Aubrey Organics • Rosa Mosqueta Nourishing Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.2(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghoo on 4/11/2009 1:54:00 AM more reviews by ghoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For me this is a very moisturizing shampoo- it kind of has a gel like consistency and reminds me of bee propolis. The lather is thick and velvety and makes my hair nourished and strong. However for moisturizing shampoos I have found Phyto to be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 csk on 3/4/2009 10:35:00 PM more reviews by csk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely not good for dry hair. It makes my hair completely matted when I wash it out, and I find I have to use a lot more conditioner just to be able to run my fingers through my hair and calm it down.

I hate to be so wasteful, but I can't even finish the bottle, as it's just killing my hair and making me use a lot more conditioner. I didn't give it a "1" because it says it's for color-treated hair and mine is currently not, but I can assure you it's not "nourishing" in the least!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Treasa on 11/30/2008 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Treasa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Smell is tooooo much. Irritated my scalp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wendy1954 on 10/11/2008 5:28:00 PM more reviews by Wendy1954

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Some of my comments will repeat what others have said about this shampoo-the smell is strong and lathering is minimal. I find if I apply it to completely drenched hair, it's easier to manipulate. I have to counter what others are experiencing. I have colored, fine, dry at the ends shoulder-length hair and I find it leaves my hair dry and flat. If I didn't apply a conditioner, my hair would look like straw. I've tried this for over a month because I wanted to give it a chance and because I always lean to natural products but I'm giving up on it. The only positive is that my color stands out more. For those mentioning the expensiveness of this product, please check out vitacost.com for great prices on this line and others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fireflyglow on 9/28/2008 2:03:00 PM more reviews by fireflyglow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

(For reference: I have colored [dark], fine, flat, wavy hair that's oily at the roots and dry and somewhat frizzy at the ends)


I originally was going to get the Honeysuckle Rose shampoo, but my local Vitamin Shoppe was sold out of it, so I picked this up instead. I'm definitely glad I did!


Although other reviewers had mentioned the gel-like consistency, I was still surprised how, well, very gel-like it was. I thought it was a bit off-putting at first, and it didn't lather much. I really had to work to make sure my hair was covered.


The smell wasn't bad (in fact, I rather liked it), but I can definitely see where others would find it as an, er, 'old-lady' rose smell. It seemed to fade pretty quickly, anyway.


It definitely was much more pricey than I'm used to, however, I'd rather pay a bit more for a wonderful, natural, shampoo than shell out more money for cheaper brands that I'm constantly changing.


I used this in conjunction with the Honeysuckle Rose conditioner, and I'm going to stick with this combo (especially since others have said that the Honeysuckle Rose shampoo is much more drying). This will definitely be a staple in my shower!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crihai on 6/10/2008 5:58:00 AM more reviews by crihai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic shampoo, lately I've been using only organic shampoos and I had a hard time getting used to the lack of lather and this feeling that the shampoo just dosen't cling to the hair...this rose shampoo almost made me feel that I am using a chemical shampoo in a good way...it lathers quite well, it has a thicker texture (almost like a jelly, sometimes I do loose bits in the shower), so really it is easier to use then most organic shampoos and it leaves my hair feeling nice, not tangled and striped. The scent is very clean and subtle, maybe the conditioner smells more like roses, but I bought the honeysuckle one because it was less expensive (and that one does smell very strong, but I don't mind). My hair is fine, colored and dry. The shampoo leaves it clean, shiny and nervous, not flat or limp. It also does a good job at moisturizing my hair, but for this I also rely on the conditioner. It is a bit pricey, but I see myself buying this again and again. I have to give it a bit more time, but I think I like this best compared to similar price organic haircare, like the new Weleda range or A'kin.
Update: hair is such a mystery lol! I used to like this very much when I was living in Liverpool, but now I moved to Rome which visibly has different water (I would say softer, because my hair in average looks better here with less efforts, but I might be wrong) and the shampoo just does not work the same. I get the feeling I have to use a huge amount to get my scalp clean. On a high note, now the A'kin Ylang shampoo works perfectly here, while in Liverpool it seemed a bit drying. Also I lost a good part of the Aubrey shampoo while transporting the bottle on a trip, so packing is not worth much(spills).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rbphoto on 5/31/2008 10:05:00 AM more reviews by rbphoto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this shampoo! First that it is listed on the cosmetic database as being low toxic, I thought I would give it a try. My hair has been not looking to good recently due to pregnancy. The shampoo is nice and thick, lathers well, and the smell is not overpowering. My hair looked wonderful and bouncy again! I am sticking with this brand.
Ingredients from packaging: DEIONIZED WATER, COCONUT OIL-CORN OIL SOAP, HYDROLYZED SOY PROTEIN (MADE FROM ORGANIC, NON-GMO SOYBEANS), ORGANIC CORN SYRUP, CARRAGEENAN, ORGANIC ALOE VERA, ORGANIC SHEA BUTTER, ORGANIC ROSA MOSQUETA? ROSE HIP SEED OIL, ST. JOHN'S WORT OIL, HORSETAIL EXTRACT, COLTSFOOT EXTRACT, AMINOBENZOIC ACID, ESSENTIAL OIL BLEND (LAVENDER OIL, BERGAMOT OIL, YLANG YLANG), AUBREY'S PRESERVATIVE (CITRUS SEED EXTRACT, VITAMINS A, C AND E).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pezbot on 4/22/2008 6:00:00 PM more reviews by pezbot

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I am really liking this Aubrey Shampoo. I have used the honeysuckle rose one in the past because I liked the scent; but I always felt that it was too drying on my hair. The Rosa Mosqueta shampoo is not drying at all. It is a thicker formula and lathers better. I love the smell and it cleans gently and leaves my hair shiny but not stripped.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Montana_Wildhack on 3/12/2008 10:16:00 AM more reviews by Montana_Wildhack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Again, I really like the scent of Aubrey's "Rosa Mosqueta" line and the results this product achieves. I have fine short hair (cut in a twenties' bob) and I dilute 10ml of this shampoo with 90ml water, wet my hair, distribute the mixture on the scalp and lather it. Then I rinse it out and continue my regular hair regime - voilà, perfectly shiny and healthy hair! A little goes a long way, the shampoo contains mild tensides and doesn't produce a lot of foam, but it still cleanses sufficiently without stripping the hair of its natural moisture. The only disadvantage is that it's a bit pricey here in Germany (around 17€) - minus one lipstick in the overall rating.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KittySkyfish on 4/13/2006 8:28:00 PM more reviews by KittySkyfish

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a wierd shampoo. No lather and it comes out of the bottle more like thick hair gel than a regular shampoo. I actually bought a scalp brush to help work it into my hair because I just couldn't feel it while I'm shampooing. It also smells sooo strongly like an old lady musty rose fragrance! It's formulated for color-treated hair but I can't tell that it protects my hair any better than other products because I was at the beach for a week, which will mess with any color job. On a positive end, it *definitely* cleanses yet never leaves my hair feeling parched and starving for a deep conditioner. Nor does it coat my hair or make it dull/flat when styled. Very wierd. When I use this I'm not needing my deep conditioners as often as when I use regular shampoo. My lower score is based on the funky scent and absolute lack of lather. But, although I just ran out and bought a different formula from Aubrey Organics, I have a feeling I'll be buying this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aubrey Organics products

More Shampoo products