Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm

4.3

483 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, Peg-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol


on 5/4/2015 10:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Product - Great cleansing balm. I rub dry fingers into the surface, then rub the balm onto my dry face. The balm warms up to an oil which smooths out easily over skin and unwanted makeup. Great at removing waterproof mascara. Non-irritating to skin or eyes. Even soothing for dry skin. Rinses away clean afterwards with just splashes of warm water - probably even faster if you use a washcloth - though you may need to repeat or at least rinse extra well for stubborn lipstick.


Packaging - Big wide flat tub, which is an ideal shape. Seems unnecessarily large to me, since you don't need much per use. It will take a very long time for me to use up a whole tub :) - so for sure it's a really good value for the money. I love that this is a solid, so I can put some in a smaller pot for travel and not worry about leakage.


Overall - Effective. Portable. A new staple/HG.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/21/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just purchased my fourth (at least, I've lost count) tub of this. Unheard of for me to repurchase something so many times. Makeup removal is so simple since I discovered balm/oil cleansing and I haven't looked back. This is one of the best of the bunch, worth every dollar. I've got combination (oily but can be dehydrated) skin with hormonal acne and can be sensitive, and this stuff has improved my skin out of sight simply due to its deep cleansing properties. The texture is a little odd if you haven't used a balm before, it's like solid coconut oil. Scoop a bit out with your finger, rub between your hand and it turns into a greasy buttery texture, massage over your face and your makeup basically falls off. It doesn't sting eyes and will get the toughest mascaras off (benefit they're real!) too. It will emulsify into a milk with water and is best removed with a face washer/cloth.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2015 7:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this Clinique makeup remover/cleanser. It's very hard to explain the texture... but you just scoop a pea sized amount out massage into your skin and rinse off. I take most my makeup off with micellar water but this gets the last bits off. Feels oily when you massage it in but when you rinse with water, the oily texture just completely dissolves. It leaves my skin soo clean and soft, it's super gentle and fragrance free. I find it so satisfying to use, really brilliant product. A little pricey if you're more of a drugstore-cleanser kind of person but this is a big pot so lasts forever and my skin has never been better! So 100% worth it. Can't reccommend this enough. I love the pot format - and what else could you put this product in anyway? It doesn't melt until you have it in your hands so you couldn't put it in a tube! Anyway if you don't like the pot format, there's an oil and a milk which I haven't tried but there you go.


on 4/6/2015 2:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. It's a large jar full of solid white oily balm. You scoop out a little and it will almost instantly liquify. Gently rub it all over your face for a lovely, unscented, soothing, non-irritating cleanse. It doesn't pull on skin, even the delicate eye area, and I find it removes *all* my makeup (including waterproof mascara, assorted liquid liners, and Revlon ColorStay products) in a jiffy, and FAR more thoroughly and easily than my past methods, as my disgusting, post-cleanse, once-white washcloths will attest. I've finally come to the realization that I do like/need a double cleanse, and my previous cleansers just weren't cutting it for removing makeup. I follow up with CeraVe cleanser. You can get away with using just this product though, especially if your skin is on the drier side. I haven't had any negative effects -- no breakouts or irritation. Just happy skin, well-prepped for my litany of nighttime serums etc etc.

The balm can get a little dirty, since I have a habit of double dipping and whatever makeup is on my hand from the previous dip will "taint" it. This doesn't affect the product though and only mildly bothers me aesthetically...you might prefer using a small makeup spatula. I see myself running through this pretty quickly too, as I *like* to apply a nice thick layer even though I probably don't need to.

This is more than I'm used to spending for cleansing, but it makes a huge difference for me and I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2015 7:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried this after reading Caroline Hirons' blog about cleansing. I find it removes makeup really well and I don't feel the need to double cleanse (I still do sometimes though). It leaves me feeling smooth and I feel like I've seen a reduction in blackheads since I've been using it.

It is pretty simple in it's presentation, like many reviewers have said, it just resembles a pot of lard! I'm not too fussy so I just scrape it out with a clean finger, but it would be good for Clinique to provide a little spatula inside the top of the lid or something (especially for the price, $AUD 55).

It is on the pricey side, but I can see it lasting for at least a year, especially when using a different cleanser for the second cleanse.

Highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2015 5:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

With Caroline Hirons' positive review and my love for deep cleansing in mind, I had to try this (thanks M.W.). This balm is a no fuss hard working cleanser that takes away all make-up and dirt. You could situate it between the all natural REN balm and the Eve Lom mineral oil bomb. I love my REN cleansers but this is a great alternative especially if you are allergy prone or dislike strong fragrance. Apply on dry skin, emulsify, take off with hot cloth: clean, soft skin is yours! Suitable for every day use - am and pm.


on 3/15/2015 7:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Clinique Take The Day Off has been my first foray into cleansing balm. So while I can't compare it with other balms, I prefer it to the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish stuff, which I've also used with a hot cloth, and which although smooth, creamy and comfortable to apply, tingles slightly.

This product feels like you're dipping your fingers into a bowl of greasy lard, and as it emulsifies on your face upon application, it feels like you're rubbing melted lard onto your face. But it effectively removes make up, and I can even rub it into my eyelashes to remove heavy eye makeup without stinging my eyes. I have very dry and sensitive skin, which can also break out; unlike some cleansing creams, my skin doesn't feel tight or sore, but feels smooth and soft, so I don't have to rush for my serum or moisturiser as soon as I've dried my face. Recommended for dry skins. A point off because I will always feel like an idiot for spending 22.00 on a tub of lard.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2015 1:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fantastic cleanser. Removes all my makeup, including eye makeup without any irritation. Good value for money too. I use AM and PM on to dry skin and remove with a warm flannel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love, love this for taking my make up off. It is my first cleanse. i have acne prone, very oily skin and this leaves my skin feeling great. i have even noticed not as many blackhead on my nose or chin. i rub all over on dry skin and use a wash cloth to take it off. i'm not too bothered by the tub, my cold cream was the same way and i've learned to use it without getting my makeup hands on it. i would def. like a different method, but i doubt that will happen with a balm.


on 3/3/2015 12:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best of the best cleansing product in the market.

I bought in Los Angeles Airport during my holiday in California. Half price of what I paid in Singapore, USD 28.

I just dig a little bit in the tub, and rub on my face, massage a little bit, rinse with water, then follow by usual facial cleanser. I have cleanest face ever. I will review more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top