Almay • Nearly Naked LIQUID foundation • Liquid

rated 3.6(117 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Strawberryblonde3 on 5/1/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Strawberryblonde3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm hoping the company attaches a pump to this, it's kind of thick so it takes me a minute to beat it out of the bottle. Overall I'm happy with this though, Almay tends to match my fair coloring better than most of the other drugstore brands. I haven't noticed any acne from it and I tend to have sensitive skin that reacts to everything. In my case I think it's making my skin look better, clearer, and overall more healthy when I take it off. I find this provides a little bit of a dewy finish which I like and it evens out my skin and covers up problem areas without looking cake or very makeup like. I've used the clear complexion from this brand as well but like this one a little better as it doesn't dry me out or emphasize dry patches. I would say if your skin was more oily to try the clear complexion but if you lean towards the dryer side the nearly naked is better. As another bonus this one has a little SPF in it which is nice since I need sunscreen every day to keep freckles, scar darkening, and burning at bay. This was a great buy for the $2 I spent on it at Rite Aid on sale! Tip- It applies better with a brush, even though I usually prefer my fingertips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 randers on 3/21/2012 3:22:00 AM more reviews by randers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I randomly picked this up on clearance at Walgreens for $3. Months later, I finally got around to using it, expecting it to be a last ditch option.

Boy, was I wrong! I was pleasantly surprised with this foundation. It's light coverage for foundation, just a step up from a tinted moisturizer. It's easily blended with a gorgeous satin finish. Decent staying power and doesn't break me out.

You'll still need to apply concealer to trouble spots for a flawless look, but all things considered this a great option if you want a tad more coverage than your TM provides.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Athenry on 3/16/2012 1:34:00 PM more reviews by Athenry

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation because it was the only one at the drugstore that was light enough for my skin. Ivory 120 is still a little too dark, the colour reminds me of MAC's NC15, but it's wearable for me.
However, the only asset of this foundation is the colour. The coverage is very sheer, it reminds me of a tinted moisturizer. The textrure is VERY dewy, which looks terrible on my oily skin. I need to powder my face at least once in 2 hours when I'm wearing this.
I can see this foundation working well for people with normal to dry skin who don't need a lot of coverage. However, if your skin is even a little oily, beware.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fancyfrancie on 3/1/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by fancyfrancie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an interesting foundation. It is very skin-like and natural, and incredibly easy to blend. I would recommend this to any teenager or makeup beginner who wants to start testing out foundation.
This will even out your skin tone and give you a slightly airbrushed look, yet the makeup itself is virtually undetectable. I swear, people WILL NOT KNOW that you have makeup on! So that's awesome. The drawback, naturally, is that you'll need a separate concealer for blemishes and dark under-eye circles, as this stuff is too light and sheer to be an all-in-one product.
It has a soft glow (you'll definitely want to set with powder), and excellent sun protection from titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. If you're interested in natural coverage, you should definitely try this out. It's as light as Almay's Smart Shade makeup, but with better shades (I find those run too beigey-orange).
It's hard to find soft, cool-toned ivories that aren't just straight-up ugly PINK. This has a really natural cool tone, and is a welcome respite from all the orange and beige "ivory" shades out there (I'm looking at you, Cover Girl!).
Bottom line: this is a unique product, give it a try!
EDIT:
I thought I liked this stuff, but then I realized I was never wearing it. The reason? It's just too dewy. It feels gross on your face, and no amount of power makes it feel "set." So on that basis, I don't really recommend it anymore. I think there are better options (Paula's Choice Best Face Forward Foundation, Missha BB cream).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ChanelLove07 on 2/2/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by ChanelLove07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

READ EDIT UPDATE: I've tried this out once before and for some reason I didn't quite like it. It looked oily and shiny on my face. But I decided to give it another go. But this time I mixed it with revlon photoready liquid foundation. I couldn't find the right shade for me the closest I could find was 140 buff but it's a tad too light so I mixed revlons 004 nude and omg it's the best duo together. It makes me look like I'm not wearing any foundation at all. It just looks like you have really nice and healthy skin. I also realized that I'm less shiny on my t-zone as well.

EDIT: I have been breaking out when I used this for over 3 weeks. And I realized it was this foundation. It clogged my pores :( it even clogged my sisters pores. Cause she wanted to try it out too. We haven't been using it ever since and our skin have cleared up. I will never use it again. I will stick to my HG foundation which is the revlon color stay and photoready been using that for 5 years and never had a problem

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NerdyLibrarianGirl on 1/13/2012 8:32:00 PM more reviews by NerdyLibrarianGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have dry skin and gave up powder foundation and am searching for a good, natural looking, liquid foundation. This one isnt bad. It definitely isnt drying; my skin feels very soft after wearing it. I have sensitive, combination skin and after a couple of weeks there is no irritation or breakouts, which is great (Definitely not recommended for oily skin though). The problem is it is a little difficult to apply. Apply sparingly! Use too much and it looks cakey, streaky, and obvious and can sit unnaturally on the skin. I have to use a foundation brush, as a sponge or fingers didnt work at all with this foundation. If you use a small amount and carefuly work in with a brush you can get a nice result. It is sheer coverage and not buildable. Also, the lightest shade is not really a colour match for my very fair skin and it tends to oxidize, going darker throughout the day. I would probably not repurchase, and instead will continue my search.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mllydg0 on 11/28/2011 5:37:00 PM more reviews by Mllydg0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have bought this twice now. I have acne-prone skin, being seventeen and all. This is nice because it doesn't look like I am wearing makeup, but it still covers up redness from acne and makes my skin look healthy and frankly really pretty. I used to use covergirl true match, but it was super orange even in the palest shades and this can actually match pale skin. It is also super lightweight and doesn't crack on my laugh lines, i smile a lot, i don't have laugh line wrinkles but when i smiled with covergirl, cracks would form in that area, which was unattractive. I really like this foundation. I could stand to have a little more coverage, and on my nose and chin it tends to wear off since those areas tend to be oily on my face. Overall I like it a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 THLuver33 on 11/11/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by THLuver33

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I do not like this foundation at all!

PROS:
-The color 120 Ivory does match my skin

CONS:
-Looks dewy (almost greasy on my extremly oily skin
-Does NOT cover at all! ://
-It also broke me out. :/

I would say that if you do not need a lot of coverage, have dry, normal or combo skin this make work for you. I will not be repurchasing this foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bringhunterthehorizon on 10/11/2011 4:33:00 PM more reviews by bringhunterthehorizon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I did quite enjoy this foundation, although it's not my holy grail or even one of my favorites. It did it's job, and left my skin healthy looking with a nice glow to it. I actually didn't purchase this myself, it was a gift from my mother. Typically, these aren't the types of foundations I gravitate towards because this isn't the type of coverage I like for my acne-prone skin. I need more coverage, but I did use all of the bottle because if you work at it it's quite buildable it just takes time, and I felt that it had good staying power if you set it and was lightweight. For someone who wants a natural, lighter coverage foundation this would probably be a holy grail, although for me I view it as more of a mediocre foundation because it's not what I like for my level of coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarcheri on 9/3/2011 6:49:00 PM more reviews by sugarcheri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've usually only used tinted moisturizer but I decided I wanted a little more coverage so I decided to give this a try. I love it! It gives a great natural finish to the skin, doesn't make me break out and doesn't settle into creases or fine lines. It's also a fantastic price, though I'd be willing to pay a bit more if they added a pump. I thought I'd need the lightest shade but it was a bit pink for me so I use it in Buff 140. This is definitely my HG foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Liquid products