Hanae Mori • Butterfly EDP • Fragrances

rated 3.8(190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* delectante on 6/14/2012 2:13:00 PM more reviews by delectante

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Imagine a bowl of strawberries and cream on a table, at the center of which is a vase full of big, luxuriant flowers. Powdered sugar lightly coats the petals of said flowers, and from the kitchen wafts the appetizing aroma of pralines still warm and melty from the candy-making process. This is Hanae Mori: a little floral, vanillic, and very sweet—an oriental gourmand. According to Sephora, the notes include strawberries, bilberries, black Currant, Bulgarian rose, jasmine, ylang-Ylang, sandalwood, almond, and praline. The most interesting part of the perfume is the combination of almond and strawberry to creat a fluffy, rich vanilla. I like it, especially since the EDP lasts for 12 hours on my skin with three squirts to my neck. In a way, it reminds me of a lighter Dior Addict, which also has rose and sandalwood notes, in addition to D&G’s The One, also a floral vanilla sort of smell. I suspect that Dream Angels Forever, berries and wedding cake, may be a dupe for this, so if you do not like any of those three fragrances, Butterfly is not for you.

Hanae Mori is my comfort scent, the fragrance I wear after my nightly shower before bed, though it could work in an office setting as well. Just spray responsibily, as this is a rather strong scent. However, as much as I appreciate potent perfumes, I took off one lipstick because I simply adore citrus, and Hanae Mori has no citron, bergamot, nor lime for me, which makes me sad, but that is a preference thing. Try it for its sugary, warm airiness. Online fragrance outlets offer the small size of the EDP for $36, and it is a truly delightful addition to the gourmond part of your collection, since you will feel like a classy and quietly confident lady well acquainted with her own sort of joie de vivre while wearing it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hollytron on 5/21/2012 1:26:00 AM more reviews by Hollytron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure why I haven't reviewed this yet, since I have been wearing it faithfully for about 2 years now. I usually wear it in autumn and winter actually, because it's very seductively sweet. On my skin, I pick up on a vanilla almond scent heavily. As it dries down, the vanilla scent remains strong, but with a slightly lighter note, that feels like strawberry, though it's not so strong of a strawberry scent that you'd know it if it wasn't noted on the website. It wears for hours, the longest I've worn it and still able to smell it is about 6 hours. I usually use 2-3 sprays and it's all I need. I encourage you to try it on the skin and let it dry down for a few minutes because it does smell rather potent in the bottle. A friend of mine did not like the smell in the bottle. She hugged me one day and said I smelled amazing! When I told her it was Hanae Mori Butterfly, she couldn't believe how much she liked it on me!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wathenem on 5/5/2012 12:24:00 PM more reviews by wathenem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't like vanilla/sugary fragrances, but I like them when they are presented in a unique way, like Butterfly. Another one i like is Kenzo Amour. I agree with the other reviewers who said its a more mature and much more interesting "sweet" perfume. I've been using it for years. When I first tried it i was blown away by how good it smelled.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 5/5/2012 11:59:00 AM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This perfume kind of smells like... everything, it's hard to explain. On my skin, it smells more fruity than flowery, and the strawberry and blackberry scents are the strongest. Eventually the scent fades into the more mellow flower scents, although I smell more jasmine and peonies than rose. Overall, it's a very lovely, feminine scent, great for those of us that like warm flowery or fruity scents!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 4/5/2012 10:42:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Based on the reviews, I really thought that I would like this perfume. So I headed down to Sephora and spray it on and its a very sickly chemical scent. I couldn't stand the smell so I as soon as I got home, I took a shower. I will stay far far away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetiepea161616 on 2/1/2012 7:53:00 PM more reviews by sweetiepea161616

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

Wow, I am in LOVE with this! It is pretty pricey (not as bad as Creed or something like that though!) but well worth it. It smells sweet, floral, woody, oriental, and feminine. I just can't get enough of it. Here is a hint too, ladies: I bought this at the popular beauty store Sephora for $65 for 1oz. EDP. I realized I loved it so much I was going to exchange it for the 1.7 oz. EDP for $90. They also had the parfum for $90 for 1 oz. but I thought that was a little pricey. Just for fun I was looking it up on the internet and found the EDP at TARGET!!!! Guess how much it was!!! $56 for 1.7 oz!!! I was about to pay $90 but I got it for $56. So yeah, don't overpay for this product! But it is well worth it because it smells like heaven!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spellofparis on 1/31/2012 2:43:00 PM more reviews by spellofparis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently bought Hanae Mori Butterfly EDP at Bloomingdale's. I wasn't sure about it because I had one of those aggressive perfume ladies shoving it down my throat. I gave in at the end and bought it after I walked around the mall smelling it on my hand. It is a very sweet perfume. I am used to using the original little purple Anna Sui bottle at night and D&G La Lune during the day. I would best describe it as a blend of strawberry and vanilla with a powdery woodsy after smell. It was $90 for 30 ml. I guess it is the price one pays for parfum vs eau de toilette. If I were to buy it again, I would opt for finding it cheaper online.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jeanbean7777 on 11/13/2011 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Jeanbean7777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Hanae mori is an amazing fragrance. I love this at night and in the colder or windier months. I enjoy the fragrance of strawberries when they don't smell artificially sweet because they can get nauseating. I actually like a lot of victorias secret scents for their girlhood fruit smells but I don't think they do a nice strawberry. Hanae mori does an incredible berry scent. It's so sweet it actually smells like vanilla even though there is no vanilla in it. I have recieved a couple compliments on this perfume. I think 3 sprays is perfect. The Eau de perfume if perfume is definately the way to go. They last forever on the skin. A beautiful very feminine scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cyd on 11/4/2011 1:54:00 AM more reviews by Cyd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to admit, what drew me into this scent was the fact that it strongly reminded me of Yakult. For those of you unfamiliar, Yakult is a Japanese probiotic milky-yogurt drink. Having grown up drinking this, I was very nostalgic and surprised when I realized how much this perfume smelled like the drink to me. It has a mildly sweet and tangy floral scent that brings up a smile every time I wear it. . Not everyone may agree with me, but that's my personal reason for enjoying this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dreamsecurity on 10/16/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by dreamsecurity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I asked for this perfume when I was in 10th grade (ten years ago). It was instant love. Five bottles later, I'm still really into this scent. I don't wear it every day (Coco by Chanel gets heavy rotation) but it's one of those smells that people associate with me now. Girls love it, guys love it. It's best in the winter/fall, but far from unusable in the warmer seasons. It evokes a down-to-earth type of classiness--a beautiful woman who doesn't need to sport a $5,000 handbag in order to be considered classy. It also lasts on my clothes forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hanae Mori products

More Fragrances products