Stila • Kajal Eye Liner in Onyx • Eyeliner

rated 3.3(205 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Tulip211 on 10/13/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Tulip211

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect. Deep and richly pigmented. Smooth and creamy. Blendable.

I love it for the waterline, or smudged on my upper lashline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 akiraVega on 8/11/2012 4:32:00 PM more reviews by akiraVega

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I tried this I was so happy, finally a very soft eyeliner that is so bold and dark and does not hurt my eyes whatsoever. But then, a few seconds later, -bam- racoon, panda eyes happen. My happiness spiraled down to disappointment and regret in purchasing this eyeline. Although it came as part of the backstage pack so I didn't technically purchase it. The liner is very very soft so when you sharpen it, the liner just disintegrates and pretty much dissolves.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amberw22 on 4/29/2012 8:00:00 AM more reviews by amberw22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I don't understand how anyone can use this product. I used it to line my waterline and yes, it is super soft and very black. Not like any other liner. But then, within about 10 minutes, IT MELTS EVERYWHERE. It gets all under my eyes and messes up my makeup. And I don't mean some smudging, like many eyeliners do, I mean dark black eyeliner all over my eye area. It's horrible. I'm not sure what others are doing to make this work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 merrysunny77 on 3/5/2012 12:10:00 AM more reviews by merrysunny77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I am on the fence with this one..I am Indian and use alot of black/brown smudge cake/kajal type liners on my eyes and love the way they look..

This pencil is great in that it's as dark as a liquid (it's black black) and smudgy (that's how I wear it)...but it's just so messy. Everytime you handle it you have to be so careful you don't get any anywhere or you have a mess on your hand...

I used this only on my upper lash line - I draw a line and smudge. I placed a few dots and use a smudge brush. I use LM cake line to tightline and that doesn't budge ...I have used these a few times for that purpose too but I wouldn't trust it to look like it looks like I apply an hour later. As I have gotten older I don't wear dark colors in my waterline/lower lash line anymore..as it looks too harsh.

I found this much easier to smudge than 24/7 Zero and MAC's engraved - both of which left a small space b/t my upper lashes and the liner, and tugged my eye area. I was never a fan of MAC's smolder...

You have to sharpen often and it does waste product...

Bottom line - I think these were great when they came out (there was nothing like it) But now there is UD perversion, the Milani liquify pencils...and those probably do a similar job with less mess (I have never used either - but in swatches they are both soft and jet black)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 2/22/2012 6:27:00 PM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeliner is very comparable to Urban Decay's 24/7 eyeliner. Urban Decay gives you more pencil for your money, but both Urban Decay's eyeliner & Stila cost the same price. I bought this eyeliner from hearing so many great reviews on it. I liked it, it wasn't the worst eyeliner I've ever used, but it definitely wasn't the best either. This eyeliner doesn't last long without smudging, (especially on the waterline), which is why I would not buy this eyeliner again. I'm still on the hunt for the best eyeliner for my waterline that stays put for a decent amount of time, without smudging. This eyeliner is steeply priced as well, & I don't believe the price for this product matches the quality. I'm willing to pay a good amount of money for anything, if it works & delivers up to its expectations. I've never been cheap for good quality products, I'm a true believer in what you get, is what you pay for. However, for this eyeliner, that's not the case. Urban Decay's 24/7 eyeliner works better than this one, in my opinion. So, if it's between Stila & Urban Decay, I would go with Urban Decay. Although Urban Decay's doesn't last that long on my waterline either, it's still better quality than Stila's. Urban Decay's also gives more intense color. Overall, this wasn't that bad of an eyeliner, but I would not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 11/6/2011 1:26:00 AM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this. I use it to create my smokey eye and it always looks great, however, I never use it on my top lash line. I always use it on bottom lashline and bottom inner. Lasts a long time and love that it's so nice and creamy not dry. It is also very pigmented which I totally love. I own it in onyx but plan to buy all colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mellypmakeup on 10/27/2011 12:08:00 PM more reviews by mellypmakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This eye pencil is extremely creammy and pigmented. yes if put onthe water line and lower lash line it smears/travels BUT it's great for the upper lashline and smudging for a smokey softer look. This is how I use it instead of as an eyeliner for my waterline...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lchoe on 10/27/2011 12:02:00 PM more reviews by lchoe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably the worst eyeliner pencil (smears like crazy after being on the eye for 10 minutes) I have found in my 31 years of wearing eyeliner. The SA at Saks wanted to try this on me and granted she did a good job giving me a sexy, smoky, sultry look at the counter so I bought this in the onyx and indigo color. However after walking around Saks and glancing into a mirror, I was shocked that this had already smeared, BADLY. I immediately went to the ladies' room and wiped off most of this inferior product.


