MAC • 4 Sweetie Cakes Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 3.9(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Posh_Patricia on 12/13/2006 8:52:00 AM more reviews by Posh_Patricia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This quad is nice but definitely a bit hard to pull off. Almond Icing is just like Vex but slightly more pink. Gorgeousss. I can't stress how much I love this shade. Then there's Gateaux, which is another frosty light pink. Nothing too special but it's pretty. Too bad pinks look quite horrid on me. Sugar Blue is a velvet. It's a bit chalky but the shade it's a pretty blue, you just have to blend it in till you get the finish you want. Demi-Sweet is a satin, hot pink-purple that will look good on cool toned girls, but definitely not on me. I reckon this is not a quad I'll be using much but it's nice to have just for Almond Icing and Sugar Blue! Can't wait summer to come to wear those again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 glamour_vixen on 9/29/2006 11:01:00 PM more reviews by glamour_vixen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

The Sweetie Cake Quad is a premade quad that contains the following:

Almond Icing (FROST) - This color is a neutral tone that flashes pink. Most similar to Vex or Sea Myth. I really like this color as a highlighter, and it seems slightly different from the others; still, nothing too special.

Gateaux (FROST) - This color is a shimmery, light/medium pink. I'd say it's similar to a cotton candy type of pink.

Demi-Sweet (SATIN) - This is kind of a dirty purple w/bluish reflects. I really like this color a lot.

Sugar Blue (VELVET) - A very pretty, yet dirty aqua blue with pink sparkle.

Some have complained that the texture of Demi-Sweet and Sugar Blue are hard to work with, but I haven't had that problem with them. I think they applied fairly well. They are more muted, but still colorful shadows.

I like this quad, but it's nothing spectacular. I like it overall, but don't think I would repurchase again simply because I don't find it to be versatile enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aligirl on 9/21/2006 11:42:00 AM more reviews by Aligirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This palette is alot nicer then I thought it would be given the mixed reviews it's gotten both on the board and in Productsville.And while I don't know how often I'll actually use it,I definitely think everyone should atleast check it out ..Colors consist of Almond Icing(F) which is a pale grey that flashes pink..most like Vex but without the green,Gateaux(F)which is just your basic pale, run of the mill pink,Sugar Blue(V) is a matte,muted Aqua that has barely visible aqua& pink shimmers.the texture of Sugar Blue is somewhat chalky but if you use it just to line with,it's very pretty& easy to use..Wouldn't recommend trying to put this all over your lid if you're worried about looking crepey..And finally,Demi-Sweet(S)which is a deep purple with just the sligtest violet blue sheen to it..Sadly the violet blue sheen is not really noticeable when applied but still a pretty shadow..All the shadows are very well pigmented(chalky or not)Not sure it's worth it's $35 price tag being that I only like 3 of the shadows

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 toxicapathy on 8/29/2006 12:12:00 AM more reviews by toxicapathy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I just bought this via eBay, because I waited too long to get it at the counter. I got lucky and actually paid less for it than counter retail! Hence the low price rating.




I've worn these colors several times now, and while I must say they are very bright, they are very wearable for day and very pretty! I was trying to dupe the quad before I decided to buy it, and got very close I think, but I'm so glad I bought the real McCoy:




Almond Icing is very similar to Seedy Pearl, in that is is an unusual duo-chrome pink. However, while seedy pearl is very pink, Almond Icing has alot of grey-beige to the base with a candy pink flash. I used Milani Sheer Sand to dupe it. Gateaux is a lovely frosted pink with a bit of lavender to it, kind of a run-of-the-mill, easy to find shade. It's almost identical to Milani Taffy, just a bit lighter and more pink. Sugar Blue is probably the most unique shade of the quad, being a light, bright turqoise with pink shimmer in it. Prose and Fancy makes a great stand in if you don't mind the lack of pink, though honestly you wouldn't miss it unless on close inspection. My favorite shade of the lot is Demi-Sweet, a deeper dou-chrome plum shade with an elegant blue flash. I have two colors similar to it (Max Factor Plum Performance, and Lilac Smash from Avon's Lilac Dream quad) but neither comes close to the depth of color, pigmentation, or contrast from the flash. Truly a gorgeous color, and well worth getting the quad for if you like interesting colors.




