Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.9(486 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 limoncandy on 6/28/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by limoncandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent foundation. I have acne prone skin, and it does not cause me any breakouts. Long lasting, non drying, and excellent color range. I use #180 Sand Beige, and am between NC20-25 on MAC foundations. A bit pricey for a drugstore foundation, I have tried high end foundations ( Benefit, Marc Jacobs, MAC, IT Cosmetics, etc) and it is more than worth it. Will continue to buy, have not found anything better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurenjill05 on 6/25/2014 1:11:00 PM more reviews by laurenjill05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the newest Normal/Dry formula. I got it last week and really like it. It lasts on me ALL day, gives medium/full coverage. I got the shade fresh beige which is a good match for my light/medium olive skin tone. I didn't give a full 5 lippy rating due to limited shade range and lack of pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gee1ny on 6/19/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by gee1ny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is the best drugstore foundation out there! Good coverage, staying power and makes the skin look flawless. I like that I don't have to powder my face when using this since it seems to control oil very well. It also does great over dry skin, my face has been extremely dry lately because I wear benzoyl peroxide and it didnt accentuate them dry patches at all and rather covered them. So I would say it is great for all skin types which is awesome. Only downside is that it doesn't have any spf so make sure to use sun screen!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fcanupp on 6/19/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by fcanupp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this product out for the first time last month, May (rainy, dry, hot in the Northeast) since I had heard so many great reviews from vloggers and blogs. I have fair, dry to normal skin, which I take (or at least try :) ) care of by exfoliating, cleansing and moisterizing.

I will say that there were a nice, not a lot of, but a good amount of shades to choose from - and, I was actually able to find a shade that matched my skin tone! So major props to that, Revlon!! And, I will say the coverage was good (Medium) and applies very easily.

However, the things that made me not a huge fan of this foundation include the following: it stained my eyebrows and hairline. (side note: I'm really careful about where I place my makeup on my face and this STILL happened..how IDK), very drying (works okay for dry skin if the skin is maintained well), and it didn't last that long! So, if the name wasn't colorSTAY - I would probably be more okay with the results that I received (aside from the staining of my hair). Overall, I've had better success with other longlasting foundations and I'm a HUGE fan of the Revlon Nearly Naked foundation. So, maybe back to that one :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allykhatt on 6/18/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by allykhatt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is honestly my HG foundation! It stays on 24 hrs, great coverage! I get so much complements on how great my skin looks and it's because of this foundation! It's a buildable foundation! With my dry skin, it does help and it never looks cakey! I still moisturize and prime my face beforehand though. The only thing is I wished it had a pump! I lose a lot of product with the open bottle! Also, another downfall I feel like the color is a little dull on me but nothing bronzer and blush can't fix!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elizabethyong on 6/9/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by elizabethyong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of my fave foundations - but why why why why is there no pump?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abb1992 on 6/5/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by abb1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Definitely my HG foundation for everyday of the year! I use it from the driest of winter days to the most humid summer day and love it all the same. Only con is it's a nightmare to get out of my brushes. Colorstay is definitely true to it's name!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeupgale623 on 5/18/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Makeupgale623

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this foundation. It gave me a good finished and stayed all day. My skin is shinny and I couldn't see shine for most of the day. When I first tried it i thought it was it was heavy but when I wore it felt fine. This foundation had good coverage and made my face look flawless. The only things I don't like about this foundation is the price ($12 pricey for drugstore) And the fact there is no pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mustangfanatic on 5/13/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by mustangfanatic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Since this is marketed for dry skin, i will review it for dry skin.

If you don't have your dry flakey skin under control i wouldn't bother with this foundation.

Since i finally have my dry flakey skin under control, i find this foundation not very hydrating, but not too drying.
I'm at Hour 7. Staying power is good, but i could use a spray from my Fix+ to hydrate the skin.

It's spring and weather is not too humid and not too dry. This foundation might work better for me deep into the summer.
I won't bother with this foundation for winter and fall. I leave those seasons for my Mac F&B

I find the finish to be just natural...not overly matte, definitely not dewy.
Foundation works very well with Beauty Blender.
Blending the foundation was pretty easy.
It didn't dry too quickly which I like. I need all the time i can get to get a smooth even face.

I'll update this review in the summer and see how I like it.
Right now, I think there are better foundations out there for dry skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jujup on 5/4/2014 5:00:00 PM more reviews by jujup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite foundation ever! It has incredible staying power, smudge-proof, sweat-proof, and wonderful coverage. It is also difficult to rub off on clothes as opposed to most others. I have mild to moderate acne with quite a bit of hyperpigmentation from the acne. This covers MUCH of the imperfections that I have while I use concealer for the really difficult blemishes. I don't usually have redness, but I notice that if I do, it neutralizes it greatly. I have never had a problem with oxidization with this foundation nor have I thought it to look "whitish". I often get compliments from people saying I have a wonderful complexion and such smooth skin (I do tell them it's the makeup so they can run and buy some).

Many people may have an issue with this foundation being too "thick" or looking like a mask. I do not know how these people are applying the foundation, but I can say the BEST way (at least in my opinion) is to apply it with a wet sponge, like the beauty blender, wedge, or any other sponge. This helps to thin it out some so that you can go with a lighter coverage, and if need be, build coverage. It also helps it to keep from drying too fast so you can blend it more. Every foundation I have ever used, I have always used a wet sponge and is one of the reasons why I think the beauty blender is so popular, because it is wet, helps to control the amount, and blends so well.

I have tried both the combination/oily skin and the dry skin versions of this, but I like the oily/combination skin better. I'm guessing it's probably because of my acne and it almost seems to stay or look better on me. Other people may have different reactions depending on their skin type. As always, you should start with a clean face, and moisturize well before applying. Many people do not use a setting powder, but I always do in order to set the foundation and to give a more even look. I saw a few people put something about a strange smell...I can't say I have ever smelled anything with this foundation, but that's just me. I think the TruBlend Foundation has an awful smell but others may not. I never thought about a pump for this, but after reading another review, it would probably be a nice addition. However, it's not difficult to just use an old pump if yoiu have one! This is definitely worth a try, but don't be discouraged after the first use or two. Just try different methods of applying and see what works best. Good Luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products