MAC • Brush Cleanser • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(518 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Wattsherface on 1/12/2014 3:10:00 PM more reviews by Wattsherface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first brush cleanser so i have nothing to compare it to but it works. Cleans brushes well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raquelsimoes on 12/29/2013 3:12:00 PM more reviews by raquelsimoes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I heard very good things about this product and I was not disappointed when I bought it. It does its job as a spot cleaner for in between washes, but you still have to wash them more properly from time to time obviously. Another positive thing about is it lasts for a long time, even using it daily, and its not expensive as quality really pays off. However, the packaging is awful and, if you want the product to last, you have to change it. Overall, I love and recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissTaDa on 12/29/2013 6:14:00 AM more reviews by MissTaDa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product for spot cleaning & use it most days. It smells nice & my brushes can be used again almost immediately.......if I just want light makeup coverage I use a duo fibre brush for both bronzer & blush.....this cleanser means I don't have to invest in a 2nd brush!!!
I would prefer a spray nozzle like others have said but have repurposed an old toner bottle and survived!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JuliaCaesaris on 12/22/2013 12:14:00 PM more reviews by JuliaCaesaris

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I also use the brush cleanser for in between washes as a spot cleaner. I purchased it twice, my first bottle lasted for 8 months and I used it daily. Here's my solution to the packaging problem. Go to Lush and buy their wonderful tea-tree water toner, switch the cap with the brush cleanser cap. Use the tea-tree water on cotton pads like you would a normal toner and the spray nozzle for the brush cleanser. When they're empty, don't forget to switch the caps back again so you can turn the Mac one in for back-2-mac.

Just solved stupid packaging issues with two products at the same time, you're welcome :D

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lena2128 on 12/14/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by lena2128

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first cleanser. I picked it up to spot clean brushes between deep washes and I found using it very often. It's quick and easy and cleanses out beautifully! No complains at all. I don't know if ingredients are basic and could be easily duplicated-I'm not a chemist, and not making my own formula even if its as basic as a lot of people suggest. I'm sure it is, and people who are comfortable with making their own cleanser are probably correct, however, for me it's a lot more convenient to buy this tried and liked cleanser. I like the way it cleanses and brushes are dry and clean instanteniosly! I deep wash them when I have more time but this works when I need them cleaned quickly and it washes out the liquid foundation and anything left on a bristles without any problems.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mderyaozel on 12/6/2013 8:27:00 AM more reviews by mderyaozel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product yesterday and used it right away, and it's just amazing. It cleans the brushes very easily, and moistures them too. I didn't like the packaging, but i had a spray bottle at home and i poured some in it. It's so much more convenient and the product will last much longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kamberc94 on 11/18/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

definitely not a must have. you can use baby shampoo or dawn and get the same results. I've had my bottle 6monts and only used half though. it doesn't take much

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 10/29/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great product for cleaning brushes between deep cleans, and conditions them as well. Only problem is the packaging! Half the product goes down the sink! So I have taken off one lippy. I put it in a spray bottle and dilute it with 30-40% water so it lasts longer and doesn't dry out brushes. I also have a couple of flannel towelettes to wipe the brushes on after I've done a couple sprays of the product and repeat a couple times till clean. The brushes dry really quick and I can do someone's make up, knowing the brushes are sterilized.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aimeerose on 9/22/2013 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Aimeerose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I like this brush cleanser it's great for spot cleaning. I tend to use it every other day to spot clean and deep clean every two weeks. My brushes remain soft after they dry. What I don't like about this is the packaging. I wasted a lot of product at first but then I was about to find a spray nozzle that for perfectly. Also, it's kind of pricey, you waste a lot of product for $15 a bottle. I remember the SA telling me that it will last a long time. I highly doubt that and I don't even have a lot of brushes. I could imagine a professional MUA going thru a bottle in less than a month easily. Unsure if I'll repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 8/7/2013 12:44:00 AM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This brush cleanser is NOT so great. Let me try to explain why.

When selecting a cleansing product it's always helpful to look at the formula. This is a very basic foaming cleanser with additional antibacterial properties provided by Alcohol and Triclosan. Alcohol would be even more effective in higher concentrations and maybe in a spray bottle that you can use to disinfect your brushes once in a while. Alcohol is one of those ingredients you should try not to touch. If your skin is sensitive, you have probably already realized that. Triclosan on the other hand, is a common active ingredient in antibacterial dish soap and body wash products. You don't have to spend this much to get an antibacterial cleanser with an effective amount of triclosan.

Despite having been thoughtfully put together, I would not recommend this product. If you want to be well equipped I suggest getting a spray bottle filled with highly concentrated alcohol for quick sterilizing, an antibacterial dishwashing liquid to disinfect and remove most of the gunk, and some basic conditioner to finish up, especially if you are cleaning a natural hair brush. I know that most people love the idea of being able to sterilize all they can, but if you don't work on multiple faces, frequent washes with a gentle shampoo are more than enough, and in the long run will be less drying for the brush.

Now If you want to do add the cherry to the pie, you can go ahead and purchase a waterproof makeup removing lotion from the drugstore, like the Neutrogena Eye Makeup Remover Lotion. Massaging a small amount on the bristles before you start is enough to remove even the toughest waterproof makeup. It rinses easily and there will be no kitchen olive oil mess this time.))

I see some people are using this for spot cleaning. The foaming cleansing agents here need to be rinsed or they will stay on the brush. For quick spot cleaning, you'd be better off using your favorite duo-phase eye makeup. It will clean even better and will not leave harmful ingredients on the brush.

Bottom line, just pass on this and go for antibacterial dish soap, pure alcohol, and eye makeup remover. It breaks up the brush cleansing process in several steps which become conveniently optional. Plus, you can easily and effectively remove waterproof makeup. Don't forget to condition your brushes. That's also important.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Misc Beauty Tools products