Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat


1717 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$


Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.

on 7/18/2015 1:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I keep repurchasing this item over and over again. It has completely changed my nail game. Love it!

Had to give it 4/5 due to the smell though. Must always use it in a ventilated area!

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this top coat . i was a manicurist for 20 years and this is by far one of the best top coats.

on 7/14/2015 4:35:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

best top coat I've ever used. strong chemical smell but it dries so quickly and smoothly. definitely a must have

on 7/6/2015 11:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown


-Very quick to dry

-Leaves a shiny finish that makes it look like I've had my manicure professionally done.


- I also face the shrinkage issue, which I absolutely hate. :( For certain colors, it is possible to avoid painting Seche Vite to the edges of the nail, and that prevents a lot of shrinkage (though it still happens at the nail tip). But for light nail polish, like white, this is not possible, as not painting to the edge of your nail makes the mani look messy.

- This top coat tends to "brown" on the nails after about 3 days of wear. This is not a huge problem on darker colors, but again, on light nail polish, it's very obvious and ugly.

- The smell is extremely pungent, which makes me feel really uncomfortable about breathing it in.

So overall, I'm not a fan of Seche Vite top coat. Would not repurchase!

on 7/5/2015 10:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a gift and I didn't use top coats prior to this one.
The nice thing about this product is that it gives the polished, shiny finish. The fast drying formula is great too, for some like me who have no patience. The downside is (I don't know if this is a common problem with other top coats) that it peels and chips after couple days. I have had instances where a whole color peeled in the shape of my nail. This happens with or without base coat and regardless of what polish I use. It's strange.

If you're like me and don't really care about longevity of your nail colors, I guess this product is okay, because it does look nice and neat for a day or two. But if you want it to last more than couple days then you might find this quite annoying.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Since I live in Texas, I always have issues with getting polish to dry, especially in summer. I bought this on a whim at Target and I was super impressed. No lie I can touch my nails after about 5 minutes and start using my hands after about 10-15 minutes with no dents.
It does shrink so I have weird gaps on the sides of my nails no matter what I do and that bugs me. And after you get about halfway through the bottle the formula gets all weird. I had to put polish thinner in it to even make it usable. I will continue to use it until I find another quick dry top coat that dries as fast and hopefully is cheaper.

EDIT: I take back every ounce of praise I gave this horrid product. It's not worth the 10 bucks to own a product that you can only use half of before it becomes unusable. I seriously put 1/4 of a bottle of polish thinner into it and I still can't use it AT ALL. I'll never buy anything from Seche Vite ever again.

on 7/1/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

they had sample sizes of seche vite at sally's so i decided to pick one up to try before buying the real thing. at first i was kind of irked by the fact that you have to apply it over wet polish (something i am totally not used to, plus this means it can't be used for touch-ups), but the application is actually pretty easy. you just need to drop a big glob on your nail and push it around with the brush rather than stroking your nail with the brush like you would with a normal top coat. it also seriously cuts down on my manicure time because you don't have to wait for your last color coat to dry, and seche vite dries really quickly. my usual topcoat takes ~30 minutes to be completely dry; seche vite is probably like 15. although seche vite lasts pretty long without chipping or fading, my usual topcoat does last longer. all in all i prefer my normal topcoat, but since it's been discontinued i will start buying seche vite when i run out.

on 6/28/2015 1:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this consistently for five years. It is a wonderful product that gives the look of gel shellac nails without the time commitment, cost and damage to nails.

It applies thickly to give good coverage and protection to nails. Dry to touch within ten minutes and can continue my day without worry that it will chip, smudge or have wrinkled sheet marks overnight!

I use with OPI products and havs limited chipping by day 5 and still looking pretty good by day 7 (new manicure time!).

Definitely recommend.

on 6/28/2015 12:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Gosh, I love Seche Vite. I bought this top coat mainly because it's fast-drying; I'm really impatient with waiting for my polish to dry. I tend to do thick coats of polish, and even when I feel like there's just globs of polish on my nails, Seche Vite has them totally, completely dry in about an hour. I couldn't believe it the first time I used it.

Another bonus is the added shine. I noticed it most when I used Seche Vite over a holographic polish that I had used several times before. It made the holo noticeably stronger because of that shininess. Even over cremes, the shine makes your nails look SO GOOD.

The only thing I would mention is that the smell is pretty strong. As soon as you open the bottle, it hits you. I would only call that a deal breaker if you're really sensitive to the smell of nail polish in general.

on 6/21/2015 10:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Just removed polish after one full week of wear. I used Essie ridge filling base coat (DC?), 2 coats of wet n wild Bite the Bullet and one coat of Sinful Colors Let Me Go before topping with Seche Vite Fast Dry. After one week, I had minimal wear on the tips and had been asked about my polish by several people. During the last week I worked at a ft office job (lots of computer keyboard), gardened without gloves, did gobs of housework, and took teens to a two day amusement park extravaganza.

Using Seche Vite for several years now, I've found that shrinkage is curtailed with thinner and fewer layers and I only get peeling when I layer more polish and Seche on top of an old manicure. If I decide to layer more polish, I get better results from using a Sally Hansen or Revlon Extra Life top coat. They don't have the leveling that Seche Vite provides but I don't get the peeling either. I see these same results with the cheapest and most expensive polishes I own. Love Seche Vite!

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen

Top Rated Seche Vite Products


Dry Fast Top Coat

1717 reviews
Back to Top