Dr. Bronner's • Lavender Liquid Soap • Skincare - Body

rated 4.6(106 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nofear on 11/14/2013 4:38:00 PM more reviews by nofear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

when u first get it the smell is really strong- chemical like, industrial. i almost regretted buying it. however after a few uses u get used to the smell and it doesnt bother me anymore. it can be drying to skin so i dilute it with water. great for makeup brushes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mdb1890 on 10/20/2013 7:20:00 PM more reviews by mdb1890

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love this product. My hair is naturally straight but is slightly wavey and years of using shampoo and conditioner really flattened it out. I'm not sure why but this soap brought back the waves in my hair. I wouldn't consider it beachy waves but there's definitely some shape to it. Aside from using it as a shampoo, I use it as a body wash, handsoap, laundry detergent, and occasionally a face wash. I have acne prone skin and so far, this hasn't broken me out. Overall a great product worth repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AJ6488 on 5/18/2013 11:51:00 AM more reviews by AJ6488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I really want to love this because it's one of a few really natural cleansers you can buy, but it really doesn't work for my dry skin. I used it as a natural shower gel and it made my skin itchy after every single use. I also got a rash from dryness on my waist and it disappeared as soon as I stopped using it. I bought a 500ml bottle and I could only use it as hand soap to finish the whole bottle. It is really good as a hand soap but it's too expansive if that's the only job it can do for me, so I won't repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carabunny on 4/6/2013 7:18:00 PM more reviews by Carabunny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has cured my acne and made my skin so clean and soft! I use this for everything from body wash to tooth past from time to time and laundry soap. 18 in one for $7, heck yes! The best part for me is the way it smells. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gypcc on 1/23/2013 5:20:00 PM more reviews by gypcc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My favorite of Dr. Bronners the scent is gorgeous and it's such a great product. Add a little sugar and you've got a great scrub that's gentle enough for your face...I use it in the shower, I use the peppermint when I've got a cold and you can use it on every surface... diluted it's a great surface cleaner (put it in an old spray bottle), can use it in the laundry, it's a great stain remover and I've started to use it on my face since my favorite cleanser has been discontinued (why does that always happen to me). Everything I've been trying has broken me out... except this. A very little goes a looooong way & if I need a lil exfoliation I add some sugar or baking soda and I've got a face scrub. The first time I used it I felt a lil dry afterwards so I added a lil vitamin e oil to a small container and that's what I use now... I have basically found my new facial cleanser... no breakouts and its ridiculously cheaper than the La Roche Posay Bio Med cleanser that I loved... sigh.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmp24 on 12/4/2012 11:01:00 PM more reviews by jmp24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

what can't one use these castile soaps for??? I use them for:

hair, body, shaving
hand soap
doggie shampoo
cleaning in general
dishwashing
handwashing lingerie
cleaning makeup brushes
cleaning artist's brushes
spot cleaning carpet
cleaning the bird cage
a tablesoon in a small spray bottle of water to spray houseplants to rid them of aphids, spider mites, etc
and many more!

The hot washcloth mask (instructions on bottle) is pretty awesome in the shower but I don't do it too often, as excessively hot or cold water can cause those broken blood vessels - but it's nice occasionally, and the lavender scent is very relaxing. I like the purity of this soap. The bars are nice too. The only con is that this soap is not all that luxurious to use - it has a very low lather. It doesn't strip or dry my skin, but it's not moisturizing either. It's just a good basic REAL soap with no animal fat in it...always a plus for me!

Not all that cheap, but a bottle lasts a long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainydays1234 on 12/4/2012 11:30:00 AM more reviews by rainydays1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite soap! I love that they make this in travel sizes which is wonderful! The packaging is also a riot to read. I'm not sure about the philosophy of Dr. Bronner but he makes a great soap! I use it in the summer time for a refreshing facial cleanser and body wash. I've heard you can use this as a hair wash but haven't tried it yet. It's also really nice to add to the bath. I have really sensitive skin and Dr. Bronner's Castile soaps have never irritated my skin. Be cautious when using these liquid soaps! They are VERY WATERY and HIGHLY CONCENTRATED! Seriously, a couple of drops is all you need for a velvety lather. I've even used these liquid soaps as a laundry detergent when hand-washing delicates and sweaters. I LOVE the lavender scent, it's such a relaxing scent that really lifts the spirit!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snoopy68 on 11/29/2012 3:24:00 PM more reviews by snoopy68

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I do not use this soap for personal use i.e., shampoo, shower gel, etc. as it is way too drying for my body or hair, however, I use the lavender liquid soap as a household cleaner and I absolutely love it!!! Hands down, this is the BEST cleaner in the world and it can tackle the grimmiest of all filthy jobs! I use this to scrub my bathrooms and kitchen. I use it to mop floors. It's great as a laundry detergent. The only two things that I really don't use it on is mirrors or to dust my wood furniture! But I sure use to clean all the woodwork in my home i.e., banisters, moldings, etc . It has a very nice, non-chemical scent and smells well, just like lavender. No artificial colors, nasty chemical additives, etc. in this product. I buy a very big bottle of this at my local grocer for $9.99 and this lasts forever, because you only need a small squirt for most cleaning jobs.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pandemonia2000 on 7/15/2012 7:28:00 AM more reviews by pandemonia2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! I've used the lavender and the tea-tree liquid soap and also the tea tree hard soap. They are all equally great for my spot-prone skin. I use it all over my body and it cleans really well without giving me any bad reactions or drying out my skin. The HG soap for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mellieb on 6/18/2012 1:33:00 AM more reviews by Mellieb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Don't get me wrong, I love Dr. Bronner's but I found that I had a bad reaction to this particular one (lavender). Even with dilution it made my skin extremely dry and I felt a slight burning.

That being said I have very oily/acne prone skin and love the tea tee oil one which is odd because you would think that the tea tree would be more harsh for the skin.

I will still use the lavender to add to my bath water or for cleaning my sink/bathtub (does an awesome job at this) but I won't use it when applied directly to the skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Bronner's products

More Skincare - Body products