Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(209 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 iitsemm on 8/16/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by iitsemm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product def SAVED MY LIFE. So my skin acne-prone and insanely oily. When I mean oily I mean like a complete grease ball. I use the 0.1% gel formula. I started out with having a TON of whiteheads all over my temples, incredible amount on my cheeks, above the lips, plenty on my jaws, and a few on my forehead. I did go through the "purging" period, and it was not good, but it also wasnt thaaat bad. I would say every 4 days or so I would have 5-6 new pimples raised on my face. They werent very big, they had a white puss, but after 3 days or so they would dry out and fall off. So in these speed it took about 2 and a half months for all of my whiteheads to go away. I did initially have the dry flakiness for the first week, but after the first week, Tazorac has actually acted as an oil control for my oily skin problem. My skin is still oily throughtout the day of course, but it did visibly reduce the amount of oil for me. I did notice that certain parts of my face like my nose and forehead were looking shiny in the beginning for no reasons, but this problem has gone away after 2 months in. I am still currently on this medication because I have acne scars, but this has been helping me fade them fairly quickly. Tazorac is def the solution for pimples esp whiteheads and acne scaring. ON THE WAY TO FLAWLESS SKIN!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 woolandwater on 8/11/2013 2:33:00 AM more reviews by woolandwater

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have had severe adult acne for the past few years (no blackheads though) and my skin has been looking pretty bad since i went off my estrogen based birth control and got a Mirena. I was originally on Retin-A Micro, but since I get my medication through the dermatologist I work for and she was out of Retin-A Micro samples, she switched me over to Tazorac, which I've been using for nearly a month. I do think it works, since I could see that sometimes pimples that were sprouting up would go down by morning, but I much prefer Retin-A Micro. Tazorac doesn't seem to work well unless I'm on an antibiotic, whereas Retin-A Micro works amazingly regardless. I'd have far fewer new pimples and if I did get new ones, they were nearly gone by morning. I'd use it again but like I said, I much prefer Retin-A Micro.

UPDATE:

I'm taking my last review back. This stuff is amazing. My skin is clear and it's even getting to heal my acne scars. Stick with Tazorac if you're on it. Just be sure to wear moisturizer with heavy sun protection. I use Mario Badescu's oil free spf 30 for acne prone skin. My skin looks so amazing and nearly perfect now. I've never been so confident!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 msjoannabanana on 8/5/2013 11:03:00 AM more reviews by msjoannabanana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I was originally prescribed the .1% cream and used nightly buffering with cerave moisturizer. My skin was flaking like crazy within a few days and I had the most horrendous initial breakout--I discontinued use after 3 weeks it was so bad. Now I am only using every other day and doing short contact with it--I mix it with a hydrating mask and leave on for 45 minutes. I have had no peeling or initial breakout and after 2 weeks I am seeing such an improvement in my skin! I would highly recommend short contact with this stuff and giving your skin days off from it.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AsianCha on 7/24/2013 7:49:00 PM more reviews by AsianCha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was prescribed Tazorac 0.01% (once a day), and was told to use it with Doxycycline (oral pills, once a day) and Aczone (twice a day) for my break outs. I've been using Tazorac for about 10 months now.

The reason why I wouldn't give this medicine 5 stars is because it makes users more sensitive to the sun; for example, if you were to get burned from the sun after 10 minutes, you would get burned from the sun in a shorter period of time than the duration you would have gone through normally. Tazorac stays in your body for about two weeks. Powerful stuff.

And speaking of powerful, it dries out my skin after one use. It's quite annoying; and in order to reduce some of the dryness it causes to my skin, I apply moisturizer before and after using it. It also makes the applied areas feel itchy for a couple of minutes.

