Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(409 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 2/26/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

About me: acne prone, sensitive dry skin.
I LOVE THIS STUFF. However, if you are sensitive or acne prone, you need to know what your triggers are! I know of two oils that my skin loves and soaks up without breakouts which are sunflower oil and argan oil. This is sunflower oil based. Therefore, if you know this is a trigger, then you should stay away. You know that super clean feeling you get when you use regular soap for your face, but it comes along with that tight feeling? Well, this you get that clean feeling but without feeling tight. HG product for me!

Pros
-clean feeling without feeling tight
-it is very therapeutic for me while applying because I will massage it in for a min or so
-removes all makeup (including eye makeup) but i have not tried waterproof mascara
-doesn't break my sensitive acne prone skin out
-it isn't super hydrating but since using this, I noticed a decrease in my dry patches in the winter

Cons
-Price is high
-It is in a big tub that you are sticking your fingers in
-It is a little too rich to use in the morning for me

I don't see this working well for oily skin or those who know that sunflower oil is your trigger. This is excellent for dry skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 waterlilly26 on 2/26/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by waterlilly26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing! I was using Mac's cleanse of oil, which I love but.... It's messy, the oil runs all over the place when trying to pump some into your hands. So I thought I would try a cleansing balm, hands down best thing ever. All the Benifits of the cleanse off oil without the mess of the oil. It even turns milky when you add water(Mac cleanse off oil did the same) and rinses clean. No need for a cloth but I enjoy using a Muslin cloth when I feel like some pampering. Place hot cloth over face for a minute then wipe away. I'm a faithful user of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmab6756 on 2/24/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by emmab6756

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Gorgeous cleanser, I'm on my 3rd pot. I have oily congested but sensitive and dehydrated skin and this suits me to the ground. It takes all my makeup off without leaving me stripped and dry but equally no oily residue. I massage it in well and then remove gently with a warm face cloth. I tend to double cleanse but there is no makeup to be seen in my clean face cloth the second time around. Good price considering the amount if product. I decant into a smaller pot for travel due to the bulkiest if the jar but like how it feels in my hand in the bathroom.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hanako283 on 1/30/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by hanako283

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This has completely replaced Bioderma Sensibio/Crealine in my routine. It requires no rubbing and doesn't waste any cotton pads. It's a very gentle, unscented, no-fuss cleansing balm that's affordable (in North America) and widely available. It soothes my combination, dehydrated, congested skin, but a second cleanse is still required. I take this balm off with a wash cloth, and then use a gentle, hydrating cleanser as a second step. When I wash off the second cleanser with the cloth, there is no make-up traces, proving that the balm removed everything! My skin feels very comfortable and and clean after these two steps. I love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TurtleMoon on 1/28/2014 12:59:00 PM more reviews by TurtleMoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Along with The Body Shop's Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter, this is the only other facial cleansing balm I've tried. And as with TBS's version, this is a really effective product which is easy to use and leaves my face feeling thoroughly cleansed but not stripped. The bonus of this one over TBS's version though is that this one's unscented, which I have to say I much prefer.

To use this I take a piece about the size of a pound coin and warm it between my fingertips before rubbing it in all over my face, including my eyes, to remove all my makeup. This has never failed yet to remove any kind of makeup (although I can't vouch for its ability to remove waterproof mascara as I don't wear it). After rubbing it in thoroughly - at which point you can literally see your makeup 'melting' - I wet a muslin face cloth and give my face a thorough wipe over to make sure I've removed every last scrap. I then pat dry and follow with my regular moisturiser (I don't use toner as it plays havoc with my sensitive skin).

