Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1675 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 pooroni on 1/16/2015 11:31:00 AM more reviews by pooroni

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Oh I don't like this.

It is true, it dries fast, and it is shiny, sounds good right?

But if I put this on, my polish chips way faster, than say if I put on OPI top coat.

I usually use Chanel le Vernis underneath(2 coats), and the reason I like chanel polishes is because they tend to last longer, and stay intact than most other polishes - with OPI top coat and le vernis together, they do not chip at least for 5-6 days to 2 weeks even.

But if I use this top coat, my nails chip within one day.
I think the fast drying formula makes the polish crispy or something, I don't think it is good in the long run.

Unless you want to change your polish every other day, fast drying is useless.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 1/13/2015 4:51:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is a good product that helps your nail polish to dry fast, prolongs your manicure and delivers a beautiful glossy finish. I don`t have problem with wrinkling much. Yet the product does seem to tighten a bit so make sure you apply it close to the cuticles.
The only downside is that after a while the base thickens and becomes bit difficult to spread. It still evens out nicely on the nail and looks absolutely smooth, it just makes your nail feel thicker. So I prefer to switch to a fresher bottle once it happens continuing to use the other one on toe nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Smiilie on 1/11/2015 11:53:00 PM more reviews by Smiilie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this when i first got it but now when i use it, i get headaches from the smell. I now need to open a window when i use this product. I would repurchase this since it helps my nails dry really fast

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Attitudeangela on 1/11/2015 11:40:00 PM more reviews by Attitudeangela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this top coat! I was using a Sally Hansen one that kept giving my manicure air bubbles and when I switched to this I got a great finish with quick drying time. I work at an accessory shop and in retail nails get ruined very quickly. With this top coat my nails looked fine after a few shifts. I would buy this again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PentacleQueen on 1/9/2015 5:43:00 AM more reviews by PentacleQueen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am a very impatient person so I hate waiting around for hours for my nails to dry, only to end up with dents or sheet marks. I have been using this product for months now, and I am impressed. I've never used any other top coat before so I'm not sure how this one performs compared to others. But what I like about SV is that it literally dries in a minute or two! Thank God! No more running around. However, I will say I am slightly disappointed by the wear time. I will see signs of major chipping ie: an entire side peeling off, in about 3-4 days. I will repuchase but only until I find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaLa6699 on 1/2/2015 7:34:00 PM more reviews by LaLa6699

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


**UPDATE**
This stuff really sucks as a top coat. I have tried many different ways to make it stay on my nails and last longer but it's just about proven to be hopeless.
The top coat itself starts peeling and chipping off before the actual nail polish. The only good thing about this is that it dries so fast.
The only way that this could be considered a great top coat is if you want to paint your every freaking day
****************************

Holy wow wow wow. I literally just walked over to my laptop after painting my nails and they are DRY! Holy holy holy crow!
I have been painting my nails for YEARS and don't know how i ever missed out on this! But not any longer ladies! I am in it with all of you!

Let me list some concerns I have from reading reviews that I will be looking for in the next few days... oh wait... there is only one... shrinkage! I hope not because this stuff is AMAZING!

High shine and smooth and dry to the touch just after 2 minutes! The smell is awful though while applying it... smells like paint thinner, yuck.

Will update in a few days to let yall know how my manicure is doing! :-D


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eastend_Snob on 12/17/2014 6:21:00 AM more reviews by Eastend_Snob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is by no means the perfect top coat, but it's as close to perfection as I'll ever get. True to its name, it dries SUPER FAST. Less than 30 seconds after application, I can actually use my hands without ever having to worry about destroying all my hard work. The formula is thick and gel-like - I can definitely see it sitting on top of my nails. It also stinks to high heaven but only whilst it's still wet. Otherwise it makes my polish look incredibly shiny and sometimes even luminous! I use my hands a lot and I'm very rough with them so chipping is inevitable for me. But I haven't had any better luck with other top coats so until something groundbreaking comes along, I will always keep coming back to this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KissyLipRaptor on 12/14/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by KissyLipRaptor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love/hate relationship with Seche Vite's topcoat. It dries amazingly fast! I can put it on and be completely confident that I won't smudge anything in less than five minutes. It has a fantastic shine for about 48 hours, then the shine is like any other topcoat. It does have an extremely strong smell, but I've noticed that any fast drying top coat has a very strong odor. Because the product dries quickly, the bottle does too. About a third of the way through the bottle it got too thick to use, especially with their brush which I feel is just a bit too thin. I know that you can use a nail polish thinner, but I would rather use a slightly slower drying topcoat that is useable all the way down than a faster drying topcoat that I need to add extra product to. My biggest problem with it is the skrinkage. I like to fully wrap my nails in basecoat and topcoat, but that's only when I have the time to do so. More often than not, I only have time to cap the edges of my nails and the topcoat pulls back and chips in about an hour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Trincm on 12/7/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by Trincm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this top coat dry fast product. I too hated painting my nails because I would have to waste at least an hour to have my nails dry and even then, they were prone to smudges. This product is THE best. I love being able to paint my nails, have them dry fast and end with a shiny top coat that looks better than artificial nails. Certainly it does not last for weeks but then I like to change my nail color at least once a week and doing so is easy and fast with this product. The smell is nothing compared to all the chemicals inhaled at salons with artificial nails.
Finally a product that actually does what it says it will do. I will forever buy this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* daisyismydog on 12/7/2014 11:20:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't realize that top coats could make such a difference, or dry so quickly, until I tried Seche Vite. I had nearly given up on nail polish because even after waiting 6 hours for my nails to dry I would still experience smudging or find sheet marks the morning after.

Seche Vite does exactly what it says, it dries fast. I am comfortable using my hands to do small things like opening doors or using the remote to watch TV after about a minute. In 5 minutes, I am comfortable doing nearly anything (although, just to be on the safe side I'll usually wait 30+ minutes to take a shower or something like that).

On top of drying fast, it leaves a very glossy wet-like finish which is something I like a lot. I do not normally experience chips (previously 2-3 week at most on my fingers, and none on my toes) but they are even rarer now that I use Seche Vite.

With that said, I am not a fan of how halfway through the bottle it becomes difficult to use. Past the halfway point, the product will form a dried strand, like that of a spider building a cobweb, through the air when I remove the wand from the bottle. It is not unusable though it becomes a bit more difficult. I know there is a product (Seche Restore) available to help with this, which I haven't tried as I'm not crazy about the idea of purchasing a second product in order to use my first product.

Like other reviewers have mentioned, it also has a strong smell but this does not linger or bother me any more than the smell of a standard nail polish as I always paint my nails in the backyard. I haven't personally experienced any shrinkage (and I don't wrap my tips) using this with my polishes (mainly China Glaze) and Seche Base.

Overall, I don't mind recommending Seche Vite since it is a good product, but I am still planning to try other top coats that may not have the same problem past the halfway point.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products