Clarisonic • Pro Skincare Brush • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.3(913 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Wheatgrass on 1/31/2014 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Wheatgrass

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I will never be without this product. This is HG and more for me. This product makes my favorite products work more effectively. It's easy to use and almost soothing as well. I saw results literally after my first use, my face looked cleaner (not dry) and brighter. This product will not make your wrinkles go away or make all your acne vanish... Skin will show very noticeable improvement, but not be 100% transformed. It's still amazing and my HG product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ebyanne on 1/30/2014 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Ebyanne

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I know it's expensive. But if I could only buy one beauty product it would be the Clarisonic! It tightens my face, makes my skin glow, and increases the efficacy of any moisturizer. My favorite routine is to clean my face, neck, and chest with the Clarisonic, then pat a healthy portion of castor oil all over. My skin has never looked better! I even wrote an article about it at http://www.anniesnuggets.com/2010/11/beauty-is-only-skin-deep.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emvie on 1/4/2014 7:39:00 PM more reviews by emvie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE THIS! It's even better than I imagined. I got the Clarisonic Pro from a local Plastic Surgery doctor's office after receiving a facial. I never even looked into the Clarisonic before because of the price, and thought manual cleansing with my hands would be just as good. It's not until I talked to the esthetician about it, that it clicked in my mind. She said that it was the same premise as a Sonicare toothbrush (which I have) in that it's pulsating action is what deep cleans, and not in a harsh way. The brush in the middle does not spin. It's not even technically a exfoliator. This made perfect sense to me because my dentist has shown me pictures of the state that my gums were in before and after I was using a sonicare toothbrush at home (you just wouldn't think it would make that big of a difference!). I was sold. So I asked for one for Christmas and have been using it nightly ever since.

I have oily skin with large pores, a few active (although small) pimples at a time, and my skin is in no way sensitive. I use Retin-A every other night for just general skin maintenance (tretinion gel 0.025%). As I mentioned, my skin is not sensitive at all, so I was surprised after my first use that the brush felt too abrasive on my skin and I had the tight "clean" feeling after one minute. I knew what the Clarisonic was supposed to feel like because the esthetician had used it on my face before my facial and this seemed too harsh. After reading on makeupalley about different brush heads, I came to the conclusion that a lot of people switch from the "sensitive" brush head that comes with the kit to "delicate," even people that don't have sensitive skin. I also read great reviews on the "deep pore" brush so I decided to try that one as well. I have not used the "sensitive" brush since.

Most nights I use the delicate brush on the low setting for one minute by following the indicating beeps and the results have been amazing (and using Fresh's Soy Cleanser). My pores are smaller, my face is less oily, and my overall skin health is just... better. I will never be able to go back to hand cleansing. I have traveled with the brush as well and it is sooo easy! Every time I'm done with the brush I rinse it out, then turn it on while applying it to a dry towel which dries it pretty thoroughly, then I put on the little plastic cap and screw the head off (it's easier with the cap on) and place the handle back in the charger.

Do I think that it's necessary to get the Pro (or the Plus)? Well, I got the highest-end one because I have back acne and want to use the body brush (have not tried it yet). I also wanted the widest range of speeds that is offered. But after actually using it, I don't see myself going much above the lowest speed, if at all, for my face. If you don't want the body extension, I would say save your money and go for one of the other versions of the Clarisonic because I think those will work just as well if you're like me. Also, at stores like Sephora there's a bigger selection of trial cleansers included with the Clarisonic instead of just Clarisonic brand cleansers (I recently saw a Josie Maran set with a super cute pink travel bag!)

CAUTION:
Do not use the Clarisonic longer than recommended, especially at first! The second night using it, I kept turning it back on after the automatic shut-off to cleanse longer. The next morning I woke up with two HUGE pimples on my cheek and one on my chin. It was the horrible, big, painful, under-the-skin type. It took forever to resolve itself and I'm still dealing with the pigmentation from it even though the rest of my face looks marvelous :(. Don't make the same mistake I did, it some how miraculously cleans out your pores in just that one minute. This was the only negative side effect I've had, and I did it to myself.

