Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1640 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 maybellecowbell on 8/11/2014 6:53:00 AM more reviews by maybellecowbell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

THE BEST top coat i have every tried, my nails usually chip after 24 hours or less but I have been wearing my varnish with Seche Vite on for coming up to three days with only a tiny bit of tip wear & no chips at all which is a freaking MIRACLE.

Just make sure you 'wrap' or cap the free edge or whatever they call it coz apparently some people get shrinkage.

also - IT REALLY DOES NOT SMELL THAT BAD??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PinkDahlia119 on 8/2/2014 12:37:00 PM more reviews by PinkDahlia119

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

CONS:
Shrinkage
Smell
Thickening halfway through the bottle.

I does dry incredibly fast though. The shine is pretty, but not as glassy as Poshe.
It doesn't bubble & flows really nicely over the nail- making it pretty mistake proof. It is a nice product. But the cons make me reconsider purchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ohlookitsdenise on 7/31/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by Ohlookitsdenise

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love Seche Vite!! This top coat is the best! Everytime I put it on, it makes my nail polish look even and leveled. It also gives me the PRETTIEST shine which makes it look like I have acrylics on. I can't get enough of this stuff. The smell is a bit overpowering though. The first time I used it, it was like a slap in the face because I have never experienced anything like it before. But I am not one to be turned off by smell. I got used to it so now everything is fine! I have also experienced a little shrinkage with this top coat which is understandable because it soaks into all the layers of polish to dry so a little shrinkage isn't too bad. I have experienced shrinkage with every fast dry top coat I used but this one is by far the least shrinkage. Love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kileylovescake on 7/30/2014 3:05:00 PM more reviews by kileylovescake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Seche Vite it the BEST for sealing nail art and as a general top coat.

Drying Time -Seche Vite is dry and functional in just a few minutes. It does take a bit more time to FULLY harden (you can still smudge it if you rifle through your purse, for example, for about 30 minutes or so). This is the fastest drying top coat I have tried and after spending hours with nail art, it is a blessing to be able to dry them quickly!

Shrinkage - Yes, it does cause shrinkage IF you use it improperly. You have to use a "wrapping" technique that just takes practice. You'll get the hang of it!

Longevity - Some people complain that it does not keep your manicure from chipping; yet, I have not had issues with this. Honestly, I haven't found any top coats that can do better than this.

Thickening - Yes, it does thicken when you get about half way through the bottle. But Seche has a thinning product to fix this, so it doesn't bother me!

Price - I buy mine at Sally's for about 8$, have also seen it at CVS and Target for about 10$.

The product is a lifesaver and a MUST HAVE for nail art enthusiasts. Watch some tutorials online if you get frustrated, though, because it can be difficult to master!



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fanofthe30s on 7/26/2014 11:50:00 AM more reviews by fanofthe30s

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this exclusively for my topcoat, but is does get thick quickly. I thin it with a nail polish thinner I get at Sally's. It works great!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 IridessaS on 7/26/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by IridessaS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings for this top coat.
I love to use it when I first open it, it dries very fast and gives an amazing shine to the nails. I don't find that it shrinks my nail polish and it definitely adds to the longevity of the color. The smell is quite strong, but I don't mind, never had a problem with nail polish smells. I can never use it though with my husband in the house, who has an issue with strong smells.
My main issue is that it dries very quickly, I can never finish a bottle. After just a few uses, I throw it away because it becomes so thick, it can't be used anymore. After that I bought 2 new ones, but the same happened. I won't be repurchasing..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DontMakeASound on 7/20/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by DontMakeASound

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

NEVER, EVER AGAIN!!! I heard so much greatness from it and guess what? It's horrible!! After about 1 1/2 days it would peel all my nail polish off my nail. It did it every single time. Yes it dries fast, but it would come COMPLETELY off after 2 days! DO NOT BUY!

I bought a $6 Revlon top coat and it is not peeling like my seche vite one did. Very disappointed in seche vite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 margomiller on 7/20/2014 1:38:00 PM more reviews by margomiller

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is amazing!! Literally the only thing that makes it possible for me to do my nails. It dries so quickly without leaving that tacky feeling that most top coats do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 icestars on 7/19/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by icestars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One word - AMAZING!

I love it! The first time I used it, I couldn't stop staring at my nails. I had painted them gold and I thought I was rich because they looked so real! Seche Vite dries within minutes and is amazing if you paint your nails and go like me.

Not to mention, it's so glossy it's as if your staring at wet hair. Everything is so shiny and I look at nail polish in a new light.

Unfortunately, it shrinks HORRIBLY. Within the next day, you can see the tips of my nails. Kind of defeats the purpose, don't you think? Yes, I wrap the tips of my base coat, color, and Seche Vite. It doesn't help. Really bad downside, isn't it? Oh well. At least I'm addicted to nail polish. I paint my nails so much it doesn't shrink too bad before I paint again.

So the next word I would describe this as - Great.

A few weeks later, it goes goopy on me. Really? Did you have to? I've read how goopy it gets but never imagined that quick. I barely got through a quarter of the bottle and it just decides to trap bubbles and have thick stringy layers and everything. For the price I guess it's sort of a disappointment. It's so thick it can get hard to apply.

Of course you can get Seche Restore, but when my favorite quick dry top coat is Revlon Quick Dry Top coat. which DOESN'T get so goopy quickly, I didn't really want to spend the extra bucks on a thinner. Yes, the top coat still works fine, but it just isn't preferable to have bubbles. Plus, it's harder to apply. Sometimes I still use it, when I want a super shiny manicure, but it's kind of a love hate relationship.

Did I mention the horrible scent? Yes, it smells bad but it kind of grew on me. Now I'm used to it and all is well. I actually prefer normal nail polish smell over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zagliadod on 7/12/2014 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Zagliadod

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I recently got some nail stamping supplies and tried 4 other top coats to seal the designs before trying this. All the others dissolved and smeared the polish in varying degrees. This one did not affect the stamping in any way. I will update after I find out how long my manicures take to start chipping.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products