Yves Rocher • Voile d'Ambre • Fragrances

rated 3.9(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Bassclef on 10/17/2010 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Bassclef

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I sampled this perfume with high hopes, having heard it was one of Yves Rocher's better fragrances, and as a lover of amber. I was a little disappointed. Expecting maybe an herby sappy amber like Serge Lutens' Ambre Sultan or a warm spicy resinous amber like Annick Goutal's Ambre Fetiche or even a gourmand sweet amber like B&BW Sensual Amber, this one smells like...perfume. "Too perfumey," that vague, irritating descriptor, was made for this fragrance. It reminds me a little of YSL Opium--it's definitely an oriental. It also has an austere powdery dry edge that makes my nostrils feel cold. Points for being wonderfully affordable and packaged beautifully. This perfume is definitely up someone's alley, but alas, not mine.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* illeyad on 10/7/2010 10:36:00 PM more reviews by illeyad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance was created by Olivier Pescheux, also the nose behind Yves Rocher's Iris Noir. The fragrance is classified as an Oriental woody sent with "top notes are mandarin leaf and cardamom; middle notes are opoponax, incense and myrrh; base notes are patchouli, australian sandalwood and madagascar vanilla (-Fragrantica)."


What I have always enjoyed about Yves Rocher perfumes- is they use natural oils to create an authentic, non synthetic or sharp perfume. So far, all their perfumes tend to smell wonderful. Their only flaw, is lasting power. This one lasted a little longer than the others I have tried in the collection (about 7 1/2 hours), and certainly had the most presence. It is a lovely warm Amber, vanilla, and patchouli incense fragrance. For those who have tried Lush's Karma- they certainly share some similarities- but I would describe this one as a more 'grown up' version of Karma. It's creamier and not as sweet. However it is not bold and spicy either, it's warm and inviting with a touch of sweetness. I could see this fragrance being popular in the winter when you want to cozy up by the fire with your special love.


