MAC • Tarnish Eye Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LHANEMANN on 4/10/2010 7:53:00 PM more reviews by LHANEMANN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful dark green eye kohl. On my skin, itīs dark green, and not black (specially when smudged), unless the line is too thin - then is plain black.
It is creamy and very pigmented,but smudges a lot, as much as a cheap kohl would smudge.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Teacakeanyone on 12/24/2009 9:23:00 PM more reviews by Teacakeanyone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE THIS! So glad I caved in to try this. I wanted it to be fantastic for the waterline. Sadly, it isn't. It doesn't irritate my eyes, but it also doesn't last more than, say, 10 minutes on me. However, it truly is an amazing dark green. As many have said, it does look pretty much black unless you smudge it. However it's not nearly as harsh as black, which is useful on extremely fair me. I've been using this smudged along my lashlines and set it with a very light brown and the result is gorgeous. Really frames my eyes and makes them appear greener. Wish it lasted longer inside my eyes, but c'est la vie!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ImYourFavoriteDrug on 11/1/2009 2:29:00 PM more reviews by ImYourFavoriteDrug

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful dark forest green. A great substitute for normal black liner. I wear this with Stila's kitten shade. The staying power is great for a kohl.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 divineviandi on 10/21/2009 9:00:00 PM more reviews by divineviandi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Richness of colour is great. lasting ability not fabulous, not bad.

I like this for a quick way to make my eyes pop. I am fair with blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gothoria on 9/25/2009 8:16:00 AM more reviews by Gothoria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was recommended by a MAC artist, & its a gr8 substitute for the normal black eyeliners, i use it for green smoky looks or Cut the Crease looks, sometimes f i dont feel like applying makeup i'll line my upper & lower lash line with this pencil & set it with a green eyeshadow & it'll stay all day long.
but be carful f u apply it without setting it with an eyeshadow it tends to sumdge and smear ur lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 7/24/2009 7:11:00 PM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Another great product from MAC. A blackened green with a bit of a shimmer. As a straight, crisp line shows as a blackened green or a soft black. Smudged out it's the prettiest shade of forest green. I have green eyes and hesitate from using a green because it competes with my own eye color and makes them look more yellowy-brown, whereas I'd rather them look more watery green. But this pencil is a green I can actually use. Love it and would most certainly repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paulajfitz on 6/25/2009 9:58:00 PM more reviews by paulajfitz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I asked mac to recommend me a product to use on my waterline so they said get the eye kohl. I really like the colour looks like black with a dark green tinge to it if not blended, shows more green when smudged. Yes it does smudge if you don't set it with eye shadow etc but to be honest I find most soft eyeliners do smudge anyway, especially as I've got hereditary hooded eyes. I would say that it stays on waterline for a good 6 hours before it starts to disappear and would need reapplying. I really like but obviously its not for everyone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yslplease on 6/3/2009 2:21:00 AM more reviews by yslplease

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

GREATTT COLOR! I don't like to stray away from black with my eyeliners so this is perfect. The deep green is very subtle but is SO much prettier than harsher blacks and grays on my asian dark brown eyes. I have really really oily lids so I've been using gel liners but this doesn't smudge too much on me(very minimally, which it should since it's a kohl) and it stays put. It does not fade! I never wanted to recommend a beauty product so much !! And the price is a lot better than trying to get the comparable green eyeliners from estee lauder or lancome.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 4/10/2009 6:28:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh Tarnish .. how I *LOVE* thee! I have a crapload of eyeliners .. but this is one of the few I've finished off and repurchased. Given my love for Plumage e/s, Ether mineralize and NARS Thunderball eyeshadow .. this was the obvious choice to put with those. It's a deep dark smokey blue/green with charcoal undertones. It glides on like a dream and stays put for me. It's dark enough to really compliment a smokey blue/green shadow without competing with it. Not as harsh as a black liner, but surprisingly, still sultry like a black eyeliner. I will never be without my beloved Tarnish!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swirlsschmurls on 4/5/2009 10:47:00 AM more reviews by swirlsschmurls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is truly one of my favourite liner colours ever. It's perfect for girls who have very dark brown eyes and want something other than black to define them without having it scream 'Look ma, coloured liner!' (which is a look I love, just not everyday. :) ). It's a beautiful blackened-green, and the green sheen really comes out when the line's drawn slightly thicker. Unfortunately, this doesn't just smudge on me, but literally disappears. It begins smudging the minute I get into the car and look at myself in the rearview mirror, which is usually about 3 minutes after I've applied it, no exaggeration. Which is sad because it's a very lovely colour, something I can't say enough. If it lasts on you, appreciate it. And either way, give it a try, just be prepared for possible smudging.
EDIT: Have added two lippies because the other day while playing around trying to do a smokey eye, I tried smudging Tarnish all over my lid as a base, and realised that for the lazy and/or those yet to be initiated into the Land of Eyeshadow, Tarnish works SO WELL for this smokey look. I just applied a very thick line to my lid, and blended away, adding the highlights and accents later. Note that I have Asian creaseless eyes, so this method works for me, but I reckon that as a base, this would work for anyone. Try it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products