Cover FX • COVER FX • Foundations

rated 3.7(267 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 11/2/2013 5:12:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Meh, I am just not impressed with this product. Very disappointed since I read some great reviews. I personally found it drying to my skin and looked cakey on my face. I applied it as directed and buffed with a kabuki to give an air brushed look and it just wanted to cake up in splotches. I performed a thorough prep on my face, moisturized well, waited and then primed and waited before applying this foundation...still got poor results.

UPDATE: I will eat crow when I feel I have jumped to a hasty conclusion or for some reason have changed my mind about a product, and let's say that I am pulling feathers out of my mouth in regards to FX Cover Foundation! I got this out of my drawer on a whim and applied with my Beauty Blender sponge and let's just say it was AMAZING. It wore well all day without sinking into my pores, the finish was natural without looking caked, splotched or gummy. The trick to this foundation is definitely in the application.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 herbst3 on 10/16/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by herbst3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I tried for 2 weeks. Super clogging.

As others say, it is thick, but I applied it with a flat brush and it looked nice. Set with a powder and I was good for the day.

I consider clogged pores a deal breaker, so I won't buy again.

G20, nice match

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lulu2222 on 10/16/2013 9:00:00 PM more reviews by lulu2222

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This morning I went to Sephora to have the Color Match process done on my face. I'm kind of tired of ending up with a foundation purchase that is just slightly off. I have dry skin with a few light brown spots and the thinning that comes with age. The very helpful sales rep applied CoverFX P20 to my face (after spot testing a few other products). The coverage is excellent. I am really happy to find that at the end of the day, the cream has not settled and does not look flakey. That has been my problem with other cream foundations. (My dry skin wins the battle over the foundation.) I did buy the CoverFX. It is kind of pricey but what can one do. As for packaging, I gave this only four lippies because there is no applicator. I do realize one is supposed to buy the $40 brush applicator but even an included sponge would be nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angel0225 on 10/5/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by angel0225

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and this just made me more shiny throught the day. As far as for coverage I can't complain because it covered all my rosacea around my nose. I also find that this perfect for birth mark coverage too. I think it would work better on people with dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heyannette on 6/9/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by heyannette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

DESCRIPTION OF ME ~ Very warm, yellowy complexion with a tendency to get redness on my cheeks and around my nose, mid 30s. MAC C2/NC20 Large clog prone pores, oily skin which is also sensitive, blackheads, occasional simple acne.
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF PRODUCT ~ thick, oil-free heavily silicone based, opaque cream, high coverage foundation with SPF 30.
PACKAGING ~ Compact with a separate compartment for the latex-free sponge which is included with the product. Durable, pretty steel grey plastic, big high quality mirror.
CONSISTENCY/TEXTURE ~ Thick and opaque cream.
APPLICATION ~ Cover FX recommends using their Cream Foundation Brush, it is pretty cool but at $40 plus tax CAD I didn't pick one up. I use the latex sponge included or my fingers then buff with a Jane Iredale flocked sponge, or I use my MAC Foundation brush. Either way, it's not very blendable unless I use a skin smoothing treatment or primer. I does take some time. The cool thing is the shade matches my skin so.bloody.perfectly I can use it as a concealer dot on my skin and without blending it just disappears. But, to use it all over my face it takes some time because the cream is so...stiff and hard to blend.
FINISH ~ Dewy for sure but not oily at all, I set it with powder. I'm completely blown away by the lack of grease in this foundation, it's just as matte looking and light feeling as my fav liquid foundation. The is no oil in this foundation, most high coverage pot foundations do have mineral oil in them at least. I'm so glad Cover FX has seen the value in an oil-free foundation like this. It is totally natural looking, not like other creme foundations. Most creme foundations I've tried are thick, sticky and greasy - not so with Cover FX.
SHADES ~ There is a shade for everyone on the planet - their are 40 shades to chose from. I'm a MAC NC20 and M20 is perfect for me. The closest match in a foundation I've ever tried and I have tried a lot.
COVERAGE ~ This foundation has great coverage, it is full. It might be tad less so than MAC's full coverage, pretty equal to Studio Tech.
STAYING POWER ~ This stuff is amazing, it lasts as long as an oil-free liquid foundation as long as I set it with powder.
SCENT ~ Unscented, yay!
OVERALL ~ I don't use it daily anymore as I'm more interested in a transfer-free foundation like a drying liquid. But, for concealing or a night out where I want glamour, this stuff is a lot of fun to use! I do not think that anyone should really consider this a daily makeup unless you have to hide tattoos for your job at Hooters or you wedding or w/e reason people hide their tattoos for. :P
Here's the product info from the Cover FX website. www.coverfx.com Great website, tonnes of info.
Thank you Seclusae2 giving me permission to use your great reviewing format.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Denisedd on 5/13/2013 12:25:00 AM more reviews by Denisedd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

WORST PRODUCT EVER FOR OILY SKIN

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 comet1 on 4/26/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by comet1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for the cover fx cream foundation. I have fair skin with cool undertones, and the P20 shade is perfect for me. This stuff is great, but you have to use a primer, I use their anti aging primer. You should also use their cream foundation brush to get the best results. Make sure you only use a little bit and blend with the brush!! After you have the desired coverage, dust the cover fx setting powder over it, and voila! This foundation lasts all day for me, does not settle into fine lines or pores and does not transfer much if at all. It also does not look cakey or overly done and it covers what ever I need to cover.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RagDollDance on 4/24/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by RagDollDance

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

For over ten years I wore MAC studio fix. After numerous product changes I made the switch to MakeupForever DuoMat, which I adored. That was then discontinued, and I tried the new Profinish. I initially liked it, but after two weeks, it started giving me whiteheads (which I rarely ever get- my skincare routine is meticulous). Anywho- I have now started using Cover F/X Pressed Mineral Foundation. And I really like it. It's like the studiofix of old, so no complaints there. Coverage is good, it doesn't cause irritation or breakouts, and seems to last rather well. All in all, I believe it is going to be my new go-to product :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 buttons723 on 4/24/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by buttons723

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

If you have oily skin, do yourself a favor and skip this foundation. It has a satin finish (should have been a red flag for me since I have very oily skin), and less than two hours after applying this, my skin looked awful as it was shiny and slightly orange from oxidation. This stuff transfers and moves around on my face really easily, and by midday I noticed patches of product where it had worn off. It does not have the staying power or matte finish like ELDW, which is my fave foundation so far. For reference, I use Mac nc 25-30 and shade 30N in this foundation matched me well until it oxidized.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JenniferLorraine on 4/21/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by JenniferLorraine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Terrible for oily skin. It looked good for about 20 minutes. It is too wet, it slides off, wipes off, and creases and settles into every nook and cranny! I was so disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Foundations products