Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1667 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Trincm on 12/7/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by Trincm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this top coat dry fast product. I too hated painting my nails because I would have to waste at least an hour to have my nails dry and even then, they were prone to smudges. This product is THE best. I love being able to paint my nails, have them dry fast and end with a shiny top coat that looks better than artificial nails. Certainly it does not last for weeks but then I like to change my nail color at least once a week and doing so is easy and fast with this product. The smell is nothing compared to all the chemicals inhaled at salons with artificial nails.
Finally a product that actually does what it says it will do. I will forever buy this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* daisyismydog on 12/7/2014 11:20:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't realize that top coats could make such a difference, or dry so quickly, until I tried Seche Vite. I had nearly given up on nail polish because even after waiting 6 hours for my nails to dry I would still experience smudging or find sheet marks the morning after.

Seche Vite does exactly what it says, it dries fast. I am comfortable using my hands to do small things like opening doors or using the remote to watch TV after about a minute. In 5 minutes, I am comfortable doing nearly anything (although, just to be on the safe side I'll usually wait 30+ minutes to take a shower or something like that).

On top of drying fast, it leaves a very glossy wet-like finish which is something I like a lot. I do not normally experience chips (previously 2-3 week at most on my fingers, and none on my toes) but they are even rarer now that I use Seche Vite.

With that said, I am not a fan of how halfway through the bottle it becomes difficult to use. Past the halfway point, the product will form a dried strand, like that of a spider building a cobweb, through the air when I remove the wand from the bottle. It is not unusable though it becomes a bit more difficult. I know there is a product (Seche Restore) available to help with this, which I haven't tried as I'm not crazy about the idea of purchasing a second product in order to use my first product.

Like other reviewers have mentioned, it also has a strong smell but this does not linger or bother me any more than the smell of a standard nail polish as I always paint my nails in the backyard. I haven't personally experienced any shrinkage (and I don't wrap my tips) using this with my polishes (mainly China Glaze) and Seche Base.

Overall, I don't mind recommending Seche Vite since it is a good product, but I am still planning to try other top coats that may not have the same problem past the halfway point.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* squiggles37 on 12/7/2014 9:03:00 PM more reviews by squiggles37

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is an industry favorite for a reason, but personally I am not a fan.

Pros:
- does dry super fast
- super glossy shine

Cons:
- super strong chemically smell. like i will get lung cancer from inhaling the fumes.
- i find that this attracts grease or smudges --- when I use this on my nails, the clear glossy topcoat always seems to be covered in greasy fingerprints (I do lotion a lot though but other top coats seem to handle my lotioning habit a lot better)
- major shrinkage if you do not do a good job of fully coating the edges of your nails
- dries up/gets goopy within the bottle fast (you'll need to use the Restore product)

If none of the cons bother you, then this is an excellent topcoat. Personally I always leave a good amount of time to do my nails, so I don't really need a fast drying top coat (CND Super Shiney is my fave).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalaladylauren on 12/7/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by lalaladylauren

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Raided this from my mom's collection. I still haven't been able to pinpoint if it's this product, my basecoat, or the actual polish itself that's causing my nails to peel, so for now, I won't take off points for that. I'm in love with how fast it dries: I can shower, go to bed, or just go about my day and my polish will stay intact--which I can't really say about other top coats I've tried. Because of this, I will most likely repurchase...despite the nagging feeling that I'm probably taking a week off my life every time I use it due to all the chemicals in it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redaqua on 12/3/2014 1:43:00 AM more reviews by redaqua

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This causes my polish to peel off in sheets. My polish chips within a day of using this. It stinks to high heaven. It goes " bad" quickly meaning it turns very gummy and hard to work with. It disrupts my nail polish while applying and creates streaks. It will remove polish while applying. It's too pricy for all the drama it creates. Ugh. ..... This is way too hyped.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sweeneyd on 11/30/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by Sweeneyd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

After hearing a friend rave about this stuff (after constantly hearing my complaints on how I don't paint my nails because I have other things to do in life rather than wait for my nails to dry...), I bought a bottle. SO happy with it! I typically do base, 2 coats color, and this on top. Seriously dries so fast! The price is average. I haven't experienced the shrinkage as other reviews have stated? As far as chipping- I've always had issues... Even with gel. My major con is the smell! Just use in a well ventilated area.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 longsilog on 11/22/2014 3:43:00 AM more reviews by longsilog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This is my favorite top coat thus far. It dries super fast and is easy to use. Sadly, this isn't locally available in the Philippines. :) I regret not stocking up on this while I was in Singapore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monmellow on 11/5/2014 11:05:00 PM more reviews by monmellow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff dries super fast and shiny and is the best fast drying nail product i've used so far. Definitely recommend!

if you're having trouble make sure you're using it correctly - use over semi-dry nail polish and avoid going over the nail multiple times. Instead get a bead going on the end of the brush and let it sort of wash over the nail. I'm sure there are more detailed instructions on the interwebs :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 denimvixen on 11/2/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by denimvixen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this top coat! I have finally found a top coat that really does dry fast enough for me to paint my nails before bed and I don't wake up to sheet marks on my fresh manicure the next morning. Not only does it dry fast it gives your nails a glossy gel-like finish that lasts and lasts. As a recovering nail salon addict this product definitely allows me to give myself professional looking mani/pedis at home, in a fraction of the time (and the price) of going to a salon, freeing up my time to do more productive things. As a busy mom I just don't have time to sit around and wait for my nails to dry. I don't know how Seche Vite does it, but I'm glad that they do, because it really has changed my life! Well as much as a fast drying top coat can!





    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Hogwartshonorstudent on 11/1/2014 2:54:00 AM more reviews by Hogwartshonorstudent

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This use to be my favorite go to top coat, because it does work well and dries really fast. However, I fell out of love with it when i noticed it always seemed to change the color of my polish. It tints the shade a yellow/brown color. And it shrinks, like others have mentioned. And for the life of me I can't get a manicure to last more than 48 hours before it peels off in sheets. I switched to "out the door" and it dries just as fast without the harsh chemicals, god awful smell, yellow tint, and shrink issues.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products