Jean Paul Gaultier • Classique EDP • Fragrances

rated 3.9(85 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 squarebear on 10/1/2011 6:44:00 PM more reviews by squarebear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I do so love the EDP version of JPG Classique. It is an oriental fragrance with an ultra-feminine, tongue-in-cheek, hairspray/makeup/powder twist. The bottle is beautiful and sexy, the perfume even more so. When I was an exchange student in France the girl I stayed with wore Classique - I loved the way she smelled, so sophisticated, warm, and interesting. At the time I was in high school and felt that I did not have the level of sophistication to pull this off. I came back to Classique in my late 20s and wore it exclusively for 2 years. Today it is still in regular rotation in my perfume wardrobe. I find Classique to have excellent longevity and big sillage (spray wisely), and it consistently garners compliments and inquiries ("What perfume are you wearing? It's very pretty!").

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Donnz on 6/24/2011 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Donnz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like it! Not as much as the edt which comes up as a wonderful vanilla but I may purchase this in the summer as to my nose it is a predominantly rose based frag. It softens quite nicely also, not too overpowering for an edp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 5/19/2011 7:10:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this and it languished in my drawer for some time. Yesterday, I found it and decided to try it ... and I fell in love with it. Mind you, at first spray I did not care for it. Scents that contain amber can be tricky at first. But as it dried down, I liked it more and more. I used to work at Sephora and I never paid too much attention to this. Then again, it's hard to individualize a scent in a place where they sell perfume. The air is thick with so many frags. I LOVE strong, oriental scents, so as soon as I become a bit more flush, I'll definitely get a bottle of JPG's Classique. So yummy. And excellent staying power, too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissChanel24 on 5/18/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by MissChanel24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I do not own this fragrance, but have the sample size of it. This is a lovely fragrance that is perfect for colder months. It has a subtle vanilla smell - sweet, not cloying and pretty.

This is the signature scent of one of my special friends and everytime I smell this perfume it reminds me of her and it makes me smile - and it smells good too! Its alot like Armani Code, just a little bit more feminine and soft - where armani code is much more sexier. I love the bottle too! I might consider buying this...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gracep on 3/18/2011 4:47:00 AM more reviews by gracep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't like this perfume much. It had a classy smell and was not unappealing in the sense that it seemed "ugly" smelling or anything, but the scent was very, very strong (for those who like it, this fortunately coincides with great staying power) and seemed for someone much older than me (19). I can't comment on the notes, because it just felt like some heady mixture to me. Very, very strong, and probably a great fragrance for a woman in her 40s or 50s

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loobyl on 3/6/2011 3:31:00 PM more reviews by loobyl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I brought this in the duty free in gatwick airport for 41 pounds, lovely bottle and very sexy smelling although having had the EDT I must say that I prefer the smell of the latter as it seems to be stronger than the EDP . I paid 45 pounds for the EDT only to find it for 31 pounds duty free!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maan84 on 11/22/2010 5:59:00 PM more reviews by maan84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of Classique EDP and have been testing it the last week. I have to say that I like it a lot, especially the vanilla undertone. It may be a bit too overpowering for me to wear to school or work because I prefer softer (fresh, sporty) fragrances. However, for more festive occasions I would definitely wear this kind of fragrance. Very sweet but not too sweet. I think I may wish for this fragrance this upcoming Christmas.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovemakeuphowboutyou on 11/12/2010 2:21:00 PM more reviews by ilovemakeuphowboutyou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I fell in love with this perfume the moment I smelled it - beautiful mix of roses, rum, warm amber and vanilla. So warm, feminine, and relaxing. And my boyfriend absolutely LOVES it, ladies. :) Other men have told me they love this one too, so I would categorize this as a "man-catcher" fragrance! :) I only wish that they would put a little lid on the "to-go" $44 size, so that when I carry it in my purse, I don't have to put it in a baggie to prevent leaking. I highly recommend this fragrance if you like warm, feminine, vanilla-based, "man-magnet" perfumes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheAscension on 10/20/2010 11:10:00 PM more reviews by TheAscension

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Since perfumes are extremely personal, this is mostly my experience in finding and wearing this scent. I don't think there's a better way to find a perfume than to go try the one you're looking for out, but I'll try to be informative, lol.


For background, I'm into orientals, pretty much. I love dark, heady scents that are passionate. My favorites, for reference, are YSL's Opium, Dior's Hypnotic Poison, and Armani Code and Givenchy's Very Irresistible Sensual.

So I was standing at Sephora's big wall o' expensive scents, going through the check list of ones I wanted to try out, and I was being utterly underwhelmed by all of them. Gucci Guilty? More like Gucci "Mild Indiscretion" It was just weak. A lot of women describe it as "raw sensual power", but I got "mild, overdone pg-13" . Bulgari Omnia? Faded away into mild floral woodsiness. Versace Versus? Yes, this perfume versus my nose, head and tummy. It was like being kicked in the face at first whiff. Narciso Rodriguez's For Her was really nice, but not what I was looking for, at the moment, but I can see myself wearing it sometime. No offense to what I'm sure are lovely scents owned by lovely ladies, just not for me. So I'm probably burning out my nose, when I notice this shiny little glass woman torso clad in a spangly lingerie thing, with a can as the packaging. It reminded me in some perverse way of a mail-order bride, and I picked it up. There was no way this could be any kind of a classy scent.
BAM.

I melted. I'm a sucker for amber, sandalwood, and roses, but I never thought they could all go so well together.

With Classique, I feel pretty much like a femme fatale meets old school hollywood. Even better, it's not ridiculously expensive as perfumes go.

I think it's a really special scent, especially to stand out from a sea of similar ones.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shaaralee on 10/18/2010 10:47:00 PM more reviews by shaaralee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

One of the best scents on the market. However it doesn't smell the best on me, for some reason the reaction with my skin or products I use dull down the gorgeous smell I expect from it. It is true, the EDP and EDT smell alot different, would spend the extra on the EDP any day. Worth a buy for people who love rich, fruity and feminine scents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jean Paul Gaultier products

More Fragrances products