Unlisted Brand • Instyle Fragrance • Fragrances

rated 4.2(60 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lulu56 on 3/5/2013 2:19:00 PM more reviews by lulu56

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have seven of these. Walgreens was having a sale Buy one get one free, and bought Cashmere Mist and Chanel #5 for under eight dollars. I didn't get Angel because I have already a huge bottle of the original and the fake Angel doesn't have the chocolately note that shows up on my skin. The others I own were Opium, Obsession, Beautiful, Acqua Di Gio and Sensuous (sp?) I'm not a perfume snob, I have over 100+ frags, both drugstore and high-end. I tend to like spicy notes, roses and tuberose/gardenia. I didn't like Sensuous, too woody, Obsession too harsh, sour notes anyone? Beautiful is pretty but didn't last long, Acqua di Gio is a tad too sweet and cloying, gave that one to my mother, Opium is the lighter version of the original which I also have, (before reformulation) Chanel #5 is very light, not long lasting but it didn't have those sour notes in the bottom that I don't like in the original, and Cashmere Mist is almost spot on, just a little sweeter and the one most long lasting on my skin. I tested the two new ones out, Flowerbomb and Gucci Guilty. Flowerbomb is waaaay too sweet and cloying, couldn't wash it off fast enough with a baby wipe in the car. Gucci Guilty is meh. Walgreens is clearancing out most of the others, like the body sprays and some of the men's versions, so get these while they are still on the shelves.

Edit 6-2-13: I bought J'Adore and loved it. It is spot on and long lasting. I again tried Flowerbomb and while it is strong in the beginning, really, I finally let it dry down , those vanilla notes finally came thru and bought that too. The Chanel Chance tender was too light and fleeting and it didn't sit well on me, too bug spray smell for me, lol.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amirakall on 3/1/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by amirakall

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Does anybody know where I can buy these InStyle fragrances in Canada?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 12/19/2012 3:37:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my all-time favorite scents is Clinique Happy, but I really burn through it. I ran out and I saw this was on sale at CVS and it smells just like the original so I picked it up. The only problem is it just doesn't last nearly as long as the original. But heck, it was $4.99.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/8/2012 2:45:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

First a quick PSA: I did some research and learned that the "Instyle" products in the rectangular bottles, which are sold at Walgreens, are made by the same company (and are identical to) the "Perfect Scents" products in the rounded bottles, sold at CVS.


OK, I admit it, I LOVE these. Sometimes better than the originals! They are an amazing bargain-- much better quality than Parfums de Coeur Designer Imposters or the myriad copycat perfume oils being hawked online. They are EDTs in strength, so 3-4 spritzes is a good dose, but they stay true throughout the day and last well.


If you're an open-minded perfume lover and/or have read any of Turin and Sanchez' guides to perfumes, you know that sometimes even a very costly fragrance can be cheap-smelling or badly composed, while a humble drugstore scent in a fugly bottle can be a sleeper hit. If you can let that spirit carry you past your prejudice against knockoff perfumes, then run-don't-walk to the drugstore and give this brand a spritz.


I have 7 of these, which I got on sale for a grand total of $35. The Angel and Opium are my faves-- they really capture the character of those monumental Orientals spot-on, while being lighter and more wearable. For instance, the Opium has all the fiery, dry spices and none of the indoles (fecal/animalistic notes); the Angel amps up the luscious gourmands and cool patchouli and bypasses the sour, armpitty notes. If you wear these, no one will know they're knockoffs and you are likely to get the comment, "I don't usually like Angel/Opium but you wear it well." The Cashmere mist is also great, a bit smoother and sweeter and all the better for it!


The others I have are all good likenesses too, but I don't like them as much because it turns out I don't like the originals, either. I got the knockoffs of Juicy Couture, White Diamonds and Light Blue as a low-budget way to sample new scents. JC was too much tuberose, WD was too soapy, and LB was a dull lemon-cedar affair-- but I had the exact same complaints when I tested the real deals!


I did take off 1 Lippie for a few less-than-stellar items in the lineup. The Pleasures, Beautiful and Chanel #5 versions fall short and smell flat. But for the most part, not only do the InStyle products smell real, they also smell GOOD at any price!




13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jrm1862 on 7/17/2012 2:34:00 AM more reviews by jrm1862

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have this in Light Blue and it smells amazing! And the value is awesome. I can't believe how inexpensive this is and it smells so similar to the real thing. I had a sample of the real thing and was going to buy it but then I bought this in the meantime. I will not buy the original after all because this is a super good dupe. This lasts a long time on me whereas the real thing faded much faster. Can't wait to try the others.