NOTE ON OCM:
I have also done the oil-cleansing method using the Clarisonic and I like it. I use my own concoction of oils (castor, grape seed, jojoba, lavender), rub it on my face, then run the deep-pore brush over my face on the lowest setting for one minute. I only use the deep-pore brush with OCM because I don't want to contaminate my other brushes with the oil since it's hard to get out of the brush. After cleansing, I rub the head on a bar of soap and gently scrub it and rinse it out, the rest is the same as the delicate brush. I've only done this twice with the Clarisonic so far so I will have to update on whether I think it is an improvement to OCM on it's own.

Sorry this is so long... hope it helped!! :)

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keitoaren on 11/13/2013 5:38:00 PM more reviews by keitoaren

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

When it comes to beauty tools and products, the classic Clarisonic brush is absolutely incomparable.

Now, I don't have a dramatic before and after story to tell you-- my skin has always been relatively clear and worry free. I'm also not going to go into intricate detail about every aspect of this product, given that there are already so many reviews that can tell you everything I know and more.

All I can say is that I truly did not know how it felt to have a clean face until the first time I used my Clarisonic brush. I received it as a gift from my mother maybe 4 years ago, as she swears by her brush, and has seen very dramatic improvement in her skin from using it. At first I thought it was a waste of her money, given that I thought my skin was perfectly clean-- but I was wrong. If you think your skin is clean after washing your makeup off in the sink, you're wrong, too. Let the Clarisonic prove it to you, like it did to me. I never thought my skin could get any softer, either, but it does, every time I use this brush.

Like anything I own, as a very clumsy person, this product has to be durable. Let me tell you, it can take one hell of a beating. I have dropped this brush many times, anywhere from three to five feet in the air, and it has never once broken or even scratched or scuffed in any way.

Perhaps the best part of this brush for me, provided that my skin has always been clear, is that it essentially takes whatever face wash you choose to use and majorly enhances the effectiveness of said product. I like to use the new Obagi wash (the one that he makes, not the brand Obagi that he sold), along with a Shiseido brightening wash, and between time I spend away from home without my brush, and time at home with it, there is dramatic improvement with the brush. It's like, My Soap but Better!

I told myself I would leave a short review, but I guess I just couldn't help it-- I'm ranting and raving, aren't I? That's just how great this product is, I guess. I honestly do feel bad for the people who dislike this product-- you guys are really missing out! But I guess not every product works for every person. I should just feel lucky that this works for me!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StephKatz1 on 11/3/2013 1:02:00 AM more reviews by StephKatz1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I used it for the first month and i thought it improved my skin a little, but not THAT much. i stopped using it for a while and then i started to get these really small pimples on my face (i have oily/combination skin). i decided to try the clarisonic brush again, and within a week or so, all the small pimples disappeared! i wondered why i had even stopped using it in the first place.

i LOVE this brush! after using it for so long (the first month), the results weren't very noticeable.. but once i stopped using it and started to use it again, i could tell that it made my face feel so much cleaner! and i have less breakouts because of it!

I highly recommend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JadaIgwe on 11/2/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by JadaIgwe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I duno if I wanna buy again cus its expensive but I do love it!

I've been using the Clarisonic for about 3 months. I still have mixed feelings toward it. On the positive side- I have been very acne-prone for the past few years, and I think this has helped clear it up a bit. It does not perform miracles- especially if you are someone that already exfoliates well, but it does exfoliate and clean your skin very nicely. I use a very gentle foaming face wash with it. After I use it, I dry my skin, then wash it again with a benzoyl peroxide face wash- I was told when I bought it to use something that kills bacteria, because this cleans so deeply that it will spread bacteria- this may be the problem people are having with breakouts after using it.

The cons are that my pore size is definitely the same.

Overall, I think that it's a great product- my face feels much cleaner when I use it.