The texture of all four shadows is excellent, and over my usual L'Oreal De-Crease base looked freshly applied nearly twelve hours later when I got home from work and washed my face. There's little to no fallout during application, and layering wasn't an issue. I have noticed a few of MAC's darker colors can be a little hard to layer onto other colors, especially over base, but I haven't found that yet with these.




I say I'd buy them again, because I would if the need arises, but given the size of my shadow collection and how often I change up my color rotation, I likely won't need to for quite some time. If these become the favorites I think they might, though, then I'd be inclined to purchase a back-up. We shall see. . .

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tartlette on 8/14/2006 5:06:00 PM more reviews by Tartlette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love Sweetie Cakes! It's probably my favourite quad. All of the colours look great together..they're very soft and girly. I always get compliments when I wear these shadows. Too bad it's LE..I wish I had a backup!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrstraviesa2 on 6/4/2006 9:42:00 AM more reviews by mrstraviesa2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Unfortunately this is a LE palette, I love the shades, and they work well together, The pastel pink is very nice with not as much shimmer as one might think, it looks very nice when paired with pleasure purrr shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeupISart on 5/19/2006 5:07:00 PM more reviews by MakeupISart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

The first time I saw this IRL I passed. After a while..I regretted it. So when I went to MAC again I bought it. Its true - the blue one feels chalky, but it is GORGEOUS on. The purple and light pink one are amazing together. The white-ish one is a beautiful hilight. They are all unique and gorgous IMO. Good thing I bought this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 5/4/2006 5:57:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Part of the Sweetie Cakes collection released April 2006. Of courese its limited edition and retails for $35. I thought this looked spectacular before i actually saw it in person. Its a little sheer on and the colors look like alot of others out there. Not a must have but nice for collectors like me.


Inside you get: Almond Icing (frost), a pinkish shade that flashes different shades that has a greyish green cast to it but basically light pinky beige.
Gateaux (frost) light shimmery pink. Standard shade. Sugar Blue (velvet) a soft blue aqua color. Not a vibrant aqua, but much more muted. Demi-Sweet (satin) shimmery light violet. If you use a stiff brush, you can get enough color for the crease.


Overall, the shades dont have as much pigment as they could. I used a stiff dense brush though and managed to pick up enough color. I also dont really like the Sugar Blue and Demi Sweet together. Too much color going on. Overall, this quad is just ok.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaraMarie on 5/1/2006 10:22:00 PM more reviews by TaraMarie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was a little unsure about this quad and this being my first one ever from Mac I was a bit worried. I am not a girl who likes to wear blue eyeshadow but this color was gorgeous on me. I am a NW15. It went well with the other colors on the quad as well. I was very impressed. They bleneded perfectly together and had terrific staying power. The colors really reflected the name "Sweetie Cake". The colors are all so pretty! I am so glad I gave this one a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimpyPoop on 5/1/2006 3:52:00 PM more reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was extremely excited about the release of this quad, but sadly it fell short of expectations. I agree with the other reviewer that have stated Sugar Blue looks so pretty and unique with this downplayed turquoise color and pretty pink sparkles – but in reality it applies really chalky and the sparkles don’t even show up. It does help to use a sponge-tipped applicator or a stiff synthetic brush as I did, but I was not a fan of this Velvet formula eyeshadow. Demi-Sweet is actually of pretty decent quality – a cute purple with blue iridescence and it applies really smoothly, but nothing about this color really stood out to me. Almond Icing is gorgeous! Reminds me of Vex but more pink, but it doesn’t quite make up for Sugar Blue sucking! Gateux looks like Pink Freeze to me, yawn. I guess I should’ve known better since I’m not a fan of pastels, but I thought I could make this quad work wonders! I guess it would be wonderful for a MAC novice, but I don’t really care too much for the looks achieved through this quad so I think it's going up for swap. Watch me regret it, heh, but this is one of the weakest quads from MAC in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products