Unlisted Brand • Instyle Fragrance • Fragrances

rated 4.2(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Coronet on 7/23/2013 6:20:00 PM more reviews by Coronet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Hey guys, my review is for "Angel" from Perfect Scents which is the same thing as Instyle Fragrance. These were on clearance at the local Rite Aid for $4.49 down from $9.99. I decided to give Angel a go since I like Thierry Mugler's Angel, but find that real Angel is a power bomb that cannot be worn in most social settings due to how shockingly overly powerful it is. This impression scent is pretty much spot on for Angel. It smells like a subdued, more people-friendly Angel. Honestly, I almost like it more because I can wear it to the office without making my coworkers want to hose me down (think the Sex Panther scene from Anchor Man) and at a fraction of the cost. It lasts quite a few hours, projects a good foot or two, and smells quite close to the original.

I also tried InStyle's new designer mist for Miss Dior Cherie that was SPOT ON for the 2005 version of Miss Dior Cherie (which I own). I'm still sniffing my wrist in awe of how good this mist is at replicating the scent of the original. I can't speak for the longevity comparison (the real MDC lasts for 12+ hrs), but this is a cheap body mist for $6 that you can go nuts with and respray. The real Miss Dior Cherie costs quite a bit more.

Overall, I am very, very impressed with these knock-off fragrances. I will be sampling more in the future to compare to the real versions, many of which I own:

Dior Miss Dior Cherie: A+ scent replica
Thierry Mugler Angel: B+ scent replica, A+ for toning down a sillage beast
Chanel Chance: C+, didn't smell nearly as powerful as the real thing
Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy: F, didn't smell like Viva la Juicy at all to me.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldenjoy on 6/21/2013 11:26:00 PM more reviews by goldenjoy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just got back tonight from Walgreens and was able to sample quite a few of these fragrances. I sprayed them all on both arms and an hour or so later I can tell you that the standout for me is the Flowerbomb. It is so close to the original it is in my opinion ridiculous to spend the extra money before trying this version first. I have owned the original so I can tell you this version smells exactly like it on me. At first spray all I get is the sweetness and some of the slight spice. Then it mellows more into the floral all while retaining that sweetness until the drydown. So far it has been very smooth smelling, not at all what I expected a copy to be, none of that "cheap" chemical smell sometimes you get with the impressions.
I also tried their version of Chance Eau Tendre and unfortunately its a miss for me. Same with Dior J'adore. I think this line might have a challenge with florals. The florals on me go from smelling similar to the originals to cheap laundry dryer sheets over time.
The DG Light Blue impression smelled great, as did the Gucci Guilty one and Chanel Bleu de Chanel one. However, I don't own the originals so I couldn't tell you nuances. Overall impressed though. Would love to pick up more if they go on sale!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 3/27/2013 3:35:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I agree that some of these are a hit and miss, but a good starting point to test out fragrances when you are on a budget. I have bought Cashmere Mist (liked it), Light Blue (cloying), and Michael Kors (ok) in the past. I recently picked up Flowerbomb and found Instyle's version to be sweeter and lighter but lovely on my skin. When I save up money I'll get the real thing since I want more spice notes, but this comes very close to my nose. It also had very good sillage and I received very nice compliments when I wore it. I want to try the Chanel Chance eau de Tendre dupe next and will update on my experience with that soon. Update 5/15/13: Well I finally bought the Chanel Chance Eau de Tendre and Victoria's Secret Bombshell fragrances. I don't own the originals so I can't compare. The Chance Eau de Tendre starts off very green, then mellows out to a bright, lemony fragrance with perhaps a grapefruit note. It sort of reminds me of Lush's Lemony Flutter cuticle cream. I don't really get much of the florals or powder notes that I once smelled in a magazine strip. I think this will be one of those fragrances I will have to be in a mood for. The Bombshell fragrance was my favorite of the two. It opens with a tropical medley of fruits, though the pineapple note dominates on my skin. It then moves on to the florals. I'm not really sure, but I think I smell a bit of jasmine. I am considering getting the real thing after buying Instyle's version.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vanillaflower77 on 3/22/2013 9:39:00 PM more reviews by Vanillaflower77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

i own flowerbomb the original one ($160 for 3.4) and I was shocked that this smelled the same. I could not believe it. It is spot on.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lulu56 on 3/5/2013 2:19:00 PM more reviews by lulu56

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have seven of these. Walgreens was having a sale Buy one get one free, and bought Cashmere Mist and Chanel #5 for under eight dollars. I didn't get Angel because I have already a huge bottle of the original and the fake Angel doesn't have the chocolately note that shows up on my skin. The others I own were Opium, Obsession, Beautiful, Acqua Di Gio and Sensuous (sp?) I'm not a perfume snob, I have over 100+ frags, both drugstore and high-end. I tend to like spicy notes, roses and tuberose/gardenia. I didn't like Sensuous, too woody, Obsession too harsh, sour notes anyone? Beautiful is pretty but didn't last long, Acqua di Gio is a tad too sweet and cloying, gave that one to my mother, Opium is the lighter version of the original which I also have, (before reformulation) Chanel #5 is very light, not long lasting but it didn't have those sour notes in the bottom that I don't like in the original, and Cashmere Mist is almost spot on, just a little sweeter and the one most long lasting on my skin. I tested the two new ones out, Flowerbomb and Gucci Guilty. Flowerbomb is waaaay too sweet and cloying, couldn't wash it off fast enough with a baby wipe in the car. Gucci Guilty is meh. Walgreens is clearancing out most of the others, like the body sprays and some of the men's versions, so get these while they are still on the shelves.

