Unlisted Brand • cornstarch • Styling Products

rated 4.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Zariana on 3/23/2014 12:24:00 PM more reviews by Zariana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had noticed that corn starch (commonly referred to as corn flour in my part of the world) is an ingredient contained in many setting powders. I have oily skin for the most part, so powdering is an essential step in my make-up routine.

I decided to use some corn flour from the pantry as a setting powder after liquid foundation. I have used regular baby powder before, and was quite satisfied with the results.

It must be said that I am a woman of colour (NC37-40). I was initially apprehensive because I was expecting the corn flour to leave the dreaded white cast on my face. To my surprise, it didn't at all. I applied the corn flour sparingly using a large, fluffy powder brush. It imparted a sort of glow to my face, and somehow blurred my pores and minor imperfections.

What I really love about corn flour, however, is that even if I happen to apply too much, it doesn't leave my face looking cakey. With commercial setting powders (tinted and translucent), I could easily become over zealous with my application, and end up with an awfully dry-looking, cakey face - at the height of an African summer. As for its oil-absorbing properties, it gets an A+. I'm able to carry on with my daily tasks without worrying about my make-up melting off. I very rarely feel the need to touch up. Once my natural oils break through, I am left with a pretty, almost dewy finish instead of an oil spillage.

Just a caveat. This stuff can be terribly messy. It flies everywhere if you aren't careful. When I'm out, I prefer to carry a compact powder for obvious reasons. I'm still on the hunt for a reasonably priced translucent compact powder that absorbs oil on contact with the skin.

Most importantly, it doesn't break me out or clog my pores. I'm very prone to clogging, so this is a winner for me. It's super inexpensive from my local Indian grocery store. I purchase the 1kg packet for 20 ZAR (approximately $2). This is sure to last me a good while.

If you are concerned that corn flour will give you a white cast, I'm sure one could add a bit of tinted face powder to the corn flour to match one's skin tone. Store it an empty loose powder container and powder away!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iszeto on 3/23/2014 11:42:00 AM more reviews by iszeto

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I think of cornstarch, I think of my Mom making gravy at Thanksgiving. That being said, I was intrigued by the reviews here, and went to Safeway and bought a $2 container to try as a powder.

And I'm SO glad I did! This is great over moisturizer. I use a very small amount and buff it all over with a kubuki brush. It leaves my complexion matte and even-toned. If I take a selfie, my face looks smooth.

The greatest thing I love about using cornstarch as a matte dusting powder is this: I dust some on before my spin class and gym workouts. I don't feel "made-up" yet I feel presentable. AND..... there's no tell-tale makeup streaks on my sweat towels as I wipe off my face during workouts! ( I am always embarrassed if I have makeup marks on my white towels...)

My husband stole my small Japanese plastic makeup containers to hold his hair gel during travel, so I've been temporarily transporting the cornstarch in a clean contact lens case. ( I have a billion of these; I get them free when I buy contact solution.)

April 4, 2014 update:
I read the other reviews about using cornstarch as a dry shampoo. I was hesistant to try it, since I have dark hair, but the results couldn't be any worse than when I tried baby powder as a dry shampoo (result: obvious white powder in my hair, making it look like I was greying at the roots). So I tried cornstarch, and yes, it's effective! On my second day after a wash, after massaging in some cornstarch at the roots, it absorbed the oilies and made my hair feel less damp. There was no mica mess like using baby powder, which never really absorbed the oil. I did not detect any bonus volume, but that's OK; the benefits of cleaner-feeling and cleaner-looking hair were cool with me. Again, the big plus was that I could transport the cornstarch in the small contact lens case, and not have to truck around an aerosol can of dry shampoo in my purse. (I have so much crap in my purse... the less, the better.)

April 20, 2014 update:
I discovered yet another great use for cornstarch. Does anyone else get red, irritated marks on their skin from bras that have those grippy silicone/latex bands? I thought I might be allergic to that silicone/latex. Anyway, I thought I would try dusting the area first with cornstarch, and then wear the bra. Sure enough, I did not have any red marks on my skin. I guess the cornstarch provides some kind of cushion or reduces friction? Cornstarch is proving to be a superior multi-tasker for every day issues!

Overall, a cool "single ingredient" find!!!

June 3, 2014 update:
After applying cornstarch as a face powder, I've come to learn that YES, it does clog my pores. In the future, I would use a dusting only occassionally and not on a daily basis.

