Clinique • Butter Shine Lipstick - Ambrosia • Lipstick

rated 4.7(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.96%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cultella on 5/18/2009 5:16:00 PM more reviews by cultella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is probably one of my favorite makeup purchases all year. As with the other reviewers, I was a bit intimidated by the orange-ness of the shade, but decided to try and see what it looked like on me at Sephora. Wow, was I shocked. It is the most flattering shade on my olive skin, and I have a problem with dry lips and it keeps them nice and hydrated with only a few applications throughout the day. My mom is a bit darker than me (she's Chinese, I'm half) but this shade flattered both of our skin tones beautifully, so it seems to be a versatile color. I will be buying another for my mother so she doesn't use mine while I'm home! It was a great value at $14 at Sephora.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristenck89 on 5/4/2009 5:11:00 PM more reviews by kristenck89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! My favorite color at the moment. It's so versatile and lovely. As others have mentioned, in the tube it looks like some really scary orange-tone but once you have it on, it's gorgeous. On me, it becomes a perfect coral. My mom put some on and it was just a really nice neutral pinky-orange. It seems to really depend on the individual's lip-shade I guess. I also love that you can put it on light or layer it to be really bright.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Moonstruck1 on 7/21/2008 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Moonstruck1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Like other reviewers mentioned, in the tube, this looks very bright and almost unappealing, but once you put it on - its the most flattering colour. 4 of my friends have tried it on and it looks different on all of us - on one of my friends, it went coral. On the other friend it was a spicy peach and on me, it went an orange sorbet colour. I guess thats because this colour is so sheer, it really picks up on your natural lip-colour. I'm not afraid of colour, so this being in the orange family didn't bother me - its such a beautiful colour! If your looking for something a bit different, but still soft and golden, give this colour a try! It may just be your new HG!!!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBehaviour on 7/21/2008 10:52:00 AM more reviews by MissBehaviour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an extremely flattering, wearable shade that should suit most skin tones from very fair to dark. Don't be alarmed by how orangey gold this looks in the tube, the colour, once applied, is actually a warm sheer coral-bronze with a bit of shimmer. It actually looks quite natural and the texture manages to be sheer enough not to cause that drying, gunky lipstick feel but pigmented enough to truly show up even on naturally highly pigmented lips. Lasting power is fine. This works well both for work and play. A good buy.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KathleenS on 6/24/2008 12:21:00 PM more reviews by KathleenS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this shade a lot. It was more orange than I would have thought I would like but, once on, it makes my eyes stand out and brightens up my face. I like the combination of sheer formations with lots of color so this is especially good in that regard. I don't find it particularly drying or really even moisturizing for that matter but I do like the amount of color I get for such a sheer feel on my lips. Definitely a repurchase for me and I am going to check out other colors in this line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mooshrimp on 6/8/2008 9:29:00 PM more reviews by mooshrimp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this. It's not my favorite lipstick or anything, but it's a really gorgeous shade. Brightens my face really well! I took off a lippie because I disagree with the other users that this is super moisturizing. I thought it was pretty drying. Less drying than some lipsticks, but definitely not moisturizing. But with a bit of balm under and over this stuff is wonderful. This really isn't the shocking orange gold it is in the tube. It's sheer and matches well with every skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VersaceBlonde on 5/27/2008 2:50:00 PM more reviews by VersaceBlonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a product: Buttershines are essentially lipglosses in a lipstick tube; they wear like a gloss in sheerness, texture and lasting power. Retail approximately $14 and packaged in a chic silver tube with a bamboo design.


As a color: Ambrosia is one of the more pigmented buttershines; it is a warm-toned copper-red-coral hybrid with a dose of gold shimmer. My first impression when swatched on my hand was that it was an 80's coral, but on my semi-pigmented lips it looks completely different, more of a soft shimmery apricotty-pink, and the glossiness keeps it from looking like a cakey old-lady lipstick.


As a whole: Packaging, price texture, and color are wonderful on this lipstick, but lasting power could be improved.


Complementary products: Bronze eyeliner (i.e. Clinique Brown Sugar creamshaper) and peach blush (i.e. NARS deep throat)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gphibgoddess19 on 4/28/2008 8:15:00 PM more reviews by gphibgoddess19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It just occurred to me that I never reviewed this product, even though it is one of my most beloved lipsticks! I worked for Clinique in 2005 when the Buttershines were first introduced. I had just dyed my hair a reddish color, after being blonde for 8 years! I needed to move away from pink lipstick and gloss and wanted to venture into peaches and corals. When I saw this color, I was in love but didn't want to look like a crazy girl wearing orange lipstick. So I tried it on, and seriously all of the other SA's at the various makeup counters gasped. It was as close to perfection of a lip color on me as possible. It is a coral/red/orange/copper shimmery mixture, definitely not sheer but not thick either. Although some of the other reviews recommend this for warmer skin tones, I disagree because I am neutral leaning toward cool and I am very pale (NW15). I wear this with a coral color lipliner and every time I would wear it, I would sell at least one. Some would come back disappointed because it is bright, but so many were excited to see Clinique offering bolder colors. Even though I no longer work for Clinique, when I wear this I get asked what my lip color is. I even finished up a whole tube (gasp!) and am on my second. It is definitely an underrated Buttershine and I'm hoping they don't discontinue it. I have a hard time finding reds that don't go pink and corals that aren't garish, and this is the perfect in-between shade!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 2/27/2008 11:36:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This lipstick is a somewhat deep, translucent, shimmery, coral. If you mixed a soft red, with a bit of warm pink, and a splash of copper, you would have it. It is a warm shade, that looks good with peaches. coppers, warm bronzes, golds, and olive greens. With the right peach blush, a cool-toned person could pull this off. (I am a NW20) It is a very flattering shade. The Buttershine texture is wonderful -- it almost feels like a lip balm. Almost a cross between a lipstick and gloss. And finally, a word about the case. I adore the silver bamboo-like case. Gorgeous.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bossym99 on 12/8/2007 11:29:00 PM more reviews by bossym99

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This lipstick is great! I'm very warm/olive/yellow and very pale, so it's a real challenge to find a reddish shade that doesn't go pinky on me. I had thought I had found it in a moisturizing lipstick from Revlon, but it was discontinued about a year ago. (Sob, sob.) Clinique's Ambrosia buttershine lipstick is a wonderful substitute. It's a soft, pretty red that looks congruent with my skintone in a way most reds don't. It's a little sparkly and shiny, but not so much that I find it distracting or a very clubby/evening sort of lipstick. And it moisturizes well, for a lipstick, and seems to have some staying power to boot. I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products