Bumble & Bumble • Thickening Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.6(246 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 30rockette on 10/14/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by 30rockette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this for probably a little more than six months. I don't use it super often, and it only takes a little bit to do the job, so I'm sure it'll last me a really long time. I generally use it when I'm going out for a night on the town. My hair is fine, blonde, and straight, and using this stuff before I blow dry definitely makes a difference in volume because it lifts my roots. If I decide to curl my hair, it also does a pretty good job of setting the curls without the gross crunchy hairspray feel, which is great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 completelynumby on 9/6/2013 4:30:00 AM more reviews by completelynumby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I actually like this product, because it does what I want!

A few sprays of this stuff gives my roots a lift, and adds a certain thickness to my hair.

Only downside is its price. But there's a generous amount of product (250 ml) and for me, it's lasted for a while.

Definitely will buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StrangeLight on 7/27/2013 7:47:00 PM more reviews by StrangeLight

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

i use this in conjunction with tonic (detangler) and curl conscious defining cream. together, the 3 products make my hair (thin, fine, curly) look the best it's ever looked.

i did run out of this stuff and tried a different volumizing spray, but that just left my hair sticky and knotty. this manages to give my hair more lift and volume but it doesn't get sticky or crunchy.

note: i ALWAYS use this after tonic and before the defining cream. and i ALWAYS use it on wet hair and then scrunch and let it air dry. the times i've applied this to dry hair, it's felt sticky and crunchy and not so great. i do think the order and timing of product application really matters.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaulrich on 5/20/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by ninaulrich

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this for 6 years. For me it's one of those staples I'll buy again and again. Adds volume, lift and generally makes my hair hold style for longer. It doesn't make my hair massive by itself, but I don't expect that from any product. I've got fine, long, soft hair that easily goes greasy, but never with this! B&b makes excellent products for my hair type, all quite light weight and it's hard to use too much. I've tried Texture and Styling Creme as well, but I think this works best for my hair and it gives good results every single time. Also, never drying or sticky. And I love the fresh smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snow7kids on 5/18/2013 4:26:00 AM more reviews by snow7kids

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I received a deluxe sample of this that lasted quite a while.
I have short fine hair but lots of it..that gets weighed down easily but requires something to give it some volume,grip,shape etc.
This was just okay..a bit drying, especially if I used it 2 days in a row.
I liked it enough to use it but wouldnt purchase the full size.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ymillie on 4/14/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by ymillie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At first I thought this was an amazing product. Whenever I use it, I would flip my hair in different sections then spray a generous amount on my roots. I actually felt some grip and hold after blow drying, and while that is a plus, after going through a travel size bottle and about to finish the full sized, I will not be buying this again.
I was shopping around Shoppers Drug Mart and the Fat Hair brand was on sale, the shampoo came with a free thickening spray. I went home and compared the ingredients and both Fat Hair and B&B contains vp/va copolymer in both (and most volumizing products do as well)
My problem is B&B has 2 kinds of alcohol listed as the main ingredient (along with water), while Fat Hair didn't have alcohol high up on the ingredient list and had that copolymer up there instead.
I took a sniff of the B&B spray and there's way too much alcohol. I can't really smell it when I actually spray it on, probably because it evaporates so fast...but I will pass on this product in the future.
I have no opened the Fat Hair spray yet to try since I'm not done the B&B, but will do a review later.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eleanorjames on 4/1/2013 5:40:00 AM more reviews by Eleanorjames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Makes my hair feel thicker and fuller. Also sets it nicely. Good packaging in the sense that you know how much is left. Only negatives are the price (a bit excessive) and I've noticed since using it that my hair becomes static sometimes- but that could just be down to the unseasonably cold weather we've been getting recently. Overall a good product that does what I want it to, will more than likely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ayalalaya on 1/11/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by ayalalaya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a root lifter when I found this spray. I have lots of hair but it is thin with the stubbornness of Asian hair. If you open the bottle and take a whiff, it'll smell like a little bit of hairspray and alcohol but I barely smelled much of that when spraying it on. After spraying on damp hair and blow drying, it gives a bit of volume. I noticed more volume in my hair, but nothing dramatic. It didn't hold all day for me so I'd have to pair it with some hairspray. It's an easy way to get volume for those too lazy to spend a long time on their hair, like me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dumbdegenerate on 1/5/2013 5:50:00 AM more reviews by dumbdegenerate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'd never used Bumble and Bumble until my store got a new counter. I'm now working my way through most of the range and haven't yet come across soemthing I don't really like!

Thickening spray was the first product I bought after the consultant used it to stye my hair. I got the trial size, an liked it so much I went back for the full size. Yes, its pricey and I probably run through it pretty fast, but for me the results are worth it.

I normally use it on wet hair. I have pretty thick, dry, curly hair that is very colour processed and a bit of a pest to keep in place. I spray this all over the roots where I want to add volume and hold, particularly the crown and lightly in the front on my longish, sideswept fringe. I think the trick is all in the blowdry - when used properly this helps add volume without looking like I've stepped from the 70s and also natural hold.

The other nifty thing is that I can let my hair dry naturally if I'm washing it on my day off, then use this on the roots the following day for a quick blast with the hairdryer for the same results.

Basically, for me, this product re-creates a proper salon blowdry at home which nothign else has done for me. I only need to wash my hair every 2-3 days. Using Thickening Spray basically helps it keep its shape and bounce that entire time. Win!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marshmallows84 on 12/14/2012 11:51:00 PM more reviews by marshmallows84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing for fine hair, it volumizes and works better than Frederick fekkai Glossing cream (for my hair that is).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products