Garnier Soft Curl Cream [DISCONTINUED]

3.9

60 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 12/28/2007 3:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have thick, dark, coarse brown hair. It is sometimes super straight, other times, I wake up and it is wavy or curly. I love curly hair, so I got the Herbal Essences Totally Twisted shampoo and conditioner, and this cream. I took a bath, used the TT stuff, and then towel dried my hair. So my hair was pretty damp. Then, I took little portions of it and and slicked this in there, and then twisted them into little buns. I then put all the little buns in a scarf, and went to sleep. When I woke up, some of the buns were coming out, and so I took them out, and what did I have?? Adorable little spirals that I fingered apart, leaving me with a head of curly, pretty hair!



on 12/9/2007 11:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have fine, naturally-wavy hair and I use this on the days I want to go curly. I agree with other reviewers that the texture leaves a lot to be desired, but I have found the right technique to get soft, defined curls. I mix this with a dab of shine serum to help give my hair shine and tame any frizzies, then I scrunch a little bit into different sections. This helps create defined curls that last all day. The best drugstore product for creating all-day defined curls.


on 11/29/2007 5:34:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have thick but fine straight hair that is shoulder length with side swept bangs that end at my pupil... and I had always been relying on Aussie sprunch spray to give me any kind of wave or curl to my hair. I dreaded the scent and the gross feeling of touching the crunch, so I had been looking for a good cream for a while. My stylist showed me the right way to scrunch/curl my limp straight hair and used a high end curling cream, and I realized that this was probably the same stuff. I rushed home to use it



After taking a shower, I flipped my head and wrapped a towel around it without combing it. I got dressed, did makeup yadda yadda letting it air dry a bit in the towel. I took it off (once again, not combing it, so it looks like a ratty mess) and put my fingers into this tub. I DESPISE the packaging of this. Regardless I covered my fingertips and ran this all through my uncombed hair from scalp to end. I flipped my hair and dried it with a diffuser, and when I flipped it up, what did I get but awesome wavy curls? I did straighten my bangs and use a bit of hairspray to keep the hold (which was still kind of there by 4pm that day, and my hair never holds curl!) but this stuff gets an A from me. I *love* it. Only one lippie off because of the packaging--I'd love a pump or a squeeze tube!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2007 1:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

YUCK! I don't like sticking my fingers in the jar and rubbing this thick, sticky gunk all over my hair. I found it too hard the spread it evenly on dry hair because its too sticky and messes up the curl. I had to use it only on wet hair. Although it did define my curls and made them soft, it does nothing to control the frizz. After a few hours my hair was just frizzy and poofy.


on 9/12/2007 3:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent product in that in my experience, it does what it says. It does not leave me with hard crunchy curls at all. I have long, naturally curly hair with a ton of body. It does a good job of giving just enough definition and no crunch. I only give it 4 lippies because I don't like the feeling my hair has after application. Meaning, it leaves it a tad on the sticky side and while it visually looks fine and does a great job of leaving naturally defined curls, I can't run my fingers easily through my hair after using this product and I like my hair to be touchable - so does my fiance. Still, it's not bad, and I can say for those that try it - start out with the tinist bit and add. Less is more with this stuff. I don't think I'll be purchasing this again. Sebastian's Potion 9 does a better job calming frizzies and giving me some definition and I can work out the minor crunchies after it's finished air drying.


on 8/13/2007 3:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is one of the best products i use for my hair (considering it is so inexpensive) However, for me it works way better on dry hair than on wet. I have very curly hair, and when I use the product, then allow it to air dry, it was no better than any other curl products. But, if I blow dry my hair straight,then work it into my hair, it works wonders at creating looser, softer, and bigger curls than I have naturally. And, it holds really well.


on 8/4/2007 10:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have thin, curly/wavy hair, and using this alone is not good, but if I mix it w/a leave-in cream, pretty nice soft waves. The scent is absolutely wonderful, fruity, maybe watermelon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Simply OK. It makes my hair too soft to maintain good curl definition, however. I have looser curls/waves and this seems to make them loose enough that they become more frizzy instead. I have better luck with L'Oreal Texture Line Featherweight Creme.


on 7/25/2007 8:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is decent. It does define my curls so my normally wavy hair looks curly. Unfortunately it doesn't help much with frizz so you need something else for that. It's okay, but I've used better and ya'll probably have too. If I had the money, I'd just use the Bumble and Bumble because that really does define curls with no frizz and holds a bit and smells great.

Update: I raised the rating to 5 lippies because I came back to it and realized how awesome a product it is. I do need other products to help with my frizz (considering how damaged my hair is, that's normal), but I love the waves this gives me with no scrunching. My hair is semi-wavy and this really defines the wave and makes it look wavier. If it's been discontinued, I am so going out and buying what I can find.

EDIT: I finally found some at Big Lots this week and bought 4 of them since I also rediscovered this this past week when I decided to go curly again. It's still really great and now I have quite a few of them. lol.


on 7/1/2007 8:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was so gross looking, but it did good stuff to my hair! The frizz was at bay, and it leaves my hair soft. DON'T USE TOO MUCH THOUGH!


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Back to Top