At home, I wanted to give this a chance but trying to sharpen this pencil is frustrating as you can easily sharpen off 20% of the entire pencil trying to get a decent tip! Cute packaging yes (I like Stila eye products in general, ironically their eye shadows have great staying power) but this is a horrible product period.


If you like eye pencils or liners that actually stay ON the eye, these are my favorites (I have used eyeliner since I was 14 years old):
- Tarina Tarantino - Eye Dream Hyperliner (beautiful colors and the BEST long wearing, non-smudging color ever). Easy to achieve a "smokey" look that actually stays on & doesn't veer off & make you look like a mental patient!
- Urban Decay - was my tops until I tried the Tarantino pencil.
- Sephora's Waterproof Eyeliner - 3rd place compared to Tarantino
- Make Up Forever's Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil: pretty good but less rich color and doesn't last as long and smudges more than Tarantino and Urban Decay.
- Maybelline Eyebrow Pencil (but requires a lighter or matches). When I was a teen and sometimes even now, I'd light the tip of the Maybelline brow pencil with a lighter to "lightly" melt the eyeliner, and then when it was ALMOST hard/cool, I'd draw on my upper line and it would "cool" and set perfectly and not budge (this technique does require some skill and a makeup artist taught me this).
- I have tried EVERY pencil out there (Almay, C. Dior, Chanel, E. Arden, Maybelline, Revlon, Stila etc.). None of these compare to Tarantino and Urban Decay.
- Bobbi Brown's Long Wear Gel Eyeliner: this is the longest lasting liner in a pot/cake eyeliner (more smudge proof and doesn't dry out like Stila's Smudge Pot). BB's deep blue "Cobalt Ink" is a GORGEOUS however Tarantino's "Cute Robot" (Deep Blue/Violet is even MORE gorgeous). Fun and glamorous to use, but I find this smudges more than the UD 24/7 Pencil or Tarantino Eye Pencil.
- Liquid liners (whether brush or pen style) simply do not work for me as when my eyes water, I have a horrible huge black smudge on my eye which unless I'm lucky enough to have a friend inform me, I have no idea I'm walking around with a partial black eye (like the Stila Kajal Eye Pencil!).

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lacysilk29 on 10/6/2011 10:32:00 PM more reviews by lacysilk29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I honestly love this product for a smokey effect. It's funny that a lot of people complain that it smudges because it's designed to blend and be smudged. I usually wear this under liquid liner (urban decay) and love the effect. I also have it in tigers eye and it brings out blue eyes very well. It's great alone or for a dramatic look so I definitely love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meowrena on 9/8/2011 1:04:00 AM more reviews by meowrena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Best eyeliner I've ever used! This applies so well and stays on all day.

It's incredibly creamy and pigmented and is the best eyeliner I've ever used on my water line. It is a bit pricey, so I only use it when I'm going somewhere special, or going to be out for a long time.

The only thing I don't like is that it requires sharpening. It applies best when it has a fine point, and in order to keep it sharp, you have to sharpen it frequently. This causes you to lose a lot of the product and go through it quickly.

This product could benefit from being an 'automatic' liner (the kind that you twist and the product comes out the top).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eyeliner products