La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(212 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 NoWonder on 7/6/2013 10:42:00 AM more reviews by NoWonder

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have combunation skin with the most problematic area on T zone. This cream helps me to support it in good condition and prevents new break outs and blocked pores. Though, it tends to be aggressive if you use it on a daily basis. I use it only as my night care for T zone (for the rest I use a different moisturizer) several times a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ipecik on 5/23/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by ipecik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product gave me a horrible red mustache (because I have put it on my upper lip area) though no allergic reactions on the forehead. Though recovered a few hours later I will never use it again.

Helps with large pores on the nose though

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jlin0913 on 5/23/2013 1:47:00 AM more reviews by jlin0913

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This tube Actually lasted quite a while. As much as i wanted this cream to work, i dont think it did anything for my skin. I bought this for $20 cdn but i think it costs way more in stores. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LiliRoseVoice on 4/25/2013 2:40:00 AM more reviews by LiliRoseVoice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product works. It's definitely my holy grail acne/renewal night cream! I have very oily, acne prone skin, which is also pale and delicate: which means every acne mark and scar lasts forever, every pimple gets infected at the speed of light and generally my skin is super picky. I tried this out and found that already after a week the red marks had faded, my skin looked clearer and the texture was improved. It doesn't sting, I only need a small amount, so the product lasts around six months for me. I don't think this would be enough for serious cystic acne, but for cloggish and oily skin this is perfect.The packaging could be better, as it is a squeezy alluminium tube with needs to be handled with care, but overall this product is absolutely worth the 16 euros I pay here in Italy As always, YMMV, but if you have oily and problematic skin give it a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 qdo2599 on 4/23/2013 11:40:00 PM more reviews by qdo2599

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product more than the Effaclar DUO. I am particularly sensitive to benzoyl peroxide therefore I prefer to use this on a daily basis.
I find that using this everyday will typically prevent any breakouts, make my pores smaller, and make my skin smoother looking. I might note that my skin isn't very problematic to begin with.
This product however is not strong enough to combat an active breakout. For an active breakout I reach for the Effaclar DUO and usually use that 1-2 nights only before switching back to the Effaclar K.
The reason I'm giving this 4 stars only is because of the chemical smell it has. It's quite strong and doesn't dissipate as quickly as I would like. I've used it for quite some time and I still have to breath through my mouth when applying this.
I have the US/UK formula btw, I think the version sold in Asian has different ingredients.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emathy on 4/18/2013 11:21:00 AM more reviews by emathy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Costly (though a little goes a long way so you can certainly make one tube last for a while), and the packaging leaves something to be desired (can't squeeze all out; tube can crack at corners where squeezed thin-- though this can be useful to get some of the remaining lotion out like a tube of really expensive toothpaste, lol), but it's effective as it promises as long as you're not interpreting those promises to result in a miraculous change to your appearance.

I find it *does* reduce grease and the appearance of blemishes (both existing and developing ones), and I was surprised by the noticeable difference at first, but Effaclar K has definitely got its limits!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katehiga on 4/11/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by katehiga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I have a few weeks using Effaclar K and Effaclar Duo in the morning and night, because I have an acne prone skin caused, partly for my combination skin. And I have to say that it really works for me. My skin feels more purified and even. I am glad with the results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mariasara on 3/21/2013 5:30:00 PM more reviews by mariasara

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good product for my cystic-acne-prone skin. I usually have side effects with strong acne treatments, so I decided to buy this product (instead of effaclar-duo that has BP). Being a mild product, results may be slow, but effective. Eversince I started this, I had no more breakouts, so I will keep on using it. It´sa great product for hot weather, when skin becomes more oily.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 1/19/2013 10:32:00 PM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I recommend the Effaclar duo above this if you want faster results. This is more like an oil-free moisturiser and the concentration of the ingredients is low so better for sensitive skins. It absorbs quickly and I use it as a serum when i'm breaking out, layers well. I would say the Effaclar Duo is much better and is stronger, fades marks quicker and is similar in physical texture. Packaging is great and price not too shabby.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetlikecinnamon on 12/20/2012 4:12:00 AM more reviews by sweetlikecinnamon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a really oily T-zone (my nose and forehead) with enlarged pores on my nose. This product was moisturizing enough for my normal cheeks, and light enough for my problem areas. It claims to tighten and unclog pores and I did see a small difference in my pores after using this product, but nothing major. It also has a very "medical" smell, which I personally liked, and it does not leave a greasy feeling at all. It didn't really do anything in the terms of controlling oil, but it doesn't claim to do that anyway, so that I can't complain about - I just thought I would mention that.

I gave this 4 because I would have liked to see a bigger difference in my pores, but it is a nice product and it didn't break me out or anything. I think that the packaging could be better; if you accidentally squeeze the metal tube while it's closed, you can't really stop the flow of the product next time you open it, and you'll end up with way too much product. I'm not going to repurchase this again since oil is the major problem in my skin, but it is a nice product if you're not looking for oil control, but want a light moisturizer that will smooth out your skin and keep your break outs down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products