Clinique • Line Smoothing Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.6(164 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songy67 on 7/8/2013 1:42:00 PM more reviews by songy67

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Quick take: pigmented, peachy, dry finish, settles into fine lines, long-wearing, bad for undereyes, good for blemishes.

I purchased this mainly for the "line-smoothing" claim and my hope was to use it on my dark circles and smooth out the fine lines in the inner corners of my eyes. I'm an NC15 in MAC and I choose the shade 02 Light, which is slightly darker than my skin tone and the pinky-salmon shade is perfect for counteracting the blue of dark circles.

This product has a creamy texture and is extremely pigmented. I was actually a little shocked by how full-coverage this is. You only need a tiny amount. However, as creamy as it is right out of the tube, the finish of this is quite dry. It clings to the delicate skin of my undereye area and actually enhances my fine lines. I look older and more haggard when I wear this - it doesn't matter how much eye cream I slather on underneath. I've also tried this without eye cream and the result is the same dry, cakey hideousness. I've tried it with a concealer brush, with a fluffy brush, and with my fingers - all with the same unflattering result. I've also tried it with a setting powder - which only seemed to make the situation worse.

All that being said, I didn't return this because it turns out to be excellent at concealing acne scars and blemishes. The peachy tones help cancel out that grayness that can result when you try to hide a particularly angry spot. A very thin layer will help eliminate imperfections on your face, and on my oily/ combo skin I find it to be quite long-wearing. It doesn't fade away and it helps to smooth over the area a bit.

I don't like the packaging. It's plain, but cheap-looking. It's simple, but bulky. Also, doe-foot applicator products in a tube are a very unhygienic concept to me so I always apply this by dabbing a bit on the back of my (clean, washed) hand, then using the product that way.

For the price ($16) I don't know what I was expecting... but I personally feel that the name is misleading, wouldn't recommend this, and won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jasmin629 on 4/21/2013 5:55:00 AM more reviews by Jasmin629

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer! I can't live a day without it. I have acne prone skin so i need more coverage. And it has medium to full coverage. Also it makes my lines disappear from my face. It stays all day on my face. The most important thing about this product is it makes you look so HEALTHY AND HAPPY. I sleep 4-5 hrs a day and with this concealer I just glow. And I got so many compliments when i wore this concealer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 4/19/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a concealer that I can rely on. As with most concealer products, it does the job that you want it to do without any perks- its just a reliable product and thats it. The concealer is medium coverage but you can build it nicely to cover blemishes without creasing and cakiness. I like to apply this with my fingers to help it melt into the skin nicely as I do not find that is applies very well with a brush though a sponge works too. As with every concealer, you need to set it with powder and it will last all day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cozzoli on 3/28/2013 7:12:00 AM more reviews by cozzoli

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Use a gentle hand-a small amount over moisturizer will not cake. I use this under eyes and on sides of nose. Been using for 5 years, no complaints.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 midoriclarkbaba on 1/24/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by midoriclarkbaba

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this concealer for blemishes, mostly because when i break out it's not to bad. I used to use this under my eyes, but then I realized it was settling into the small lines under my eyes and in a way made me look even more tired and older, even though I'm still very young! I use this any day i have a blemish and it conceals it very nicely, however you do need powder to set it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelyxuglypie on 11/10/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by lovelyxuglypie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After reading a lot of these reviews, it sounds like I'm using a completely different product! I have super dark, hereditary circles that absolutely must be covered to avoid terrifying anyone I come across. This is the best concealer I've found so far for the job, as many of the solid pot concealers like MAC Studio Finish go on way too thick and cakey while thinner, liquidy concealers don't offer enough coverage. I have yet to experience any of the caking or line-accentuation that so many other people have with this product. With that being said, if you try to use this product completely by itself with no setting powder, it will not be effective. I use it in combination with Kat Von D tattoo concealer and Clinique translucent loose powder. First, I apply a layer of the Kat Von D concealer (something else that isn't particularly good on its own), dust a tiny bit of powder over it, then apply this concealer. Lastly, I use a fluffy brush to dust on a layer of translucent setting powder and the concealer stays put for hours. I will continue to purchase this product for as long as it's available!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 swanvic on 6/19/2012 1:02:00 PM more reviews by swanvic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Taking the price and the product name ("line smoothing") into account, I was expecting much more. I started using this concealer 2 years ago and I was very satisfied as it does a fine job of hiding spots,blemishes and my under-eye circles, even though it felt a little heavy. Ηowever, this year I noticed that lines under my eyes had appeared! THE HORROR!! I don't know if I can blame the concealer, but since, every single time I use it, no matter if I use a little or more, it settles into my thin lines and it looks horrible! Also, I wouldn't recommend it for the upper lid as it tends to crease. All in all, I'm very dissapointed, as it doesn't do what it is supposed to!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AnneMarie13 on 6/3/2012 8:37:00 AM more reviews by AnneMarie13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Good concealer, works good, doesnīt grease, but i donīt know, itīs just that...nothing much to add!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VikiLyn on 4/26/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by VikiLyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This concealer can be your best friend or your worst enemy! Apply a couple of little dots under the eyes and in that shadowy little corner between your eye and nose, blend well by tapping/smoothing with your finger - voila! Really does what it says - smooths fine lines, covers well, looks good. BUT - apply a bit too much, and it settles into EVERY line you never even knew you had and becomes truly hideous. Overall I like it and would buy it again in a pinch, although my favorite concealer remains Origins. This is a close second, though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CStarr5 on 4/21/2012 8:14:00 AM more reviews by CStarr5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It conceals flaws and sun spots very well but, it actually makes the fine lines underneath my eyes look worse than ever! It brings out fine lines that I have never noticed before! I am returning this and going back to my Avon Mark Please Hold Eye Primer/Concealer which works fantastic and only costs about $8.00.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Concealers products