Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Waterproof

2.8

367 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 7/12/2014 4:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I did not even discover GL until I was 30...I was a HE mascara wearer, that being said I'd only buy 2mascaras per yr...But a co- worker introduced me & the rest is history (this I buy every 6wks)...After only 2coats I get longer, black, curled & defined lashes. However, if you want more definition in the GL family I recommend "Lots of Lashes"...Since it's waterproof I don't need the curler. It doesn't flake, smudge nor smear. My go to daily mascara for the summer. I've many other mascaras (as that's my cosmetic vice), yet I ll always re purchase Great Lash & have one in my collection. You cannot really expect miracles w/ it. It's not going to give you Sophia Lauren or Twiggy Lashes (altho, were theirs false? lol)...Anyhow, what you will get is a little length & a little volume, but, you CAN build it up, I find if I go behind my lashes (coating ALL sides, I get a nice thick look)...What I do note about it is - that it packs a punch color-wise as even the Very Black makes my already black lashes stand out. Blackest black is usually what I get but I did not see that my Shoppers Drug Mart had Blackest Black in waterproof. I got mine on sale for $5.50, but there're times I've caught it for as low as $2.99 or 2 for the price of 1 at SDM in Canada. Lastly, it's also a great layering mascara esp in conjunction w/ my HG Voluminous CB. Only minor CON: Difficult to remove. I like to use Virgin Coconut Oil, but I find only J & J's Baby Oil clearly removes this, but whatever, no biggie, just different is all.
UPDATE: I recently just notice(d) that my 70 yr old Mom uses it & my 43 yr old sister, when on vacation together lol we ALL 3 had it in our make-up bags. Ha! Most of my friends do not like it tho, it's pretty either a love or hate formula, wand etc.



on 7/11/2014 1:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara (Very Black, Waterproof)

I'm seriously picky about mascara and can honestly say I've tried most out there, but this ones my most favorite ever!

I picked it because I'd read so many good reviews online, and I'd seen it around so much. Seemed like every one of my lady friends had one.

It's kinda small, comes in a pink tube with a black lid. The brush itself is compact and has spiraling bristles. When I first opened it, this didn't give me much faith, but I was proven wrong!

It goes on smoothly and covers even the tiniest lash right to the tip. Not clumpy at all, even after lots of layers. Lengthens, separates and evenly coats all my lashes.

Usually I wear a few mascaras at once, one for thickening, one for lengthening etc but now I only need the one

Really reasonable price, about 5 from Superdrug.

I think the only downside is that it takes a few coats to get a really thick plush look, but it goes on so nicely and looks really tidy and precise, I'm fine with layering. Plus it doesn't clump at all but still defines all of the lashes individually.

Would absolutely buy it again, really happy with it!


on 7/8/2014 2:31:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

What a drag to go to the Caribbean with THIS as your only waterproof mascara - 1 brief dip in the sea and it smudges all over the place! In fact, all I have to do is sweat and it's all over my eyes! I thought perhaps it was defective, so I bought another tube. Same deal! If you like the heavy smudgy look, this is your product! Perhaps Maybelline has a different definition of "water"!


on 5/20/2014 4:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have tried a lot of different high end mascaras through beauty subscriptions but none compare to this. It doesn't clump and stays put through long shifts and exercise, and doesn't irritate my somewhat sensitive skin as others have. I have the brownish black and I think it's perfect for a fair to medium complexion; it's great for enhancement while maintaining a "natural" look.


on 4/14/2014 6:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I read all the great reviews about this, and for the price, it's a decent mascara, but I find that it is just "okay". I like it but don't love it, it does pretty much what most average waterproof mascaras do, but it probably isn't my HG mascara. I find the main reason I'm not a lover of this is the brush, its kind of awkward and I find that most of the time when I apply this I end up getting mascara on my eyelids that I have to wipe off. I used to use Covergirl's lashblast before I realized I needed a waterproof mascara because it smudged all over my lids, and I never had that problem with that brush. The formula was decent though, it held a curl quite nicely, was very pigmented, and definitely was waterproof and stayed nicely on my oily lids. While I find that this was decent for it's price, when I'm finished with it I will probably try something else


on 3/9/2014 5:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I actually didn't have any expectations when I bought this, but when I applied it, I was shocked. It defined all of my lashes and coated them all the way to the tips with no clumps. It keeps my lashes curled just the way I made them with my eyelash curler. I'm surprised at how well it separated and lengthened. It was so easy to coat all of my lashes and mold them to the direction I wanted them to go without bending the tips to look like fly legs (something I really struggle with on my thin lashes!). It takes a few coats to see a significant difference, but the outcome is amazing. This beats out all of the newer mascaras by far. Love it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

AWESOME! I layer this mascara over my other favorite mascara that needs another layer of mascara on it. I layer this one on top of it and it lasts all day. Great color on my lashes and whenever I quickly need to put mascara on, I throw this on and it works great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This was my first mascara, and even though i use other brands, its still a favorite. My mom has been using it since she was a teen and thats how i heard of it. The best thing about it is how waterproof it is.. I mean, its fantastic. You can go swimming, play sports, sweat, shower..and it wont budge at all. Kinda sucky to remove, but if i can find something that lasts through my football practices without all the boys asking me "why that black stuff on my eyes is running" (lol) then it works for me! Besides, its a mascara classic, and you cant go wrong with the classics

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2013 10:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is very waterproof. I went swimming with this and washed my face multiple times. In the beginning it was quite runny, which made building volume tricky...but then over the course of a month it dried up a little bit and was perfect. A week later after that, the product was just clumpy. my eyelashes can be slightly clumpy but I DO NOT like how 5 stick together to become one.... I ALREADY HAVE SMALL ENOUGH LASHES!! Overall, it dried out my lashes quite a bit.. This is the first waterproof mascara I tried but not the last...


on 7/28/2013 8:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My preferred makeup look is just a basic, natural, fresh, face. This is Great Lash's place in this world. It adds color to define your eyes, and holds a curl. That's it. The simplicity is what I like about it. It's waterproof on me, and it doesn't flake.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
426 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2007 Reviews
Back to Top