Givenchy • Organza Indecence • Fragrances

rated 4.2(181 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fyankevich on 3/6/2011 10:37:00 PM more reviews by Fyankevich

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a 5ml bottle of Orgaza Indecence. The bottle is definitely a unique shape, which adds to the overall feel of the fragrance. It's rich, deep, and incense-laden. When I sniff my wrist, I want to hug myself. It's so comforting and beautiful! Sometimes I use a vanilla solid perfume as a base to sweeten it up a bit when I'm in the mood for that sort of thing. This scent makes my body completely relax. It's earthy, slightly spicy and sweet, and richly resinous. It makes me feel like a woman, plain and simple.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lauriebeth on 4/22/2010 5:11:00 PM more reviews by lauriebeth

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

The reissued bottle is plain-alot like Hanae Mori Butterfly- But it doesn't fall over like older bottle. They have improved on this slightly, no more powdery drydown, holds up for hours, but almost same top notes. I love that I can wear this for day or night- never offends anyone. I keep using daily even through I have alot of other options to choose from. I gave packaging 4 as it is improvement on old version, but not special. This isn't floral at all, so those that love florals should pass.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DebbieB43 on 10/25/2009 11:29:00 PM more reviews by DebbieB43

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

If you are into spicy woods, creamy ambers, musky undertones with a hint of patch, then this one is a *must sample*.I have managed to get a bottle AND a back-up, as the orginal has been discontinued. This has been re-issued, and I have not sampled the new release. Will be perfect in the cool fall weather and well into winter!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzyqz1970 on 9/3/2009 10:35:00 AM more reviews by suzyqz1970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was browsing through the perfume counter of my local Dillard's when i remembered all the great reviews this perfume has gotten on MUA AND that it was either discontinued or getting super hard to find. After smelling it, I understand now why people love this so much!! This perfume is absolutely perfect for me. It's a scent that is heavy on vanilla and wood with no florals at all to me. If you like vanilla and wood type scents but don't want to smell like either a cupcake or a camp fire then Organza Indecence may be right for you. It's also sophisticated and cozy-not a combination that I smell very often anyway. I agree with 9154mf's review that it kinda reminds me of Chergui too (which I also love) I have to admit, I was greedy and bought their last 2 bottles. The bottle is very pretty too and the perfume lasts quite a while on me. I really hope they aren't discontinuing it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 8/3/2009 11:55:00 PM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, finally got my hands on a bottle of this original, and I must say I am not disappointed and it is worth most of the hype it's given. It is described as a woody-spicy fragrance; the notes include jacaranda wood (aka palisander or Brazilian rosewood), cinnamon, amber, vanilla and patchouli. The opening is a creamy-rich cinnamon pudding underscored by deep woods; as it dries down, the creaminess fades into dry woodsmoke and ambery vanilla with the lightest little dusting of powder. I kind of got the impression that it was sweet gourmand because of the vanilla, but it is a spicy oriental first and foremost, and actually cinammon is alot more prominent than vanilla in here, its more of a vanilla-feel, due to the gourmand association of cinammon, but if you're looking for a dominant vanilla I wouldn't suggest you buy this. Divine!. It also reminds me for some reason of SL Chergui.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dagney on 5/18/2009 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Dagney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I may have found my HG cold weather fragrance. Organza Indecence is the perfect mix of spice, woods, and sweetness for me. When I first tested OI on my wrist, I got mostly the mysterious woody, spicy notes and then a slight bit of the delicious, creamy vanilla on the drydown. After purchasing the bottle and spraying liberally on my body/hair, I find the vanilla notes are much more prominent. This fragrance is just so comforting and I can't see myself ever tiring of it. My review is based on the original formula in the bottle with the lady with the gold hair (I personally love this bottle, btw) and the black box. I would love to try the mythiques version to see if there are any differences in formulation. Too bad it's so hard to find, I guess I'll just have to enjoy while I can.
Edit July 21/09 - I tried the OI in the new mythiques version and it's undeniably OI. I really don't smell a huge difference between the old and new version so when I run out, I'd happily purchase the new bottle.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 2/22/2009 11:06:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Incredible. I love this perfume, I have for years. I don't own a bottle and fear it has been discontinued... but I am searching online and will get it soon. It's warm vanilla with orange and cinnamon. It smells like a gourmand oriental. Warm and rich... sweet enough. It smells divine on skin. The bottle is a little odd, but what's inside is beautiful. Don't let the bottle fool you or influence your idea of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ljanelle on 12/28/2008 9:05:00 PM more reviews by ljanelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Delectable, warm, woody and sweet - great for winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sadbabykitten on 12/13/2008 3:30:00 AM more reviews by sadbabykitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

A woman i knew wore this. It smelled beautiful. But i could never wear it because it will forever remind me of my friend. The only reason i took one lippie off was because sometimes it seemed too strong, but not over powering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 frauschnitzel on 11/25/2008 10:28:00 AM more reviews by frauschnitzel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Alongside Hypnotic Poison, Shalimar and Opium, this was my adolescent fragrance par excellence. A warm, rich, golden, unobnoxiously sweet Ur-Oriental, a then-ideal amalgam of spice and softness. A saucy scent but not a brazenly or hyperbolically sexual one (a la Gaultier Classique et al whose frisson lies heavily in a liberal administration of boozy vanilla, which I needless to say now employ liberally).
As a whimsical teenager with a penchant for overpowering old lady perfumes (Opium and Ysatis, which I still own) and a compulsion to re-read Patrick Susskind, this was the proverbial bee's knees. Suggestive but not damningly explicit (it murmured or ghosted rather than bombastically howled), evocative of dimmed lighting and antique frivolities and decadent faux-bohemia, a scent that lingered on shirt-sleeves and lingerie days after the initial spritz.
I was, of course, and still am (albeit in a different configuration), a hopelessly pretentious and precious wanker.
Now with such a demanding nostalgia for the stuff, I've felt compelled to revisit it, and my first reaction was that I'd received a stale batch (Ebay - could well be).
What had been imprinted upon my precocious teen memory as piquant and lush with spice is now more woodsy and muted. Its sweetness - both the literal and figurative - seems diluted and musty, somehow not quite right.
It's not an unpleasant scent by any means, but it fails to excite, to evoke sensorial lust. That lushly golden cinnamon-vanilla elixir is now stilted, expired, mediocre, only inoffensive.
This shift could well be an alteration of the product itself, a change in own skin chemistry (and whilst it lingered lyrically for days then, I can't get so much of a whiff of it on myself after ten minutes now), or perhaps more indicative of my current adult need for something more libertine, authoritative, opulent, eccentric. I turn thusly to Serge Lutens like a woman with a noble olfactory mission.

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Fragrances products