it would never absorb into my skin and would run off of my freshly scrubbed face like water. However just recently I ran out of my HG Pondís makeup remover towellettes, and in a panicked state I grabbed a bottle of WH from underneath my bathroom sink, soaked a cotton ball and attempted to remove the dayís makeup from my face. What in the world! WH worked on my dirty face! I was so pleasantly surprised at how quickly the makeup and grime was completely removed with only one cotton ball. I went on to test my eye makeup, and it totally removed my mascara as well, no stinging! After each use I see an immediate improvement in tone and glow, while retaining moisture. So now I absolutely love my new $1 all-in-one makeup remover. (Also, I originally had the bottle to cleanse and soothe my underarm area when I began to perspire more during the summer-it immediately cleans, dries, and refreshes my very sensitive skin there.)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products