Cover FX COVER FX

3.7

267 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Actives: Octinoxate 7.5%, Octocrylene 5%, Oxybenzone 2% Ingredients: Diisostearyl Malate, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Synthetic Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, Magnesium Silicate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprate, Tricontanyl PVP, Tocopherol, Bisabolol, Cholesteryl Hydroxystearate, Triethoxycaprylyl Silane, Dehydroacetic Acid, BHT May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288).


on 12/1/2013 10:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Me: combination skin, slightly dehydrated.
I went to House of Fraser interested in buying cream foundations in lighter and much darker shades than my skin for face contouring. These foundations are excellent for that have excellent texture for mixing, blending and getting that amazing contoured look you want to go for (hint: this is more for photoshoots and special events than an everyday look).

Now, why did I give it 2 points overall rating? First, it is a huge, disastrous no-no for oily skin, or dry skin. If you put on foundation (any type) and your skin looks flakey, then make sure you are drinking a lot of water, and using the right moisturizer daily! This foundation is not for you! However, they don't say that. And, so, they trick people into buying their product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/2/2013 5:12:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Meh, I am just not impressed with this product. Very disappointed since I read some great reviews. I personally found it drying to my skin and looked cakey on my face. I applied it as directed and buffed with a kabuki to give an air brushed look and it just wanted to cake up in splotches. I performed a thorough prep on my face, moisturized well, waited and then primed and waited before applying this foundation...still got poor results.

UPDATE: I will eat crow when I feel I have jumped to a hasty conclusion or for some reason have changed my mind about a product, and let's say that I am pulling feathers out of my mouth in regards to FX Cover Foundation! I got this out of my drawer on a whim and applied with my Beauty Blender sponge and let's just say it was AMAZING. It wore well all day without sinking into my pores, the finish was natural without looking caked, splotched or gummy. The trick to this foundation is definitely in the application.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2013 10:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I tried for 2 weeks. Super clogging.

As others say, it is thick, but I applied it with a flat brush and it looked nice. Set with a powder and I was good for the day.

I consider clogged pores a deal breaker, so I won't buy again.

G20, nice match


on 10/16/2013 9:00:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This morning I went to Sephora to have the Color Match process done on my face. I'm kind of tired of ending up with a foundation purchase that is just slightly off. I have dry skin with a few light brown spots and the thinning that comes with age. The very helpful sales rep applied CoverFX P20 to my face (after spot testing a few other products). The coverage is excellent. I am really happy to find that at the end of the day, the cream has not settled and does not look flakey. That has been my problem with other cream foundations. (My dry skin wins the battle over the foundation.) I did buy the CoverFX. It is kind of pricey but what can one do. As for packaging, I gave this only four lippies because there is no applicator. I do realize one is supposed to buy the $40 brush applicator but even an included sponge would be nice.


on 10/5/2013 11:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have combination skin and this just made me more shiny throught the day. As far as for coverage I can't complain because it covered all my rosacea around my nose. I also find that this perfect for birth mark coverage too. I think it would work better on people with dry skin.


on 6/9/2013 12:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

DESCRIPTION OF ME ~ Very warm, yellowy complexion with a tendency to get redness on my cheeks and around my nose, mid 30s. MAC C2/NC20 Large clog prone pores, oily skin which is also sensitive, blackheads, occasional simple acne.
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF PRODUCT ~ thick, oil-free heavily silicone based, opaque cream, high coverage foundation with SPF 30.
PACKAGING ~ Compact with a separate compartment for the latex-free sponge which is included with the product. Durable, pretty steel grey plastic, big high quality mirror.
CONSISTENCY/TEXTURE ~ Thick and opaque cream.
APPLICATION ~ Cover FX recommends using their Cream Foundation Brush, it is pretty cool but at $40 plus tax CAD I didn't pick one up. I use the latex sponge included or my fingers then buff with a Jane Iredale flocked sponge, or I use my MAC Foundation brush. Either way, it's not very blendable unless I use a skin smoothing treatment or primer. I does take some time. The cool thing is the shade matches my skin so.bloody.perfectly I can use it as a concealer dot on my skin and without blending it just disappears. But, to use it all over my face it takes some time because the cream is so...stiff and hard to blend.
FINISH ~ Dewy for sure but not oily at all, I set it with powder. I'm completely blown away by the lack of grease in this foundation, it's just as matte looking and light feeling as my fav liquid foundation. The is no oil in this foundation, most high coverage pot foundations do have mineral oil in them at least. I'm so glad Cover FX has seen the value in an oil-free foundation like this. It is totally natural looking, not like other creme foundations. Most creme foundations I've tried are thick, sticky and greasy - not so with Cover FX.
SHADES ~ There is a shade for everyone on the planet - their are 40 shades to chose from. I'm a MAC NC20 and M20 is perfect for me. The closest match in a foundation I've ever tried and I have tried a lot.
COVERAGE ~ This foundation has great coverage, it is full. It might be tad less so than MAC's full coverage, pretty equal to Studio Tech.
STAYING POWER ~ This stuff is amazing, it lasts as long as an oil-free liquid foundation as long as I set it with powder.
SCENT ~ Unscented, yay!
OVERALL ~ I don't use it daily anymore as I'm more interested in a transfer-free foundation like a drying liquid. But, for concealing or a night out where I want glamour, this stuff is a lot of fun to use! I do not think that anyone should really consider this a daily makeup unless you have to hide tattoos for your job at Hooters or you wedding or w/e reason people hide their tattoos for. :P
Here's the product info from the Cover FX website. www.coverfx.com Great website, tonnes of info.
Thank you Seclusae2 giving me permission to use your great reviewing format.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2013 12:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

WORST PRODUCT EVER FOR OILY SKIN


on 4/26/2013 2:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This review is for the cover fx cream foundation. I have fair skin with cool undertones, and the P20 shade is perfect for me. This stuff is great, but you have to use a primer, I use their anti aging primer. You should also use their cream foundation brush to get the best results. Make sure you only use a little bit and blend with the brush!! After you have the desired coverage, dust the cover fx setting powder over it, and voila! This foundation lasts all day for me, does not settle into fine lines or pores and does not transfer much if at all. It also does not look cakey or overly done and it covers what ever I need to cover.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2013 11:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

For over ten years I wore MAC studio fix. After numerous product changes I made the switch to MakeupForever DuoMat, which I adored. That was then discontinued, and I tried the new Profinish. I initially liked it, but after two weeks, it started giving me whiteheads (which I rarely ever get- my skincare routine is meticulous). Anywho- I have now started using Cover F/X Pressed Mineral Foundation. And I really like it. It's like the studiofix of old, so no complaints there. Coverage is good, it doesn't cause irritation or breakouts, and seems to last rather well. All in all, I believe it is going to be my new go-to product :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2013 11:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

If you have oily skin, do yourself a favor and skip this foundation. It has a satin finish (should have been a red flag for me since I have very oily skin), and less than two hours after applying this, my skin looked awful as it was shiny and slightly orange from oxidation. This stuff transfers and moves around on my face really easily, and by midday I noticed patches of product where it had worn off. It does not have the staying power or matte finish like ELDW, which is my fave foundation so far. For reference, I use Mac nc 25-30 and shade 30N in this foundation matched me well until it oxidized.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top