Even though this medicine is somewhat annoying to use, I don't think it deserves a bad rating. If you are going to try Tazorac, you definitely need to give this medicine a chance to work. It took me about three to five months to finally see a difference in my acne. Not only did I use this on my acne, but I also used it on the inflammation spots that were caused by my acne (they look like red dots on where the pimples used to be).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asterixox on 7/16/2013 4:32:00 PM more reviews by asterixox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I developed moderate (on the more severe side of moderate) acne at age 22 after a reasonably clear adolescence. At the time of developing my cystic acne, I was using benzaclin, which ceased to make a difference. I started on differin and doxycycline, before going off both (as they didn't make a difference) and moving onto retin-a micro. This did not improve matters either. Finally, exasperated and emotionally drained after a year of being utterly preoccupied by my skin, I returned to my derm and was prescribed .1% tazorac cream. I had been on two retinoids for 7 months by this point, so I didn't get an initial breakout. I also did not experience serious redness or irritation, but I use a gentle cleanser (Eucerin Dermatoclean) and a really good moisturizer (A-Derma Creme de Soin) to keep my skin in balance. My deep cysts stopped immediately, which was amazing. Things improved, slowly but surely, from there. One year on, I do still get pimples (maybe 1-2 a week), but they are all, for the most part, superficial and don't cause any tenderness, don't swell, and don't form noticeable white heads -- in other words, they are normal and manageable and are fine without makeup. I've now been using the product for a full year and continue to see improvements in scarring, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, and a reduction in the amount of spots that I get. One thing that this product has caused, however, is lightly peeling skin that I exfoliate gently with my hands when my skin is super moist in the shower every 1-2 days. All in all, I am so happy with this product and the relief that it has brought to my life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iynamakeup on 7/9/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by iynamakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have tried Proactiv, Clean & Clear, Acne Free, Oil Cleansing Method, Acne.org Regimen, Alpha Hydroxy... I could go on. I used each of these methods for a minimum of three months each. NOTHING has worked like Tazorac. When I finally decided to see a dermatologist, she prescribed antibiotics (Amoxicillin 500mg twice a day for two weeks) and Tazorac (used every night). My nightly regimen was (1) dissolve makeup with 50:50 mix of castor & olive oil (2) wash oil off with pure castile soap (which I make myself from scratch) (3) apply thin layer of Tazorac. My cystic acne is GONE! I usually have 5-6 erupt around my period and stick around for weeks, but since being on Tazorac, that doesnt happen anymore. My acne marks are fading, my skin is smoother. I now use a mineral foundation powder instead of the thick cream foundations I used to. I would watch those Proactiv success stories on TV and sadly wonder if I'd ever have clear skin. Now I'm one of them! :) I pay $75 per tube becos I dont have insurance but one tube last 3-4 months which comes to $19-$25 a month = totally WORTH IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ellonello on 6/1/2013 10:17:00 PM more reviews by Ellonello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Tazorac is the first thing that actually works on my acne!! Like everyone else said, it's really really horrible at first....but my skin was already really bad so it didn't seem to be too much worse. I didn't really realize it started working until I stopped getting new white bumps everyday. Took about 3 months to really clear everything out. I have been slacking on applying it lately and bumps are starting to come back around my chin.

When I first started, I was on an antibiotic to help calm everything out. I applied moisturizer underneath the taz for the first couple of days so that my skin could adjust. After about a week I stopped applying the moisturizer first and just applied it the next morning after I washed my face.

I am also on another hormonal pill, so this may be helping with everything, but I definitely think taz has something to do with it. This is the first time my skin has been completely clear since 6th grade!!!!! Now just working on getting this acne scars off of my face.....

Definitely worth a try!!!

I have before and after pics if anyone is interested! message me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bmoran2 on 5/12/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by bmoran2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Worked really good for about six months, then suddenly it stopped working. Acne was back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizsta on 4/19/2013 3:02:00 PM more reviews by lizsta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is da bomb. It doesn't clear up my skin completely, but when I get lazy and stop using it I definitely notice a difference in the amount of my acne. I have under the skin acne (that aren't blackheads) around my chin area that most acne treatments don't clear and my dermatologist prescribed this. Also, for all of you struggling with the drying factor, she recommended I use Cera-Ve cleanser and lotion to keep my face moisturized. It does the job without making my face oily or more acne-prone, which is great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ebrosh on 4/4/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by ebrosh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I first used this product about 3 years ago in combination with oral antibiotics and another cream Acanya. Yes this cream is drying and will cause your skin to peel but it leaves behind glowing new skin. It helped clear my old acne scars and for the first time in ever I got compliments on my skin. I phased all products out after about 6 months and my skin still looked great. I still used this for spot treatments for the occasional pimple. My dermatologist recommended to wash my face after I got home from work around 6-7, let me skin breathe and then apply before I went to bed 10-11. Most people apply right after they wash when their skin is the most sensitive. This really helped with the "burning sensation". Also always wear sunblock and a hat. It makes you sensitive to the sun. I stopped using when my hubby and I planned to get pregnant. Now the that I am done breast feeding I am back on Tazorac and I can already see my skin getting better. For me after years of dealing with acne. I am glad I found something that worked so well. good skin makes you look forward to looking in the mirror.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products