La Roche Posay Effaclar K

3.8

213 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Salicylic Acid 1.5%) Aqua, Isonoyl Isononanoate, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Salicylic Acid, Octyldodecanol, Zinc PCA, Sodium Hydroxide, Retinyl Linoleate, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Fragrance


on 9/19/2013 9:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was finishing a tube of the effaclar duo, with really good results, and i decided to try effaclar k. This one seems more suitable for my skin problems, as my acne is mostly comedonal, and when i have inflammatory acne, it's because of the comedones that get inflamed.

My problem areas are my chin, jaw line and lower cheeks. Effaclar Duo really helped with my blackheads, my pores, and it evened out my skintone very well. Also, it treated my comedones and inflamed pimples for the most part. I experience a lot less breakouts, and my oily skin is more balanced.

Effaclar K is targeted for congested oily skin, with comedonal acne. It has 1.5% of salycilic acid (effaclar duo has 0.5%). Although it's suppose to prevent acne, rather that treat it, i find it very effective at getting rid of pimples.

I started to use it when i was experiencing a few breakouts and whiteheads on my jaw line, and it was visibly more effective at treating inflammatory acne and closed comedones than effaclar duo, and the results were faster... It really works well with my skin, i also notice my hyperpigmentation less visible. I'm impressed. I didn't got this results with effaclar duo, although it worked well to me.

I use it all over my face at night (before moisturizer), and just on my problem areas in the morning. So far so good.

I didn't experience any breakouts from this, or any irritation whatsoever (so far). I like the packaging. It's a metallic tube with a tiny pointed opening, which allows to use the right amount of product. The smell is weird (effaclar duo has a pleasant smell), like chemical smell, but once applied it's gone. I paid less than 15 euros for a 30ml tube, it's not cheap, but it's worth the money.

UPDATE (1) Oct2013: Oh-oh... I started to noticing an increase of clogged pores on my left cheek. Normally it doesn't spread all around it, just on my jaw line, and my jaw line is clean at this point, which makes me believe that the way i'm applying Effaclar K has something to do with this.
I started to applying a bigger amount of product on my left cheek, because i had active acne there, and i thought this way it would cure it faster. Before, i was only using a small amount, and the results were good. I'm now experimenting using just again a small amount and spread it all over my face like a moisturizer. I'll be updating if i notice any difference.

Also, i notice that when i wet my face in the morning, it seems like i have some kind of residue on my skin, which doesn't dissolve with the water. Maybe it has also something to do with my clogged pores :-/

UPDATE (2): Using just a little bit of product and spread it all over my face actually got my clogged pores a lot better, and i'm only doing it for a couple of days. Also, i apply my clinique moisturiser right after (sometimes i mix the two), which made that wierd feeling in the morning to go away. I'm ok with this product again, but when i finish it, i'm not going to buy it again because of it's texture (it's a little thick, and leaves skin residue if i let it sink in before moisturizer - probably due to the CETYL ALCOHOL - Triacneal also has it, and it breaks me out) and it can contribute easily for increasing my clogged pores. :/ My next try will be Ducray Keracnyl Creme Regulatrice.

UPDATE (3): After a couple of weeks with breakouts all over my left cheek, i decided to take a break from effaclar k, and my breakouts are a lot better. Oh well, another fail! I'm going to try Bioderma, since it doesn't have alcohol on their products, and ingredients like Cetyl Alcohol and CETEARYL ALCOHOL, like Avene, LA Roche Posay and Ducray have, and it's what i believe it's breaking me out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/6/2013 10:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have combunation skin with the most problematic area on T zone. This cream helps me to support it in good condition and prevents new break outs and blocked pores. Though, it tends to be aggressive if you use it on a daily basis. I use it only as my night care for T zone (for the rest I use a different moisturizer) several times a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2013 8:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product gave me a horrible red mustache (because I have put it on my upper lip area) though no allergic reactions on the forehead. Though recovered a few hours later I will never use it again.

Helps with large pores on the nose though

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2013 1:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This tube Actually lasted quite a while. As much as i wanted this cream to work, i dont think it did anything for my skin. I bought this for $20 cdn but i think it costs way more in stores. Will not repurchase.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This product works. It's definitely my holy grail acne/renewal night cream! I have very oily, acne prone skin, which is also pale and delicate: which means every acne mark and scar lasts forever, every pimple gets infected at the speed of light and generally my skin is super picky. I tried this out and found that already after a week the red marks had faded, my skin looked clearer and the texture was improved. It doesn't sting, I only need a small amount, so the product lasts around six months for me. I don't think this would be enough for serious cystic acne, but for cloggish and oily skin this is perfect.The packaging could be better, as it is a squeezy alluminium tube with needs to be handled with care, but overall this product is absolutely worth the 16 euros I pay here in Italy As always, YMMV, but if you have oily and problematic skin give it a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2013 11:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product more than the Effaclar DUO. I am particularly sensitive to benzoyl peroxide therefore I prefer to use this on a daily basis.
I find that using this everyday will typically prevent any breakouts, make my pores smaller, and make my skin smoother looking. I might note that my skin isn't very problematic to begin with.
This product however is not strong enough to combat an active breakout. For an active breakout I reach for the Effaclar DUO and usually use that 1-2 nights only before switching back to the Effaclar K.
The reason I'm giving this 4 stars only is because of the chemical smell it has. It's quite strong and doesn't dissipate as quickly as I would like. I've used it for quite some time and I still have to breath through my mouth when applying this.
I have the US/UK formula btw, I think the version sold in Asian has different ingredients.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2013 11:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Costly (though a little goes a long way so you can certainly make one tube last for a while), and the packaging leaves something to be desired (can't squeeze all out; tube can crack at corners where squeezed thin-- though this can be useful to get some of the remaining lotion out like a tube of really expensive toothpaste, lol), but it's effective as it promises as long as you're not interpreting those promises to result in a miraculous change to your appearance.

I find it *does* reduce grease and the appearance of blemishes (both existing and developing ones), and I was surprised by the noticeable difference at first, but Effaclar K has definitely got its limits!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2013 12:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have a few weeks using Effaclar K and Effaclar Duo in the morning and night, because I have an acne prone skin caused, partly for my combination skin. And I have to say that it really works for me. My skin feels more purified and even. I am glad with the results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2013 5:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good product for my cystic-acne-prone skin. I usually have side effects with strong acne treatments, so I decided to buy this product (instead of effaclar-duo that has BP). Being a mild product, results may be slow, but effective. Eversince I started this, I had no more breakouts, so I will keep on using it. It´sa great product for hot weather, when skin becomes more oily.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2013 10:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I recommend the Effaclar duo above this if you want faster results. This is more like an oil-free moisturiser and the concentration of the ingredients is low so better for sensitive skins. It absorbs quickly and I use it as a serum when i'm breaking out, layers well. I would say the Effaclar Duo is much better and is stronger, fades marks quicker and is similar in physical texture. Packaging is great and price not too shabby.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top