This is definitely a repurchase product for me, even though it comes in at the more expensive end of the range at 22.00GBP. Having said that, I got mine for Christmas, have used it pretty much every day and haven't even got through the first quarter of the tub yet, so I'm guessing this is going to last me a pretty long time (3+ months). Brilliant!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doggon on 1/27/2014 1:54:00 PM more reviews by doggon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I LOVE THIS STUFF!! Bought as a cheaper alternative to Emma Hardie balm, but I actually prefer this to the EH one now. Removes every scrap of makeup, no need for toner afterwards, with EH I always felt I needed to use something else as skin felt a bit slick even after washing it off. The only thing with this balm is the consistency, but once you get over the fact it looks and feels like you're rubbing a mixture of lard and Vaseline on your face, it's great. I think its good value too, just over £20, and considering I bought it about 7 months ago and there's still about a quarter left (with everyday use), I think it'll work out about £2 a month. Bargain.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxtine1 on 1/26/2014 4:52:00 AM more reviews by xxtine1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a huge sucker for anything Paula Begoun says which is why I bought this.

Pros:
- Don't have to use very much - is lasting for ages.
- Emulsifies with water easily - unlike some cleansing balms - I'm looking at you Lush's Ultrabland
- Looks great on the bathroom counter
- Doesn't dry out my skin - but also doesn't leave a greasy film

Cons:
- Price! NZ$64. I got mine when I had a $20 voucher plus 20% off which made it much more affordable.
- Has started to smell a bit gross, I'm hoping the oils haven't gone rancid. EDIT: Clinique New Zealand thank you! I sent them my container after it had started to turn smelly. They sent me a new pot immediately. I think this time I will use some sort of spatula to get it out instead of my fingers.

A very good product and if I had the money to spend I would definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KungFoPanda on 1/25/2014 6:09:00 AM more reviews by KungFoPanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I almost finished this product, it removes all my makeup even the stubborn eye makeup easily without rubbing hardly, i will definitely repurchase this product:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 breeze1234 on 1/24/2014 3:29:00 PM more reviews by breeze1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am LOVING this. I picked up a cleansing balm (didn't even know what this was!) after seeing it recommended by Caroline Hirons. I actually wanted a different brand, but it's not available in the US so got this one instead. My skin has gotten dryer as I've gotten older, but my nose and chin are still blackhead prone. When I first rubbed this all over my dry skin, it felt so oily. I thought "no way". However, I added a little water and it turned into a milky cleanser. It rinsed off SO easily and my skin was really soft. Couldn't believe it. Not sure how it works, but it's great. I wear waterproof liner and mascara and while I'll bet if you wear less than me, this would take it off (I rub this all over my eyes and there is NO burning at all) I still use regular eye makeup remover before cleaning my face to make sure I get it all. Would definitely recommend and I'm not even a big Clinique fan. Maybe I should revisit their other products...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BoobooClark on 1/19/2014 9:29:00 AM more reviews by BoobooClark

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have officailly fallen head over heals with this product!!!! I have extremley sensitive skin that breakout so easily to just about everything. It disolves all traces of makeup without striping skin of natural oils. My skin is oily it the t-zone yet very dehydrated all over and thiproduct has not caused my skin to breakout at all. I love the fact that it is fragrance free so it doesnt irritate skin (i really dont see why they need to put fragrance in skincare)

How i use it:
i start by rubbing in the palms of my hands till it turns into an oily texture then massage it all over my face. After that i take some warm water rub it on my face, this turns the cleanser into a white and more milky consistancy. I then take a hot flannel (not too hot though, you dont want to burn your skin!!!) and place it over my face for a few seconds to allow the steam to help break down the cleanser and then i wipe it off. My face feels clean but still hydrated after using this cleanser which i really love !!!!

Pros:
Disolves all makeup and oil
Doesnt strip skin
Easy to use
Lasts 6-9 months depending on if you use it both night and in the morning.

Cons:
Pricey ($55 in australia but i think its cheaper in america)

Packaging:
Fairly bulky but very sturdy (i have dropped it so many times, the lid will dent slightly if dropped but nothing major)

Overall:
This is a great cleanser for all skin types. Although pricey its worth every penny in my opinion. I would DEFFINETLY repurchase. It has helped clear up my acne and redness so much!! Highly reccomend it :) xo

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products