MAC Tarnish Eye Kohl

4.5

92 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/16/2010 3:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This eye kohl is one of my favorites! It's a great alternative for the black eyeliner if you want something more subtle but yet noticeable. I use this on my waterline and it doesn't smudge or irritates my eyes, and I have pretty sensitive eyes. I have light green-brown-yellow hazel eyes and when I put this I feel that the color of my eyes shifts to a darker forest green shade, really pretty. On me, it lasts up to 8 hours on my water line (:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/10/2010 7:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful dark green eye kohl. On my skin, itīs dark green, and not black (specially when smudged), unless the line is too thin - then is plain black.
It is creamy and very pigmented,but smudges a lot, as much as a cheap kohl would smudge.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2009 9:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

LOVE THIS! So glad I caved in to try this. I wanted it to be fantastic for the waterline. Sadly, it isn't. It doesn't irritate my eyes, but it also doesn't last more than, say, 10 minutes on me. However, it truly is an amazing dark green. As many have said, it does look pretty much black unless you smudge it. However it's not nearly as harsh as black, which is useful on extremely fair me. I've been using this smudged along my lashlines and set it with a very light brown and the result is gorgeous. Really frames my eyes and makes them appear greener. Wish it lasted longer inside my eyes, but c'est la vie!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

Beautiful dark forest green. A great substitute for normal black liner. I wear this with Stila's kitten shade. The staying power is great for a kohl.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2009 9:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Richness of colour is great. lasting ability not fabulous, not bad.

I like this for a quick way to make my eyes pop. I am fair with blue eyes.


on 9/25/2009 8:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was recommended by a MAC artist, & its a gr8 substitute for the normal black eyeliners, i use it for green smoky looks or Cut the Crease looks, sometimes f i dont feel like applying makeup i'll line my upper & lower lash line with this pencil & set it with a green eyeshadow & it'll stay all day long.
but be carful f u apply it without setting it with an eyeshadow it tends to sumdge and smear ur lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2009 7:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Another great product from MAC. A blackened green with a bit of a shimmer. As a straight, crisp line shows as a blackened green or a soft black. Smudged out it's the prettiest shade of forest green. I have green eyes and hesitate from using a green because it competes with my own eye color and makes them look more yellowy-brown, whereas I'd rather them look more watery green. But this pencil is a green I can actually use. Love it and would most certainly repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2009 9:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I asked mac to recommend me a product to use on my waterline so they said get the eye kohl. I really like the colour looks like black with a dark green tinge to it if not blended, shows more green when smudged. Yes it does smudge if you don't set it with eye shadow etc but to be honest I find most soft eyeliners do smudge anyway, especially as I've got hereditary hooded eyes. I would say that it stays on waterline for a good 6 hours before it starts to disappear and would need reapplying. I really like but obviously its not for everyone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2009 2:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

GREATTT COLOR! I don't like to stray away from black with my eyeliners so this is perfect. The deep green is very subtle but is SO much prettier than harsher blacks and grays on my asian dark brown eyes. I have really really oily lids so I've been using gel liners but this doesn't smudge too much on me(very minimally, which it should since it's a kohl) and it stays put. It does not fade! I never wanted to recommend a beauty product so much !! And the price is a lot better than trying to get the comparable green eyeliners from estee lauder or lancome.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2009 6:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Oh Tarnish .. how I *LOVE* thee! I have a crapload of eyeliners .. but this is one of the few I've finished off and repurchased. Given my love for Plumage e/s, Ether mineralize and NARS Thunderball eyeshadow .. this was the obvious choice to put with those. It's a deep dark smokey blue/green with charcoal undertones. It glides on like a dream and stays put for me. It's dark enough to really compliment a smokey blue/green shadow without competing with it. Not as harsh as a black liner, but surprisingly, still sultry like a black eyeliner. I will never be without my beloved Tarnish!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top