Hanae Mori Butterfly EDP

3.8

191 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/18/2012 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Application easy and convenient to use, and the smell really does last a long time. However, i could not stand the movie. It was too strong, too sweet and fruity, and overwhelming, my head was hurting after awhile.



on 6/14/2012 2:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Imagine a bowl of strawberries and cream on a table, at the center of which is a vase full of big, luxuriant flowers. Powdered sugar lightly coats the petals of said flowers, and from the kitchen wafts the appetizing aroma of pralines still warm and melty from the candy-making process. This is Hanae Mori: a little floral, vanillic, and very sweet—an oriental gourmand. According to Sephora, the notes include strawberries, bilberries, black Currant, Bulgarian rose, jasmine, ylang-Ylang, sandalwood, almond, and praline. The most interesting part of the perfume is the combination of almond and strawberry to creat a fluffy, rich vanilla. I like it, especially since the EDP lasts for 12 hours on my skin with three squirts to my neck. In a way, it reminds me of a lighter Dior Addict, which also has rose and sandalwood notes, in addition to D&G’s The One, also a floral vanilla sort of smell. I suspect that Dream Angels Forever, berries and wedding cake, may be a dupe for this, so if you do not like any of those three fragrances, Butterfly is not for you.

Hanae Mori is my comfort scent, the fragrance I wear after my nightly shower before bed, though it could work in an office setting as well. Just spray responsibily, as this is a rather strong scent. However, as much as I appreciate potent perfumes, I took off one lipstick because I simply adore citrus, and Hanae Mori has no citron, bergamot, nor lime for me, which makes me sad, but that is a preference thing. Try it for its sugary, warm airiness. Online fragrance outlets offer the small size of the EDP for $36, and it is a truly delightful addition to the gourmond part of your collection, since you will feel like a classy and quietly confident lady well acquainted with her own sort of joie de vivre while wearing it!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2012 1:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why I haven't reviewed this yet, since I have been wearing it faithfully for about 2 years now. I usually wear it in autumn and winter actually, because it's very seductively sweet. On my skin, I pick up on a vanilla almond scent heavily. As it dries down, the vanilla scent remains strong, but with a slightly lighter note, that feels like strawberry, though it's not so strong of a strawberry scent that you'd know it if it wasn't noted on the website. It wears for hours, the longest I've worn it and still able to smell it is about 6 hours. I usually use 2-3 sprays and it's all I need. I encourage you to try it on the skin and let it dry down for a few minutes because it does smell rather potent in the bottle. A friend of mine did not like the smell in the bottle. She hugged me one day and said I smelled amazing! When I told her it was Hanae Mori Butterfly, she couldn't believe how much she liked it on me!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2012 12:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't like vanilla/sugary fragrances, but I like them when they are presented in a unique way, like Butterfly. Another one i like is Kenzo Amour. I agree with the other reviewers who said its a more mature and much more interesting "sweet" perfume. I've been using it for years. When I first tried it i was blown away by how good it smelled.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2012 11:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This perfume kind of smells like... everything, it's hard to explain. On my skin, it smells more fruity than flowery, and the strawberry and blackberry scents are the strongest. Eventually the scent fades into the more mellow flower scents, although I smell more jasmine and peonies than rose. Overall, it's a very lovely, feminine scent, great for those of us that like warm flowery or fruity scents!


on 4/5/2012 10:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Based on the reviews, I really thought that I would like this perfume. So I headed down to Sephora and spray it on and its a very sickly chemical scent. I couldn't stand the smell so I as soon as I got home, I took a shower. I will stay far far away.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow, I am in LOVE with this! It is pretty pricey (not as bad as Creed or something like that though!) but well worth it. It smells sweet, floral, woody, oriental, and feminine. I just can't get enough of it. Here is a hint too, ladies: I bought this at the popular beauty store Sephora for $65 for 1oz. EDP. I realized I loved it so much I was going to exchange it for the 1.7 oz. EDP for $90. They also had the parfum for $90 for 1 oz. but I thought that was a little pricey. Just for fun I was looking it up on the internet and found the EDP at TARGET!!!! Guess how much it was!!! $56 for 1.7 oz!!! I was about to pay $90 but I got it for $56. So yeah, don't overpay for this product! But it is well worth it because it smells like heaven!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2012 2:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently bought Hanae Mori Butterfly EDP at Bloomingdale's. I wasn't sure about it because I had one of those aggressive perfume ladies shoving it down my throat. I gave in at the end and bought it after I walked around the mall smelling it on my hand. It is a very sweet perfume. I am used to using the original little purple Anna Sui bottle at night and D&G La Lune during the day. I would best describe it as a blend of strawberry and vanilla with a powdery woodsy after smell. It was $90 for 30 ml. I guess it is the price one pays for parfum vs eau de toilette. If I were to buy it again, I would opt for finding it cheaper online.


on 11/13/2011 10:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Hanae mori is an amazing fragrance. I love this at night and in the colder or windier months. I enjoy the fragrance of strawberries when they don't smell artificially sweet because they can get nauseating. I actually like a lot of victorias secret scents for their girlhood fruit smells but I don't think they do a nice strawberry. Hanae mori does an incredible berry scent. It's so sweet it actually smells like vanilla even though there is no vanilla in it. I have recieved a couple compliments on this perfume. I think 3 sprays is perfect. The Eau de perfume if perfume is definately the way to go. They last forever on the skin. A beautiful very feminine scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2011 1:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have to admit, what drew me into this scent was the fact that it strongly reminded me of Yakult. For those of you unfamiliar, Yakult is a Japanese probiotic milky-yogurt drink. Having grown up drinking this, I was very nostalgic and surprised when I realized how much this perfume smelled like the drink to me. It has a mildly sweet and tangy floral scent that brings up a smile every time I wear it. . Not everyone may agree with me, but that's my personal reason for enjoying this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top