Burt's Bees • Citrus Facial Scrub • Scrubs

rated 3.7(278 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 ChaCaCheeze on 11/5/2012 10:26:00 PM more reviews by ChaCaCheeze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

I think this might be the most exfoliating product I've ever used. It made my skin feel very smooth and soft. Also, it smells very orange-y, but not in a fake way. It's a very oily product, though, so it may not work for everyone. If you leave it on for very long, the oily/crumbly feeling gets really uncomfortable. On a side note, the packaging of this product is a terrible idea! It's a GLASS JAR - so don't bring it in the tub, lest it slip and fall. If you drop it, be very careful about using whatever product is left inside, even if the jar doesn't look broken. Little fragments could break off and end up in your scrub.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AlvaSofia on 10/5/2012 6:32:00 PM more reviews by AlvaSofia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product, maybe mostly because I love natural products and this is 99% natural! Also, when I read the ingrediens I found that it contained some of my favourite things when it comes to skin care; almond (and almond oil), oat and rose petals, so obviously I had to but it.
It really does makes my skin feel really soft, clean and glowing. I personally love the smell, although you should not be thinking it's going to smell of citrus - it has more of a cinnamon/brown sugar kind of smell which is hard to explain, I like it however. The jar is kind of small, but will probably last long, and is not sanitary in any way (but you could always use teaspoon or somehing to get the product out). It's not pricey at all either. I will definitely buy this again and it has made me look into other Burt's Bees products too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kolwink on 9/27/2012 5:48:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I *would* buy this product again, and *have* done so on several occasions.


Last year I decided to take a look at my daily-use products, particularly shampoo, conditioner, and facial scrubs. I tried to read ingredient lists carefully, studying them with all my fading recollections of organic chemistry. Did they contain alcohol? What were the first few ingredients? Did they contain fragrance? Were there way too many molecules whose character or purpose I couldn't even take a wild guess on?


I was conducting this test at Target, by the way. In the past year or so, Target has really stepped up their so-called 'organic' / 'natural' selection of cosmetics/hygiene products. Still, I didn't want to become hooked on something that would run into the double digits.


Burt's Bees seemed to fit the picture. I know they're owned by Clorox now, but I still liked the little I knew of their 'earth friendly' company narrative.


The ingredient list was low on "what the heck is THAT" and heavy on oils (see ingredients listed above).


I use about a dime-size amount in the shower; I like the rough feeling of the scrub on my face, and my skin feels smoother after I rinse it off. It hasn't prevented the random pimples (those seem most affected by diet, exercise, and water intake), nor has it reduced acne scars. All the same, I do like this product. The citrusy smell- and, I guess, the "sweet almond" and "oat flour" components always remind me of the holidays. My silly association is "I'm putting gingerbread on my face!" Plus, it's paraben-free.


The small glass jar is cute, I suppose, but I wish I got more than 2 oz for $8. Also, I'm perennially nervous about dropping the glass jar in the shower.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 9/12/2012 1:26:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this facial scrub. It has a lovely, earthy fruity scent that is such a nice change from all the perfume-y face washes on the market. The size of the exfoliants (almonds, oats, and pecans) is perfect for my skin. The scrub is gritty enough to get dead skin and sebum off but not so rough that I get any redness or irritation. I used to love the St. Ives scrubs but they just do not have enough grit anymore. This Burt's Bees one has to be mixed with a little water to get a pasty consistency. I apply it after my face wash and it leaves my skin glowing and smooth. One lippie off because I wish this could come in a squeeze tube. It's annoying to dip my fingers in but I can deal :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shannap on 7/24/2012 11:46:00 AM more reviews by Shannap

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this scrub. But I found out if I use it after my fash wash it clogs my pores. So, I use it before my face wash and it works great. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glitters1234 on 7/1/2012 12:43:00 PM more reviews by glitters1234

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have strayed from this scrub many times, and I always regret it! I have used this forever and love it. I use it in the shower every morning that way it really gets the scrub off of my face. It can leave this weird residue if you do not rinse it completely. It leaves my face so incredibly soft. My skin looks "glowing" after I use. It doesn't break me out. You have to make sure you get a small bit, mix it with a little water until it turns into a paste, and massage into skin. A little goes a long way, so it lasts for a good chunk of time. I will not stray again!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annapcs on 7/1/2012 1:11:00 AM more reviews by annapcs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Burt's bees never ceases to amaze me. Almost every product from them that I have tried, I fell in love, and this is no exception.
Leaves my skn baby smooth, clears my breakouts in no time! I use a washcloth with warm water to help remove it, that way it doesn't leave any trace of product in my skin, as it may sometimes have a wax" feeling if you don't wash it off properly.
I have to confess that sometimes I'll reach for it over my clarisonic - that's how good this thing is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amsimmons17 on 6/30/2012 10:54:00 PM more reviews by amsimmons17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This facial scrub is amazing! I have been using it everyday now for the past week and I can tell a difference in my skin. It looks smoother and healthier looking! I highly recommend using this product every night to help wash your make-up off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 5/25/2012 1:25:00 AM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I agree wholeheartedly with TeeTeeRarr. The original was my favorite scrub ever ever ever. It was amazing. A couple years ago, they changed it and when I tried it right after the change, I hated it! So sad. I would've used it till my dying day if they had kept the old formula. Sigh. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bhenderson on 4/20/2012 2:23:00 PM more reviews by bhenderson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Okay, I'm almost finished with my second jar of this and will always purchase it as long as they make it. This stuff keeps my face clear because of the exfoliation I get everyday, but it's so gentle.. So it just keeps your skin soft and smooth. It removed makeup amazingly well. It says not to use in eye area, but I do gently, only when I'm wearing makeup. The jar can be a little hard to get used to, but it's cute. This stuff is concentrated so you don't need much. Just try it!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Scrubs products