Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(436 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Horxus on 9/2/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by Horxus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this balm so much! It takes off all of my makeup (mascara included), doesn't burn in my eyes or break me out. It's not scented so that also might be plus for some people but doesn't feel very luxurious. Sometimes I use it with a flannel, sometimes I just wash it off with warm water ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 9/1/2014 6:28:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A serious HG cleanser contender.

A jar of this lasts 2-3 months of everyday use with a cleansing cloth, it is a real pleasure to use. Keeps my skin clear, blemish free and radiant and not too dehydrated.

I scoop a half a tea spoon amount of product, warm it up in my hands and massage all over my face and neck taking off sunscreen, makeup and the city dirt in the process. I have experimented and smeared it all over my eyelids while wearing contacts (crazy, I know - normally I remove my lenses first, then take off my eye makeup with a bi-phased eye makeup remover separately before I proceed with the rest of my face) and it took off all my waterproof eye makeup (NARS eyeshadow primer, cream eyeshadow, liner etc.) without making my vision blurry or any stinging. I am using a tubing mascara so with a warm, moist face cloth it is a one step cleanser and makeup remover. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 8/29/2014 9:50:00 PM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is ok it doesn't remove all my makeup though especially my mascara. For the price it should be taking it all off. That being said my skin feels good after using it and I don't break out.
I'm going to try the body shop one next and if that one doesn't work out ill stick to garnier nutrise cleaning oil. Which works very well and much cheaper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 runty on 8/16/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by runty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This balm removes every last trace of my makeup, including liquid liner and mascara. I use a very small amount, warm it in my hands and then apply to dry skin. I love massaging it over my face and watching as my makeup melts together and turns grey! I wash it off with warm water and a Mario Badescu cleanser, and it's like I never had anything on my skin. It's pricey in Australia ($55) but I would never want to be without it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taygete05 on 7/25/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by taygete05

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A little goes a long way with this balm. It can feel a little greasy on my fingers, but feels soft on my face. I like to steam my face with a hot washcloth a little bit along with this balm, and it's never irritated or clogged my fairly sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 7/24/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I first used Clinique skincare years ago because it was highly touted in magazines and it was reasonably priced. Of course I'm referring to the 3 step skincare and you bet it irritated my skin beyond belief. I swore off any Clinique cleansers until now.

I switched to a physical sunscreen and I realized that I needed something extra to remove this along with my makeup.
I'm very wary of the oil cleansing method as my skin is sensitive to anything heavy or oily. I've tried jojoba oil and argan oil and the result was the same - breakout city.

So I decided to try the Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm and I'm very pleasantly surprised. My skin has no problem with this texture and I haven't experienced any breakouts since I started using this. (what a relief)
I don't use it to remove eye makeup as I can't use anything oil based for my eyes. (prone to styes)

I take a small bit of the balm and massage it all over my face before rinsing with water. There is no lather but rather a white sort of film that results when I use water.
I follow up with my regular LRP Toleriane cleanser to remove any traces of the balm and this seems to be the key for me to avoid breakouts.

My skin feels clean but not stripped afterwards and my complexion overall looks much better now that I'm thoroughly removing all makeup.

For reference, I'm normal to combo (slightly dry in the winter and slightly oily in the summer). Plus I love that this balm is fragrance free which I like as my skin can't tolerate anything with fragrance.

If you're sensitive to natural oils but need something to pre-cleanse makeup, give this a try.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pealion on 7/10/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by Pealion

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This cleansing balm is my absolute favourite balm. Ever. EVAH!

Itís so gentle, fragrance free, and effective - it leaves my skin feeling clean, but not stripped. I tend to use this as my first cleanse to remove makeup and SPF and then go in with a different product for the second cleanse (I have so many!) depending on how my skin feels on any given day, but it also works just as well if used for both first and second cleansing steps.

Iíve tried other balms and so many of them have irritating plant oils in that really sting my eyes (Iím looking at you REN!) but this one doesnít and removes eye makeup with little fuss (although I remove eye makeup with micellar water these days anyway). Also it emulsifies well and as a result is easy to remove completely (again something I havenít found with all balms Iíve tried).

The jar packaging doesnít bother me too much, and I donít think the firm texture of this balm would work well in a squeeze tube anyway. However, I do make sure I wash my hands before I dip them in the pot, Iím quite religious about that! I think the jar is lovely too Ė I love the colour of the pot and the shiny lid Ė Iím not generally fussy about packaging being pretty, but I do enjoy this jar.

It has absolutely no discernable scent, which personally I love (I can do without cloying fragrances on my face, thanks!) Ė and has a lovely smooth, silky, yet kind of grippy, texture, great for facial massage and it feels so lovely it really encourages you to really work your fingers over your face.

I find that you donít need much of this at all to do the whole face, it spreads nicely, so a tub lasts me months and months of daily use.

Really canít find anything to dislike about this balm, and Iíve repurchased several times now and will continue to do so.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chooky12 on 7/8/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by chooky12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm really enjoying this cleansing balm. I don't usually wear heavy makeup, and I find this removes everything, rinses easily and leaves my skin feeling clean, but not striped. I would probably like it even better if it had a fragrance (but then I'm not usually sensitive to fragrance).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dundada on 7/2/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So far I'm really liking this cleansing balm and I'm never tempted to buy Clinique's skincare ever because it all sounds so harsh most of the time and I barely look at their makeup.

My skin is oily, sensitive and acne prone and this balm is smooth, soon becomes a rich yet light oil on my fingertips and feels fine when I apply it to my face when I'm wearing makeup and when I massage the balm all over. I use a washcloth/flannel with hot water to wipe this off and I don't feel any film-y residue left behind and I feel clean. This doesn't seem to make my acne flare up or trigger any allergies at all.

I use this as the first step in a double cleanse when I'm wearing makeup along with, at the moment, Sunday Riley Ceramic Slip cleanser which foams a little bit but in the mornings sometimes I still like to use this cleansing balm after I use the Ceramic Slip cleanser as that cleanser is slightly drying and tightening because the Mirena coil I'm using has dried up some of the moisture and oil on my face sadly. It make me feel much more comfortable after that also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eustace on 6/12/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Eustace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really enjoy using this product. I don't use it to remove eye makeup, as I think it would be too greasy and interfere with my lenses but it's great on my skin. It melts into the skin nicely as you are massaging it in, and then washes off quickly and easily. You are left with soft, clean skin and no greasy feel. Although the jar is plastic it is still pretty enough to be left out on the vanity. I have not experienced any skin reactions to using this balm and I especially enjoy using it during the winter months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products