MAC • Satin - Era • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(151 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 tousledelegance on 2/18/2013 2:47:00 PM more reviews by tousledelegance

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

For me, Era is a surprise unsung hero.
I originally purchased it just to use as a light lid colour with faux cut crease looks, but I discovered Era is also pretty blended out a bit above the crease or as a subtle all over wash just to give you a little colour.

For reference, I am decidedly more fair than NC15/NW15 (i.e. Lily Lolo's Porcelain foundation is a perfect match on me) and Era looks like a very pale peachy-brown on me... think: much lighter than Samoa Silk + similar to Soft Brown + not as much sheen as Arena, but similar in tint. The sparkles are not gritty and the shimmer of them is very very understated; I can see it a bit in natural daylight, but not at all indoors.

I was afraid Era might pull "ashy" on me like Cork does, but it's just fine- better than fine, really. It makes me feel "glowy." Not something I ever thought I'd go for since I usually don't care for anything subtle, but I like it a lot on my uber fair skin for those times when I need an office appropriate or "no makeup" appearance.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 1/2/2013 8:06:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So this is exacty what I have been lookin for, for the last 5 years... and I've finally found you Era and I love you. This is the perfect transition color ever. I am a NC20 for reference. I like to use matte highlighters and when I used matte transition colors like kid and wedge it didn't blend as well as I'd like. Because it is a satin, it has a slight sheen, so it blends extremely well with matte shades. I have a "Guide to MAC Transition Colors" on my blog so feel free to check it out and compare the others:


http://eyeshadowaa.blogspot.com/2013/01/a-guide-to-mac-transition-colors.html

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cristalle65 on 10/21/2012 11:14:00 AM more reviews by cristalle65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm a NC 15-20 with green eyes..never imagined this shade would look good on me but bought it after a rec from the MU board. It is beautiful! I use Naked lunch on lid, Era in crease and Ricepaper for the browbone. Nice pigmentation and very satiny. I have hooded eyes and this is the only crease color so far that doesn't make me look like I've got dark circles.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/17/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a blue eyed NW10 (NW20 when tanning from a bottle).

This color is really unflattering on me for some reason. It's a neutral matte base color, so I kept trying to make it work, but it dulls my skin, makes my dark circles look darker, and just looks "off." I have a hard time with such a light color payoff too. I much prefer Wedge, which I bought to accompany it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emma93 on 10/10/2012 7:18:00 AM more reviews by Emma93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why this doesn't get more love.
But what one has to be aware of is, that this is NOT a special color, it's not something undupable, it is not like MACs Club or Satin Taupe.
What it is is a very pretty, dark golden-y nud-ish color that has a little bit of shimmer, but not too much and is pretty versatile. I use it for example when I do a smokey eye to blend out the edges and for the inner 3rd as I have pretty small eyes and need a certain lighness on the inner parts of my lids. It's also perfect for a everyday look with a light brown like Cork in the crease or Mulch. This is not the kind of eyeshadow that is the star of the look, but it's still very very pretty.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Saraah14 on 3/16/2012 7:57:00 AM more reviews by Saraah14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favourite eyeshadows! It's a light tan brown colour which is perfect for the crease or if you want something natural. I also wear this all over the lid blended up to the crease with a shimmery inner corner highlight and it looks so nice! Will always repurchase and highly recommend! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lxGossipGirlxl on 2/21/2012 6:39:00 PM more reviews by lxGossipGirlxl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color, it is a light brown shade with the tiniest slight bit of taupe in it. You can use this all over ur lids, or use it like how I do: put it in my crease for a really natural eye look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 1/3/2012 8:09:00 PM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favourite eyeshadows! It's subtle enough for everyday, but not boring at the same time. It's a satin finish, but it's multi-dimensional on me. Therefore, I often just use this all over my lid and in crease, and it accentuates the shape of my eye without any need for contouring :D The colour is kinda cool, but still goes very well with my warm-toned skin. This is one of the colours that to me is very simple to use - it goes with anything I would like to wear, because it gives me a pretty natural look.

BTW: the colour is pearly taupe-brown with a warm brown undertone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* narkiz on 11/30/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't believe how people love this color. On my cool toned NW20 skin, this looks just boring and yellowish. Actually, I bought it several years ago, didn't use it and threw it away, years later, I bought it again accidentally (don't ask me how) and hated it again, this time swapped it. Happy end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diggity on 9/19/2011 11:57:00 AM more reviews by diggity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This shade has become one of my most used eyeshadows, which is very surprising. I had asked the makeup board for recommendations for a MAC shade similar to Bobbi Brown Beige shimmerwash or Benefit Fawn Over Me. Someone suggested Era. I ordered it online in the pro pan ($11, not bad), and when it came, I was a little disappointed to find that it's a very subtle shade. It's more satin in finish than shimmer (like the BB and Benefit shades). And it's a little too light and subtle to show up on my lids too much as a wash by itself. So I didn't use it for the first couple weeks I had it. Then one day I did a darker color all over my lid and then used Era as a transition/blending color. Holy moly - it worked better than any other eyeshadow I've used for this purpose. It gave me this perfectly blended satin-y look like pro makeup artists get. I REALLY like the finish. Now I use this almost every day as my blending or transition color. I love the packaging because I buy the pro pans and can build my own quads or palettes. I will definitely re-purchase this eyeshadow once I use it up.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products