Overall, I would recommend it to any Amber lover who wants a simple, straight forward perfume. It is not dynamic, but it maintains a soft tempo as at slowly simmers away from your skin. Enjoy.
Happy Shopping!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zetaflickan on 3/10/2010 2:03:00 AM more reviews by Zetaflickan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Warm, sweet fragrance that is a little sharp in the beginning (most perfumes smell sharp on me), but that fades within an hour. Stays longer than other YR perfumes, SO loves it, does not give me a headache. May be a little bit too sweet for my personal taste, but I am not wearing it for myself.
Will buy again if I still like it after finishing the 5ml bottle.
I have found that I like a number of YR fragrances, but need a number to rotate, as I do get bored with them. Wish SO liked Mitsouko, that I've loved for over 20 year without getting bored, but...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JenJenofAz on 8/6/2009 4:34:00 PM more reviews by JenJenofAz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Although I like most amber type perfumes and this one is nice, it is a bit too sweet. It is nice and I could see my mom wearing this because it's a bit classy. Not for me since I'm more of a natural casual gal! I like the lighter and clean scents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 8/2/2008 10:14:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Too perfumey for me, really. There's lots of nice notes and a good bergamot/incense beginning, but it dries down to mostly sharpish incense and too much sandalwood on my skin. I was really hoping for more resin and opoponax, but it's much more a oriental-style with it's citrus-myrrh-sandal-patchouli. Too much for me, and too bright.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chattykathy on 6/21/2008 5:43:00 PM more reviews by chattykathy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Here are the notes for this fragrance per the Yves Rocher website:Olfactory family: Oriental Woody Amber.
Head Notes: Italian Green Mandarin, Cardamom.
Heart Notes: Myrrh, Incense, Opoponax.
Base Notes: Madagascar Vanilla, Australian Sandalwood, Patchouli..........OK, I'll admit it. I never met a YR fragrance I liked. They all have that strong alcoholic cheap blast that I can't get past. Maybe I am overly sensitive to something common in the base with all of them but there is something headachey about them for me personally. I got a mini of this fragrance when it first came out because it sounded so good I couldn't resist. At the time I tried it I was trying a lot of other things and I guess I wrote it off and didn't really appreciate it. I totally forgot about it till recently when I was cleaning and unearthed it. I was compelled to try it again. I can't believe how nice it is!! At first, it does smell cheap to me and I don't like it. Within about 20 minutes the deeper qualities come through and the richness of the amber, vanilla and oppoponox save it for me. Fortunately the patchouli listed was not even an issue for me. I am very sensitive to patchouli in fragrances and it is blended so well that I cannot even detect it here. I recently fell totally in madcrazylove with Profumum Alba and I have been frustrated at nothing really giving me the same feeling as that on my skin. Well, this is definitely a relative of that. It feels like a cologne version of that one to me. It is nowhere near as full bodied and rich as Alba but there is something similar in there somewhere. Maybe it's the clean powdery amber quality to it ,but it is in the same family scentwise. It is NOT a dupe or anything but it just reminded me of it immediately after about 45 minutes into the drydown. My initial impression of this was dislike because the mandarin in the topnotes made it too astringent for me but luckily that dissipated. The incense, amber and vanilla warm it up very nicely though, and it does have a very cozy soft quality to it. Thankfully, it manages to avoid the dreaded heavy handed 1980's sledge hammer amber accord if you know what I mean. I would go so far as to even call this a skinscent for people who like the notes in it. It definitely doesn't announce you before you enter the room. It wears pretty closely to the skin and the lasting power is pretty good, about 6 to 7 hours on me. The name really says it all. Voile D'Ambre means veil of amber and that is what it is, a sheer light veil of fragrance. YR also always has lots of codes and specials to get it very cheaply. The bottle is $50 full price but I can't imagine that you would ever have to actually pay that if you shop wisely. Definitely worth checking out for soft amber scent lovers!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 debrsl on 4/24/2008 5:19:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Powdery, sweet amber. I like amber with some bite somewhere in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 4/9/2008 5:51:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Oh, as many other reviewers here I like this fragrance as well.
I was very impressed when Yves Rocher issued their luxury collection, Secrets d’Essences range of fragrances, as they are really high-end.
The other Eaux in their inventory tend to be light and a bit “cheap” on the quality side, although there are some I love as well!! - as they are mot a higher quality but also higher in the pricing.
As I am an amber/spicypowdery/chypre based fragrance lover (my HG’s are Prada, Obsession, Montblanc Presence d’une femme and Hermes 24 Faubourg) - I could not resist and bought Voile d’Ambre.
I liked it and I got so many compliments when I was wearing it! It is classy, elegant, feminine and somewhat sexy.
It is a winter fragrance, though, as with hot temperature it is a tad too heavy and warm – and started giving me headaches- so I gave up waiting for next autumn/ winter.
But it is a truly feminine, warm fragrance…. and you should give it a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ocpunk1 on 1/25/2008 1:23:00 PM more reviews by ocpunk1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this fragrance. But then I'm a hardcore amber lover, I've discovered in my sniffing odyssey. I love it's warmth, creaminess and subtle sweetness, and even in a perfume I dislike, an amber note at the end can redeem it. This starts out with the bitter tang of orange peel, then goes right into the amber. And that's about it. It works for both day and evening wear, and I always get A LOT of compliments on it. If it had a color, it would be burnished, old tortoise shell with a glow from within.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katie_alti on 1/10/2008 11:27:00 AM more reviews by katie_alti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am not normally an amber lover even thought I want to be, but somehow I LOVE this perfume. It is amber, but still manages to be shiny and bright on top of being deep and sexy (possibly the green mandarin in the listed notes). I bought the 5 ml sample vial unsniffed since it is only $3.50, and liked it right away. After a few wears I fell totally in love. The very subtIe incence note is perfect in the composition, which as a whole was very well done. I am also thrilled that something this lovely can be so inexpensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Rocher products

More Fragrances products