Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

4.0

1705 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.


on 6/12/2015 12:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm not sure there's much out there that can come super close to Seche in terms of shine, and tbh I kind of love the gel effect it gives your nails (it's so thick it makes it look like u got a gel mani), but the shrinkage on this is unforgivable. it doesn't matter how well you wrap your tips because the polish shrinks everywhere else, pulling up at the edges of your mani that can't be wrapped and ultimately looking like you effed up your application and didn't put enough top coat on.

I really like the Sally Hansen Insta-Dry TC as it's not quite as high-maintenance as Seche is, and it's either cheaper or same price. shrinks only slightly, dries within seconds and makes your mani pretty dang shiny. does thicken up a little over time, but not as bad as Seche does, and there's none of the odor either. it's kind of like a slightly less intense SV overall but it has the same dry time and that's all I really ask for. I probably won't go back.



on 6/11/2015 8:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Have been a nail tech for 15yrs and discovered Seche Vite about my 5th year and have never looked back. I don't wear gel or acrylic on my nails so it's hard to keep them looking nice whilst using so many nail products and chemicals on clients hands everyday. But believe it or not I can maintain my polish with Seche Vite. Super fast drying and super high shine. I have used a lot of top coats over the years and there are many good ones on the market but this is BY FAR THE BEST I have ever used. Love it!


on 6/9/2015 8:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am in the minority on this. Yes it does dry polish expediently, but the smell... boy, is it ever strong. The smell has a ridiculous staying power, we are talking more than a couple of hours of a strong chemical smell. I also find that it shrinks polish, if that makes any sense. I had a bottle but could not finish it and had to give it away. I will stick with Sally Hansen drops, as they are moisturizing for the cuticles and have no smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2015 3:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I'm with the majority here....I won't do my nails without this stuff. I'm surprised I haven't reviewed this before because I'm probably on my 10th bottle of Seche Vite....have used for at least 5 years now. As others have said, you need to apply this when your polish is still wet. This might be why some have shrinkage. I've not had this problem since I caught on you're supposed to apply to wet nails. Literally, within 5 minutes of applying, my nails feel dry. That is THE NUMBER 1 reason I love this!....I don't have time to sit for an hour and wait for my polish to dry. You still have to be careful, but for most minimal tasks, your nails are dry. Within 30 min., forget about it...you can do whatever you want...they're dry. The number 2 reason I love this is the shine...beautiful shiny, glossy polish. Looks like gel or acrylics. I do think this extends the life of my polish, but I only wear polish for a week before redoing, and I do have to touch them up mid-week. Be careful layering on too much of it or you run the risk of your polish lifting from your nail in one sheet. It's easy to find...I've bought this in Sally, Ulta, CVS, Walgreens, Target and my local large grocery store. Price is around $8.00(?)....varies from store to store. I believe it's cheapest at Sally's. Well worth the money. Absolutely will not do a mani/pedi without it. :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2015 9:31:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

It is worth the hype! I will not use any other topcoat. The shine and fast drying cannot be beat.


on 6/4/2015 1:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

QDTC changed my manicuring LIFE, and Seche Vite is one of my favorites.

Pros: Dries super quickly, shiny finish

Cons: Doesn't seem to make my manicures last longer, but this can be mitigated with a non-QDTC underneath. Will get thick and gloopy and non-quick drying with time. Needs to be refreshed with Seche Restore for the best thinning results.

I have bought and will continue to rebuy. Without this and other QDTC, I wouldn't do my nails at all.


on 6/3/2015 1:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Will not use anything else, ever again. This has been my go-to topcoat for more than 3 years now and obviously a huge advocate. It's scent is like pure alcohol, but it fades quickly. The shine is lasting - I'm on 2 weeks and it looks like I just got a gel manicure done. And what how fast it dries is so convenient! Ahhhhh-maxing product!


on 5/22/2015 2:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is not just HG, it is a LIFE CHANGER (at least when it comes to polishing one's nails) and I don't use that word lightly.

BEFORE SECHE VITE: I would wear polish on my fingers not more than a few days a year. Getting the polish dry without nicks was a pain. And I would still end with the imprint of my bedsheets even after an hour of drying time.

AFTER SECHE VITE: When I first got it I wore polish on my nails for weeks. Dries in no time, can hit the sheets 5 minutes after polishing and wake up with the perfect manicure. The shine is unbelievable - really puts the polish in nail polish. Polish lasts up to five days - which is unheard for me.

RULES OF THE GAME: Don't use like your run of the mill topcoat. Needs to go on WET polish. I clean nails with acetone, one coat CND stickey, one coat color on both hand. I've tried Chanel, Rescue Beauty, OPI, Essie, YSL and China Glaze, all work fine. Then, I put on the 2nd coat of color on ONLY one hand and immediately - while polish is still wet - follow with Seche Vite. I push one large drop over polish resulting in a very thick coat. Yet it dries in no time. Repeat with other hand.

NOTE: Using above method (applied over wet polish) never experienced any shrinking. Zero. Not with Chanel, not with any other brand.

VERDICT: I refuse to use nail polish if there is no Seche Vite Top Coat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2015 3:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've tried plenty of top coats and "fast-drying" top coats.
Seche vite is still the best in the fast-drying and impeccable shine department.
It is a little gloopy/thick but other than that it is a total dear, whenever i use this, people have asked whether i have gelish on. Will repurchase again and again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2015 1:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can never keep nail polish on for longer than a day. Seche vite actually keeps my polish on longer--probably because it has a gel like quality. I have really thin nails, almost bendy, and this gives them an extra thickness. Not to mention unbeatable shine! It's my holy grail topcoat.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman



Top Rated Seche Vite Products

image

Dry Fast Top Coat

1705 reviews
Back to Top