Guerlain • orchidee imperiale • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 12/22/2010 9:23:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received several generous samples from a lovely SA at the Guerlain store in Las Vegas and have been using this and the eye cream for the last month.

To note, I am 30 with combo sensitive skin. I live in a cold, dry climate, so my skin is always very prone to dryness in the winter.

The Orchidee cream smells lovely - very floral and fresh. It absorbs very quickly into the skin; however, I feel for very dry skin, you would need a serum or something additional underneath (as the previous reviewer mentioned), because it doesn't fully moisturize on its own. I woke up some mornings with very dry, tight cheeks.

As for its anti-aging properties, I didn't notice any difference in my skin after a month. I do have some fine lines cropping up, as well as some sun pigmentation, and this did nothing to help that. In addition, this cream made my skin a little bumpy - looks like clogged pores?

Overall, I had very high hopes for this, esp given the pricepoint, but must say I have reverted to my La Mer and will not be purchasing the full size of Orchidee.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prosperoj on 9/10/2010 8:34:00 AM more reviews by prosperoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The secret to using this cream is to use it in conjunction with the Imperial Orchid Serum. I was given a few samples of this cream to last me a month. I tried the cream and saw no visible improvement in my skin. I returned to the store to share my observations and was told by the sales lady that for best results the O Imp. serum must be used with the cream. Price bomb!!! But the sucker I am, I immediately jumped on the bandwagon and splurged on both cream and serum combination. I have been using the serum and cream for a month and a half now and numerous people have commented on my skin. My pores are more refined, my skin tone is more even and the fine crows feet lines around my eyes have gone. My skin feels moisturized (never tight) the entire day until I reapply cream and serum again after cleansing in the evening. I am still digesting the price of this routine, even if I do see great results. The investment is not just in the cream but doubled up with the serum too!! One thing, I did notice. I do have very good skin for my age, except for dry areas around cheecks and prone to the odd break out. I did notice in the beginning, when I started using the serum and cream, I had a few breakouts. The sales lady again advised me to continue to use the product for a few more weeks to see if breakouts stopped. She said, it might be old white heads emergeing from my skin's depth from previous creams I had been using. She was right, after the initial phase my skin transformed and now looks great. My only concern is to see if this cream/serum combination is rich enough for me in winter since I live in snowy Switzerland where the winters are very harsh and dry. Will give an update on that one.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 betto182 on 9/27/2009 11:32:00 AM more reviews by betto182

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I tried some of this fantastic cream, however it was too rich for my skin, im in my early 20's, however I did love the serum and I use it everyday under my sublimage universelle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 benzippo on 8/8/2009 3:43:00 PM more reviews by benzippo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Somehow this delicious looking cream as well as the serum did not worked for me despite the hefty price tag.

After using half a jar of the cream and a bottle of the serum, I still did not see any dramatice improvements on my complexion.

Alas, would loved to loved it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 7/9/2009 2:24:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this cream is too rich for my combo skin in any season but winter. however, it is not intended for combo skin. for a winter cream it is great, although doubtfully worth the price tag. it is no miracle maker, but its nice

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ckhoury on 5/22/2009 8:42:00 AM more reviews by ckhoury

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First of all this cream is outrageously expensive, not as bad as some la prairie creams but still, unfortunately as mush as i tried to like it, it didnt work for me.

It left a slick oily film over my face, after using it for a month i started to break out like crazy, i love the smell but thats about it.
Bought my mum a tub of this cream and she absolutely loved it, she is in her late forties and her skin is more on a dry side now, she says its the best cream she ver used, so go figure, i guess its better suited for more mature skin

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trackypup on 5/10/2009 1:23:00 PM more reviews by trackypup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This cream is incredible...expensive, but incredible. I have received two samples that I've been using religiously and I can already see a remarkable difference in my face. I had good skin before (been using Chanel for about a year) but this has definitely improved it. I'll be saving my pennies for the full size.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaka8811 on 2/22/2009 6:40:00 AM more reviews by kaka8811

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have sensitive dry skin and this product works great on me. I had hesitations because its very expensive but its definitely worth it.
I have been using La Mer for 5 yrs and believe me Guerlain Orchidee Imperiale is so much better than La Mer. I dont break our from this product but its rich enough to moisturize my skin. Easily absorbed.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimz on 1/31/2009 5:09:00 PM more reviews by kimz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Thanks a million to a lovely generous friend of mine! If it were not for you I never would have tried this amazing luxurious moisterizer! I have combination/normal skin which is'nt too sensitive but my skin has never looked more radient with any other moisterizer La Mer included!!! Highly recommended !!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angel1988 on 8/23/2008 4:35:00 PM more reviews by Angel1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is the first creme ever that I actually bought myself. Prior to this I've always used samples or cremes of my mother.

To me, this is the perfect cream, it has everything I want: it works, it does more than just moisturizing, it gives your skin the perfect balance. It's a very beautiful jar it comes in. I certainly won't throw it away once it's finished. Its perfume is derived from the ingredients and it's not too heavy. I think you should defenetily check it out at the counter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Moisturizers products