Edit: 2/17 I bought a big bottle of the real thing and it lasts much longer and smells stronger. I'm downgrading this to a 3; however I still like it, but not as good as the original.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 7/1/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Cheap, quality, and simple, I couldn't ask for more. I discovered these fragrances about a year ago in Walgreens just browsing and picked up the dupe for Estee Lauder's Sensuous. I was so impressed with the quality and lasting power of this copy that i went back and tried several other fragrances. Walgreens has sales on these occasionally and I found many different ones for buy one get one free!
I picked up D & G Light Blue, Acqua di Gio by Giorgio Armani, Cashmere Mist by Donna Karan, Glow by JLo, Victoria Secret's Heavenly, Ed Hardy, Daisy by Marc Jacobs, Be Delicious by Donna Karan, Envy Me by Gucci, and Miss Dior Cherie by Dior. I wish they would make one for GIORGIO ARMANI Armani Code Pour Femme!
The cost is around 11.99 for the 3.4 oz. bottles of spray cologne and 7.47 for the sheer body mist. These are in simple glass bottles for the cologne and plastic ones for the mist.
Years ago I would never buy a dupe for fragrance because I never liked the artificial cheap smell they had, but these are so unbelievably good for dupes, I can't get over it. Reminds me of when i rediscovered WnW!
My favorites are by far Light Blue (I picked up 2 bottles), and Acqua di Gio (2 bottles as well), and Heavenly by Victoria's Secret. I didn't like Be Delicious, but then again I smelled the real one later and didn't like it either. I also didn't like Daisy by Marc Jacobs, but again, the real one didn't appeal much either.
In all, the dupes smell so much like the original that I can't tell them apart too well. I use them for everyday and use my real D & G Light Blue for times when I need the real thing.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* str8thuggin on 6/26/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by str8thuggin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

These are on sale bogo free at Walgreens this week (week of 6/24/12) and after looking at the reviews, decided to take the plunge. I like fragrance! Two of my favorites are Angel and Opium so I picked up these. I agree with other reviewers that these are like light versions of the originals. Some say that they can't tell the difference between these and the originals, but I definitely can. Not bad, but definitely not the same. I'm enjoying these to put on before bed, when using my real stuff would be a waste. They don't last more than a couple of hours, but that's ok at bedtime. These would also be good for work where the real stuff might be too much. Really more like body sprays than cologne, but serve a purpose and I really like them, even if I do keep them hidden in my medicine cabinet.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marhope78 on 5/15/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by marhope78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently bought the Instyle impression of Angel and absolutely love this scent. To me, it's definitely a lighter, more wearable version of the original but still lasts all day on me. I've gotten many compliments and never tell my secret, lol. Basically this smells just like what I have to wait hours to get from the original (which is great.... but way too strong at first, IMO). Yes, yes, yes.... I would definitely purchase again!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JChrisBee on 2/11/2012 6:33:00 PM more reviews by JChrisBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased Instyle's Impression of Miss Dior Cherie body spray at Walgreens for $7.99. I already own and regularly use the name brand fragrance and was shocked by how similar the "imposter" body spray smells. It lasts a long time, is light, un-offensive and has no initial alcohol smell and most importantly it doesn't give me a headache. I am very pleased with the fragrance itself and I am extremely picky about what I put on my body. For those of you that love Miss Cherie, you may know that the formula has changed. Well, the body spray to me, smells like the original most loved formula. It's a little sweeter and less floral. I really like it and still think it will layer nicely with the Dior's lotion and edp if I need to make it a little stronger.

I also tested the Chance knock-off. It was, to me, not like the original at all. It is more masculine and smelled pretty awful. I agree with another reviewer that it is hit or miss, but overall these dupes are good - just make sure to test them first.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allureveil on 12/19/2011 7:51:00 PM more reviews by allureveil

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Instyle Frangrances impression of White Linen has been a favorite in my collection, but (horrors) Walgreen's is no longer stocking these perfumes in my neighborhood store locations, and although most are still available via the Walgreen's web site, alas, White Linen is sold out. I have sent my e-mail to them on the web, begging them to stock Instyle Frangrances' White Linen, and all the other perfume impressions as well. Update: So far, no luck with finding any distributors for InStyle version of White Linen. Boo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products