MAC • Satin - Era • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(152 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playsindirt on 2/28/2013 6:16:00 PM more reviews by playsindirt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Era is a really great blender color or as a nice, natural lid color or all over wash. For a natural look, I wash with Orb, do lid with Era, and then go back and line with Mulch. Really good look for Spring and very natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tousledelegance on 2/18/2013 2:47:00 PM more reviews by tousledelegance

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

For me, Era is a surprise unsung hero.
I originally purchased it just to use as a light lid colour with faux cut crease looks, but I discovered Era is also pretty blended out a bit above the crease or as a subtle all over wash just to give you a little colour.

For reference, I am decidedly more fair than NC15/NW15 (i.e. Lily Lolo's Porcelain foundation is a perfect match on me) and Era looks like a very pale peachy-brown on me... think: much lighter than Samoa Silk + similar to Soft Brown + not as much sheen as Arena, but similar in tint. The sparkles are not gritty and the shimmer of them is very very understated; I can see it a bit in natural daylight, but not at all indoors.

I was afraid Era might pull "ashy" on me like Cork does, but it's just fine- better than fine, really. It makes me feel "glowy." Not something I ever thought I'd go for since I usually don't care for anything subtle, but I like it a lot on my uber fair skin for those times when I need an office appropriate or "no makeup" appearance.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 1/2/2013 8:06:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So this is exacty what I have been lookin for, for the last 5 years... and I've finally found you Era and I love you. This is the perfect transition color ever. I am a NC20 for reference. I like to use matte highlighters and when I used matte transition colors like kid and wedge it didn't blend as well as I'd like. Because it is a satin, it has a slight sheen, so it blends extremely well with matte shades. I have a "Guide to MAC Transition Colors" on my blog so feel free to check it out and compare the others:


http://eyeshadowaa.blogspot.com/2013/01/a-guide-to-mac-transition-colors.html

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cristalle65 on 10/21/2012 11:14:00 AM more reviews by cristalle65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm a NC 15-20 with green eyes..never imagined this shade would look good on me but bought it after a rec from the MU board. It is beautiful! I use Naked lunch on lid, Era in crease and Ricepaper for the browbone. Nice pigmentation and very satiny. I have hooded eyes and this is the only crease color so far that doesn't make me look like I've got dark circles.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/17/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a blue eyed NW10 (NW20 when tanning from a bottle).

This color is really unflattering on me for some reason. It's a neutral matte base color, so I kept trying to make it work, but it dulls my skin, makes my dark circles look darker, and just looks "off." I have a hard time with such a light color payoff too. I much prefer Wedge, which I bought to accompany it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emma93 on 10/10/2012 7:18:00 AM more reviews by Emma93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why this doesn't get more love.
But what one has to be aware of is, that this is NOT a special color, it's not something undupable, it is not like MACs Club or Satin Taupe.
What it is is a very pretty, dark golden-y nud-ish color that has a little bit of shimmer, but not too much and is pretty versatile. I use it for example when I do a smokey eye to blend out the edges and for the inner 3rd as I have pretty small eyes and need a certain lighness on the inner parts of my lids. It's also perfect for a everyday look with a light brown like Cork in the crease or Mulch. This is not the kind of eyeshadow that is the star of the look, but it's still very very pretty.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Saraah14 on 3/16/2012 7:57:00 AM more reviews by Saraah14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favourite eyeshadows! It's a light tan brown colour which is perfect for the crease or if you want something natural. I also wear this all over the lid blended up to the crease with a shimmery inner corner highlight and it looks so nice! Will always repurchase and highly recommend! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lxGossipGirlxl on 2/21/2012 6:39:00 PM more reviews by lxGossipGirlxl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color, it is a light brown shade with the tiniest slight bit of taupe in it. You can use this all over ur lids, or use it like how I do: put it in my crease for a really natural eye look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 1/3/2012 8:09:00 PM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favourite eyeshadows! It's subtle enough for everyday, but not boring at the same time. It's a satin finish, but it's multi-dimensional on me. Therefore, I often just use this all over my lid and in crease, and it accentuates the shape of my eye without any need for contouring :D The colour is kinda cool, but still goes very well with my warm-toned skin. This is one of the colours that to me is very simple to use - it goes with anything I would like to wear, because it gives me a pretty natural look.

BTW: the colour is pearly taupe-brown with a warm brown undertone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* narkiz on 11/30/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't believe how people love this color. On my cool toned NW20 skin, this looks just boring and yellowish. Actually, I bought it several years ago, didn't use it and threw it away, years later, I bought it again accidentally (don't ask me how) and hated it again, this time swapped it. Happy end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products