Redken • Thickening Lotion 06 volumizing hair lotion • Styling Products

rated 3.8(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 autumnus88 on 2/3/2011 10:24:00 AM more reviews by autumnus88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So, this product does what it claims, like most Redken products, but I found it was a little hard to work with at first. I had to figure out the perfect amount to use; enough to have an effect without weighing my hair down. It also may feel a little sticky at first (after blowdrying), but that seems to go away (or maybe I just get used to it). I only use this on the crown of my hair though, since I feel like it might make my hair greasy if used in my bang area. Overall, I like this product though and would definitely repurchase. I do wish it came in pump form though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* krysownzu on 12/15/2009 11:46:00 PM more reviews by krysownzu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this, along with the Body Full spray (on my roots), and I have to say, these two products are exactly what my fine, long hair needs.

It looks thick & healthy, and gives me volume that lasts all day. Those 2 products are keepers for me!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3buzyboyz on 8/7/2009 5:14:00 PM more reviews by 3buzyboyz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Good everyday stylng lotion. I have fine, thinning hair and I can't really say that I thik this makes it thicker, but I do like how it leaves my hair feeling. I have repurchased it several times - it's a good one to have in rotation with some other products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Scottish72 on 8/25/2008 1:26:00 AM more reviews by Scottish72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Purchased this product at my local Ulta store. I have medium-long hair, wavy, FRIZZY and starting to thin out with age although I have LOTS of hair to spare! Joking. I'm still undecided on this Redken product. I like the scent of it as faint as it is. It's got a well balanced consistency to it, neither to thick nor to thin. A little goes a long way even on my med./long wavy, FRIZZY mane of hair that I have. So that's a "score" for Redken as my $$$ goes further (or maybe that's really a "score" for moi, wink). I apply this after I have towel dried my hair, squeezing as much water (excess) that I can without permanently leaving my face stretched back like "cat woman" lol, and then work about a quarter sized amount of lotion through my hair, working it through with my fingers, root's to ends. So far this doesn't seem to build up, dry out, or otherwise do unkind, unwelcome things to this mane of mine. The part that I am still on the "fence" about with this product is exactly my reason for purchase: Thickening Lotion...will it? Not sure just yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrittanyLynnMusic on 4/8/2008 2:59:00 PM more reviews by BrittanyLynnMusic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When I first purchased the product....it DID make my hair look and feel a little thicker...but as I continued to use it, I noticed that my hair started feeling rough. I couldnt even run my fingers through it. Im not a hair expert...so I dont know if maybe I should have used something else along with it...or what...but I was very surprised at the results of the product, and will most likely not purchase it again :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xox_GirlieGirl_xox on 3/5/2008 7:49:00 PM more reviews by xox_GirlieGirl_xox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I saw this in the clearence bin at target for $3, and so I thought, Why not? i'm SO GLAD i did!! This makes my midly thin hair MUCH thicker with a drop the size of a dime. Instantly, too. I could actally see it getting thicker as I moved it through my hair. It doesn't have much of a scent which is pretty conveient, for me at least. the only bad thing I have about it is that it dries my alittle, if I use too much, but not much. this is deff one of my BEST buys ever. I HIGHLY would recomend!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JClarke on 1/8/2008 8:52:00 AM more reviews by JClarke

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

The product I have calls itself Thickening lotion 06. I was hoping it would give my medium length fine hair some body but it doesn't do a lot unless you use tons of it. Not as good as the Redken Body Full Weightlifter.
I'm not sure how to use this product really - it doesn't come in a spray, which I prefer so that you can get into the roots for maximum volume. It comes in a squeezy bottle because it's basically a fairly thick lotion. So I tend to rub some on my hands and then run it through my hair, trying to get into the roots. But it doesn't really work. I use this first, then blow dry, then usually apply another styling lotion afterwards otherwise my hair seems quite lank. I won't repurchase when it's run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 martiyates on 11/16/2007 11:32:00 AM more reviews by martiyates

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this hair product because it boosts my hair's body and manageability. I can distribute it easily through my hair without ending up with sticky hands, and it doesn't have a super strong smell.

It's not the best choice for those who want a lot of hold, but it's just what I need to keep my straight hair from looking weighed down and adds a bit of shine as well. I paid about $11 for it at Trade Secret, not too bad, plus a little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Principesa on 11/11/2007 1:47:00 PM more reviews by Principesa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried this based on reviews here. It cost 13.99 at Target. I like the squirt bottle, product consistency and scent, however the results were not that great. I have medium length fine layered hair that is fragile. This lotion dried too sticky and fingercombing through the sticky parts pulls out too much hair. I blow dry upside down and use the cool shot setting for volume. I did get a little extra volume with this product but I also got some weird cowlick type areas on the top of my head which I have never had. I prefer Bed Head Small Talk which creates more volume with less drying and stickyness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swimmifish on 10/10/2007 11:01:00 PM more reviews by swimmifish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a former user of the old formula (years and years ago) but don't remember why I dropped it from my regimen. Anyway, as per your suggestions, I bought some earlier this week. I used this product today, a hot, humid, rainy day. Not only did my fine hair that usually looks stringy air dried straight and looked like I'd blown it dry, but it also felt thicker than it EVER has. Thank you, Redken! It gave me a decent amount of body, but more so worked to thicken. I can't wait to use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Styling Products products