Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.9(482 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 elizabethyong on 6/9/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by elizabethyong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of my fave foundations - but why why why why is there no pump?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abb1992 on 6/5/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by abb1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Definitely my HG foundation for everyday of the year! I use it from the driest of winter days to the most humid summer day and love it all the same. Only con is it's a nightmare to get out of my brushes. Colorstay is definitely true to it's name!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeupgale623 on 5/18/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Makeupgale623

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this foundation. It gave me a good finished and stayed all day. My skin is shinny and I couldn't see shine for most of the day. When I first tried it i thought it was it was heavy but when I wore it felt fine. This foundation had good coverage and made my face look flawless. The only things I don't like about this foundation is the price ($12 pricey for drugstore) And the fact there is no pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mustangfanatic on 5/13/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by mustangfanatic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Since this is marketed for dry skin, i will review it for dry skin.

If you don't have your dry flakey skin under control i wouldn't bother with this foundation.

Since i finally have my dry flakey skin under control, i find this foundation not very hydrating, but not too drying.
I'm at Hour 7. Staying power is good, but i could use a spray from my Fix+ to hydrate the skin.

It's spring and weather is not too humid and not too dry. This foundation might work better for me deep into the summer.
I won't bother with this foundation for winter and fall. I leave those seasons for my Mac F&B

I find the finish to be just natural...not overly matte, definitely not dewy.
Foundation works very well with Beauty Blender.
Blending the foundation was pretty easy.
It didn't dry too quickly which I like. I need all the time i can get to get a smooth even face.

I'll update this review in the summer and see how I like it.
Right now, I think there are better foundations out there for dry skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jujup on 5/4/2014 5:00:00 PM more reviews by jujup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite foundation ever! It has incredible staying power, smudge-proof, sweat-proof, and wonderful coverage. It is also difficult to rub off on clothes as opposed to most others. I have mild to moderate acne with quite a bit of hyperpigmentation from the acne. This covers MUCH of the imperfections that I have while I use concealer for the really difficult blemishes. I don't usually have redness, but I notice that if I do, it neutralizes it greatly. I have never had a problem with oxidization with this foundation nor have I thought it to look "whitish". I often get compliments from people saying I have a wonderful complexion and such smooth skin (I do tell them it's the makeup so they can run and buy some).

Many people may have an issue with this foundation being too "thick" or looking like a mask. I do not know how these people are applying the foundation, but I can say the BEST way (at least in my opinion) is to apply it with a wet sponge, like the beauty blender, wedge, or any other sponge. This helps to thin it out some so that you can go with a lighter coverage, and if need be, build coverage. It also helps it to keep from drying too fast so you can blend it more. Every foundation I have ever used, I have always used a wet sponge and is one of the reasons why I think the beauty blender is so popular, because it is wet, helps to control the amount, and blends so well.

I have tried both the combination/oily skin and the dry skin versions of this, but I like the oily/combination skin better. I'm guessing it's probably because of my acne and it almost seems to stay or look better on me. Other people may have different reactions depending on their skin type. As always, you should start with a clean face, and moisturize well before applying. Many people do not use a setting powder, but I always do in order to set the foundation and to give a more even look. I saw a few people put something about a strange smell...I can't say I have ever smelled anything with this foundation, but that's just me. I think the TruBlend Foundation has an awful smell but others may not. I never thought about a pump for this, but after reading another review, it would probably be a nice addition. However, it's not difficult to just use an old pump if yoiu have one! This is definitely worth a try, but don't be discouraged after the first use or two. Just try different methods of applying and see what works best. Good Luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kathren3377 on 5/4/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by kathren3377

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation has good coverage and many shades to choose from. The finish is also nice but what I don't like about it is that at the end of the day, my foundation looks dry and a bit cakey looking :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asteine2 on 4/28/2014 1:20:00 AM more reviews by asteine2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love Love Love the coverage and staying power. I stopped using it for a couple of years trying mineral and others keep going back to RCS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goddessofthegalaxy on 4/27/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by goddessofthegalaxy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this product before and for some reason I stopped. I can't imagine why this foundation is amazing! I was recently on a BB cream/CC cream kick. It's all I would use on my face. I figured it was better for my sensitive skin. Turns out BB and CC creams aren't made for me. For awhile they worked but my skin is so oily I would be an oxidized, orange oil slick mess after a few hours. I decided to return to this during a visit to my local cvs. I'm so glad I decided to give this foundation another go because I haven't been more satisfied ! My face stays oil free and matte for my entire 16 hour day. It's so difficult for me to wake up at 4 am everyday, do my makeup and then have to touch up at my lunch hour 4 hours later and then again after Im through with work before I get to school. With this foundations I'm worry free all day! No touch ups, no shine, and no oxidation. My only concern is that this foundation is pump-less. It would be much easier to use with a pump but other than that I have no complaints. I bought the normal/combo skin formula because I read so many reviews on how drying it was. It's perfect for my skin because it keeps me oils free. I didn't bother buying the oily skin formula. I'm so happy with this foundation! Ill be sure to go a shade lighter next time because the color I chose was a tad too dark but I'm making it work. So far I haven't seen any new breakouts which is fantastic because I have sensitive skin. This foundation is sweat proof and pretty much water resistant so be sure to cleanse your skin thoroughly. I find that it's easiest to clean my face with a nice face scrub or my favorite, the clear sonic brush. I'm very satisfied with it and its worth every penny. It's going to save me so much time and grief from touching up frequently. I'm so happy =^,^=

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aliengirrl on 4/26/2014 11:12:00 PM more reviews by aliengirrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I waited awhile to purchase this because usually thicker foundations break me out, but I decided why not. I donít have any good things to say about this foundation.. First it smells like perfume, at first I couldnít figure out what it was, Iím sitting there smelling my brush and finally realized itís the foundation. I donít like the scent!! Secondly (I got this in 110 ivory) the color in the bottle looks like a decent match for my skin tone, well about 10 minutes after I put it on it has a weird white cast to it (not in photos, in real life! Looking in the mirror) Pretty much it made me look like someone from twilight.. really not attractive. Also, it has a severely unnatural finish, when I looked in the mirror it was like my face was a white marble statue.. kind of scary. I donít know Iím almost tempted to go buy the next darker color out of curiosity butÖ

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SophieOToole on 4/21/2014 1:28:00 PM more reviews by SophieOToole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I first heard about this foundation after watching a make up tutorial on YouTube. I absolutely loved the finish it gave. I purchased this with high expectations and it did not disappoint! It was relatively cheap and I loved the packaging. The only bad thing I can say about the packaging is that it doesn't have a pump which makes it easier to use too much and this product runs out very quickly! I love the finish of this foundation. I have combination to oily skin and I find this product really mattifys my skin and gives a really nice flawless base. It's true to what it promises and does last all day. I will definitely repurchase this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products