Instyle Fragrance

4.2

66 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 1/31/2014 7:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

For an impulse, drugstore purchase, I am so pleasantly surprised!

At my local Walgreen's they have a little fragrance "bar" of this brand, In Style. I had never heard of it or seen it anywhere else. My Walgreen's has about 8-10 different scents at any given time and they add new ones every few months or so. I know I have smelled the original, DKNY Be Delicious before, but I had forgotten how much I like it. This is very fresh, bright and very balanced. It reminds me of springtime but I wear it year round. The last time I was at a department store, I saw the original Be Delicious tester and put some on. The In Style version is pretttty close and I like it a little better because it goes on a "lighter."

The In Style line of scents is a modern reincarnation of Designer Impostors of my youth but all grown up. There are classics like Chanel No 5 and Poison but newer scents too, like Marc Jacobs Daisy, Viktor & Rolf Flower Bomb and Gucci Guilty. This is an EDT, not a body spray, and a 3.5 oz bottle is only $12!! For fragrance, that's insane!!! It doesn't last as long as the real thing but for the price, I don't mind reapplying if I have to. This is a very nice scent and an amazing price so I will definitely repurchase this and other versions of In Style fragrance.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 1/25/2014 6:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Well, I am in utter shock....my signature perfume is Alien by Thierry Mugler. I know it's not for everyone but I love it and it is like love potion number 99 to my husband (which I find QUITE amusing). In a side by side test, comparing depth, lasting power etc....this Instyle version could fool anyone! Alien is not an everyday perfume because it is a real power house. The Instyle version smells EXACTLY the same but I would call it a light version like an edt vs. an edp. So this one allows me to wear the Alien I love so dear daily without the heaviness and expense and save my real bottle for special occasions! Yay! As a side note, they have slashed the price at my local Walgreens for Alien to 6 bucks...I bought them out! I could wear any perfume I wanted at any expense I wanted but Momma didn't raise no fool...and good luck trying to fool people these aren't the real deal.

Edit: I have since purchased Angel, Tresor and Flowerbomb ( for my daughter) and I continue to be impressed. I also have noticed that you gets a longer lasting effect if you spray some on your shirt. It washes out.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2013 8:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

A few months back I found a bottle of the instyle fragrance on the back shelf at Walgreens for $1.97 in there impression of Juicy Couture in Couture Couture & figured why not. I have no idea what the real Couture Couture smells like, but I love this one! I can't pinpoint the scent, but it smells lovely, like some type of flower but not an over kill. I only used 2 quick sprits & after hours of shopping & being outside its still fresh. This has lasted longer then any other scent I own. I would deff buy in other scents if I were to find some I like.


on 7/23/2013 6:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Hey guys, my review is for "Angel" from Perfect Scents which is the same thing as Instyle Fragrance. These were on clearance at the local Rite Aid for $4.49 down from $9.99. I decided to give Angel a go since I like Thierry Mugler's Angel, but find that real Angel is a power bomb that cannot be worn in most social settings due to how shockingly overly powerful it is. This impression scent is pretty much spot on for Angel. It smells like a subdued, more people-friendly Angel. Honestly, I almost like it more because I can wear it to the office without making my coworkers want to hose me down (think the Sex Panther scene from Anchor Man) and at a fraction of the cost. It lasts quite a few hours, projects a good foot or two, and smells quite close to the original.

I also tried InStyle's new designer mist for Miss Dior Cherie that was SPOT ON for the 2005 version of Miss Dior Cherie (which I own). I'm still sniffing my wrist in awe of how good this mist is at replicating the scent of the original. I can't speak for the longevity comparison (the real MDC lasts for 12+ hrs), but this is a cheap body mist for $6 that you can go nuts with and respray. The real Miss Dior Cherie costs quite a bit more.

