Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(261 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 celticcavegirl on 1/25/2014 1:59:00 PM more reviews by celticcavegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this product, as I've been a fan of Skinceuticals for a while...a good strong antioxidant serum, with brightening, with ferrulic acid to stabilise the vitamin C

Pros
- if your skin can tolerate it, it's a proven anti-oxidant and brightener
- absorbs easily
- nice-looking packaging

Cons
- I tried and tried to get my skin 'used' to this serum, but it just didn't work. I do have quite sensitive skin but I can tolerant things like retin A, AHA and BHA products - but this stuff just broke me out in eczema
- the price - you can get similar products for a much much lower price.
- stability - even if you keep this in the fridge, after 3 months it is going to start breaking down, particularly as you have to open the bottle every time you use it. However a bottle usually would last longer than 3 months

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kiaboo1980 on 1/13/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by kiaboo1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pure witchcraft! Seriously, this serum has given me visible results in a short amount of time. I'm in my mid 30's and starting to notice some changes on my face, most notably the "11" lines. It's not yet an actual wrinkle or deep, it's more like a depression between my eyes, like someone pressed their thumb there. It really annoys me when I take pictures and see that indentation between my eyes. I thought I'd get on the ball and try to prevent any lines from forming by faithfully using Tretinoin and this serum. I'm happy to report that the "depression-pre-wrinkle-thing" between my eyes is less deep! I almost can't believe my own eyes!

A little background on my skincare: I've been using tretinoin off and on since I was 25 years old (for acne), so almost 10 years and various antioxidant serums since the age of 30. I am CONVINCED had I not used it, I would have deep set "11" lines between my eyes (my kids drive me nuts!). But apparently, tretinoin isn't enough on its own; you also NEED antioxidants to complement it. This is where Skinceuticals CE Ferulic comes in. I just wish I had started using it in my 20's!

I have used many antioxidant serums, but this one seems to be the best. It has a water like texture and absorbs into the skin completely without residue. It does make my skin somewhat oily, but nothing a little mattifying moisturizer can't fix. I am very acne prone, but haven't broken out from this. It doesn't tingle or irritate my sensitive skin. I'm seeing more even and taut skin. It smells *exactly* like hotdogs, but it dissipates as soon as it absorbs into the skin. I use it every morning underneath my sunscreen and, of course, use my tretinoin at night!

Here's my Regimen at the moment:
A.M.
Cleanser: Alpha Hydrox Nourishing face wash (cleanse at least 1.5-2 minutes)
Tone: Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion (applied with a cotton round in circular motions)
Serum: Skinceuticals CE Ferulic (3-4 drops on face, neck and chest. Wait 15 minutes)
Moisturizer: Alpha Hydrox Enhanced Cream (Pea sized amount on face and chest)
SPF: EltaMD UV Clear SPF 46 on face, neck, and chest

P.M.

Cleanser: Pond's Luminous Clean Cream Cleanser
Toner: Hada Labo Gokujyun Lotion (Tones and moisturizes my oily skin. Gently pat in to face with hands. Don't use cotton round. wait 20-30 minutes)
Repair: Generic Tretinion cream .05% (Apply pea sized amount to face and chest)

If you're 20 something and reading this, please start using this antioxidant serum, a sunscreen, and tretinoin. It'll save your skin. But if you're like me and in your 30's, it's not too late. The damage isn't so severe that it can't be undone. I'm not sure how well this works on deep set wrinkles, but on my early signs of aging it works great! It's expensive, but it works so it's not a waste of money. I will continue to buy this despite the high cost.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/6/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't comment on results because two weeks after using this my skin broke out really horribly - and I don't normally breakout from many skincare products and always introduce them one at a time, but this caused lumpy bumpy skin that I could not even cover with heavy foundation. I hated the texture - oily, tacky and slick like loosened phlegm - not exactly nice to apply. It smelled incredibly foul as well, and the smell lingered. I thought to pass this on to my sister, who wanted to try it despite my warnings (and has drier skin) but 2 weeks later when she opened it to use, it was already darker and somehow became an even greasier mess. She said it made her face oily. She tried it a total of 2-3 times and broke out too - so be careful no matter what your skin type is, and patch-test this before using it on your whole face. I returned this to the spa where I had bought it from.

I know the CF Phlorectin is recommended for oilier skin but I'm not going to pay over $100 for a vial of what is basically bathtub gin (denatured alcohol is the 3rd ingredient, the first 3-4 ingredients make up the majority of a composition). I can't even understand how a company that claims to be serious about skincare could sell such poorly formulated garbage. I did receive a sample vial of it - it smelled like something was "burning" and my skin became really red upon application, and then finally became flaky, some areas even crusting over - and of course, after such a terrible reaction I had to look up the ingredients. My skin doesn't do well with high alcohol products (fine with witch hazel/toners/serums around 15% alcohol more or less, but once it gets higher my skin gets very reactive, also depends on formula so I just try to avoid now - if you do not have this issue with SD/denatured alcohols the products may work fine for you). In addition to the serums, I've tried several full-size SkinCeuticals products, from sunscreens to moisturisers, and they ALL caused breakouts (and so they sit on my shelf unused, being overpriced dust collectors) so I don't want to try out anything else. I'm not sure why - but sadly not a single product has worked out well for me from SkinCeuticals.

