St. Ives • Apricot Face Wash -- Blemish and Blackhead Control ] [DISCONTINUED] • Cleansers

rated 4.0(146 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amanda23 on 12/19/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by amanda23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first gave this a try I thought it was too drying for me so I guess you could say that I didn't give it a fair chance. I gave it another go and it is still on the dry side but it does seem to be clearing up my skin. I think this would be perfect in the summertime when my skin is more oily. I just need to follow this up with a good moisturizer I guess. Update: I am very impressed. With continued use twice a day for nearly a week, paired with Neutrogena's healthy skin lotion w alpha hydroxy, this has significantly cleared up stubborn breakouts. It also makes my skin feel baby soft. I hope this continues to work. I will update if there are any changes. Update: This continues to work for me and have already stockpiled my closet. Can't believe how amazing this works and how inexpensive it is! Holy Grail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Savvy9 on 12/10/2011 11:11:00 PM more reviews by Savvy9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am thrilled to have found this product at Big Lots for $3. It works for me! I have so many half empty cleansers in the graveyard under my bathroom sink, high end and drugstore, but NOTHING that was $3. So here is the real deal. I started to break out horribly about a week before I am "due" as usual, but then I started using this and within 2 days of using it twice a day I was clearing up. Even the huge cystic ones were shrinking down and no longer red. I am still getting a few tiny whiteheads and I still have blackheads, but nothing I can't hide or treat with a mask/oil cleansing. I still have 3 days to go. This is pretty much unheard of at this time of the month. I will be stocking up ASAP. It is important to hydrate and exfoliate with this product after a few days it does feel like it's over drying and my face felt tight with a little flakiness, but I'm drinking more water and moisturizing and I love that I am not getting as oily throughout the day... my skin looks remarkably better with and without foundation already.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leynie on 7/21/2011 2:27:00 AM more reviews by leynie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not a miracle product, but keeps mild acne at bay without overdrying. I noticed that my bumps and whiteheads have not been as prevalent since using this at night about two months ago (also used with witchhazel toner). Best of all it's nice and cheap! I wish that the pump on the bottle didn't dispense so much product, but no matter. I am afraid that this is getting discontinued b/c I have not been able to find it ANYWHERE. However, I found a bunch of this stuff for $3 at my local Big Lots and stocked up - I suggest doing the same!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nevroth on 5/24/2011 3:16:00 PM more reviews by nevroth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

First off, this product is the face WASH not scrub! I think several reviewers got confused because this FACIAL WASH only has a handful of grains (that are basically for show, you only pump out like 5 at a time) and is NOTHING like the face scrub.

That said, I just used it and then decided to look it up on MUA- backwards I know. First impressions are that I love the scent, and my face, neck, and decollete felt very clean, though my face was a bit tight afterwards. Normal for an 'acne' product. Something wierd went on though when using my regular toner- my whole face stung like crazy! No redness and it went away in less than a minute.

I will update in a few weeks but I had to say something because one of the pictures for this product is the apricot scrub which this is NOT! I repeat, there are hardly any grains in this. This is not an exfoliator.

EDIT: 12/30/11. I'm still using this product, though not in love with it. My face still feels 'tight' but my toner still removes a good deal of gunk afterwards. I like to use this in the morning as it's gentler than the scrub (currently using St. Ives Green Tea), but once it's done I doubt I'd repurchase. I think it's the fact that it's a gel, but it feels slimely on my face. My skin didn't improve with this product, but thankfully it didn't worsen. Oh well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pringirl88 on 5/2/2011 11:43:00 PM more reviews by pringirl88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is extremely good for people with oily skin. Personally I had bumps on my cheekbones probably due to some crap blusher which I had discarded since. No other cleanser has managed to clear away these bumps so effectively! Also, the exfoliating power of this cleanser is so great that it reveals new skin pretty fast. I reckon using this cleanser 3-4 times max a week will do. Great stuff! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aishteru85 on 4/21/2011 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Aishteru85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a cleanser to basically leave at the downstairs bathroom, as sometimes I like using the bathroom downstairs and most of my skincare prods. are up at the other bathroom. So, i got it since the bottle claims to control acne, i dont have much hope for it, as i have never found a cleanser that got my acne problem under control. And since it was on sale and pretty cheap...i got it....a few days later i noticed, how my pimples have reduced in size and number...i was pleasantly surprised to discover it was the this face wash that helps to clear my face...i usually slather this on my face and leave it for a few minutes, and it does wonders!
pros:
-cheap
-really helps get my pimples under control
-refreshing
cons:
-awful smell
-leaves the skin a tad dry..

all in all , a great cheap product that really works...just make sure to adequately moisturize ur face afterwards..i'm glad i found this, the only cleanser that has ever helped me clear my face...btw: i'm taking off one lippie as it dries the skin slightly...but a good moisturizer helps with that..great buy!
UPDATE: I have been using this for a good 2 months now, and I'm loving this, not only does it control my acne but it has diminished most my post acne scars that are red and brown! its really great...a 2-in 1 product....i just cant believe how wonderful it works and cheap it is and how great my skin has looked ! love love love!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shlgh on 3/29/2011 1:14:00 PM more reviews by shlgh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only face wash I constantly go back to. I started using it 4 years ago and I have always felt like it does a good job with exfoliating and cleaning my skin. I have tried MANY different face washes, all price ranges and this is my definite favorite! I have dry skin, so I make sure to moisturize and not overuse.

A little off track :P lol:
-- I had dark acne scars on my face since high school and ever since I started using this scrub, the scars have faded dramatically. After hearing that exfoliating helps with hyper pigmentation, I figured I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did! I can barely see the scars :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mbah on 2/21/2011 2:23:00 PM more reviews by mbah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is available only in certain drugstore so when I come across it, I buy a few bottles.

This is the cleanser I bought after getting off Proactiv (complete garbage btw). I was hiding in my room because Proactive was giving me ridiculously huge cystic acne that caused alot of scarring both physically and emotionally. I started using this as a last resort after trying a few other cleansers and within a few days, my skin started clearing up. After I got over the Proactive breakout, I strayed (for some odd reason) and when my sephora makeup started giving me bad breakouts again, I started using this once more.

What I do is I slather castor oil all over my face (yes, castor oil) and rub with hot water, then I wash that off with this cleaner and follow-up with this neutrogena night cream (for deep wrinkles that oddly helps with acne) and then BAM, clear skin!

So ya..good cleanser. Washes all my makeup off. Yes, it dries up my skin but nothing that a good moisturizer can't help!

Good call on my part!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nabs07 on 1/29/2011 6:43:00 PM more reviews by nabs07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i use this product only as an exfoliator 2-3 times a week. Although it does not magically remove all blackheads, it does bring the dirt to the surface for easy removal. It smells great and the texture is grainy, which makes it a great exfloitation product. It did not break me out either. I dont recommend using this as an everyday cleaner though; the only acne fighting properties in this product is salycic acid, which can be found in other cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xdcindyxd on 1/20/2011 5:18:00 PM more reviews by xdcindyxd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Have repurchased this product three times so far... :) <3 it!!!
This can be used as a cleanser or exfoliator. However, if you have sensitive skin I would recommend to only use it 3-4 times a week.

The price is dirt cheap..Really cannot beat that. I feel that it does a good job cleansing, it does not remove eye makeup..so ladies.. DO: Remove eye makeup before cleansing. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St. Ives products

More Cleansers products