Yves Saint Laurent • Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils • Mascara

rated 3.9(1253 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 cherrycherries on 12/16/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by cherrycherries

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Hands down the best mascara I have ever tried and I can tell you I have tried EVERY major brand out there. I already have naturally long and thick eyelashes, but people always comment me on my eyelashes when i am wearing this.

I agree with other reviews that it is a little drying and the bottle does seem to run out quite quickly as the formulation starts to dry up. But I still am happy to keep replacing this as I dont feel like i look like 'me' without it and havent been able to find another mascara that even comes close.

I would also advise not to buy the 'noir radical' colour and buy the 'high density black' instead. Noir radical seemed to be impossible to remove at the end of the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anonyym on 12/4/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wanted to love this mascara so bad.. But as it turned out its a semi mascara which dries VERY FAST and I don't like that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CarlieJacobsLove on 10/29/2013 12:45:00 AM more reviews by CarlieJacobsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was recommended to me by the Sales Asst, she said I'd never buy anything else after trying this and she was right - for about 4 weeks and then when I took the brush out of the tube, all the bristles were flat against the wand and the mascara was unusable. What a waste of $16, I should have taken it back and complained.
But the packaging IS very glam!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Daddysgirl1 on 10/26/2013 1:56:00 PM more reviews by Daddysgirl1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is great even if you have thin eyelashes the consistency is not to heavy, yet it makes your lashes look so natural and full. Try this out. I gave it a 5 for price because it is worth the higher price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 10/24/2013 9:02:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The mascara seems to deliver the false lash effect since it does thicken and lengthen your lashes. The product is more suitable for evening wear.
Yet there are a few disadvantages: the brush looks messy and can easily mess your lashes up if you do not remove excess product from the wand. Also some mess is easily created around your eyes. Besides, the tube dries out pretty soon which is a shame since the mascara is not a cheap one. Another downside is the volume. It's not the most generous tube - 7.5 ml only, so keep in mind.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zoeclare1979 on 10/12/2013 6:07:00 AM more reviews by zoeclare1979

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Love love love this mascara. Have previously worked for Ysl and had loads of these :). I find best when wiggled at the base and pull upwards. Another tip is don't pump the brush in and out of the tube as this makes the mascara clump and too thick on the brush. Just pop the brush into the tube to load and then pull out. Gives lovely full thick lashes. I admit it does transfer slightly onto the upper eye beneath the brow but mine is probably to do with the make up I wear as it will transfer onto anything oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 madeleineb on 9/25/2013 5:42:00 PM more reviews by madeleineb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was really excited when I bought this mascara because the reviews were so positive. The packaging was beautiful and when I first put the mascara on I was really impressed by how long and thick my eyelashes looked! After about 2 hours I went to the bathroom and looked in the mirror to find it had smudged and left a really noticeable black row of dots above my eyes and smudges around the corners. I wiped these away but they reappeared in no time, really disappointing. When I remove my mascara I usually do it in the shower, gently rubbing it off with my fingers. When I did this with this mascara the pain when it ran into my eyes was crazy!! When I got out of the shower it was all through my eyes, the only way to get rid of it was with eye drops. The mascara that remained around my eyes proved difficult to remove. Overall I was very disappointed with this product. Considering how much more pricy this is than my usual mascara I will definitely be sticking with Maybelline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 YXXC on 9/9/2013 3:11:00 PM more reviews by YXXC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This is in my top 3 mascaras. The odd naysayer says it clumps... if you want the longest lashes on earth, then buy an eyelash comb and be done with it. It's called Faux Cils for a reason. There are cheaper versions of this product, but you'll have to read my blog to find out :) For more honest reviews, 'like' Face Up To It on Facebook, Twitter @YoCalliss, yocalliss.wordpress.com. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RomanXI on 8/20/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by RomanXI

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I don't know what it is about YSL product that do not work with me.
I tried this mascara also with high hopes but was sorely disappointing. Packaging from YSL is always very nice, but the product let them down.

When I first opened the product and took the wand it it was CLUMPED with mascara, all the fibers were sticking together, the mascara seems quite thick consistency.
I wiped the wand thinking maybe it was because it was the first time opening. I put it in again and seen it clumped up again, I wiped most of it off and best as I could and decided to try it anyway.

First off the smell, is bizarre - it's quite strong and citrus-y? It doesn't smell of mascara in the slightest, like lemons or limes or a strong stale air freshener. The smell alone will irritate your eyes. Once I put it on my eyelashes caked together just like the wand fibers, they were all stuck together with the mascara. I had about 6 "eyelashes" in total because they all stuck together. It makes your eyelashes unbelievably dry, spider like and very matte.

You literally can't separate your eyelashes due to the consistency, and my eyes did become irritated from the smell. The actual mascara in the tube also dried up very very quickly after opening, although it had been closed properly. I'm not sure what YSL have put in it.

Wouldn't purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 21beans on 8/3/2013 4:23:00 AM more reviews by 21beans

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG mascara. Gives beautiful definition, volume and colour to lashes and a real dreamy/sultry look to my eyes (for lack of a better description). I use this at night or for special occasions due to the price. As others have mentioned, it dries out quite quickly but warming the tube seems to revive it somewhat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products