LUSH • Happy Hippy • Gels/Soaps

rated 3.8(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DragonRhia on 4/20/2013 9:24:00 AM more reviews by DragonRhia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This has been my staple body wash for a few years now. PROS: gentle on my sensitive skin, fresh scent that doesn't stick to my skin, good lather, free of all the "junk" that goes into a lot of body wash products. CONS: is great consistency (not too thick or thin) when the bottle is full, but about half way down it gets very thick (always a great lather tho), bottles aren't made to be reused as the plastic breaks down (I have little bottles in my shower and keep a large bottle of this for refills), somewhat expensive (but the quality is good), scent doesn't stick to my skin after a shower (this can be a pro or con depending on your personal preference). If you like a clean fresh scent that helps wake you up in the morning but is not overpowering, definitely give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 riceboxes on 3/23/2013 12:18:00 PM more reviews by riceboxes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smells very citrusy and grapefruity.


It's a nice scent, but not my favorite.


Will not repurchase again because the smell does not linger whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bricupcake on 1/27/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by bricupcake

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PROS
refreshing
cleansing
pleasant fragrance of grapefruit/citrus
wakes you up

CONS
way too expensive
doesn't last super long

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 12/20/2012 10:18:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lush's Happy Hippy is a grapefruit scented shower gel. Lush says that this body wash, which is one of their best sellers, is the "perfect way to start the day. This shower get is bursting with fresh, juicy, organic pink grapefruit to cleanse away grime, refresh your skin, and make you feel brighter all over, plush it's full of zippy citrus oil, grapefruit, and bergamot oil to work on tired minds with a double dose of Vitamin C". I was given a free sample of this shower gel at the Lush in Macy's in Downtown Pittsburgh. This shower gel retails for between $9.95-$28.95 and is available in three sizes; 3.3fl oz, 8.4fl oz, and 16.9fl oz. Happy Hippy is one of many, many vegan products offered by Lush. Lush is, of course, a cruelty free brand. This shower gel was made in Canada.
My little sample came in a small, black plastic jar with a screw on cap. The name of the product is hand written on the lid, but is starting to smear off. The full size product comes in a standard Lush Shower Gel bottle, which are clear and rounded with a black label. The name and product info and ingredients are written on the label in white lettering. I'm pretty sure Lush's shower gel bottles are not included in the store's recyclable program, but I know they're definitely recyclable.
Happy Hippy is a light, yellow, slightly cloudy looking shower gel. The consistency of this shower gel is quite thick, it barely moves around in the sample jar. Actually, its pretty hard to get out of the jar. I feel like I need to use quite a bit each time I use this shower gel. My sample jar was filled to the brim when I got it, and now after just two baths, it's almost gone. Happy Hippy barely lathers at all, I feel like it just kinda goes away when it comes in contact with my wet pouf. Oh before I forget, I should mention that this shower gel contains a very small amount of glitter. It's a shame that Happy Hippy fails to foam up, because it feels nice nice on my skin, cooling and little tingly, great for a shower in the morning just like Lush says (too bad, I'm a night bather). The formula on this shower gel is only ok, which is disappointing considering the crazy high price.
Happy Hippy has a fresh, pleasant, but not very unique grapefruit scent. The scent is certainly unisex, I could share it with my boyfriend, but there isn't very much to go around. The scent seem very strong straight out of the jar/bottle, but it dissipates very quickly and barely transfers onto the skin at all. Once again, the citrus-y scent is great for use in the morning.
I find Happy Hippy Shower Gel really lackluster. When I say that Lush is overpriced and overrated, its because of products like this one. It barely lathers, I need to use loads of it, and the scent is misleading in the bottle. The scent is nice, but very generic. I wouldn't buy any size bottle of Happy Hippy, it really isn't worth the high price. I don't recommend Happy Happy, if you're looking for a citrus body wash from Lush, I'd choose Whoosh Shower Jelly, which I'm still not crazy about, but its a better value and way more functional and fragrant than Happy Hippy.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarahlilly on 11/18/2012 2:24:00 AM more reviews by sarahlilly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was the first Lush body wash I have tried, and I hoping it would be as good as their other products. Firstly the smell is amazing! It smells strongly of citrus, and is very refreshing. It is the perfect shower gel to use in the morning to wake you up! The gel lathers up nicely (I used a loofah) and I felt very clean after using the product. The only disappointment was that the citrus scent didn't stay on my skin - the bathroom smelt amazing though!
I would repurchase this product again, a little of this shower gel goes a long way so the price is great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amswtr on 10/23/2012 7:42:00 PM more reviews by amswtr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Happy Hippy smells like orange peels to me. I love citrus scents and this is all citrus. I agree with other reviewers that said this is a good unisex scent. I've been using a lot of lush lately, the other day I went back to a different body wash and my skin felt so dry. Lush really makes your skin feel soft and just wonderful. Their products are expensive but I can see and feel the difference. If you like citrus scents then I would recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katie0804 on 7/2/2012 12:40:00 PM more reviews by katie0804

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

First of all, let me say I am a HUGE fan of citrus scents. This body wash smells incredible! I remember how excited I was when I would get this in my Christmas stocking. I have used it in my hair a couple times, and while it leaves the hair smelling nice, I don't like it for hair as much as I like other products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlywurly100 on 6/4/2012 5:13:00 PM more reviews by curlywurly100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Happy Hippy is a grapefruit shower gel which is very strong and citrusy, but this is a very condensed and true to life citrus scent that really gives me a boost in the mornings when i'm tired. this really stands apart from other citrusy shower gels that i've tried because it's so intense.
i think this is perfect for warm days especially, and i also think this is a really unisex scent.
would repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aenesbanaenes on 4/19/2012 6:16:00 PM more reviews by aenesbanaenes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this products smells amazing very zingy although the sent did not linger so i will not be bying ths again althogh it did not irritate my skin but not very moisturizing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tealeafdoll on 4/4/2012 8:30:00 AM more reviews by tealeafdoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been reaching for this in my shower quite a lot recently, I think its a great refreshing, citrus-y scent; perfect for spring! It can sometimes be a little drying on my skin so I only use a small amount, but overall I probably will re-buy it, especially for the warmer months ahead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Gels/Soaps products