Edit 6-2-13: I bought J'Adore and loved it. It is spot on and long lasting. I again tried Flowerbomb and while it is strong in the beginning, really, I finally let it dry down , those vanilla notes finally came thru and bought that too. The Chanel Chance tender was too light and fleeting and it didn't sit well on me, too bug spray smell for me, lol.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amirakall on 3/1/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by amirakall

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Does anybody know where I can buy these InStyle fragrances in Canada?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 12/19/2012 3:37:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my all-time favorite scents is Clinique Happy, but I really burn through it. I ran out and I saw this was on sale at CVS and it smells just like the original so I picked it up. The only problem is it just doesn't last nearly as long as the original. But heck, it was $4.99.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/8/2012 2:45:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

First a quick PSA: I did some research and learned that the "Instyle" products in the rectangular bottles, which are sold at Walgreens, are made by the same company (and are identical to) the "Perfect Scents" products in the rounded bottles, sold at CVS.


OK, I admit it, I LOVE these. Sometimes better than the originals! They are an amazing bargain-- much better quality than Parfums de Coeur Designer Imposters or the myriad copycat perfume oils being hawked online. They are EDTs in strength, so 3-4 spritzes is a good dose, but they stay true throughout the day and last well.


If you're an open-minded perfume lover and/or have read any of Turin and Sanchez' guides to perfumes, you know that sometimes even a very costly fragrance can be cheap-smelling or badly composed, while a humble drugstore scent in a fugly bottle can be a sleeper hit. If you can let that spirit carry you past your prejudice against knockoff perfumes, then run-don't-walk to the drugstore and give this brand a spritz.


I have 7 of these, which I got on sale for a grand total of $35. The Angel and Opium are my faves-- they really capture the character of those monumental Orientals spot-on, while being lighter and more wearable. For instance, the Opium has all the fiery, dry spices and none of the indoles (fecal/animalistic notes); the Angel amps up the luscious gourmands and cool patchouli and bypasses the sour, armpitty notes. If you wear these, no one will know they're knockoffs and you are likely to get the comment, "I don't usually like Angel/Opium but you wear it well." The Cashmere mist is also great, a bit smoother and sweeter and all the better for it!


The others I have are all good likenesses too, but I don't like them as much because it turns out I don't like the originals, either. I got the knockoffs of Juicy Couture, White Diamonds and Light Blue as a low-budget way to sample new scents. JC was too much tuberose, WD was too soapy, and LB was a dull lemon-cedar affair-- but I had the exact same complaints when I tested the real deals!


I did take off 1 Lippie for a few less-than-stellar items in the lineup. The Pleasures, Beautiful and Chanel #5 versions fall short and smell flat. But for the most part, not only do the InStyle products smell real, they also smell GOOD at any price!




15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jrm1862 on 7/17/2012 2:34:00 AM more reviews by jrm1862

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have this in Light Blue and it smells amazing! And the value is awesome. I can't believe how inexpensive this is and it smells so similar to the real thing. I had a sample of the real thing and was going to buy it but then I bought this in the meantime. I will not buy the original after all because this is a super good dupe. This lasts a long time on me whereas the real thing faded much faster. Can't wait to try the others.

Edit: 2/17 I bought a big bottle of the real thing and it lasts much longer and smells stronger. I'm downgrading this to a 3; however I still like it, but not as good as the original.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 7/1/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Cheap, quality, and simple, I couldn't ask for more. I discovered these fragrances about a year ago in Walgreens just browsing and picked up the dupe for Estee Lauder's Sensuous. I was so impressed with the quality and lasting power of this copy that i went back and tried several other fragrances. Walgreens has sales on these occasionally and I found many different ones for buy one get one free!
I picked up D & G Light Blue, Acqua di Gio by Giorgio Armani, Cashmere Mist by Donna Karan, Glow by JLo, Victoria Secret's Heavenly, Ed Hardy, Daisy by Marc Jacobs, Be Delicious by Donna Karan, Envy Me by Gucci, and Miss Dior Cherie by Dior. I wish they would make one for GIORGIO ARMANI Armani Code Pour Femme!
The cost is around 11.99 for the 3.4 oz. bottles of spray cologne and 7.47 for the sheer body mist. These are in simple glass bottles for the cologne and plastic ones for the mist.
Years ago I would never buy a dupe for fragrance because I never liked the artificial cheap smell they had, but these are so unbelievably good for dupes, I can't get over it. Reminds me of when i rediscovered WnW!
My favorites are by far Light Blue (I picked up 2 bottles), and Acqua di Gio (2 bottles as well), and Heavenly by Victoria's Secret. I didn't like Be Delicious, but then again I smelled the real one later and didn't like it either. I also didn't like Daisy by Marc Jacobs, but again, the real one didn't appeal much either.
In all, the dupes smell so much like the original that I can't tell them apart too well. I use them for everyday and use my real D & G Light Blue for times when I need the real thing.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products