Overall, I am very, very impressed with these knock-off fragrances. I will be sampling more in the future to compare to the real versions, many of which I own:

Dior Miss Dior Cherie: A+ scent replica
Thierry Mugler Angel: B+ scent replica, A+ for toning down a sillage beast
Chanel Chance: C+, didn't smell nearly as powerful as the real thing
Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy: F, didn't smell like Viva la Juicy at all to me.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2013 3:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I agree that some of these are a hit and miss, but a good starting point to test out fragrances when you are on a budget. I have bought Cashmere Mist (liked it), Light Blue (cloying), and Michael Kors (ok) in the past. I recently picked up Flowerbomb and found Instyle's version to be sweeter and lighter but lovely on my skin. When I save up money I'll get the real thing since I want more spice notes, but this comes very close to my nose. It also had very good sillage and I received very nice compliments when I wore it. I want to try the Chanel Chance eau de Tendre dupe next and will update on my experience with that soon. Update 5/15/13: Well I finally bought the Chanel Chance Eau de Tendre and Victoria's Secret Bombshell fragrances. I don't own the originals so I can't compare. The Chance Eau de Tendre starts off very green, then mellows out to a bright, lemony fragrance with perhaps a grapefruit note. It sort of reminds me of Lush's Lemony Flutter cuticle cream. I don't really get much of the florals or powder notes that I once smelled in a magazine strip. I think this will be one of those fragrances I will have to be in a mood for. The Bombshell fragrance was my favorite of the two. It opens with a tropical medley of fruits, though the pineapple note dominates on my skin. It then moves on to the florals. I'm not really sure, but I think I smell a bit of jasmine. I am considering getting the real thing after buying Instyle's version.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i own flowerbomb the original one ($160 for 3.4) and I was shocked that this smelled the same. I could not believe it. It is spot on.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2013 2:19:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have seven of these. Walgreens was having a sale Buy one get one free, and bought Cashmere Mist and Chanel #5 for under eight dollars. I didn't get Angel because I have already a huge bottle of the original and the fake Angel doesn't have the chocolately note that shows up on my skin. The others I own were Opium, Obsession, Beautiful, Acqua Di Gio and Sensuous (sp?) I'm not a perfume snob, I have over 100+ frags, both drugstore and high-end. I tend to like spicy notes, roses and tuberose/gardenia. I didn't like Sensuous, too woody, Obsession too harsh, sour notes anyone? Beautiful is pretty but didn't last long, Acqua di Gio is a tad too sweet and cloying, gave that one to my mother, Opium is the lighter version of the original which I also have, (before reformulation) Chanel #5 is very light, not long lasting but it didn't have those sour notes in the bottom that I don't like in the original, and Cashmere Mist is almost spot on, just a little sweeter and the one most long lasting on my skin. I tested the two new ones out, Flowerbomb and Gucci Guilty. Flowerbomb is waaaay too sweet and cloying, couldn't wash it off fast enough with a baby wipe in the car. Gucci Guilty is meh. Walgreens is clearancing out most of the others, like the body sprays and some of the men's versions, so get these while they are still on the shelves.

Edit 6-2-13: I bought J'Adore and loved it. It is spot on and long lasting. I again tried Flowerbomb and while it is strong in the beginning, really, I finally let it dry down , those vanilla notes finally came thru and bought that too. The Chanel Chance tender was too light and fleeting and it didn't sit well on me, too bug spray smell for me, lol.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2013 5:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Does anybody know where I can buy these InStyle fragrances in Canada?


on 12/19/2012 3:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my all-time favorite scents is Clinique Happy, but I really burn through it. I ran out and I saw this was on sale at CVS and it smells just like the original so I picked it up. The only problem is it just doesn't last nearly as long as the original. But heck, it was $4.99.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2012 2:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown




OK, I admit it, I LOVE these. Sometimes better than the originals! They are an amazing bargain-- much better quality than Parfums de Coeur Designer Imposters or the myriad copycat perfume oils being hawked online. They are EDTs in strength, so 3-4 spritzes is a good dose, but they stay true throughout the day and last well. My favorites are Armani Code for Men (a great citrus-leather chypre for women, too, IMO) and Heavenly (which smells so incredibly great that I like it better than the real thing).

I like the Angel and Opium dupes, too-- while not perfectly precise copies, they're actually all the more wearable for it. Lighter and a lot less funky

The others I have are all good likenesses too, but I don't like them as much because it turns out I don't like the originals, either. I got the knockoffs of Juicy Couture, White Diamonds and Light Blue as a low-budget way to sample new scents. JC was too much tuberose, WD was too soapy, and LB was a dull lemon-cedar affair-- but I had the exact same complaints when I tested the real deals!


I did take off 1 Lippie for a few less-than-stellar items in the lineup. The Pleasures, Beautiful and Chanel #5 versions fall short and smell flat. But for the most part, not only do the InStyle products smell real, they also smell GOOD at any price!




14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
36 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top