Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.8(483 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 fcanupp on 6/19/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by fcanupp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this product out for the first time last month, May (rainy, dry, hot in the Northeast) since I had heard so many great reviews from vloggers and blogs. I have fair, dry to normal skin, which I take (or at least try :) ) care of by exfoliating, cleansing and moisterizing.

I will say that there were a nice, not a lot of, but a good amount of shades to choose from - and, I was actually able to find a shade that matched my skin tone! So major props to that, Revlon!! And, I will say the coverage was good (Medium) and applies very easily.

However, the things that made me not a huge fan of this foundation include the following: it stained my eyebrows and hairline. (side note: I'm really careful about where I place my makeup on my face and this STILL happened..how IDK), very drying (works okay for dry skin if the skin is maintained well), and it didn't last that long! So, if the name wasn't colorSTAY - I would probably be more okay with the results that I received (aside from the staining of my hair). Overall, I've had better success with other longlasting foundations and I'm a HUGE fan of the Revlon Nearly Naked foundation. So, maybe back to that one :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allykhatt on 6/18/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by allykhatt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is honestly my HG foundation! It stays on 24 hrs, great coverage! I get so much complements on how great my skin looks and it's because of this foundation! It's a buildable foundation! With my dry skin, it does help and it never looks cakey! I still moisturize and prime my face beforehand though. The only thing is I wished it had a pump! I lose a lot of product with the open bottle! Also, another downfall I feel like the color is a little dull on me but nothing bronzer and blush can't fix!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elizabethyong on 6/9/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by elizabethyong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of my fave foundations - but why why why why is there no pump?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abb1992 on 6/5/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by abb1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Definitely my HG foundation for everyday of the year! I use it from the driest of winter days to the most humid summer day and love it all the same. Only con is it's a nightmare to get out of my brushes. Colorstay is definitely true to it's name!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeupgale623 on 5/18/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Makeupgale623

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this foundation. It gave me a good finished and stayed all day. My skin is shinny and I couldn't see shine for most of the day. When I first tried it i thought it was it was heavy but when I wore it felt fine. This foundation had good coverage and made my face look flawless. The only things I don't like about this foundation is the price ($12 pricey for drugstore) And the fact there is no pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mustangfanatic on 5/13/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by mustangfanatic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Since this is marketed for dry skin, i will review it for dry skin.

If you don't have your dry flakey skin under control i wouldn't bother with this foundation.

Since i finally have my dry flakey skin under control, i find this foundation not very hydrating, but not too drying.
I'm at Hour 7. Staying power is good, but i could use a spray from my Fix+ to hydrate the skin.

It's spring and weather is not too humid and not too dry. This foundation might work better for me deep into the summer.
I won't bother with this foundation for winter and fall. I leave those seasons for my Mac F&B

I find the finish to be just natural...not overly matte, definitely not dewy.
Foundation works very well with Beauty Blender.
Blending the foundation was pretty easy.
It didn't dry too quickly which I like. I need all the time i can get to get a smooth even face.

I'll update this review in the summer and see how I like it.
Right now, I think there are better foundations out there for dry skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jujup on 5/4/2014 5:00:00 PM more reviews by jujup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite foundation ever! It has incredible staying power, smudge-proof, sweat-proof, and wonderful coverage. It is also difficult to rub off on clothes as opposed to most others. I have mild to moderate acne with quite a bit of hyperpigmentation from the acne. This covers MUCH of the imperfections that I have while I use concealer for the really difficult blemishes. I don't usually have redness, but I notice that if I do, it neutralizes it greatly. I have never had a problem with oxidization with this foundation nor have I thought it to look "whitish". I often get compliments from people saying I have a wonderful complexion and such smooth skin (I do tell them it's the makeup so they can run and buy some).

Many people may have an issue with this foundation being too "thick" or looking like a mask. I do not know how these people are applying the foundation, but I can say the BEST way (at least in my opinion) is to apply it with a wet sponge, like the beauty blender, wedge, or any other sponge. This helps to thin it out some so that you can go with a lighter coverage, and if need be, build coverage. It also helps it to keep from drying too fast so you can blend it more. Every foundation I have ever used, I have always used a wet sponge and is one of the reasons why I think the beauty blender is so popular, because it is wet, helps to control the amount, and blends so well.

I have tried both the combination/oily skin and the dry skin versions of this, but I like the oily/combination skin better. I'm guessing it's probably because of my acne and it almost seems to stay or look better on me. Other people may have different reactions depending on their skin type. As always, you should start with a clean face, and moisturize well before applying. Many people do not use a setting powder, but I always do in order to set the foundation and to give a more even look. I saw a few people put something about a strange smell...I can't say I have ever smelled anything with this foundation, but that's just me. I think the TruBlend Foundation has an awful smell but others may not. I never thought about a pump for this, but after reading another review, it would probably be a nice addition. However, it's not difficult to just use an old pump if yoiu have one! This is definitely worth a try, but don't be discouraged after the first use or two. Just try different methods of applying and see what works best. Good Luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kathren3377 on 5/4/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by kathren3377

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation has good coverage and many shades to choose from. The finish is also nice but what I don't like about it is that at the end of the day, my foundation looks dry and a bit cakey looking :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asteine2 on 4/28/2014 1:20:00 AM more reviews by asteine2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love Love Love the coverage and staying power. I stopped using it for a couple of years trying mineral and others keep going back to RCS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goddessofthegalaxy on 4/27/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by goddessofthegalaxy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this product before and for some reason I stopped. I can't imagine why this foundation is amazing! I was recently on a BB cream/CC cream kick. It's all I would use on my face. I figured it was better for my sensitive skin. Turns out BB and CC creams aren't made for me. For awhile they worked but my skin is so oily I would be an oxidized, orange oil slick mess after a few hours. I decided to return to this during a visit to my local cvs. I'm so glad I decided to give this foundation another go because I haven't been more satisfied ! My face stays oil free and matte for my entire 16 hour day. It's so difficult for me to wake up at 4 am everyday, do my makeup and then have to touch up at my lunch hour 4 hours later and then again after Im through with work before I get to school. With this foundations I'm worry free all day! No touch ups, no shine, and no oxidation. My only concern is that this foundation is pump-less. It would be much easier to use with a pump but other than that I have no complaints. I bought the normal/combo skin formula because I read so many reviews on how drying it was. It's perfect for my skin because it keeps me oils free. I didn't bother buying the oily skin formula. I'm so happy with this foundation! Ill be sure to go a shade lighter next time because the color I chose was a tad too dark but I'm making it work. So far I haven't seen any new breakouts which is fantastic because I have sensitive skin. This foundation is sweat proof and pretty much water resistant so be sure to cleanse your skin thoroughly. I find that it's easiest to clean my face with a nice face scrub or my favorite, the clear sonic brush. I'm very satisfied with it and its worth every penny. It's going to save me so much time and grief from touching up frequently. I'm so happy =^,^=

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products