As a dry shampoo, it still works great though. It gives my 2nd and 3rd day old hair between washes good "grip" for messy buns and topknots.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bettybear135 on 3/21/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by bettybear135

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is honestly awesome stuff!! Instead of wearing foundation, I just put moisturizer on my skin and use this to set it. Even though it's suppose to be translucent, some how it evens out my skin tone, and makes my skin look natural yet matte. I'm in love with this stuff. I used the over rated rimmel stay matte powder( or whatever it's called) as well as some high end brands, but this is my favorite!!!!!!!!! Love it. I don't like it very much for dry shampoo but it's okay, because it works amazing as a setting powder!:)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diggitybomb on 2/17/2014 4:04:00 PM more reviews by diggitybomb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

love this!! its the cheapest setting powder ever. i was scared it would break me out, but it didnt!!! just be sure to clean your skin well when you get home though. i have extreamly oily skin, and this gives my face a perfect matte effect that doesnt look cakey or fake. if you have darker skin you can mix it with unsweetened cocoa, it works!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupinsider on 2/8/2014 11:49:00 PM more reviews by makeupinsider

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the best multi-use powders. It can work as a dry shampoo but it can ALSO work as a setting powder. Did you know Bare Minerals loose mineral foundation is just corn starch and pigment? Well I use this as my setting powder everyday and it works amazingly. I only have to retouch after 4-5 hours which is incredible for my oily/combo skin. Plus, it's really cheap for such a big amount. You just have to be careful to not put too much otherwise there could be a white cast.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dozastroze on 1/31/2014 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Dozastroze

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love using cornstarch in my hair as a styler. It beats the Hair Volume powders.
I flip over my hair, apply it to the roots and style as usual.
I recommend this over any well known expensive hair powder out there.
Love it, try it- You're Welcome LOL......

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harrisss on 12/31/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by harrisss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Brilliant!!!! I have grown my hair quite long and find that just one day after washing it, it appears limp and flat. I try to wash my hair only twice a week, so I began the hunt for a good but inexpensive dry shampoo. I quickly became disheartened because the cheaper drugstore brands all contain denatured alcohol which dries my hair to a crisp. I read the rave reviews here for cornstarch and thought I'd give it a try (I had some in the cupboard...what did I have to lose?). Because I have dark hair, I mixed it with cocoa powder. My husband thought I was nuts. I dabbed some on my fingers and rubbed the mixture along my scalp. I had instant volume and no signs of cornstarch in my hair. My husband complimented me on my hair this morning and I told him I owe it all to cornstarch.
And the bonus...when you add cocoa powder, it smells like chocolate. I'm now on the hunt for an icing sugar shaker for easier application.
**UPDATE
This stuff is still brilliant.
Because this grocery store item adds so much body and life to my hair, I now add it right after I wash my hair instead of waiting until it gets greasy. I put the cornstarch/cocao powder mixture in a shaker and do about four shakes around my scalp. Then I massage my scalp to blend it. I try not to add too much because, if I overdo it, my hair becomes stiff, chalky and tangled. Also, I avoid the ends of my hair because cornstarch will just make them feel more parched. But this mixture is a brilliant rootlifter, better than ANY hair product I've ever tried. Just think of the money I will save.

30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 12/13/2013 9:41:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I must have been living under a rock, or something. I have no idea why it took me so long to find that cornstarch is an amazing dry shampoo! I couldn't afford to buy expensive dry shampoos and, when I was in a bind, I found a tip to use cornstarch instead. I had no plain cornstarch in the house, so I used the powdered egg substitute, first ingredients in which is cornstarch. Because my hair is dark blond, I mixed the cornstarch with equal parts of cocoa powder and keep it in an old e.l.f. powder jar in the bathroom. I apply it with makeup brush, and the hair is instantly fresh-looking, giving me an extra day of wear. What I love is (apart from having my hair smell like yummy chocolate ^_^) that this powder is very fine, and there is no residue felt on the scalp (comparing to baking soda I tried, which is quite big and has not worked nearly as well for absorbing oils). It is also so cheap, and works every time! I will use this method for the rest of my life.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mirrkat on 11/12/2013 10:41:00 PM more reviews by mirrkat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I use the Clabber brand as a dry shampoo. I am not spending a lot of money on a dry shampoo from high end stores. Corn starch is just as good. I have light hair so I don't need to mix it with anything. If you have dark hair they say to mix it with cocoa. I just apply it and blend it, then use a brush to style. I tried another brand of corn starch but it irritated me so I stick with Clabber. I try to only use it once a week sometimes twice if necessary. You don't want to use it too much as it can dry your scalp. If you're scalp is dry, I recommend using raw coconut oil as a mask and let it stay in for a little while, and then shower as usual. The coconut oil will moisturize and treat your hair and scalp.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stacyk107 on 10/27/2013 11:49:00 PM more reviews by stacyk107

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I gave corn starch a try and I love it. I have combo skin, but some days it's simply just oily. I'm pretty fair-skinned, and I did add a touch of cocoa powder, just so it wasn't so white, and I'm very pleased with the results. I keep a small tupperware in my bathroom, and shake it up so that some of the powder gets on the lid. Then I take my fluffy brush and tap it on the lid to pick it up and dust on my face. I may have to touch up once or twice during the day, but its ok beause there isn't any buildup that I can see (compared to any previous compact I have used). YAY!!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Styling Products products