I don't think it lives up to marketing but overall its a good product that I came to realize that I NEED

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 YXXC on 10/30/2013 5:08:00 AM more reviews by YXXC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Loving the Clarisonic. It's incomparable to the Olay brush as they 'move' differently. If you hovered them over a tissue, the Clarisonic wouldn't move it, it's that gentle. I don't advocate using it every day (let alone twice a day) as it's too harsh. I use it in the evening every other day. Has left my skin soft, smooth, exfoliated and is starting to reduce blackheads. Wash it out once a week with a disinfectant soap (you can buy from any chemists, just ask behind the counter). No need to buy any exfoliating treatments any more.
For more honest reviews, 'like' Face Up To It on Facebook, Twitter @YoCalliss, yocalliss.wordpress.com. Thanks :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 10/24/2013 8:19:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Sorry to put a downer on this product but I'm afraid it didn't do me any good at all. I bought it for Christmas last year as my skin was breaking out a lot and I hoped it would be the magical product as described in the reviews.

I thought it would be okay as you get a trial period but after the time was up I didn't think I had used it enough to know whether it was good, so I kept it. I wish I had returned it now! After using it for several months I found that it irritated my skin even more. I always cleansed my makeup off before using it as I didn't want to push makeup into my pores and I followed the instructions carefully. It does get rid of every last bit of makeup and I would recommend it as an occasional deep cleanser, but found it too harsh for regular use. I also tried it with the other brushes in the range but it didn't make any difference. A very expensive mistake!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Asymetry on 10/20/2013 10:35:00 PM more reviews by Asymetry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got this as a birthday gift from my mom a few years back. Let me give you an overview of my skin condition before I go over this product. Before using the Clarisonic, my skin was really oily and I was prone to acne breakouts primarily on the cheeks, chin, and forehead. I was in my early 20's and I was still breaking out like a teenager. I was under all these prescribed topical ointments and oral medication like accutane, differin, and stevamycn. So you can imagine how bad my skin was. Anyway I came across this product while browsing at Sephora with my mother. The sales associate let us know about the products and even told us to go online to do some research before buying it, so just like a moth drawn to a flame, that's what I did. When I got my hands on the product and started using it rigorously I started to notice a big difference. My skin is still far from perfect but the clarisonic brush combined with my acne soap helped slather off all my dead skin cells, which in the end made my topical ointments more effective in getting rid of most of my acne...

My Clarisonic came with a bunch of cleansers but they did nothing for me, so i ended up giving them away. I just use my regular Cetaphil and GM Collins facial wash and all is well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amikuki on 10/3/2013 10:59:00 AM more reviews by amikuki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received my Clarisonic pro brush as gift two years ago after "hinting" at it for months to my boyfriend. Obviously, I was excited and had fully expected to never part with it...but I was surprisingly unimpressed. The brush come with the normal brush head, and I was instructed to use it twice a day. Now, my skin is pretty tough. I regularly try new products and change routine, and my skin never complains...until it was met with this brush. I started developing patches of redness on my cheeks even after reducing my usage to once a day, and I never made it past one week of use.

A year later, I discovered that Clarisonic had come out with their deep pore brush head. Deep pore cleansing sounded appealing to me, and since I already had the brush, the risk was minimal to me. WOW, I finally get why people rave about this brush.

Before, I was using a strong toner with alcohol (specifically the Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2) to remove the remnants of makeup after a nice wash, which left my skin uncomfortably tight and dry. Bad for the skin in the long run, I know, but effective nonetheless. However, this brush has eliminated the need for a strong toner and did so without leaving the skin too dry. My skin feels squeaky clean and looks radiant after each use. My pores are no longer noticeable, and I haven't had a single blackhead in the past year that I've used this. I think products tend to absorb into my skin better as well. All-in-all I hate to sound cliche but my skin has never looked better.

So, if your brush isn't working out the way you expected, here's my 2 cents:
1) try a different brush head
2) switch to a gentle, alcohol-free toner if you aren't using one already and minimize use of products with harsh chemicals such as salicylic acid
3) use a soothing liquid lotion that you press onto the skin (called an emulsion by some companies)
4) have a reliable, go-to moisturizer at hand; doesn't have to be the number one HG product but just one that you know works for you

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarisonic products

More Misc Beauty Tools products