Dove • Sensitive Skin Unscented Beauty Bar • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.2(63 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kookiekrumb on 12/5/2012 9:45:00 AM more reviews by kookiekrumb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know if it's luck or success, but I tried this out after using Purpose for years. I had horrible acne skin and used to use abrasive, medical soaps. When I switched to Purpose I noticed reduced inflammation, but never perfect skin.

Since using this bar soap, my skin has calmed down even more. As a plus, no more flaky dryness that I got with Purpose (and I used moisturizer, too!). I look less "ruddy" and I have seen breakouts go away and I swear my pores look smaller. Maybe the other soaps were too abrasive.

I was nervous to try after years of severe breakouts, but after reading some people's success with Dove, I'm glad I tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taylor123 on 11/17/2012 11:25:00 PM more reviews by taylor123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My perfect everyday body soap. I don't use this on my face. I see a lot of people saying they do that but my skin on my face is really finicky and I wouldn't wanna chance it but I LOVE it for my body. Dove commercials are always advertising how their soaps don't leave residue or leave skin feeling tight/dry. That is true on both counts. It doesn't leave an uncomfortable residue of any sort nor does it leave me skin feeling tight or dehydrated. It gives lots of moisture, I have noticed a big difference in the skin on my legs and arms. It's noticeably softer and more comfortable feeling. Even though it's unscented I do still smell something but it's not overwhelming or bothersome. It just smells like soap but I like it! Also the bar lasts a lot longer than some of the other bar soaps I have used. Usually they just melt down and theyre gone before you know it but this one lasted me quite a while. The lather you get out of it is also super nice. I even use it to shave my legs and I get razor burn easily but this gives me a nice creamy lather that has even replaced my shaving cream. I would definitely say this is also safe to use "down there". It's not irritating or harsh. Even though I love those philosophy scented shower gels I'm not brave enough to use them down there. This is a very gentle soap that makes me feel nice and clean. I would definitely recommend it if youre looking for a cheap but good quality soap! :) Dove never leaves me disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LaceyH on 10/22/2012 12:20:00 AM more reviews by LaceyH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i've been using this on my face for almost a week now, so i thought i'd write a review and update it after a little while longer.

price:for 2 bars i paid less than $3 at walmart, so the price is awesome
packaging: simple, just the bar if soap in a box, and the 2 boxes in plastic
smell: not that great, although it is very faint. this is fragrance-free, so the smell is just that of the ingredients as they are without added smell-goodness. if i werent washing my nose, i wouldnt smell anything at all, and as soon as i rinse my face the smell is gone.
lather: good, if you use enough soap. i dont use a whole bunch on my face, just a few swipes of the bar on my cheeks, forehead, nose and chin, and the lather with that little product is just enough, not too foamy.
texture: smooth. there is no graininess in this soap
how often i use this: twice a day, minimum. once in the am and the pm in the shower
how my skin feels immediately after washing: just clean, not tight, and not like there is residue left behind
how my skin feels a couple hours after washing: i admit that right after i use this i ALWAYS follow up with another product, so this doenst have any time to just BE on my face, and my face is never 100% bare
what i use this in conjunction with: in the am i use the dove, and then Paula's choice 2% BHA liquid (if i'm not going out and wearing ss that day). if i'm going out and need ss i skin the BHA and just use ss. in the pm i use this in the shower (face included), and then follow up with Alpha Hydroxy Skin Lightening Cream.

initial results: so far, so good! (*knocks on wood*) i'm not getting any more clogs or blackheads, and have stayed clear, aside from the pimple that had already started forming prior to using this. i have no dry patches, no more redness than i usually have (perhaps even a bit less), and have no complaints at all!
would i re-buy?: yes. even if i find that for some reason i dont like this as a face wash, i will still re-buy for body use. 2 thumbs up!

UPDATE (11/1/12, a little over 2 weeks of usage):
still going pretty well. 4-5 days ago there was a spot on my forehead right in the center that was thinking about being dry, but it went away and i didnt have to moisturize any more than i normally do. there are some rough-ish dry patches on the left side of my face right next to my mouth, but it looks to me like that's breakouts that had started before i started using Dove, and they're drying up and flaking off. I had 2 bigger breakouts that had just started forming on my right cheek just before i started using the Dove, and they never even came to a head, and have started flaking off. they'll be gone entirely in another day or 2, aside from the little pink marks the'll leave behind (ugh). i've got a rather large amount of clogs/blackheads on my chin and lower jaw area (i usually hardly ever get blackheads there), but i was careless and tried a new (and pretty darn thick) face mask, and i think thats what caused them. i'm not going to tr yanything else new for a while, to see if the clogs get worse, go away, etc. I'll update again after a month or so from now. No breakouts from this soap though! and if i were going to get them, I woudl have by now! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 10/6/2012 2:51:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This has been a staple in my shower for years. I have sensitive skin and I suffer from eczema and Keratosis pilaris (that dreaded chicken skin) so I can't use anything that's heavily fragranced.
This is perfect and it leaves a nice, clean scent afterwards. Love, love, love!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RosieJ on 9/23/2012 2:50:00 PM more reviews by RosieJ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Dove Sensitive Skin Beauty Bar. I have been using it for many years and haven't found anything that works better for removing makeup. It also leaves your face feeling clean. I prefer the unscented formula because I have allergies to a lot of perfumes. This product doesn't irritate my skin at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 twistevil on 9/2/2012 7:58:00 PM more reviews by twistevil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Could not tolerate the sent .It gave me breakouts on my face and shoulders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Siringo on 9/1/2012 3:36:00 AM more reviews by Siringo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

In my opinion, you cannot go wrong with this. It's non-drying, and effective. My Gynecologist recommended this to me, as it's one of the safest for delicate feminine areas.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carsandparties on 8/29/2012 8:52:00 PM more reviews by carsandparties

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this soap for years. It is the only soap I've found that has helped me clear the acne on my back/chest and leave my skin super soft and smooth. I tried it on my face but it didn't work too well for me, but I won't use anything else on the rest of my body (except for maybe Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream on my legs or anywhere else I'm dry.) Sometimes if I'm feeling daring I'll try a new soap out, but it inevitably breaks my back/chest out. This soap keeps that under control. I also use it to wash my hands before I wash my face, and it works great. Love this stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leizel on 7/27/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by leizel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive skin (eczema, dermatitis) and use this on a regular basis for my hands and body. Everything else on the shelf irritates and dries out my skin (ahem, Ivory, Irish Spring). Lever 2000 is tolerable depending on the formula. This is available in bulk, making it cheaper to buy. It costs a bit more than other soaps, though the extra dollar makes it worthwhile. There is no after-residue and no added fragrance. I use this in conjunction with Pine Tar Soap (Dove first, then Pine Tar) to cleanse the skin while keeping it moisturized and calm. This is a nice, simple product that does its job.That's all I need.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelylippie on 7/27/2012 8:19:00 AM more reviews by lovelylippie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am currently on my third bar and its only been a little over a month. I use this all over and don't really mind that it melts quickly when left wet. I just make sure to keep it dry when not in use as with all bar soaps. I love its creaminess and the way it cleans especially on my face. This did not cause any breakouts and thoroughly cleans. I find this is more gentle than regular face wash or body wash and my skin just loves it. Like the commercials, I can say I can really go out without foundation because of this! It just evened out the tone and texture of my skin, face and body! I love it! Great for basic, no fuss skincare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Gels/Soaps products