Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

4.0

1714 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.


on 7/5/2015 10:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a gift and I didn't use top coats prior to this one.
The nice thing about this product is that it gives the polished, shiny finish. The fast drying formula is great too, for some like me who have no patience. The downside is (I don't know if this is a common problem with other top coats) that it peels and chips after couple days. I have had instances where a whole color peeled in the shape of my nail. This happens with or without base coat and regardless of what polish I use. It's strange.

If you're like me and don't really care about longevity of your nail colors, I guess this product is okay, because it does look nice and neat for a day or two. But if you want it to last more than couple days then you might find this quite annoying.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Since I live in Texas, I always have issues with getting polish to dry, especially in summer. I bought this on a whim at Target and I was super impressed. No lie I can touch my nails after about 5 minutes and start using my hands after about 10-15 minutes with no dents.
It does shrink so I have weird gaps on the sides of my nails no matter what I do and that bugs me. And after you get about halfway through the bottle the formula gets all weird. I had to put polish thinner in it to even make it usable. I will continue to use it until I find another quick dry top coat that dries as fast and hopefully is cheaper.

EDIT: I take back every ounce of praise I gave this horrid product. It's not worth the 10 bucks to own a product that you can only use half of before it becomes unusable. I seriously put 1/4 of a bottle of polish thinner into it and I still can't use it AT ALL. I'll never buy anything from Seche Vite ever again.


on 7/1/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

they had sample sizes of seche vite at sally's so i decided to pick one up to try before buying the real thing. at first i was kind of irked by the fact that you have to apply it over wet polish (something i am totally not used to, plus this means it can't be used for touch-ups), but the application is actually pretty easy. you just need to drop a big glob on your nail and push it around with the brush rather than stroking your nail with the brush like you would with a normal top coat. it also seriously cuts down on my manicure time because you don't have to wait for your last color coat to dry, and seche vite dries really quickly. my usual topcoat takes ~30 minutes to be completely dry; seche vite is probably like 15. although seche vite lasts pretty long without chipping or fading, my usual topcoat does last longer. all in all i prefer my normal topcoat, but since it's been discontinued i will start buying seche vite when i run out.


on 6/28/2015 1:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this consistently for five years. It is a wonderful product that gives the look of gel shellac nails without the time commitment, cost and damage to nails.

It applies thickly to give good coverage and protection to nails. Dry to touch within ten minutes and can continue my day without worry that it will chip, smudge or have wrinkled sheet marks overnight!

I use with OPI products and havs limited chipping by day 5 and still looking pretty good by day 7 (new manicure time!).

Definitely recommend.


on 6/28/2015 12:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Gosh, I love Seche Vite. I bought this top coat mainly because it's fast-drying; I'm really impatient with waiting for my polish to dry. I tend to do thick coats of polish, and even when I feel like there's just globs of polish on my nails, Seche Vite has them totally, completely dry in about an hour. I couldn't believe it the first time I used it.

Another bonus is the added shine. I noticed it most when I used Seche Vite over a holographic polish that I had used several times before. It made the holo noticeably stronger because of that shininess. Even over cremes, the shine makes your nails look SO GOOD.

The only thing I would mention is that the smell is pretty strong. As soon as you open the bottle, it hits you. I would only call that a deal breaker if you're really sensitive to the smell of nail polish in general.


on 6/21/2015 10:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Just removed polish after one full week of wear. I used Essie ridge filling base coat (DC?), 2 coats of wet n wild Bite the Bullet and one coat of Sinful Colors Let Me Go before topping with Seche Vite Fast Dry. After one week, I had minimal wear on the tips and had been asked about my polish by several people. During the last week I worked at a ft office job (lots of computer keyboard), gardened without gloves, did gobs of housework, and took teens to a two day amusement park extravaganza.

Using Seche Vite for several years now, I've found that shrinkage is curtailed with thinner and fewer layers and I only get peeling when I layer more polish and Seche on top of an old manicure. If I decide to layer more polish, I get better results from using a Sally Hansen or Revlon Extra Life top coat. They don't have the leveling that Seche Vite provides but I don't get the peeling either. I see these same results with the cheapest and most expensive polishes I own. Love Seche Vite!


on 6/21/2015 10:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this product; however, I have to be honest and say that for me it has been awful! I find that the shrinkage is so bad that my Mani only lasts for 1 day. After this, it starts peeling off in sheets, and it doesn't matter how expensive or how cheap the polish I use. Ive been doing my own manis for years, and I've never had this problem until I used this product. Another thing I dislike about the SV is that I've used about a quarter of the bottle, and it has gotten so thick and gooey, almost like glue, making it very difficult to work with. The only things I liked about SV was that it dries very quickly and it gives your Mani an incredible shine; however, I can't forgive all the other negatives about it! To say I am disappointed would be an understatement. I was hoping that I had found my HG top coat, but I guess my search will continue as I will never purchase SV again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2015 10:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

The only good thing about this quick dry top coat seche vite is that it is very shiny and dries very fast. But it peels the next day if you do not use very expensive polish along with it. It does not make your manicure last very long, for maybe a couple of days. I would prefer sally hansen instadri topcoat over this anyday! That one is way cheaper too...


on 6/17/2015 6:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been doing nails of my own and others' for many years now, people come to me when they have their nail issues and such. This is the only topcoat I will use. Hands-down. The only reason it got four instead of five in the ratings from me, is because the s i've been doing nails of my own and others' for many years now, people come to me when they have their nail issues and such. This is the only topcoat I will use. Hands-down. The only reason it got four instead of five in the ratings from me shine dulls a tad by the second day; but I still absolutely love it and would take this over any other topcoat.


on 6/12/2015 12:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm not sure there's much out there that can come super close to Seche in terms of shine, and tbh I kind of love the gel effect it gives your nails (it's so thick it makes it look like u got a gel mani), but the shrinkage on this is unforgivable. it doesn't matter how well you wrap your tips because the polish shrinks everywhere else, pulling up at the edges of your mani that can't be wrapped and ultimately looking like you effed up your application and didn't put enough top coat on.

I really like the Sally Hansen Insta-Dry TC as it's not quite as high-maintenance as Seche is, and it's either cheaper or same price. shrinks only slightly, dries within seconds and makes your mani pretty dang shiny. does thicken up a little over time, but not as bad as Seche does, and there's none of the odor either. it's kind of like a slightly less intense SV overall but it has the same dry time and that's all I really ask for. I probably won't go back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman



Top Rated Seche Vite Products

image

Dry Fast Top Coat

1714 reviews
Back to Top