I know this works for some people, it's a good formula ingredient-wise that many seem to get good results from, but I dislike the texture, in addition to the breakouts - and of course it is overpriced. For me, I've found PC's C15 which is 1/3 the cost with similar (but not the same) ingredients, yet no breakouts or clogged pores after 2 months use, no foul odours, with a light water-y texture and pleasant to apply - and the results (glowing clear skin) are great and I get compliments on my skin all the time.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 9/30/2013 10:31:00 AM more reviews by Horny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently tried a sample of this. I used it for a few days before giving up so I cannot comment on whether it has the potential to improve my skin in any way, but I found it too greasy for me and it caused a few spots on my face. I have normal/combo skin so I am surprised that it made my skin so greasy and dull even though I used it sparingly. I am glad I tried a sample first as the price is terribly high! And yes the hot dog smell is strange! There are better C serums out there in my opinion.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slc on 8/8/2013 9:16:00 PM more reviews by slc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First of all, ladies with oily or combo skin are supposed to use the other SkinCeuticals serum (phloretin cf). This one is suggested for drier skin.

After a year of use, then switching to another serum and coming back, I can say this is indispensable if you want to avoid sun damage. While using this I made it through my first summer that my sun spots didn't get worse. (I am a sunscreen fanatic, but my spots still got worse until I started using this.) My skin really does feel protected when I put this on, and it has created a nice clear texture. Most important, it doesn't dry me out at all like some other Vit. C products.

I switched to a less expensive product, and within a couple of months my hyper-pigmentation was noticeably darker and my skin was getting sallow (even with sunscreen). I went back to CE Ferulic and won't be without it again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BodyBar on 7/19/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by BodyBar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a phenomenal product is you have the right skin type for it. I use this in the winter as my skin gets chapped and dry and in the summer i use the phloretin cf. You can not use this product on: acneic, oily or rosacea skin. Skinceuticals has three options for an antioxidant. Serum 10, Phloretin CF and C E Ferulic. Always start with a sample before making your investment. C E Ferulic: For dry, non-aceneic skin Phloretin CF: For oily, acneic or pigmented skin Serum 10: sensitive skin or can be used on all skin types, lower price point and a good starter vitamin c.

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ghostlypale on 6/5/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by ghostlypale

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been using Skinceuticals vitamin C serum for 13 years, switching to the C E Ferulic whenever it came out, at least 4-5 years now. Vitamin C has proven to be a great exfoliating/renewing compound for my sensitive skin, and the only one I can tolerate, and the C E Ferulic formulation is even better. I am not young, as you can see, but I get a crazy amount of compliments on my skin, even from my dermatologist (who is the greatest, not into fads and trends--she now carries this in her office, and I'm taking the credit). This is the perfect morning face prep after a shower. It apparently neutralilzes the free radicals from sun damage, so is perfect for the AM, but it gives the skin a beautiful glow. It skims over my face, never makes anything too dry or too oily. It stings a tiny bit when your skin needs work, but otherwise feels good. The little bottle of magic lasts a good 4-6 months. Worth every penny. I usually use any old garden variety moisturizer at night, or none. Doesn't matter as long as I use this in the morning. Whenever someone younger than me compliments me on my skin (which still amazes me), I pass the information along, thought I should share it here as well.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/28/2013 11:43:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

-skin feels tight
-gives my skin a nice all over glow
-not oily
-expensive
-

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 animhata on 5/28/2013 11:20:00 AM more reviews by animhata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

@PUNKADONA, sorry to disappoint, but your beautiful skin is the result of Diane-35... You can forget about ALL of your regimen and use cleanser and ANY moisturizer ' your skin WILL glow, cos you take those hormones, if not mistaken ' there is 0.03 mg of estradiol - your acne is gone... voila...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LuluBr on 5/25/2013 4:16:00 PM more reviews by LuluBr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Love, love, love this serum. It is very effective. Such a shame it costs an arm and a leg. I have been using ANR by Estee Lauder for +10 years and I was looking for something more effective - the price is going up but the product is fundamentally the same.

I have tried the CE Ferulic as my local pharmacy gave me a sample. What a marvellous product. I have sensitive + dry skin. I do not have wrinkles, just a couple of minor dehydration lines. This serum makes my skin glow. I have not had any tingling reaction and I did not develop any blemishes. Such a shame the packaging is not very good (i hate the glass bottle with the dropper). I have contacted SkinCeuticals and they told me that you do NOT need to put it in the fridge and if the colour of the liquid changes slightly it is still effective.

I wish it was cheaper and that the smell was not so bad (like sausage/hotdogs). Overall I am really impressed. I have found a reliable website that sells this at 25% less that the RRP and the product is genuine. i would never purchase this product on ebay.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products